Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mitsubishi Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mitsubishi Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

The Mitsubishi 73" 3D-ready DLP HDTV offers a larger-than-life, intensely vivid 2D and fully immersive 3D viewing experience. In huge screen sizes ranging from 60" to 73", Mitsubishi 3D 1080p Home Cinema TVs deliver incredible picture performance for exceptional value and define the large-screen 3D entertainment category. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Mitsubishi 73" 3D-ready DLP HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%20 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

A wonderful buy

02/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd been shopping around for different types of large TVs for over a month and was going to settle on a 55" Sony LCD for $1400 until I got an email from walmart.com showing this TV for $1300, perfect for our large living room. I promptly went to RC Willey to check out how the DLPs looked. I was a little wary about the 60Hz refresh rate (since the refresh rate is such a big deal on flat panels), but after comparing a 60Hz to a 120Hz side-by-side of this type of TV, I'm convinced that it makes no difference for DLPs.
It is huge. 3 days into owning it watching TV, playing games, and watching DVDs on it I am very very pleased with the purchase (I don't have any blu-rays yet). Picture quality is outstanding, but still not as crisply excellent as an LED, I suppose. You will need to place it on a table stand, it is not wall mountable.
The TV itself doesn't really have nice features from the internet or anything (since it isn't internet-ready), but that isn't anything I really need. The blu-ray player I bought has internet, so whenever I activate my Netflix account again the blu-ray player will provide.
The sound leaves much to be desired, as with most TVs these days, so I bought a sound bar to go with it and I couldn't be happier.
Did I mention that it's huge? If you want a large TV for a good price, and don't mind the extra depth (compared to flat panel), this TV is for you. Overall I am very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+89points
Review 2 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Great Product

04/10/2011
By ,
West Salem,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very clear picture and easy to use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Nice TV

04/09/2011
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV to replace a 60" Panasonic projection TV that I bought for $4000 twelve years ago. I have had this TV now for 4 days. I used the site-to-store free delivery and the Wal-Mart folks were very nice and loaded it into my pickup for me. I used a furniture dolly to get it from my truck to my back door when I got it home (I unloaded the TV by myself).
The box it comes in is huge and my wife and I broke a serious sweat getting it upstairs to the Rec Room of our house. You will need 2 people to move this TV if you need to go up stairs.
The picture quality is great for a 73" inch TV. The light diffusion is minimal when viewing the picture from the side compared to a standard projection TV. The resolution is almost as good as a 1080p LCD TV. The picture quality is excellent down to about 10 feet, any closer and the picture quality, although still very good, starts to look a little grainy.
The only negative is that it cannot be wall mounted and sticks out about 18" from the wall.
Overall, a fantastic TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

reasonable pricing

03/23/2011
By ,
az
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had this tv for about 2 weeks now and thought I should mention my likes and dislikes for the next person buying this tv sight unseen (as it's only site to store) I really wish Walmart had one in the local store to actually look at before buying. For an item so expensive it's the least they could do. Heres the pro's and cons.
The picture is clear, the price is nice considering size. That's about as far as it goes. The sound is disapointing. I'd never have it without my surround sound. or even a soundbar for better sound quality. it needs to be turned most of the way up to hear it clearly. The functions on it are very limited. That wasn't much of a problem for me. The biggest issue we have with it is it's only audio out is an optical output, and very limited inputs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Excellent quality for your money.

