Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Boys can hit the road in style with the Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike. Its attractive matte gray and lime color combo is a sure head turner and its design is functional as well. The handcrafted freestyle steel frame enhances durability. The clamp bars that are put together using the four alloy bolt stems provide better stability during drives and thus complement the safety factor. This freestyle frame bike has alloy caliper brakes and levers that provide faster braking and make your bike come to a quick stop on all kinds of surfaces. Specially crafted alloy wheels add to the boys BMX bikes cool quotient. Overall, this bicycle provides a fantastic performance and makes cycling real fun and pleasure. What more, this steel frame bike also has four freestyle pegs that let you do stunts and maneuvers like a professional rider.
Average Customer Rating:
3.594 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation66%21 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

DO NOT BUY

04/05/2012
By ,
ERIE, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY. Bearings go out within four to six months. Double check all bolts when buying assembled. Bought assembled, and about eight percent of all bolts and nuts were not tightented. I have had nothing but problems with this bike, and will NEVER buy another Mongoose.
On the good side, it does make a GREAT boat anchor.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 2 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Great For Bike Riding.

10/28/2011
By ,
Cali
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bike around 3 weeks ago since I needed a bike. This was the first time I learned how to ride a bike, since I never really was interested in bike riding until just a few months ago. I got this bike, because it looks cool and looks great. I learned how to ride it in 3 days after practicing it for 30 minutes each day. Riding on the sidewalk is pretty smooth, on the road it's good too, but it slows down a lot on the grass you have to put more force into the pedals. The brakes work fine, I have no trouble stopping. The bike weighs around 30-38 pounds maybe, when I lift it I do it with both hands one on the handlebar and one on the frame. I don't do a lot of bike riding maybe just 1 mile a day, sometimes I use it for school it gives me no problems. When you put all your force on the pedals it can go pretty fast, but road bikes still go faster than this and it's only single gear. Tricks also might be a bit harder since it is heavier than other BMX bikes, but I guess you get used to the weight. In conclusion I like this bike very much I'm 5"4 and weigh about 110 pounds and it's nice. It comes with a kickstand too you could see in the picture. If you like riding bikes at a nice easy pace or are a boy who likes the color and design this is a simple and a great bike for you to get, but if you don't like the design or style you should skip this bike and look for one you will enjoy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
1 Year Replacement Plan for Bikes and Scooters
4.2 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
 
 
+24points
Review 3 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Very nice bike

07/27/2011
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 9yr. old grandson. Was extremely easy to assemble. (I've had a few experiences assembling bikes over the past 50yrs..LOL) He absolutely loves it. Washes and waxes it, probably too often? Seems to be very good quality..should last several years. I engraved his name and phone # on it and recorded the serial #.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+103points
Review 4 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Great kids bike

09/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really nice looking bike. It seems solidly built. I purchased it already assembled from Walmart and have not had any problems with the brakes rubbing. I haven't had any problems with it and my 7-year-old loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CALEXICO, CA
NEED A NEW TIRE!
Posted 05/22/2012
I GOT A FLAT TIRE, HOW CAN I GET A NEW ONE??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike
12/01/2011
By ,
SF
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really impressed withthis purchase not only did it featur front and rear solid axle foot pegs but the annodized rims and handlebar bar clamps make this bike shine. MY grandson 9 years old claims this bike is "AWSOME" and would not trade it for any other even more expensicve models. Walmart had the bike in stock for same day pick up. I also puchased a bike helmet and lock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
 
My Product Recommendations
Tony Hawk Huck Jam Youth Bike Helmet
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
Review 6 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Awesome for needs

07/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the design of the bike. Its really smooth to ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 7 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Great buget bike.

07/22/2012
By ,
Chandler, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At less that half the price of the cheapest bike at the local bike shop this is a great bike for a young child to learn on. I suspect the bike to have been assembled on a Monday or a Friday by the Walmart night crew, but the the sales help in sporting goods did a great job tweaking what he could to make the bike rideable and the right height for my son to test drive it and make his choice. I gave it a once over when we got home and discovered the chain and crank to be over tightened. I spent a total of about 30 minutes screwing with the bike, doing the things I would expect a full service bike shop to do prior to delivery. I decided to remove the lock nut on the crank and repacked the bearing retainers, put a little slack on the chain, and lubed the brake cables. The front brakes weren't dragging, but tweaked about 80% to one side. My son may have never noticed, but what was two more minutes to make the bike perfect. We rode for an hour this morning and no issues at all. So if 30 minutes of your time is worth saving $100+ dollars, I would say this bike is a good buy for your kid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

AWESOME

01/12/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike was a Christmas present for my grand son. He was so excited when he saw it and has not stopped talking about how perfect it is. Not only does he do "normal" riding on it but he also does "stunts" as he calls them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike
08/21/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cannot seem to adjust the back brakes exactly right, no matter how much we adjust.
Either they rub the tire while riding, or won't stop the bike at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cali
Posted 10/14/2011
That's weird because the rear brakes on my bike work perfectly. You should take it the Walmart you got it from for them to fix it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike
12/31/2011
By ,
Pownal, vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this item to other shoppers. However, I would instruct others to select site to store with caution! I received the notification I could pick up the bike as early as Wednesday 10:30 a.m. and as late as the following Wednesday. I went in Friday evening to pick it up only to be told you have 48 hours from your notification time to pick up the order and they didn't have my order. Luckily there were 2 of the same bike in the stockroom and they were able to give one of those.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 11 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

