Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

The Mongoose XR-75 26 Mens All-Terrain Bike is a tough vehicle that is perfect for off-road cycling. It comes in a trendy black and red frame. The bike has an optimum combination of strength and flexibility. Its lightweight suspension frame makes sure that even young and inexperienced cyclists will find it easy to handle on the toughest of terrains. The dual suspension bike is a super performer on mountains and has enough features to ensure a safe ride. The safety features of this mens mountain bike include linear pull breaks and the 26 inch wheels. The bike comes with a quick release seat post and therefore is easily adjustable for different riders. The Mongoose XR-75, with its 21 speeds and SRAM grip shifters ensures a fast and smooth ride. Changing gears in this 21-speed bike is easy and quick.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation67%52 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Decent Bike

05/08/2012
By ,
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike on-line in Florida to ride for a month. I have put over 100 miles on it so far and it works well. I live up North so I only can ride there for 4-5 months a year in good weather, but I ride almost everyday. Was disappointed at first because I was looking for the "budget" bike, but none were available in the Tampa-St. Pete area, but I am happy with this bike even though it cost about $50 more.
My bike up North is a Scwhinn mountain bike that cost me double what I paid for this bike (on sale) and there really is no difference except the name on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

love at first sight

08/27/2011
By ,
Queens , NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bike is amazing . since the first day i ride it uhhhh . perferct , it's like a BMW on two wheels .it's well made , well design the shock absorber is smooth ,good brake , comfortable seat . verry light i was verry suprised about that . . i enjoy it . the only problem u might encounter .if u buy it online which i did u're gonna have assemble the front (wheel ,brake) which kind of difficult n the seat n the steering after the the rest is already put together .u wont regret it if u buy this bike .
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 3 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Perfect for riding around campus

08/18/2011
By ,
Mount Pleasant, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for having to get from class to class in a short amount of time due to my tight schedule this semester. Before this one I had a very old huffy mountain bike, and I didn't care for riding it at all due to its lack of suspension. I also do a little trail riding when I can and I liked the fact that this bike came with shimano derailleur's and dual suspension.
When I got the bike out of store it was already assembled but I knew the store's usually just make it look complete before they actually go into the detail of the assembly. So when I got it home the first thing I did was straighten any portions o the wheel by adjusting the spokes and then adjusting the derailleurs and brakes. Of course most people would rate it lower because they don't have the knowledge or drive to actually try to fix the problem themselves.
The bike is exactly what I expected, which I am pleased with. Whence the five stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 4 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike
07/25/2012
By ,
S. Logan, Ut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a bike builder, the Men's Mongoose XR-75 is the one bike I see most often returned. Usually one of the pedals falls off. The bearings on the them are too tight (manufacturer defect), and they simply fall off as you pedal along.
This bike is the one we sell at our location that I never recommend in an effort to give the customer the best buying experience possible. No one likes to return to the store with a product problem shortly after buying it. Save your investment money and buy one of our many other bikes that are worth your money! And remember to learn bike maintenance, most of what winds up being returned is simply due to people not knowing how to maintain their new bike, therefore, it breaks down as they ride it into the ground almost literally. It doesn't matter if you pay 88 dollars or 800 dollars for a bike. It needs to be maintained, any bike ridden will eventually break down and fall apart if not maintained properly. Consult the internet for ways to maintain them, and even ask a Walmart Bike Assembler or a bike shop professional for ways you can take good care of your new investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 5 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Good Introductory bike

01/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After purchasing the bike I started to read some of the reviews on this bike and got a little nervous before it arrived. After it arrived I assembled the bike. It comes partially assembled. Only had to attach the handle bars and peddles. Some of the earlier reviews that I read were correct. The wheels came in a little warped, brakes not adjusted correctly, shifters need adjusted. Thats fine. Unless you are buying a bike from a dedicated bike shop you should expect to do a little tuning yourself or bring in to have adjusted for you,
After adjusting everything the bike runs very nice. No major problems. I do have to make this a point. IF YOU TIGHTEN YOUR HANDLEBARS CORRECTLY YOU WILL NOT HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THEM SLIPPING. Other people complained about that but I just made sure to fully tighten them before riding and have had no issue to this point. This is a nice bike for around town and the occasional smoother dirt trails and fire roads. That being said, do not get too excited and expect to do extreme downhill runs.
With that being said I am pleased with the bike. But keep in mind that I am also not use to $1000+ dollar bikes that some of the other reviewers are apparently use to. If you purchase this bike enjoy it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike
07/26/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good. I weigh 265 lbs. and this bike is holding up to my weight right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+139points
Review 7 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

