Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Get the Mongoose XR-200 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike and hit the rough terrain, or take on a smooth road, with great comfort. The aluminum suspension frame and alloy rims make this men's mountain bike lightweight and durable enough to withstand rough handling. The SRAM grip-shifters let you change quickly through 21 gears, providing a great degree of control on flat or hilly terrain. The big 26" tires roll smoothly over pavement, grass, and even the roughest of terrains. A rider can stop the bike within seconds with the front disc brakes. This Mongoose 26" mountain bike in impressive red offers a combination of features that ensure a safe, memorable, and adventurous ride.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation79%34 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

great bike!

05/05/2012
By ,
orange, nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband loves his new bike. It rides smooth and easy. I would recommend this item to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Great Bike!!!!

01/04/2013
By ,
Crestline, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this bike! It is much better then I expected. Ignore the negative reviews there, those people need to spend the $800+ bikes, which, I don't feel I need to spend that amount. I found that this bike a great value, it is lightweight, it looks nice, easy to ride. The shifter works great, even going up a hill. The front disk brakes, does it's job! The only thing that I changed, was the seat. It is hard, but, I knew that, I ended up replacing it with a nice, large, padded jel seat, for about $25 bucks or so. Well worth getting a good, comfy seat. I really like the read color, it is shiny, looks great, sure is an eye catcher! The rear shock absorber is adjustable, I left it as is, from the installer, it is very comfortable. It did come with free installation at the store, just check before hand when you pick it up, to see if there is an installer on duty. I had to take my bike box, to another walmart, and they assembled it together, no problem at all there.
Overall, I am very very happy with this bike! I have been telling my coworkers, to order this bike, if they are in the market, for a new bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Ride Like The Wind

10/30/2011
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Mongoose XR-200 is a fine bicycle; sharp-looking, well-built, and feature-rich. A front disc brake is responsive and something usually found on far more expensive bikes. Its quick-release front wheel is great. The 21 speeds will serve even the most ardent cyclist's needs. It has a fine design. Dual suspension always provides a better ride and this has it in an updated configuration that seems more functional and looks better, as the bike doesn't have that "hacked" look seen in so many MTBs' center posts. An aluminum frame keeps overall weight down. The rear kick stand locks for additional stability.
After recovering a stolen bicycle six years gone and the frustrations of trying to resurrect it from past abuses, a new bike seemed a better strategy for enjoyment with my renewed interest in biking for fun and fitness. I had the good fortune to find this model in the racks and took a shine to it. A Walmart associate who assembled the bikes gave me the rundown on this model and when contrasting it to other bikes in the rack, it was a thrifty choice as well (it was clearance-priced at $149.00).
Now an aging enthusiast (in my 50's, 6'0", 235 lbs) but not an avid rider in many years, certain considerations and modifications seemed apropos. These included a more comfortable seat (the Bell gel cushions model); a Schwinn Xenon light kit for night riding (the black housing looks good with this bike); Slime 5X Thicker self-sealing inner tubes (patching punctured tubes is less than an agreeable activity), and different tires (since most riding will be of the street variety rather than off-road). It is now an exceptional bike for all practical purposes. It rides well and I've had recent experiences with "wind riding" - the wind so strong and gusty that it can almost keep you stationary now matter how hard you pedal. The gear ratio proved invaluable to continued progress in those instances - but when you grew up in the era of 10-speeds, anything beyond that is, well, expansive.
Would I recommend this bike? I have, to friends - and even bought a backup for myself, I liked it so much (Walmart had them online here clearance-priced for $149.00 at the time so I checked for local stores with stock and probably got the last one in town). The plan is to keep that one stock to use off-road as I become more adept at renewed riding.
If you too become a proud owner, then tweak the seat height, adjust the brake grips for your hands, possibly consider different grips (they are a little on the hard side). This isn't a bike that lends itself to just sitting around. Once ridden will lead to more and more. Oh, and buy a good bike lock to keep it close. I got one of the combination locks by Kryptonite so I didn't have to have another key on my ring.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Midwest, America
Helpful and informative
Posted 12/31/2011
This was an inclusive review and will further encourage a purchase on my part. I am looking for that sale price now.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Great MTN Bike for the moeny; won't beat it !

