Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Roadmaster Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Roadmaster Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Get ready for adventure with the Roadmaster Granite Peak 26 men's mountain bike. The mountain frame geometry and suspension fork give you a smooth, comfortable ride wherever you go. You will ride in style on this feature-packed classy 26 men's mountain bike. This mens suspension fork bike will give you ample control and an easy ride on any terrain, with its 18 speeds with SRAM grip shifters and suspension in the front and rear. The bike pairs comfort with durability. This bike has a steel frame, a comfortable saddle and high-performance tires that can smoothly roll over pavement, grass, or dirt. Linear-pull brakes and Shimano rear derailleurs complete the Granite Peak mens mountain bicycle. The Roadmaster 18-speed mountain bike can handle your adventures. The sturdy Granite Peak mens bike requires some assembly. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.403 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(181 Reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
55
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation66%119 out of 180reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
55
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Excelent Value, Actually Good for Anyone

09/11/2011
By ,
irvine, california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was recommended this bicycle and was rather surprised by the partial quality components that it was equipped with. The bike was purchased in addition to my $1200 fixed gear bicycle. Its just great to get. The bike is the best value bike that you could get from Walmart, Target, or similar stores. Truthfully, there is no need to get a bike with full suspension if its of this price range. (They don't work well.) The bicycle is great once you get it working right. Weather you install it yourself, or Walmart, be sure to adjust your brakes. Adjust the cable length,pull, and pad location and you'll be riding a smooth and reliable bike. You'll be surprised that it's an $80 bike. The tires are rather cheap but do not need immediate replacement. I find that removing the stickers/decals makes the bike look more "expensive." It is highly recommended for everyone even if you already have an expensive bike. It's a fun and perfect unit to practice wheelies as well. Just get it. You won't regret it.
See Video below or where ever it is. (Its a YouTube video)
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Works great for me

04/11/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't know what the heck all these one-star reviewers are doing to their bikes, but mine has been just fine. Tires are fine. Rims are fine. Brakes are fine. Gears are fine. Are you going to win the Tour de France with it? No. Will it get you from point A to point B? Yes.
I'm 6'3", 200 lbs, and I had no problems with the pedals breaking off or anything crazy like that. Having said that, though, I did eventually let the bad reviews get to me and I ended up ordering a pair of high-quality pedals and swapped them out, just in case. Better safe than sorry, right? A good set of pedals is only $15, which still makes this one of the least expensive bikes around. I also swapped out the seat for a more comfortable gel seat, but I've done that with every bike I've ever owned as an adult. Aside from those two minor additions, it worked great right from the store. I rode it with stock pedals and seat for the first few days and it was A-OK.
The frame may be a tad small for me, only because sometimes the front tire rubs against my foot while pedaling through a sharp turn. But it's really not an issue at all. I only ride 10-20 miles at a time, mostly on streets and paved trails, so it's perfect for what I want.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+5points
Review 3 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Need a beater of a bike for a year? This is great.

01/16/2012
By ,
Blacksburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: This is a fine, rugged, short distance commuter bike.
Cons: Heavy. Front fork shock value negated by weight of entire bike. Not conducive to alterations*
It's a ~$100 bike (with taxes). You get what you pay for. In this case, it's a decent bike. 10 years ago this would have been a $200 bike. Feels like a steel frame when newer aluminium are way lighter.
*I installed a 2 stroke engine on this bike and it was a mistake due to the construction of the frame. Instead of the frame being composed of circular tubes, the tubes were elliptical, up and down, causing mounting problems with the gas tank, carburetor and engine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike Great Price

