Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Mainstays Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

The Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set in Assorted Colors is an affordable way to add a splash of color to your table setting. You'll enjoy serving delicious meals to friends and family members with this set. Each piece features a sleek shape with rounded corners and elegant flared rims. This 16-piece dinnerware set includes four each of 10.5" dinner plates, 8" salad plates, 6" deep bowls and 14-oz stoneware mugs. It is ideal for both special occasions or for everyday use. There are a variety of bright colors to choose from, or you can mix and match items to create your own distinctive look. The design of this Mainstays stoneware dinnerware set is timeless. Each piece is safe to use in the microwave or dishwasher. The Mainstays 16-piece stoneware dinnerware set comes in a variety of colors to choose from.
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(170 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation92%157 out of 170reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

I collect these dishes!

05/05/2014
By ,
Bismarck ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 sets of these dishes about 2 years ago. I think I had originally purchased the light blue, yellow, and green. I spent about 65$ on those because they were on clearance. Since then I have added orange, dark blue, and red. I have my eye on yet another color that has come out.
They are excellent quality for someone like me who doesn't like the way plastic or plastic like substances last.
Over the last 2 years we have lost one bowl, and chipped 2 plates, one bowl, and one of the additional berry bowls we bought. I also own 2 of the matching serving bowls, and 8 berry bowls. I have 3 kids under 5 and I think they have held up fantastically.
I really originally wanted fiestaware, but I have spend signiticanly less on my set and have an entire cupboard of just 4 of the extras! The other 2 boxes of extras are boxed in the basement.
For everything I have I have spent around 160$ and I anticipate that I will have a complete set for a long time to come. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Beautiful dishes

05/22/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had recently painted an older hutch, and used a color called Cinnamon Spice - vibrant and very pretty. So I'm at WalMart and ended up in the dishes isle just passing through to the checkout. I got stopped in my tracks by these beautiful vibrant, orange spice dishes!
They match my hutch perfectly, I couldn't have painted them a closer color lol.
So far, they are sturdy - my husband loves them because they are deep dish. I also bought 4 of the berry bowls to match. We love the coffee cups, holds just enough for our morning coffee.
I've heard complaints about fading etc in the dishwasher, but I ONLY hand wash these, because the apt dishwasher is so rough anyway (I use my own dishwasher detergent mix, but I will hand wash these because there's only 3 of us.
I gave these a 5-star rating, we just love them, and I should add they are a deep, rich vibrant orange, the stock photo shows them lighter. All of the Mainstays dishes look just beautiful, I almost bought the turqoise too!
If you are looking for a beautiful, cost-effective set, these are IT. Just hand wash, use them gently and they should last for awhile :
-please excuse my paper towels in my pic, I haven't got a runner to go on the hutch yet lol-
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Nevada
SmokeyMoon-Love your cupboard and dishes!
Posted 10/05/2014
Looks beautiful. Good job!
I recently painted MY old cupboard Turquoise and then found the Turquoise color Mainstay dishes at WalMart.
I am sensing a trend here!
I have another old cupboard that would look nice painted Cinnamon..would go good with a set of the Cinnamon Spice dishes and my big antique orange Bauer bowl....
0points
Customer Avatar
New Albany, IN
Not faded
Posted 09/25/2014
I've had mine for quite awhile and use the dishwasher and I've had no fading or etching.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/28/2012
We used Cinnamon spice in our kitchen, it is such a bold color!! Love your hutch- we also bought the orange dishes. We do put ours in the dishwasher, and have had them over a year, no fading as of yet!
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Perfect for what I needed

12/02/2013
By ,
Humptulips, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched hi and low for Thanksgiving dishes for 30 people. I wanted to be able to mix and match the fall colors and not have the normal "Turkey Plates". The colors are true to what is shown online and when you mix and match they make beautiful table settings. They are stoneware so eventually they can chip or break, but if your looking for an inexpensive but NICE LOOKING solid set, these are it! The Bowls are nice size for soup or cereal, the mugs are large but not too heavy, and the large plate is ample enough to fill with Turkey Dinner.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great value!!!

