Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Schwinn men's hybrid bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup. Ride in comfort with the Schwinn Men's Hybrid Bike. This bike is perfect for commuting on city streets. The 21-speed Shimano EZ-Fire trigger shifters make it easy to switch gears. The Schwinn Avenue 700c bicyle meets or exceeds all CPSC regulations.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation82%49 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

What a piece of garbage!

09/11/2012
By ,
Port Saint Lucie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My guess is that virtually all of the reviewers on this site have only just purchased this bike. Ask them how they like it in six months! The entire, needlessly complicated, gear assembly on the rear axle rusted to pieces in less than a year. The bike was never left outside--always garaged--and was treated with great care. No matter, the cheap, thin metal parts rusted apart. The nature of this design flaw is such that the bike is rendered completely useless--can't be ridden, can't be fixed. We had chosen to pay a bit more in hopes that we'd have a bike that would at least last a couple of years. Schwinn has lost my business forever. Total trash!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 2 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Overall a great bike

06/08/2011
By ,
Quincy, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this one after stopping in a local bike shop. I REALLY wanted a trek and to buy local rather than a chain, but the most comparable bike started at $409, and I really didn't have the extra money. I got this for going to work and back almost daily (only 1.7 miles each way), but on the weekends for a little more exercise. I just took my first weekend ride for 15 miles and it did great. Bought mine online at walmart website for $20 less than their store sale price and got it shipped free to my house. It took only 3 days to get it which was faster than the site-to-store option. Had several compliments on the spokes being a different pattern than the normal boring style. Overall happy so far, and I've convinced 2 other coworkers to buy / get their bike out of the garage and start riding. Perhaps they were jealous...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Review 3 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike
02/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't miss this bike! Looked at a Trek for many hundreds more and not as good in my opinion. I now have two of these Schwinn 700's and they are a dream to ride. My rides are 9-10 miles each way, so I burn calories and not $4 a gallon gas. The workmanship and welding is excellent, the seat is more than comfortable, 21 speeds are more than I need, and the "click shifting levers" are perfect. I am so glad I did not waste money buying a Trek....all that is, is a status symbol which means nothing to me. You can check this bike from one end to the other and not find a shortcoming. This hybrid is the best I have seen. If you ride a night, I would suggest a 1300 lumen light and rechargeable batteries. That light is "motorcycle" bright for safety. Only available on line for about $30. Other headlights are not so great. You will not be disappointed in the 700. Do it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 4 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Good shipping and a great bike

08/30/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered on Thursday and delivered to my door the following Saturday. How do they do that?
The packaging was excellent. The bike was in a Schwinn box that was inside a shipping box. Plastic spacers were pressed onto the rear axle nuts to reduce the risk of crushing and bending the rear derailleur. Additional packaging measures were implemented to protect the bike. Maybe I was just lucky on this one, but the factory gear settings were perfect. I made a small adjustment on the brake pads to align them with the wheel rims.
I am a casual biker, doing about 10 to 30 miles a week. I retired a 1980’s Huffy 10 speed. The difference in technology is amazing. The Schwinn is lighter and smoother riding. The brakes work great. There is a world of difference in the gearing. Between the 21 gears and the trigger shifters, shifting is much easier and precise. I like the gear numbers on the shifters. Much easier than looking down at the sprockets to see what gear it's in. It's easy to maintain a consistent cadence with this gearing and shifters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Got a Flat
Posted 11/21/2012
A number of weeks into ownership, a tire went flat. I inspected the tire and there were no punctures. Took off the tire and inspected the tube. There was a puncture on the rim side of the tube. Took off the rim tape and found it to be very thin and somewhat stiff (cheap). I've had multiple flats like this with other bikes. It's always turned out to be caused by cheap rim tape. Even though the tape looks undamaged, I guess when the tube is inflated to ~60 lbs, the pressure increases the chance the tube will find a sharp edge somewhere. A quality rim tape has always permanently fixed the problem for me.
Since I was out of town at the time, I took both wheels to a bike shop and had the rim tape replaced on each wheel. Other than the one flat, the bike has been great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Nice ride

