Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Mainstays Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

You'll enjoy serving your favorite meals to your friends and family on the Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set. This lovely dinner set features sleek shapes with rounded corners and beautifully flared rims. The result is a fresh yet timeless look — perfect for everyday dining and entertaining. Providing service for up to four diners, this dinner set comes with four dinner plates, four salad plates, four bowls and four 14 oz mugs. Plus, it's made of durable stoneware — you'll be able to use these dinner plates for years. The dinner set is also lightweight, stackable and microwave/dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.573 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%132 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Perfect for what I needed

12/02/2013
By ,
Humptulips, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched hi and low for Thanksgiving dishes for 30 people. I wanted to be able to mix and match the fall colors and not have the normal "Turkey Plates". The colors are true to what is shown online and when you mix and match they make beautiful table settings. They are stoneware so eventually they can chip or break, but if your looking for an inexpensive but NICE LOOKING solid set, these are it! The Bowls are nice size for soup or cereal, the mugs are large but not too heavy, and the large plate is ample enough to fill with Turkey Dinner.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Beautiful dishes

05/22/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had recently painted an older hutch, and used a color called Cinnamon Spice - vibrant and very pretty. So I'm at WalMart and ended up in the dishes isle just passing through to the checkout. I got stopped in my tracks by these beautiful vibrant, orange spice dishes!
They match my hutch perfectly, I couldn't have painted them a closer color lol.
So far, they are sturdy - my husband loves them because they are deep dish. I also bought 4 of the berry bowls to match. We love the coffee cups, holds just enough for our morning coffee.
I've heard complaints about fading etc in the dishwasher, but I ONLY hand wash these, because the apt dishwasher is so rough anyway (I use my own dishwasher detergent mix, but I will hand wash these because there's only 3 of us.
I gave these a 5-star rating, we just love them, and I should add they are a deep, rich vibrant orange, the stock photo shows them lighter. All of the Mainstays dishes look just beautiful, I almost bought the turqoise too!
If you are looking for a beautiful, cost-effective set, these are IT. Just hand wash, use them gently and they should last for awhile :
-please excuse my paper towels in my pic, I haven't got a runner to go on the hutch yet lol-
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/28/2012
We used Cinnamon spice in our kitchen, it is such a bold color!! Love your hutch- we also bought the orange dishes. We do put ours in the dishwasher, and have had them over a year, no fading as of yet!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great value!!!

06/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pieces in this set are bigger than I expected for the price! The bowls are deep and the mugs a perfect large size for my morning dose of caffeine!! The plates even dip in so the gravy over my chicken tonight had no chance of rolling off my plate :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great deal, but don't mistake stoneware for "china

03/25/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought four sets with the intention of weeding out the bad ones, reboxing them up and returning one box because I really only needed service for 12. But now I think I may take that bundle of defective ones back to exchange so I have extras. I really love these dishes! Out of four boxes, I came across 4 bowls and 2 plates with defects... Weird bubbling on the finish, some spots where the glaze didn't cover, uneven color (I bought white), etc. that I felt would interfere with the long term integrity of the item. But they are really heavy weight, with a nice balance and generous size. The glaze is a bit thin on the ridge design/detail and you can just barely see the natural stoneware color seep thru, but that is what I love about them b/c I was going for that slightly distressed look. Honestly, you cannot find a sturdy dish set for 16 people for $100 so it is well worth the price and allows you to accent with a few expensive pieces by occasion or season without breaking the bank!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

I love this set

04/07/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
originally, I wanted the green or brown but, of course, it was out of stock, so I got the red sedona & am so glad I did! it is beautiful! I love this set so much that I'm going to buy another, just so that I have a decent amount of dinnerware. I'm moving in a month or 2, so I'm just going to keep the plates & bowls in the box, so it's easier to move everything & so nothing breaks; I may only use 1 or 2 of the mugs, just because they are so beautiful. the color is as true to the picture as possible and I didn't expect this set to be perfect, but I must say that I'm very pleased w/ the quality. of course it's not as good as something you'd find at Macy's, but, really, do you expect it to be? that would be ridiculous. I like the shape of the bowls; I have had similar bowls from Walmart for a few years, so I know that I like the shape. the bottom may be a little rough where the "support ring" is, however, I'm used to that from the other bowls I have & it doesn't bother as much as it might bother some people. all in all, I do recommend this set, especially since you really get decent quality for the price.
PS- I looked through every piece & didn't find any defects w/ the plates, bowls or mugs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Quality dinnerware!