04/28/2011
By ,
Miami Beach, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are starting to do some biking around the neighborhood just to get from point A to point B then this is the best bang for buck bike. The pedals are metal, (not plastic like other cheepo bikes), has multiple speeds and a front suspension. If you are going to be assembling this on your own and you are not very experienced or even if this is your first time assembling a bike, it is nor as complicated as you think. Just make sure you have the proper tools for it.
NOTE:
1. The fork is reversed when unpacked so you need to turn it all the way around
2. The handle bar is also reversed after unpacking, turn it.
3. Know how to adjust brakes, you will need to do this after assembly. there are many youtube videos that show you this.
4. Buy A New saddle. the saddle that came with this pretty much made my butt sore after just 5 mins on it. The reviews here do not over exaggerate when it come to the saddle.
I also installed the iBert child seat onto this without any problem. So yes, i use this bike with my 1 yr old daughter :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+145points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Miami Beach, Fl
UPDATE
Posted 06/16/2011
I have owned this bike for almost 2 months now.
I have ridden around 100 miles on my roadmaster and it has held up well. The longest ride I had done with this bike was a 10 mile ride that lasted about 50 mins. No problems at all. I have oiled some of the parts (don't worry I used a light oil for bikes ) including the chain. I have used this riding on the beach, doing errands and for exercise.
One part didn't hold up well tho... the pedal. After all the 100 miles on it, It was bent from the threads of the crank. I removed it and laced it back again and see if it will hold up, but i Guess it is time to replace them soon. I am around 185 lbs. if that matters. But i ride hard on it tho.
The suspension fork has held up nicely too. altho I have not done any high jumps, rolling over curbs and potholes seem more bearable.
Shifting is not a problem on mine, as long as the front and rear gears a adjusted well. Braking is not a problem too. I just have to adjust it from time to time as the cables stretch.
I am planning to keep this bike as my beater bike but as of now, it is my only bike and I am enjoying it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike
03/08/2012
By ,
Green Bay, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this on-line for my grandson ( 14 yrs old ). Had it shipped to home so I didn't have to haul it from store. Was in beautiful condition right out of the box, and needed minimal assembly: attach front wheel, bolt in handle bar unit, quick-clamp in seat post, and screw on pedals. It even arrived three days earlier than predicted.
One small glitch: I tried to adjust one of the front brake pads to make it more squarely over the wheel rim, and realized that whomever had assembled the brake had cross-threaded the mounting bolt, making it essentially non-adjustable. Not wanting unacceptable brakes on the road, and not wanting to haul the whole bike back to the store to be exchanged, I drove to the store to buy a new set of front brake pads off the shelf. ( $5.00 ) Works like it should now, but I complained to on-line customer service about the problem.
Customer service got back to me immediately, and reimbursed me $5.25 ( the tax too!! )
The grandson loves the bike, and I was impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 6 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

I really like this bike!

08/21/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first thing that caught my eye was the sturdy look of the steel frame. But I have to admit, I was a bit hesitant when I saw it was on sale for only $58 bucks. After my wife and I looked at couple other bikes, I was still drawn to the Roadmaster. So I went for it! This bike was a gift from my wife purchased preassembled. So all I had to do was pump the tires up with 55 pounds of air and hit the roads. The sturdy look of the bike was instantly transferred into the feel of the ride. I actually enjoy riding this bike, and took it out 3 separate times my first day.
Some unpleasantries noted are the gears tend to skip and the saddle is extremely hard. The saddle issue was quickly rectified with a gel seat pad. And I think the gears should be a quick fix too with some fine-tuning of the front and back derailleur.
Overall, this is a solid performing entry-level bike, at an amazing value…thanks babe!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 7 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Worth the money, get a tune-up

09/08/2011
By ,
Springfield, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried different bikes at walmart and this one felt right and was pretty light for a steel framed bike. I like the different color fork and the suspension on the front. I previously had a mongoose paver that got stolen and had aluminum construction yet heavier than this one. So I headed back for another bike.
construction is steel but not overly heavy.
Seat is pretty hard but needs to be broke in.
nice front suspension.
lots of gears to play with and cool front suspension.
cheap shifters but you get your money's worth.
For the price it cannot be beat. It was told to me by the nice worker at walmart that these are starter bikes and your parts are not high grade like the more expensive bikes but you will get what you pay for. I recommend on buying the warranty for a few extra dollars to cover the parts that wear out or break if they ever do. Also getting a setup and a tune up of this bike, to enjoy fully what this bike can do, especially on its shifting. I just got mine tuned up after riding for a month and its a different bike!. Just assembled without a tune up, the gears may skip, brakes not aligned, etc. So Go get a water bottle cage and a helmet. For under a 100 bucks there is not a deal like this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 8 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Best bike i tried