05/17/2013
By ,
Buena Park, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason I did not give this bike 5 stars is there was an assembly issue that should of been caught at the manufacture. In all fairness Pacific Bicycles did get back with me a few days after I sent them an email but, by then I had already fixed the bike myself. The only issue I had was with the rear shaft being bent which was causing excessive noise on the rear wheel when it coasted. So all I was out was some time to fix it as it was not that hard. I made sure it had plenty bike grease.
The shifters are very smooth once they were properly adjusted.
If you happen to see your gear assemble wobble when the wheel coasts this is normal and is perfectly safe. After very careful examination we determined this wobble only occurred while it coasted and not under load (Peddling). In other words, as the coast mechanism rotated (or slipped) internally the gears tracked with the internal mechanism (the wobble). Will not cause any where as the gears track true to the wheel when peddling as it should.
Again, I love this bike as its dual-suspension with front Disk Break Mongoose for $200 and you won't beat that deal anywhere else than WalMart !
The only thing else I did was to buy a bigger seat that Walmart carries in the store for about $27.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Schwinn Deluxe Stress-Free Bicycle Seat
3.4 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike
06/01/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 23 years old, bought this just to fool around with and have a bike (I came from riding BMX bikes (dirt)) but needed something easier on my body (getting old lol).
I paid $200 for this thing, not expecting much, I thought it was probably a cheap bike that won't do very good off roading but thought it would be fine for just riding easy trails and on concrete. boy was I wrong, I took this thing on dirty muddy trails, went 30+mph down hills and over jumps (I'm 220lbs) and thing shifts pretty good and rides extremely well, mongoose used to make kind of junk bikes, but I have to say, this bike did pretty darn good.
The front shock was a little stiff but after a 10 mile ride it works a lot better, had to adjust the front disc brake cable, made it grab a lot better, seat is pretty narrow as well.
I really like how it has the mounts to put a rear disc on there as well, tires are knobby and works very good in the dirt and mud. It has a bunch of features from a higher end bike (trek 3 series) but cost is low. I plan on taking it on a 15 mile advanced trail, will update my review, but based on how it performed, i believe it will do perfectly fine.
Only ting I would change is put rear discs on it, the stock rubber ones seqeal from time to time, but they might need to be broken in or adjusted.
I plan on changing those as well as the seat and a bunch of things (I'm a modder by heart :) )
I also took off the xr200 decals and the 21 speed one and the aluminum tubing one, looks a ton cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+147points
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Deserves to be ridden on a rough trail

06/24/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for something to primarily ride on roads. Though it probably seems obvious, it didn't occur to me that an extremely heavy mountain bike with knobby tires and full suspension would not be an easy ride for long distances on pavement. This isn't to say the bike is bad--it's fantastic, but only on abusive trails. The bike is called "All-Terrain", but I'm pretty sure that doesn't include roads.
The gearing is very low; only the two highest possible gears met my preference for road riding, so this obviously means the bike is meant to handle dirt and debris. The bike was assembled at the store and the gears shift very smoothly. The whole bike is well built and rugged, and if I did more trail riding I would have undoubtedly stuck with this one (I returned it).
The handlebar grips can get uncomfortable after a while, but the seat is surprisingly comfy.
Some tips:
I bought this at a store, and the price online is actually about $30 cheaper.
The handlebars use some sort of cartridge system--you need to add little ring-like things to raise the handlebars. No extras came with the store-bought bike, and I don't know about buying it online.
The kick stand is mounted near the back wheel and has a little lever that serves as a lock. If you don't put this lever in the right position before putting the kickstand down, the bike won't stand up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Best Bike for the $

09/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just picked up this bike 2 days ago for the unbelievable clearance price of $70! I did end up having to return it the next day because the front derailleur had something wrong with it, but I easily exchanged it for another one. They actually had 3 more bikes on clearance at this price. I took the bike immediately to a bike shop called the bicycle kitchen (in Hollywood, this place rocks) and tuned the whole bike, and it needed to be completely gone through. I had to true the wheels, tighten the hubs, tweak the crank, tweak the handle bars, tune the brakes and derailleur. From what I hear, this is pretty much the case always, you need to do a complete tune-up on a bike when you get it from a department store and not a bike shop.. But now, this bike feels fantastic! I also put aftermarket tires on it (the kind bike cops use, slick in the middle with nobs on the side, because I really just ride the streets). The bike flies, smooth suspension when jumping up and down curbs. i have only just started riding it but I love it so far. My only complaint might be that that I can get it going so fast that I wish it had another gear so that I could pedal it even faster, but its a mountain bike, and not a road bike. As long as the components hold up I am very stoked. i need to find out how long the manufacturer warranty is, but I also got the walmart 1 year warranty which kicks in after the manufacturer warranty expires for $6.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Great Bike

