Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

Mongoose 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

Just like the pros' bikes, the Mongoose Entrail BMX Bike can handle any terrain. This bike features a newly designed freestyle frame to cut weight and gain ground clearance. This lightweight bike comes with 4 freestyle pegs that let you ride like a pro. The super compact gear provides you a clean comfortable drive even when riding through obstacles. The chainset is durable and tough enough to withstand wear and tear. The alloy platform pedals are designed to prevent foot slippage. The 48 spoke alloy wheel along with 3-piece forged steel crank set offers added strength and durability. The 4-bolt stem clamps handbars are devised to give you a firm grip. The Mongoose 20 Inch Boys Bike has all that you expect from a kids BMX bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation81%13 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

Awesome bike for $124.00 INCLUDING 6% MI sales tax

12/22/2011
By ,
Marquette, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 7 months of use here is the good, the bad, and the ugly about the 20" Mongoose Entrail BMX style bike...
The Good stuff:
- I like the cool metallic black cherry color of the bike
- 3-piece crank set (175mm length)
- Heavy duty aluminum pedals (instead of cheap plastic units)
- Heavy duty wheels that will not bend easily
- Heavy duty aluminum stem (gooseneck)
- Has a 'gyro' so you can spin the handle bars around in a circle and the brake cables will never get tangled up
- Aluminum hubs
- Aluminum hand brake levers (instead of cheap plastic units)
The not so good:
- Stiff brake levers
- Cheap plastic chain guard (broke shortly after purchase, but it is not really a necessity anyways)
- Left end of handlebars bent down a bit
- Not thrilled with the purple colored stem (gooseneck), pedals, hand brake levers, gears (sprockets), and hubs, but it's tolerable.
- It is a heavy bike, weighing almost 40 lbs.
- Cheap gears (It wont effect most operators, however small gears + short chain = somewhat costly to upgrade)
- Cheesy looking seat
Would I buy this same bike again?
For $124.00 out the door? Yes.
For $180.19 out the door for a child who just wants a bike to ride? Yes.
For $180.19 out the door for a child who is really into bikes or possibly wants to BMX race? I'd look for a pre-owned true BMX bike in the $130-180.00 range. I think you will get a lot more for your money.
The full details:
I bought this bike in the spring of 2011 for my 9 year old 70-lbs. son.
I purchased it for $124.00 shipped 'Site To Store' via Wal-Mart.com.
After assembly I noticed that the brake levers are very stiff. The gears/sprockets are very small diameter. An average rider likely will not care, but if you want to be able to have any adjust-ability in your gearing you will have to replace the front & rear gears to a more standard set. This will also means buying a new chain as the stock piece is VERY short due to such small diameter gears/sprockets.
Overall it is an extremely smooth riding bike and coasts great. He has put the bike through its paces and a few crashes over the past 7 months and it is still an fantastic shape. It has been used every day, some days more than others. The only flaw so far is the left side of the handlebar has bent down a bit. I have no idea how it happened and he didn't realize it was bent until I showed him. I think the bike is heavy at almost 40-lbs. With that said I really can't say enough good about this bike for the price I paid for it. It is set up as a freestyle/trick bike than a true BMX bike which accounts for the beefy wheels, footpegs, gyro, ...
I see the price is now $180.19 INCLUDING 6% MI sales tax online which makes this bike no longer a super deal in my opinion.
I think it's still a great bike for the money if you are intent on purchasing a brand new bike or someone who just wants to ride a bike. However if you have someone who is really into bikes and/or likes to work on them or might want to start racing and you don't mind buying pre-owned there are a lot of really nice gently used quality bikes in the $130-180.00 range that will have all the same major features and will likely have a nicer seat, seat post, handlebars, smoother operating brakes, and will certainly be a bit lighter. Depending on the intended or projected use one of those may be a better buy/smarter investment in the long term.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