incredible bike for the low price of $129

07/16/2011
By ,
Albert Lea, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have been out of a bike for 2+ years and i wanted a good bike it came pre-assembled i also bought an On-Guard bike lock (very good) i have ridden it 5 miles already and the shocks are great
but you may need to take it in to a bike shop an get it Finished (brakes loosened/tightened gears fine tuned and others) also the pedals are METAL yes they will last so i would recommend this bike to anyone that asked me about it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
OnGuard 6' Coil Cable Combination Lock
4.1 out of 5(67)
 
 
 
 
 
+61points
Review 8 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Do Not buy this bike

01/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Warning!: Do not buy this bike. I bought this bike at the Wal Mart in Sand City, CA. After two days of riding it, the left crank arm fell off (that attaches to the pedal)! I attached it again, with a socket, and the next time I rode the bike, the left crank arm fell off again! Also the right crank arm started to get loose and the handlebars started to get loose. I brought it to a bike shop in Monterey and they found the crank arm assembly was stripped! It would cost about the price of the bike ($135) to repair it and give it a needed tune-up. This is after a week of buying the bike! The only good news from this story is that Wal-Mart very graciously allowed me to return it without any questions. Thanks Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Review 9 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike
04/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maybe I'm getting ahead of myself but I bought this bike a week ago and for a 5'8" nearly 300lb person this bike is holding up great for the price of $135. Only complaint so far is the seat is a bit small for me but that's an easy enough fix.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 10 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Quality control issues

08/29/2011
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A friend purchased one of these bikes just over one year ago. He brought it to me recently to have a flat tire repaired. After removing the tire and inner tube, I found two temporary tape patches were used to repair two holes in the tube. This was a new bike bought off the rack at the store and I know that the tire has never been off of the bike. Why is the factory assembling wheels with patched tubes? Upon test riding the bike after replacing the defective tube I noticed that the gears were noisey and running rough. No amount of derailleur adjustment would correct the problem. An examination of the gear cluster revealed that some of the teeth on one side of the rear gear cluster were bent. This bike will never run smooth unless the gear cluster is replaced. The entire rear wheel assembly should have been rejected at the factory as a defect. I expect a new bike to be shipped with new undamaged parts. This may be an inexpensive bike but that is no excuse for such poor quality control. I also noticed that the gearing of this bike is inadaquate for off road use since the gear cluster is a 14x28, there is no granny gear for climbing. This bike should have 14x34 gearing with a megarange derailleur. Two stars due to poor quality and incorrect gearing on a bike that is marketed for off road use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Review 11 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

What I expected it to be.

08/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at this bike at my local Wal-mart store. I did so because I wanted to purchase a bike that fit me. I would not buy a bike on line if I could not sit on it first. I would have gotten the bike that day at the store but turns out that Wal-mart will not even match their on line prices like other stores will.
I decided to buy on line because between price difference and taxes I saved 20 bucks and I knew I would have to do most of the adjustments anyway. Shipping to home was free on this one.
As for the bike it is what I expected it to be. Built right for the price paid. This is not a $500 bike and don't expect it to be. With just a few minor tweaks the bike is perfect. All of the gears work and the brakes are fine too. I have no issues except that it only comes with a 1 year warranty on general parts. My other bike came with 5 years.
This bike is made by Pacific Bicycle which is the same company that makes the economy Schwinn bikes. I think Pacific Bicycle is a small bit higher quality than what I had in the past. That bike was 6 years old and was weather beaten.
I will not buy an expensive bike as I must leave mine in the hot, humid and rain of Florida. I need it to be at my call when needed. If I have this 5 or 6 years like the last one great.
This bike is for many short distance rides each day. I would not buy this bike for long distance riding because it does not have the largest front sprocket and can not achieve the speeds of a road bike.
As for anyone wanting to punish this bike off road doing jumps and stunts, it is not made for that. That is clearly stated in the warranty.
One suggestion to Wal-mart. This bike came double boxed. Mongoose Box inside of a plain box. It clearly states on the Mongoose box to not lay the box on it's side. The Wal-mart box on the outside does not state that. Guess what? When my bike was delivered it was laying in the truck on it's side. The driver did not know. The reason for this is so the frame and other parts don't get bent in shipment due to putting other stuff on the side of the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 12 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Great bike for kid