05/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought from store stock. Nice riding bike. Only had to put air in the tires. I had to return the first one I picked up. Who ever assembled the bike fouled up the chain drive. If you buy in the store test it in all gears before you go to the register. Will save you the drives back to the store. Was an easy return and replacement. Employees were helpful an cooperative.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+71points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Inland Empire
Just what I was waiting for!
Posted 07/03/2011
After riding a mountain bike for 3 years on the road I learned to switch the tires to road tires. In my early 60'ds I wanted comfort not speed. I was alway against the "skinny tire bikes" but finally tried the crossover hybrid. The Schwinn Avenue fit the bill. Hybrid tires, 700cm28C with light weight shocks, front forks and seat. It is lighter that a mountain bike and can be set up for maximum comfort. Makes a 50 plus mile ride fun again! Oh PS: The only negitive issue I have is the clicking of the rear wheel when coasting it's to noisy for my taste.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Great bike for the occasional rider

06/21/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this bike so I could ride around the local lake (around 3 miles) some hills and rough terrain, some main road. Could not find anything wrong with the bike, looks great, rides smooth and met/exceeded expectations that I had. Could not go wrong with buying this bike. I am now looking into riding it TO work. Overall good bike and worth more than a Walmart price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 7 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Great value hybrid bike

06/17/2012
By ,
Lake Charles, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got the bike for Father's day and I like it! It was assembled at the store, correctly, and besides putting air in the tires, adjusting the seat height, and adjusting the angle of the gear shifters on the handlebars, required no other work. I just went for a long ride through our neighborhood with my daughters and it worked great, and was very comfortable. A similar bike, like a Trek, from a bike store would cost around $350 - $400, so this was a great deal for someone who wants a comfortable, well balanced, lightweight, and easy to use bike. For the reviewer that wasn't happy, given the amount of riding he was doing I think he will be happier longterm with a bike from the bike store. For the average guy who isn't planning to do serious biking, this bike is great!! I will probably get the girl's version for my wife very soon!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

350 miles and no problems

09/06/2011
By ,
Lillington,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got a great sale price at local WalMart.Rode for about 50 miles and took to local shop for a quick tune up which is normal on all bikes. Rode the GAP trail from Pittsburgh Pa. to Cumberland Md. (140 miles) with no problems. Have about 350 miles on bike with still no problems. Great bike at any price..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 9 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Super Value

09/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There simply is not a better bike for the money. Spend three to four times more money than you would have paid for this bike and then ride this bike. You will take the expensive one back. What a value this bike is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 10 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Don't leave your neighborhood or go long distances