4th Mongoose

01/02/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 4th Mongoose I have purchased for my grandchildren. They love the bikes so I do too. They are very well built and have had no problems. I am sure that a pro level BMX rider would find faults with the bikes, but for kids who ride in the woods and on the street it's a great single speed bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Great looking and great quality

05/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its a great bike nuff said
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-27points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Should I get this bike?
Posted 06/22/2011
I'm thinking about getting this bike. Is it worth it?
-2points
Customer Avatar
Chicago
Decent Bike, Tune Up Before Use
Posted 06/01/2011
when i first got the bike, i was pleased at the appearance and price. on my first ride the chain popped off 3 times, because the wheel needed to be pulled back. so good bike just make sure with any bike you check it completely before the first ride.
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Cheap parts, poorly assembled

12/26/2011
By ,
St Cloud, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Regret ever buying this bike. Soon as I got it home, had to take it to a bike shop to adjust the rear brake because the pads were touching the rim. Repair guy said the brake design was bad and he couldn't really adjust it that much. There was also a slow leak in the front tire that I discovered late Christmas eve. Finally, the rear brake lever mount cracked when my son took it out for a ride on Christmas day and fell off. I would expect a part like that to last more than 10 minutes on a dirt bike intended for children. Returning the bike today.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sorry your son had a hard time
Posted 03/13/2012
I stumbled apon your review because I was looking for a cheap bike to build a gravity bike, I am sorry to say but you get what you pay for. The only bikes I recomend from walmart are the beach cruisers because they are simple and you are only riding them. These "BMX" bikes are only cheap knock offs. Your son is going to want to jump and race his bike and he will have a hard time with a heavy frame and cheap components that will break, invest in a proper bmx bike, look for major brands like Fit, Eastern, Sunday, and Haro. Also look for a bike with a three piece crank, 25/9 gearing, and double wall rims. I ride a fit inman and it does very well, jumps very high and easy to do tail whips on.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Poor Build and Material Quailty

07/14/2012
By ,
Columbia, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son (age 10) purchased this bike pre-assembled with his own allowance and gift money and it has proved to be one disappointment after another. So far, we have replaced two pedals that broke and fell off and one brake lever. The brakes are extremely difficult to adjust as well and have a tendency to come out of adjustment. At least two neighbor boys have the exact same bikes and they too suffer similar problems. I wish my son had saved his money and bought a used bike at a garage sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike
12/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item was a good product. It was a In-Store pick up. What I wasn't happy with is that they pulled an older model from the rack and it was scratched, the seat was ripped, and the handle was also cut. So I had to return the product and then get the new model bike that was not damaged.
In the end my son was happy with the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
2 stars
Posted 02/22/2012
So is the 2 stars a reflection of the service or the actual quality of the bike??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike
06/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this bike 2 days ago i rode it to work yesterday for the first time, the rear brakes barely worked at all, the front brakes didnt and they squeeled super loud. on my way home i ride UP a large hill, while doing so the rear drive sprocket internals got completly destroyed. i would not reccomend this product to anyone except MABY a small child riding a bike for the first time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike
12/27/2011
By ,
Fort Myers, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike and a low price. Bike was already assembled when I picked it up. All I had to do was a slight rear brake adjustment and off my daughter went riding it all day. Strong and great looking BMX bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Great Bike But wish it would have been assembled

01/13/2012
By ,
washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this bike online for the convenience and had my husband go get it. He brought it home in a box. I was like why is it in a box, well it was not assembled. I never saw a option to have it assembled, but why would I want to buy it online for convenience and then assemble it myself? The assembly went ok but the instructions for the brakes were horrible. The front brakes were fine and we figured them out, but I am pretty sure there were no instructions for the kind of brake in the rear. If you can't figure out how to do things yourself, definitely have it assembled for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 19 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

This bike STINKS!!!

10/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike for my 10 year old son, and it has been the biggest disappointment EVER. The back brakes have NEVER worked correctly, the brake handle just snapped off the first day he rode it, and one of the tubes doesn't hold air. Until this purchase, I had always settled for "cheap" bikes since he was outgrowing them so quickly. This past Christmas, I decided that I would get him a "nicer" bike and plan for it to last a few years. I never ONCE had an issue with one of the non-name-brand bikes falling to pieces; they always lasted until he outgrew them. I guess I'll be going back to the "cheap" ones in the future and save myself a LOT of grief and money. Piece. Of. Junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Mongoose Outer Limit 20" Boys' BMX Bike

Frame is solid but the rest is junk.

04/21/2012
By ,
anchorage ak
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for my boys. The brakes on them both are junk.They both had leaky inner tubes
The rear wheel stops working intermittently (spin the pedals and the rear wheel doesnt engage) The kickstands are junk they bend at the mount. Front sprocket/crank works loose on both bikes. The pedals fell apart after a few hours pedaling all that is left was the center part that screws into the crank. I bought a standard huffy bike for 50$ cheaper with rear drum brakes/old school brakes and it was a much better bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next