06/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pieces in this set are bigger than I expected for the price! The bowls are deep and the mugs a perfect large size for my morning dose of caffeine!! The plates even dip in so the gravy over my chicken tonight had no chance of rolling off my plate :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great deal, but don't mistake stoneware for "china

03/25/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought four sets with the intention of weeding out the bad ones, reboxing them up and returning one box because I really only needed service for 12. But now I think I may take that bundle of defective ones back to exchange so I have extras. I really love these dishes! Out of four boxes, I came across 4 bowls and 2 plates with defects... Weird bubbling on the finish, some spots where the glaze didn't cover, uneven color (I bought white), etc. that I felt would interfere with the long term integrity of the item. But they are really heavy weight, with a nice balance and generous size. The glaze is a bit thin on the ridge design/detail and you can just barely see the natural stoneware color seep thru, but that is what I love about them b/c I was going for that slightly distressed look. Honestly, you cannot find a sturdy dish set for 16 people for $100 so it is well worth the price and allows you to accent with a few expensive pieces by occasion or season without breaking the bank!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

OMG!! SO PRETTY! WANTED FIESTAWARE, GOT THESE!!

06/21/2013
By ,
Youngstown, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on the fence about ordering Fiestaware. Didn't like the shallow bowls, or cups, or price! Saw these on the Walmart site, but never considered them till I walked into Walmart and saw them. THEY ARE GORGEOUS!!!I bought one set, unpacked it, then went back the next day to get the last set of red. They look like bright red on the computer, but are more like a rich brick color with a hint of burgundy. Fiestaware had Cinnabar, a retired color, which is more like burgundy/maroon. I like this color better. I bought grey Temptations, and they are a beautiful match. I have to get sandpaper as others have mentioned, because I don't want them to scratch other dishes. I wash everything by hand, so they wont get ruined by a dishwasher. The cups are perfect, bows are a nice deep size for salads/ cereal. They far exceeded my expectations. $60 for service for 8, vs. $240 for Fiestaware!!! I can't say enough about how gorgeous they are!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Love these but...........THEY SCRATCH FURNITURE!!!

07/11/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 6 sets of 4 place settings due to the price and we wanted COLOR! We have a 12 place setting in the kitchen and another 12 place in the attic to replace any broken ones and still at a third the price of Fiesta and I don't like Fiesta cups or bowl shapes. My husband wanted Fiesta ware and these fit the bill for a lot less money. I absolutely love the colors, and the shape of the bowls and mugs. However, the "ring" that the items sit on is not glazed and is very rough. You need to use a table cloth or placemats. The first time I used them with company, they made terrible scratches in a NEW $1,200 table. I am just sick about that, but I do love the dishes otherwise. Great value for the money, you just have to be careful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Bad packaging =broken dishes

09/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three of the four mugs arrived broken because the packaging was so bad. I ordered the dishes online since the nearest Walmart is 20 miles away and I don't have a car. In order to return them, I would have had to bring them into a store. Same problem, no car. So now I have a set of dishes with only 1 mug.
These dishes are good value if you buy them in the store, inspect them and bring them home with you but I could not do this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great every day dinnerware

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great items. They've been dropped and clanked and not even a chip so far. Only wish there were more pieces available, like cream and sugar, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

recommend pick up in store

10/15/2014
By ,
Fairburn, Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stone ware is very heavy and chips easy too much trouble to return to store two cups were broken. I recommend pick up dishes in store check for broken dishes before leaving
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Just as expected

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this set. They are sturdy and I love that you can order different colors if you choose. I have had no problems with mine, although I am careful to use a placemat as I think a few of them are a little rough around the bottom. Excellent value. I recommend them! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great Set for Price

08/07/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked this set mainly because it had great colors to choose from and the bowls were nice and deep which I like. I also loved the idea that you could mix and match at the store also if you only wanted a few extra items or ones of different colors. My only critique is that on one of the plates that I ordered there is a little imperfection where the ceramic sticks up and the paint is lighter around that area. I'm sure I could take it back and get it replace however if I wanted to. All in all though this is a great set and I highly recommend it. I bought them in both blue and green and love how they compliment each other.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great Dishes