06/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this bike. For the price can't find a better bike especially with disc brakes
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

A lot more than intended

09/13/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used be a mountain biking fanatic a decade or more ago and needed one for some event in the desert, plus I'd like to have a casual bike around town. Went to Walmart and scored this baby and have been pretty happy with the result in either situation.
Positives
- This bike survived Burning Man without breaking down (or being stolen). That's a lot of alkaline-rich dust and unfavorable riding conditions (vibrations, etc) and this bike took it wonderfully.
- Front disc brake system = big win at small price. Even more apparent in dirty/muddy conditions. Rear V-brake is plenty strong and reliable.
- Front and rear suspension may take a while to break in, but...well... full suspension at this price? Amazing! Front dampening not adjustable.
- Looks awesome. Stickers are removable.
- Black 26" rims. Show them gangstas who's ballin' now.
- Knobby tires worked pretty well and held up to harsh environments
- Seat is better than the XR-75 and better material
- Compared to the XR-75, you can actually install a water bottle/air pump attachment on this '200. The '75 does not, due to its frame design
- Quick-Release Front Wheel (XR-75 does not), so you can quickly detach the wheel and throw the bike into the back seat your mid-size sedan.
- Sprocket-guard decently keeps your pants from being caught in the gear
- It works well with the Walmart attach-a-basket
Negatives
- It was Walmart-assembled. The front derailleur was slightly off alignment (before adjustment), the cable system slipped out of its retainer once, and the handlebar clamp loosened during the week which required tightening. Probably fine if you know what you're doing to fix it.
- I don't like grip shifters
- Heavy for an aluminum bike. Mostly bc of the components and wheels. The frame is fine.
- Gearing is very mountain-y. It's still better than a cruiser or bmx, but if you're street riding, don't expect to go 30 mph without pedaling very fast.
- Grips are short (and taken up by grip shifters) so if you put on bar-ends, they're even shorter and funkier looking
- Funky rear-locking kickstand takes some getting used to, but it's not too bad if you park it with the bars turned to the right.
Final
It's not near pro level, but closer to something like ex-Pro, mountain bike retiree level. Great as an all-purpose bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Great Bike for the money

07/19/2011
By ,
Venice, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking aroung for bikes and this was the best deal out there for a beginer Mt. biker. one thing is to make sure you tighten all the screws and nuts on the bike before riding it, all the adjustment are easy to do, but a it takes a while to get them right. its a smooth ride. I'm really happy with it. highly recomend it to anyone trying out mt bikeing. i like the caliper and disc brake combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Great bike for learning

10/24/2012
By ,
Miami FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike is extremely durable and the design is far superior to the previous XR200 model. It's slightly lighter than the previous model and has a better riding position as well. It's great for road riding if you have road tires and does incredibly well on the mountain bike trails. For the beginner it helps in learning about bike maintenance. It will need constant maintenance if you do decide to use it for mountain biking but the required maintenance is minor like break and gear adjustments and tuning.
Upgrades:
From the previous XR200 model, this bike has improved in several ways. The pedals are now all metal compared to the plastic ones on the previous model. The rear suspension is positioned to make the bike more sturdy and rigid while still providing shock absorption. The front wheel is now a quick release. The rear fork is less bulky and uses less metal making it slightly lighter than the previous XR200. Finally the riding position allows the rider to be less hunched over while still achieving full extension of the leg on the down stroke while pedaling.
Downgrades:
The tires on this model are a serious downgrade from the previous model as far as mountain biking is concerned. The previous model's tires had thicker and wider nubs with side flanges that handled cornering amazingly, they were also 26''X2.35'' which gripped all sorts of rough terrain, plus they looked cool with the mongoose logo printed on the sidewalls. This model has smaller width tires that do not corner as well, recommend buying new tires because they do not work well on road either. That's the only downgrade I see.
Overall the bike performs amazingly on both road and trails, If you're a stickler for weight then shell out the money for a more expensive bike. The weight of this bike helps the beginner rider to understand the physics involved in trail riding as well as build up the muscle to conquer the tough trails to the point that if they upgrade to a more professional bike the trails become more fun, the same applies to road. the derailleurs are simple and easy to maintain and so are the brakes so its easy to take the plunge into servicing your own bike. The rear fork comes with the mounts to add a disc brake, however you will have to buy a new rear rim to make the upgrade. And while you're at it you might as well make it a quick release because those fare much better on trails as the solid axle wheel that comes with the bike tends to bend and warp, sometimes even break, if the bike is taken too hard on the more advanced trails. This Bike has performed well and met my expectations and needs both on and off road and it takes all the punishment I throw at it, and I push this bike really hard (replaced rear axle 3 times already) , but I service it regularly too. Its reliable and I will ride it as long as it will allow me to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Surveyed