06/06/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i tried different bikes under $250 including Scwinn , Mangoose and V2100. It was something wrong with all of them such as riding comfort,speed change easines, to push pedals ext.. I am casual rider, just riding few miles a day around the lake for excesise ,nothing extreme .It is best bike i tried and I am extriemly happy with it. I am not talking even about the price.It was my last intention to purchase cheap bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+125points
Review 9 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Amazing Value

05/02/2011
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently gained interest in Biking and decided to buy something cheap before plopping down big bucks for a more advanced model (trek, Scott, etc). This bike exceeds my expectations given the price of $80 - It has a sturdy steel frame and all major components are made of metal - even the pedals. I agree that the seat is a bit uncomfortable, but it is a bike seat - even $1000 bikes have uncomfortable factory bike seats.
Overall assembly was easy (need allen wrenches, socket set, pliers), but the fine tuning takes time. Also, make sure you go through the entire assembly and make sure that every bolt is tightened, as some of the pre-assembled factory work seemed to be just finger tight.
I've owned this bike for a few weeks and am just starting to get the brakes to have the right sensitivity for my tastes. I have taken it on several 5 mile bike trips thus far. Clearly, the real test will be how this bike functions a year from now. But, given its steel construction and basic components, I don't think reliability will be a major issue.
Gear shifting is this bikes weakest point as gears skip or take a while to catch. In one instance, the chain fell off of the gear while I was riding it, but it was easy to put it back on. I think this bike would be better if it had less gears that just worked better. I have found a few sweet spots that seems to work well, such as gears 1 and 6.
Overall this is a fantastic entry level bike . This bike is well suited for streets, sidewalks and light trails. If you budget is under $200, I think this is your best bet. I would avoid the "name brands" under $200 as they are really just slapping a respected brand onto a similar quality bike as this. You will need to spend much more to get something worth paying for - like a Trek, Specialized, or Scott.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+277points
Review 10 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Very please

07/01/2011
By ,
Fall River,Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this bike for about two weeks now I found no false with it.
It rides very well shifts good too. I ride at least 5 times a week
And do 100 miles once a week, I took my first 100 miles with it
not one problem with it.
I am very please and happy with this bike no complaints.
I'm very please with this bikes purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 11 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

best bike i had

10/15/2011
By ,
Baltimore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i get a huffy bike from my job as a gift and i was junk so i was looking for a good bike i looked at walmart and i seen the roadmaster for 89.00 so i thought i would give it a try well let me say this i am 53 yr old 6 ft and 188 lbs.
me and my wife took on the N C R trail we did 21 miles and it was the best the shifting was great and i had no problems with it at all Love it
i just did not like the seat that came with it so i got a new one the seat that came with it is hard on the but
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Review 12 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

good bike, good value, very hard seat

04/27/2011
By ,
palmyra, nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i brought the bike from my local walmart store and rode it home (about 4-5 miles) it rides good it has smooth gear shifting the only problem i have with it is the seat it comes with. its like sitting on a brick! other than that, great bike for $80
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WADENA,MN
road master
Posted 07/08/2011
I AM THINKING ABOUT GETTING A ROADMASTER BIKE. SEEN ONE AT WAL MART IN ALEXANDRIA.I FROM WADENA.I WILL HAVE TO BUY A NEW BIKE SEAT RIGHT OFF FROM THE START AND THINKING OF THAT $20 SEAT WITH THE SPRINGS UNDER IT. ALSO A LITTLE WIDER AND MORE CUSION. I AM ABIG GUY.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Great quality