09/08/2011
By ,
Torrance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What really impressed me was the speed in which this item was shipped. I got the shipping confirmation at about 7am and the box/bike was on my front porch by noon. So, be aware when you order from Walmart or Sams that it might be there sooner than you had anticipated. This is the second time I have had this experience.
The bike itself is average. Easy to put together, my 10 year old basically did it himself. The bike looks good and rides nice. My son absolutely loves it and rides it every day. What more can you ask for with a kids bike. It was way cheaper than the other stores and after a whole day of running from one store to the other and finding out that there was nothing in stock, the mail order turned out to be the perfect option. When the website says that something is in stock be warned that this also includes items that have been returned to stock and are defective. It is a numbers thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

so far so good hold me up im 255lbs

08/19/2011
By ,
tomball tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im 255lbs i wear a backpack that is around 8lbs so 262 lbs and it holds me up no probs so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 14 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Worth every penny!

08/02/2011
By ,
Craig, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike for my ex-husband as an early birthday gift. There were a couple of wear issues on the rims, and an issue with one of the tubes out of the box. After the issues were taken care of, he fell in love with this bike! It gives him everything he needs to get in a good workout or a leisurely ride. The price was incredible and affordable! Customer service took care of the issues promptly and with no hassle. I highly recommend this bike to any man.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 15 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Don't waste your money.

06/09/2012
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike because it had gotten good reviews on Walmart.com. I thought that I could trust a brand like Mongoose but I was definitely wrong. The bike comes with some cheap handlebar grips that will fall off while riding, and brakes that don't work correctly. The worst think that happened was the handlebars wouldn't stay tight and every time i tried to tighten them it would just come loose again. This bike is not made well and I would be suprised if it lasted anyone more than 6 months of daily riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 16 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Great bike for the money

09/24/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They assembled it free and have had no problem with it. Don't expect to do hard offroad punishment to it, because it is an inexpensive bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 17 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

02/27/2012
By ,
omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had this bike for a week now and i cannot stop riding this! it is insane!with my bike i can go off road and barely feel it with the dual suspension!BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

great bike with problems

01/12/2012
By ,
new port richey, florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i have had 2 of these bike within a month and i returned both of them because of the same problem the bolt on the crankarm keeps loosening and i have too tighten about once or twice a day
i would not recommend this bike to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

Do NOT buy

02/27/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do NOT buy!! Even if you are getting the warranty.
I bought this bike on Sunday, Feb 26th 2012. The very same day I got home I did all the adjustment as recommended with the exception of one; I forgot to check the crank arms (part that connects pedal to crank w/ chain). I went out for a bike ride with my family so I was taking it easy and to my surprise the left crank arm with pedal came off at 1 mile. I had to walk/scooter push myself with the bike back home. I put it back on nice and tight, thinking it must have been loose. Next day, being today the 27th, I went out for another ride, alone but still taking it easy, not only did I notice some gears didn’t work, but the crank arm fell off at 1 mile again. And yes, I had to walk/scooter push myself back home again. Once I got home, just for the heck of it, I attempted to put the crank arm back on, the thing is stripped. Will not go back on and will need to be replaced.
I am definitely taking if back to the store for a refund and will not be exchanging it for another one. Hopefully I can find another model that’s well constructed. This ride feels wrong. The front brakes after adjusting numerous times did not work properly. Oh and the SEAT, if you can call it that. It’s like sitting on a rock. It hurts!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Mongoose XR-75 26" Men's All-Terrain Bike

would never recommend!

09/11/2011
By ,
st charles, mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I both purchased this model only hers was the womans model and we returned both after our first long bike ride. first my 2nd gear sprochet bent. Handle bars do not stay tightend,evan after retightning several times through out the ride. We evan retightend all the nuts after purchasing because of other reveiwers comments. The bike also shifted for no reason while rideing. The gears and shiffting didnt really feel right from the begging. I would suggest save a little more money and buy a entery leval bike from a quallaty bike shop with quallity techs. putting togather the bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next