05/30/2011
By ,
miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
took this bike to the extreme and surveyed awesome
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
West Texas
Need more infomation
Posted 07/26/2011
What does that mean? Did you take it through mountain trails, mud, rocks? Would like a little more, thanks. I live in West Texas and our terrains here are awesome for mountain biking, especially if you don't mind cactus and cliffs.
0points
Customer Avatar
fl
great bike !!
Posted 07/22/2011
It's a really nice bike. I had to get the bike fixed as soon as i got it though. It didint wan't to shift. But I knew how to fix it, pretty simple. But any way great bike. works better off road but it still works all right on the road. Otherwise really the only the main problem I had with the bike was that the seat is terrible! The thing is soft at first but then it starts to get at ya after a while. So that's my only complaint from an over all great bike!!!!
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Over priced for the quality.

09/24/2012
By ,
NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bike is low end everything which is fine if you are paying a low end price. $199 for this bike is a bit much. That said, the bike it's self is a decent low end bike. The other thing that is a Walmart issue, is that, although clearly marked on the box not to lay on it's side, the original box was covered by the Walmart shipping box and therefore layed on it's side by the carrier. Do not buy bikes from Walmart online, go to the store. If you must buy it online, be sure to thoroughly inspect the bike before accepting it from the carrier. You have the right to refuse the delivery if the product is damaged. Open the box and inspect it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

Awesome Deal

06/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike and low price plus free shipping. No one could come close.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike
08/17/2011
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREAT bike for the price. Paid 169.00 and got FREE shipping. My son loves this bike! Highly recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike
08/16/2011
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great bike for the price and free shipping. Could not find a better deal in this range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike
04/06/2012
By ,
Nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the bike online and had it delivered to my home only because that was the fastest way to get it and shipping is less than a dollar so I thought it was worth it. As I began to assemble the bike, the rear wheel wouldn't move, and i believed i just needed to adjust the brakes. After having finished putting this bike together and adjusting everything, I finally arrived at the rear whee's brake. Upon closer inspection, I noticed it was not the brakes stopping the wheel from turning, there was actually spoke missing in the rim. I'm returning this to the store tomorrow, but this is such a disappointment. In my opinion, a missing spoke tells me the quality that must go into making these bikes and the poor QA they have in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 18 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike
04/29/2011
By ,
ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike for my husband as a birthday present. We were riding today and the chain popped off and the plastic piece that guards the gears busted.This is the second time he rode the bike. It's still usable but its alot of money for something to be broken already.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-4points
Review 19 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike

ok but had a lot of problems

08/01/2011
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the bike has to many moving parts so they put in cheap shocks that dont work i had it for 2 days and the front disk brake bent. so i could not use the front brake at all. the front derailuer never work so i could not change front gears. for somthing this price you want less moving parts so the moving parts can be a higher quality that actually work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 20 for 26" Mongoose XR-200 Men's All-Terrain Bike
06/19/2013
By ,
Geneva, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I always liked Mongoose bikes but beware of the XR200. I repair bikes and in a 30 day span I've had two come to me with broken inner ring in the rear rim hub. Making the rim useless. I hope other model Mongoose use a different rims manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next