12/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dinnerware specifically for the 14 oz mugs that are included. I got a Keurig elite K40 for Christmas and needed some larger mugs to go with it. These are the perfect size for the largest setting on the machine (Btw, that is 10 oz). Leaves enough room in the cup for a heavy dose of liquid creamer. I ordered the orange spice and it is a beautiful color. They are a little deeper in color than the picture shown. Another reviewer added a pic of the orange spice color and hers/his is accurate. I could have just went to the store and bought the mugs separately since you can purchase this stoneware piece by piece for approximately two to three dollars in stores, but I decided to just get the set. Didn't want to risk them being sold out of the color I wanted. Anyway, I am very glad I purchased the entire set. It is a beautiful, high quality set that includes deep, heavy plates and bowls. The mugs are a nice size to hold in your hand. Not overly large, but just right. LOVE this!! Don't hesitate to buy! I plan on buying more in the future to replace all my dishes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great Dinnerware Set!!

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great deal. It's a really good product and the price is good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

They are good quality and very pretty.

07/07/2011
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They came securely packaged. I like the quality and the rich, deep, red color. They are exactly what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors
04/19/2012
By ,
Knox Dale, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been looking for everyday dishes for years. Saw these dishes at a party and I loved the look. They were alittle rough on bottoms of each dish, but I just took fine sand paper and smooth them up. It worked great. I had a habit of always feeling the bottoms of a dish to see if they were rough or smooth. Yours weren't that bad, so I kept them. I wish you made the serving accessories to complete the set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great set, great price!

05/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two sets, in Arctic White, and have been using it for two weeks. I love it! I have had much pricier stoneware that is much less durable - chips, picks up marks from flatware. This doesn't. My family uses it hard, it doesn't seem fragile, and if something DOES happen to a piece, it's not cost prohibitive to buy additional pieces. Highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

you get what you pay for

08/25/2012
By ,
Lubbock TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted something fun and colorful for everyday use and was tired of using the Noritake dinnerware that I got 28 yrs ago as wedding gifts (dated color). I bought the red and really loved the style and color when I bought them. I have had them about a year now and they are going in the trash. I live in an area with hard water and the water has damaged the glaze on the dishes. The dishes now have white worn splotches all over them. I use a rinse in my dishwasher and have never had this issue with my old dinnerware. I am really disappointed in how they held up. I would not recommend this dinnerware to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

So Disappointed...

01/26/2014
By ,
Everett, Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish that I could have given it a ZERO STAR rating. I was looking for a simple, white set of dishes that were inexpensive and I could purchase a lot of. I looked over the "open stock" pieces and they looked pretty, all of the pieces are big, and attractive. I went to three different Walmart locations, so that I could purchase three sets of the white and serving platters, serving bowls, small berry bowls, gravy boat, etc. to match. Over $160.00 later I brought my new dishes home and started opening the boxes and removing the dishes. Sadly, I am waiting for Walmart to open as I type this so that I may return ALL of the dishes! Out of the dishes that were included in the boxed sets only the mugs were acceptable! ALL of the plates and bowls had issues with the glazing! The glazing was lumpy, uneven, missing in some spots, overrun and drippy looking. I can not even begin to say what a disappointment this is! These would have been beautiful dishes... if the glazing would have been done correctly! Seriously, I can not imagine how little effort must have went into the glazing process for it to have come out so poorly. I would say that maybe the sets that I purchased came from a bad batch, however, I bought several sets, at different Walmart store locations. If you consider purchasing these dishes I strongly encourage you to open the boxes in the store and look at the underside of them before you even consider purchasing them and taking them home.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

I wish they still had the yellow!!!

11/22/2013
By ,
Nowata, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like these dishes. Bought them to replace a set of dinnerware from JCP which were supposed to be microwaveable, but would burn the skin off your hands if you barely heated them.
These can be put in the microwave (within reason, folks) and still be touched. Sometimes you need a potholder, but again, its reasonable.
The colors are beautiful and my favorite was the yellow, which has been discontinued, I guess. I wish someone could tell me why, because I thought t was the prettiest. I have the yellow, orange, and red sets and use them mixed together--very pretty. I have also added the tiny bowls in the blues and greens and want the soup cups and some of the serving pieces as well.
I've had this set for over a year and its held up quite well only a few light scratches in the finish. And believe me, this stuff does not get babied!!! Buy it, you'll like it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next