06/26/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the money, this is a good bike for very short trips and no more. (Max 3 miles at a time) I've owned this bike for a year (same model- Schwinn Avenue 700c Men’s Hybrid, only difference is paint scheme). For the first 6 months, I would ride around the neighborhood once in a while and the bike was fine. About 4 months ago, I started riding with some friends more frequently. 10 miles during the week and 35 miles average on the weekend (every week). After the second week of this routine, the bike needed to be adjusted (big time $$). After this adjustment, the bike was only good for 4 weeks. Derailleur started jamming and front crank sounded like it was going to break (I'm not very technical) and it would not shift right. This weekend, in the middle of a 35 mile ride one of the gears broke and the back tire blew 4 spokes. (I.e. I was on foot after this). After this weekend, I am no longer putting any more money into this bike. (Giving it to goodwill) I'm on my way to purchase either a Cannondale or Trek from a local shop. When you think of what this bike costs, plus parts and service (if you are going to be more than a neighborhood rider), you’re better off going to a local bike shop and getting a better bike from the very beginning. I am not a bike shop owner, I'm a financial advisor. Most local bikes shops include after the sale service for free (tuning and truing). Another lesson that I learned the hard way is that Schwinn (at least from a big box store) is not the same quality Schwinn that we were used to hearing about from 20 yrs ago. To add to this, just because a bike has Shimano parts does not mean it’s a quality bike. Shimano is the largest maker of bike parts in the world. This means that it has an entire range of parts, from very poor quality to higher end ones. I would urge you to do your homework and get something that is going to fit your needs and budget. Think of the long term vs. how cheap it is to buy now (because that's exactly what I did a year ago). Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+238points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Vancouver, WA
This is a nice bike
Posted 05/15/2013
I've had this bike for several years now and put at least a couple thousand miles on it. It does fine on 50+ mile rides. You need to learn some basic maintenance as for any bike, like how to adjust derailleur. The 24 (I think) spoke wheels concerned me initially but I have never broken a spoke and the wheels stay perfectly true. I have other bikes but keep coming back to ride this one.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Glen Cove
Replacement brake pads ofr Schwinn Avenue
Posted 06/08/2012
Would anybody know what brake pads can replace Schwinn Avenue brake pads?
-2points
Customer Avatar
Worcester, MA
Great Help
Posted 02/20/2012
I was thinking about buying this bike but the review made me steer clear of Schwinn. Thanks, you saved me a lot of money and time.
-2points
Customer Avatar
Tempe, AZ
Happy Avenue rider
Posted 09/21/2011
I've had my Avenue for 1.5 years and ride 10-20 miles every evening. I've ridden 40 miles in one ride. It's a great bike. But, I highly recommend owners learn how to do their own maintenance. Factory assembly isn't very good, and Walmart's assembly of the remaining items can be deficient. If you maintain the bike (especially an initial reassembly with proper grease and bearing adjustments) it can be a great value and reliable ride. But, if you have to pay someone to do this, you'll end up paying as much as you would for a more expensive bike.
+8points
Customer Avatar
Baytown, Texas
yep..
Posted 08/07/2011
I was told by a Schwinn bike shop that lower quality parts are used on the bikes going to discount stores to keep the price down. Higher quality parts are put on the bikes going to independent bike shops.
-3points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 11 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Nice Bike!

08/25/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bike online. I wanted to assemble this bike due to the number of bikes I seen inside several Walmarts. It seems that people don't pay attention to details or follow the instructions of the manufacture. This is a major safety issue. Poorly routed cables can and will cause a possible failure. Resulting in injury or worse.
The bike went together very well. After checking the brakes, front and back dérailleurs, and the wheels. I spent the rest of my time installing all my accessories.
Today I broke in this bike, a 12 mile ride on the Rails-For-Trails. The bike handled the ride very well. Gear shifting was very good, no problems as I went through every gear. I like the upward style of seating. Road use was even better.
Sure there are better bikes out there, for the money this can't be beat. Again, these are not the old Schwinn's from the past. Still a good bike for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Value for Money

05/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is value for money. I ordered and arrived on time to store. Store did the assembly and works fine for me after a month.
Note that I am a casual rider and do not have much Technical expertise with Bike and I am enjoying my ride with no issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Review 13 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Great bike esp. for the Price

10/03/2011
By ,
Champaign, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Less than half of the price of bikes you would get from the local bike shop. If you are going to ride everyday for distance, pay the money to by the brand name. This is a good bike for 2-5 miles, and will likely last 2-4 yrs, but no set up on hardware, and the parts/frame are not f the quality you expect form the bike shop. I did a month of research, but don't ride enough to justify the better bike. The hybrid is the way to go, the reviews of this type of bike are spot on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 14 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Great bike for under $200!!

06/13/2011
By ,
Port Charlotte Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the money...actually FANTASTIC bike for the money! I opted to assemble the bike myself and the brake assemblies do require a bit of tweaking. Most of it comes pre-assembled and the job doesn't take long at all. If you want a premium bike, go spend $800-$1000 if you have it. I doubt it will do much more then this bargain!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 15 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Bike Outperforms me.