09/26/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as an incoming college freshman a year ago. It is still up and running. I got it because it was cheap and simple, easy to maintain. I had small adjustment issues early on but those were easily fixed with select screwdrivers and small bit of know-how. I've had this for about a year and the only things I've replaced were the inner tubes and the back brakes. I ride mainly to get to classes and work so basically 3-4 miles daily. I've also used it on a beginner trail once and it held up pretty well. I'm upgrading to something more expensive and I was sad to watch it go, although I did sell it for $90 on craigslist. Overall it is a great bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

great bike for low price

04/07/2011
By ,
Phoenix, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product and thought it was great. It's a smooth ride at a great price. I am very satisfied with this purchase. I am a person who rides to and from work everyday and so far it has not let me down. Would recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+101points
Review 15 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Lasted only a few months. No Replacement Parts

04/12/2012
By ,
Davidsonville, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Im 6'3" 225 lbs thought this bike might hold up for a while before I could afford something stronger. Wrong. The cassette gears were bent and it skips in 4th and 5th gear. This was the straightest one in the store. Both tubes had blown out after 1 month. The wheels bend incredibly easy and the brakes always rub. It lasted longer than I thought but around month 3 the rear axel bearing went bad and the wheel just wobbled all over the place.
But none of this is that bad considering Im a larger guy. I expected things to break on this bike simple because of my weight and the quality of the parts. What makes me angry is that you can't find any parts anywhere. No bike store carries them because all that have are high quality parts that don't fit and no online parts list match the bikes model #.
Im ok with things breaking, but not when they can't be replaced. What a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 16 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Great fun!

07/14/2011
By ,
Miami Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the bike a lot and have no complaints except one - the gears have taken quite a long time to adjust to get them to change through all of them and not grind in between - and this adjustment is not the easiest of tasks unless you have 3 hands!! But the bike rides nice otherwise and considering the cost, it has been a great investment!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 17 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent bike overall...

06/03/2012
By ,
san francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price you cant ask for more... come on, be realistic... you cant really compare this to $2000 bikes from independent bike shops. What are $2000 bikes anyway? They are still bikes.
Breaks are okay, everything is sturdy... but You have to tune this up yourself, or you can pay someone to do it for you. If your breaks are not stopping your bike well or the gears are slipping and chains are falling, it is because of that. Having said that, this would be a good opportunity for you to learn more about bikes, tuning and maintenance. I dont really think you would do it if your dont have any experience with this in a more expensive bike.
The only bad thing about this bike is the saddle. IT IS NOT COMFY AT ALL and it will kill your butt as soon as you sit on it. So go ahead and go to ebay and order a new saddle... Its not the seat post that doesnt has suspension on it.. its the saddle that is way to hard.
I personally dont like the decals... because it makes it look like a toy or a kids bike; for your luck if you dont like em either, you can remove them... and yay! your bike looks awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

good bike

05/15/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought both man and woman bikes and we love them. The gear changes perfectly, goes smooth, no noises.. I'm ok with my seat, eventually you get used to it, although you can always buy those gel-covers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 19 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike
07/25/2012
By ,
S. Logan, Ut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a Walmart Bike Assembler, and I personally recommend this bike to many people. Most who know how to take care of/maintain a maintain bike, never return these ones. Why? Because it's a good bike. Quality of parts is excellent! The bike it's self is excellent! It shifts smoothly, the brakes work beautifully! For 88 dollars it's sure worth it! I plan to buy one myself! But remember the key to having a long-lasting bike isn't how expensive it is. Even a 1,000.00 bike will break down and fall apart if not maintained. So consult the internet for information on how to maintain a bike (this bike) properly. Consult pro-bike shops, it's amazing how rather simple maintaining a bike is! With the right tools, it's easily doable!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Review 20 for Roadmaster Granite Peak 26" Men's Mountain Bike

great mountain bike for the price!

09/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a bike for four months, and I always liked mountain bikes. I had looked for a used bike in the city, but then I thought I could look into what Walmart had to offer...I was a bit skeptical of buying a bike on-line and having shipped, but since I didn't have a car to go shopping, I decided to try. The bike arrived in a box, half assembled. I put it together, it wasn't too hard, but obviously it was not all right...I went to a local bike shop, and had it tuned up for an extra $15. I have been riding my new bike since then with no problems, the shift works very well, the bike is not too heavy, and it only cost me a little over a $100...I think it's a pretty good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next