EXCELLENT VALUE QUALITY PRODUCT

08/14/2011
By ,
Port St. Lucie Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this bike for our eight year old son. He is very hard on all his toys. It's usually only within a few weeks that whatever we have bought him shows some type of battle scars. This bike is SOLID built tuff. I think it's going to hold up quite well. He loves that it has double pegs. I like the fact that it comes with a kickstand. When the heck did they stop putting those on there anyway? All in all it's a great looking bike solid and well built. I had some trouble putting the break assembly together I found the instructions difficult to follow. If your not really handy with this type of thing I would advise taking it to a bike store any paying them to assemble it for you. I wished Walmart offered that option I would have gladly paid the extra money. They may do it in the store but we bought this online and had it shipped to our local store, and I was told it was not an option at the store I picked it up at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

entrail all day baby!!!!

04/24/2011
By ,
st.petersburg fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wow wow wow!!!!! amazing bike!!!!! colors look sweet!!! stable!!!!! omg pretty lite!!!! phenominal for a walmart bike i wouldent be suprised if they sarted to sell these in pro bmx shops!!!! get this bike if anything may be a lot or a little bit less or more money but its completely worth it!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

Great BMX Bike!

07/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just gave my 14 year old this bike for his birthday. He was thrilled with how light it is and that it has 4 pegs (versus 2 on most other bikes he's seen). He was actually proud to tell his friends that we only paid $129 for his bike when his friends' bikes cost more than double and were heavier and only had 2 pegs! Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike
10/17/2012
By ,
Wentzville, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike for my 11 year old son for his birthday. He LOVES it!!! The color scheme is a little different than what we thought, but it worked! The description was black bike, but when we got it, the bike also came with some purple metallic parts. (ie. brakes, pedals) My son said it looks cool and that is all that matters. Regarding the cost, I do not feel that we could have gotten a "Mongoose" bike of this quality anywhere else for less than $200. What a bargain!! We will definitely be using Walmart in the future for our daughters next bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

good inexpensive bike for beginner bmx-style

07/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
got this for my 8 yr old -- frame is a bit long for his size but he makes it work and he loves the look. bike was so inexpensive, you almost can't go wrong. I doubt this bike would last on a much older/heavier child or adult, but it's perfect for him as a first bmx style bike with its small sprockets so he can drop down off ramps and into a bowl. pretty easy to put together after delivery, too. brake cable setup is poor -- the wires need to be replaced in their tracks almost every time we take the bike out of the car, and rear brake cable is exposed right under bar so that we needed to fit foam on our bike rack to transport it without damaging cable. overall it's exactly what I would expect at this great bargain price, and I'd recommend it for younger kids -- I'm not expecting it to last forever, but it was the perfect bike for him as a beginner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fort mill sc
@shamrock11
Posted 08/07/2011
dude the brake cable isn very expensive belive me i know what im tlaking about i have 4 3,000 dollar bikes thts how there setup is and tht is a grake u brake system on tht bike
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

great deal

04/20/2011
By ,
chicago ill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it its awesome nice deal good colors very very good brand
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

Brought out the smiles

09/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up for my Nephew after he mentioned to me that his other bike was stolen. I had it shipped to the store and took him with me to pick up some other items for family dinner. The surprise on his face when we also picked up the bike was priceless!
All he needs now is to take it off some really sweet jumps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike
03/16/2012
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 11 year old daughter loves this bike..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

Great first bike

04/08/2013
By ,
Fort Lauderdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my nephew - it's a terrific bike, well built and with easy instructions on assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike

bike is decribed as black

12/21/2011
By ,
tiverton RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered the bike for my grandson thinking the bike was black as described, when it arrived it had alot of purple on it , the pedals and other parts were purple, not boy colors although it was a boys bike. Lucky , I returned it and found another bike in time for Christmas
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike
10/12/2012
By ,
Portage, Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not happy, had problems with the front wheel as well as hooking the gears. I could have had a bad experience. It may not be the case for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 20" Mongoose Entrail Boys' BMX Bike
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5