01/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews and got this bike, well I meant to get the brown version with a rear rack already installed, but went with this one instead when I got to the store. Keep in mind this is a Walmart bike not a professional $500+ touring cycle like some of the people posting reviews always forget.
Right off the bat it seemed decent in the store, I later realized it needed some minor tweaks, which with its setup weren't really rocket science. The clerk who put it together had the handle bars slightly off, and the seat was just enough slanted I didn't notice it till its maiden voyage. I picked up a bell multi tool, basically a Swiss army knife of allan wrenches etc that most bikes used, and easily did any minor adjustments with just that.
The tire pressure seems to not want to go above 30 on mine for some reason, well not stay above it for long, could be the route I use is awfull for biking so I spend a good half mile in gravel; min pressure on the tire however is 50, so if I don't check it before a ride I find myself shattered when I pass over the canal near my house, which isn't that steep of a grade.
I have since put a decent amount of cash into it, nothing like a tuning just lights, water bottle holder, lock etc and have yet to regret anything other then thinking on that first ride that I could 2.5 miles after not riding a bike in over 12 years.. big mistake. Like I mentioned before I check it over every time it leaves the garage, knowing full well with my first motorcycle, car, etc simply doing that can vastly improve a vehicles life. Keep in mind I am no mechanic, but after fixing a slipped chain on a motorcycle (not a bicycle, but similar in principle when chain driven) not to mention driving it into the ground the first 6 years of my licensed life, I know a thing or too about minor adjustments, and got an idea of what something should look like.
In conclusion this bike still wears me out, but I am slowly mastering it, and it runs nicer now then when I took it out of the store last month. Just remember if your not gonna buy the more expensive, don't expect professorial endurance, and never take it for granted, no matter how great it feels that first month. Never neglect the once over, and the basic maintenance, it always comes back to bite you, its easier to notice a potential problem early on and end up with a spare, then pay for repairs, and still need a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Review 16 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Great quality, especially for the price

07/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research for a bike I could comfortably ride to work and back (about 3 miles). I finally decided on the Schwinn 700c and couldn't be happier. It's definitely higher quality than some of the cheapos out there and I really like the looks. I've been riding this for a couple weeks and love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 17 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Great for riding around town!

02/02/2012
By ,
Rolla, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have ridden this bike around my town for about 3 weeks now. I have put around 70 Miles on it so far (5-20 Miles on a nice day.) It gets me around town quickly, for a good price. I got it on sale for around $160. It shifts gears with one click of the gear changer, very nice derailleurs. I am 15 Yr's, 6" 1/2 tall at 150 LBS. I would recommend this bike to an everyday rider.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 18 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Good entry level bike

09/07/2011
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly was easy.
All things pretty solid for a bike in the $200 range.
Two minor issues:
1) Rear wheel is slightly "off". It's most noticeable when I'm going faster than ~15mph, and i get slowed down by it.
2) The front derailleur has issues getting into 3rd gear if the rear is already in 6th or 7th.
I believe both of these issues can be addressed by bringing the bike to a shop to get "tuned", but that would add >25% of the cost to the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 19 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

great bike for the money

05/01/2012
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bike for a few months now. I am 6'5" tall and 245lbs. This bike is very comfortable and durable. I purchased a Raleigh bike from a bicycle shop for $350.00 a few years ago. That bike was not as good as this bike. I am glad I purchased this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 20 for Schwinn Avenue 700c Men's Hybrid Bike

Comfortable and Faithful - Made 600 Miles!

06/14/2013
By ,
White Rock, B.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is like a good horse: it gives pleasure in riding, but it also loves a good care, as anything or anybody.
I've made 600 Miles on it, in a less than a year, without any big issue - riding along the city streets, park paths and some mountain roads too! I've never experienced any big issues with it. But time to time I clean (with kerosene) and oil the chain and all gear rollers, and make a few adjustments of brakes and gears.
I am a 5'8" and I find the ride very comfortable, although I'd prefer a slightly longer frame.
Did I have a flat tire? No, never! But if I had, I wouldn't complain about the bike quality: If your Maybach gets punctured tire, it doesn't mean it's a bad car. But I've placed the puncture-proof liners inside of each tire - and that helps a lot: no worry anymore!
I don't think it should be expected to perform like a Hummer. However, I've met a broken Hummers too!
It all depends on how much you love what you have!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next