03/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Exceptional Video quality, easy to use menu
Cons: would prefer more input/output for audio and DVI interface
This is 2nd Mistubushi DLP product I have bought. 73inch screen with the superior quality is awesome experience. I can not complain about the sound quality as its same in other LCD/Plasma TVs. I would have prefer analog audio out and DVI/VGA interface although world is moving to HDMI and that can replace the missing DVI interface. Picture quality does not affect much with bright light in from windows. I would highly recommend for someone who has large room and wants larger screen experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 6 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Surprised at the quality of a projection TV

03/20/2011
By ,
Katy,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered this TV I actually wasn't aware that it was a projection TV, I should have realized since it was half the cost of a LCD and bigger. Having owned two other projection TV's and remembering how they were always dark around the edges of the picture I almost canceled but I brought it home and set it up. Set up consists of taking it out of the box and pluging it in, use two people because of the size but it isn't that heavy, around 125 lbs. Just add your video source, I have DirecTV and this TV works wonderfully with it, I'm sure cable or any other source will work as well. It works we very well with HD input, a standard defininition (SD) signal isn't as clear because the screen is so large you really see the pixalization, still it is a great TV. Sound quality is OK, not wonderful. Buy yourself a blue ray surround system for the features like audio and internet and you are set. The picture is so large it's like being at a theater. Be aware that it has a projection bulb that will wear out and the replacement is at least $100.00 + labor if you can't handle it yourself. Extended warrenty does NOT cover this part so don't waste your time. I've had this TV for a month now and I'm definately going to keep it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Great TV

02/23/2011
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had mine for a bout a year now and I am still very impressed with the picture quality compared to alot of other tv's out there, not to mention its 3D ready and has a huge screen. Watching 3D movies are no problem and at night time sitting back in room with you family is almost like having your own Movie theater in your house do to its size. So all and all a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 8 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Huge tv, great picture but.....

02/18/2011
By ,
Albany, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The projection screen is beautiful. I'm quite impressed actually. The draw back is it's a dumb tv. Meaning, it doesn't play well with other devices. It takes alot of work to interface. For the money though, a great bang for your buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

best buy i have made

03/05/2011
By ,
roswell nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when we received oour 73 inch tv we were little skeptical, but after hooking it up it a great tv. the picture and sound are great. i went to my local walmart and purchased a blue ray dvd player and surround sound system ,i am sure after i hook everything up it will be like i am at local theatre,which i wont go antmore. my next buy will be the 3d starter kit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638
03/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the t.v. just be sure to change the settings to your liking. At first it was on the brightest setting and I thought that was it, so I didn't like it. But then after playing with the settings and got them to where I like them. I now enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 11 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

The whole family loves it!

03/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had the TV for about three weeks and we are enjoying it. We don't regreat buying it either. Thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Great tv for the price!

06/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read some mixed reviews on this TV and having had it for about a month now I can honestly say, I have not seen any rainbow effect at all even during long gaming sessions on the xbox360 or the ps3.
The picture and color are superb making me realize what I've been missing by having an older 1080i rear projection. My wife is constantly commenting on how bright and vivid everything looks.
The sound on it is pretty good for built in speakers. In our 38' long living room it's more then enough, although a sound bar or sound system would make a good difference.
Viewing angle is also very good as you can stand almost directly beside the screen with little to no drop in picture.
For the price and the screen size (74.2 inches when I checked mine) this is a terrific bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Happy 73 inch receipient

03/21/2011
By ,
Marrero, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this product and I tell you it is brilliant in color the look is modernly fresh and it fits excellent in my den. Heads turned as I brought my Television out of the store. They were amazed at the size of this Television. Thanks WALMART!! for your site to store availability. Just wonderful!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

wonderful for the money

04/10/2011
By ,
kenosha,wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly like the product and for the money its a steal. At the cost of a lamp to replace when it goes out is so much more affordable than buying a whole new tv. All my family and friends just love it. A great buy again. The bulb is kind slow at warm up but other than that the HD can see the holes in peoples skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638
02/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this tv is a present to my family they love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Very good TV

06/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to replace my 61" Samsung and found the pricing for flat panel TVs too expensive. So the Samsung and 73" Mitsubishi used the same technology, DLP, and it was a good choice for me. Picture is great and I use my amplifier for the sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638

Great Product!

03/29/2011
By ,
Vincennes, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hubby loves his new big screen
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mitsubishi 73" Class 1080p 3D-Ready DLP HDTV, WD-73638
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5