03/29/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching for solid dinnerware in multiple colors. I would have love Fiestaware, but these exceeded my expectations. Large bowls, nice sized mugs. The plates are deep to where you could eat a thick stew or beans and cornbread in them. You will not be disappointed! BTW, I bought red, green, blue, and yellow. It makes me happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

OMG!! SO PRETTY! WANTED FIESTAWARE, GOT THESE!!

06/21/2013
By ,
Youngstown, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on the fence about ordering Fiestaware. Didn't like the shallow bowls, or cups, or price! Saw these on the Walmart site, but never considered them till I walked into Walmart and saw them. THEY ARE GORGEOUS!!!I bought one set, unpacked it, then went back the next day to get the last set of red. They look like bright red on the computer, but are more like a rich brick color with a hint of burgundy. Fiestaware had Cinnabar, a retired color, which is more like burgundy/maroon. I like this color better. I bought grey Temptations, and they are a beautiful match. I have to get sandpaper as others have mentioned, because I don't want them to scratch other dishes. I wash everything by hand, so they wont get ruined by a dishwasher. The cups are perfect, bows are a nice deep size for salads/ cereal. They far exceeded my expectations. $60 for service for 8, vs. $240 for Fiestaware!!! I can't say enough about how gorgeous they are!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great Dishes

12/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dinnerware specifically for the 14 oz mugs that are included. I got a Keurig elite K40 for Christmas and needed some larger mugs to go with it. These are the perfect size for the largest setting on the machine (Btw, that is 10 oz). Leaves enough room in the cup for a heavy dose of liquid creamer. I ordered the orange spice and it is a beautiful color. They are a little deeper in color than the picture shown. Another reviewer added a pic of the orange spice color and hers/his is accurate. I could have just went to the store and bought the mugs separately since you can purchase this stoneware piece by piece for approximately two to three dollars in stores, but I decided to just get the set. Didn't want to risk them being sold out of the color I wanted. Anyway, I am very glad I purchased the entire set. It is a beautiful, high quality set that includes deep, heavy plates and bowls. The mugs are a nice size to hold in your hand. Not overly large, but just right. LOVE this!! Don't hesitate to buy! I plan on buying more in the future to replace all my dishes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

grest buy!!

03/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dinnerware reasonable. Great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

So Disappointed...

01/26/2014
By ,
Everett, Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish that I could have given it a ZERO STAR rating. I was looking for a simple, white set of dishes that were inexpensive and I could purchase a lot of. I looked over the "open stock" pieces and they looked pretty, all of the pieces are big, and attractive. I went to three different Walmart locations, so that I could purchase three sets of the white and serving platters, serving bowls, small berry bowls, gravy boat, etc. to match. Over $160.00 later I brought my new dishes home and started opening the boxes and removing the dishes. Sadly, I am waiting for Walmart to open as I type this so that I may return ALL of the dishes! Out of the dishes that were included in the boxed sets only the mugs were acceptable! ALL of the plates and bowls had issues with the glazing! The glazing was lumpy, uneven, missing in some spots, overrun and drippy looking. I can not even begin to say what a disappointment this is! These would have been beautiful dishes... if the glazing would have been done correctly! Seriously, I can not imagine how little effort must have went into the glazing process for it to have come out so poorly. I would say that maybe the sets that I purchased came from a bad batch, however, I bought several sets, at different Walmart store locations. If you consider purchasing these dishes I strongly encourage you to open the boxes in the store and look at the underside of them before you even consider purchasing them and taking them home.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great Buy!

04/17/2014
By ,
Phoenix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set in Color: Rich Black and it was really appealing.
PROS: Perfect for a small family. Price is great for a product like that.
CONS: A little heavy and mishandled during shipment. I got a plate broken but WALMART was really helpful in replacing the order quick.
It was a great buy. Happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Love these but...........THEY SCRATCH FURNITURE!!!

07/11/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 6 sets of 4 place settings due to the price and we wanted COLOR! We have a 12 place setting in the kitchen and another 12 place in the attic to replace any broken ones and still at a third the price of Fiesta and I don't like Fiesta cups or bowl shapes. My husband wanted Fiesta ware and these fit the bill for a lot less money. I absolutely love the colors, and the shape of the bowls and mugs. However, the "ring" that the items sit on is not glazed and is very rough. You need to use a table cloth or placemats. The first time I used them with company, they made terrible scratches in a NEW $1,200 table. I am just sick about that, but I do love the dishes otherwise. Great value for the money, you just have to be careful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Awesome dinnerware!

03/18/2014
By ,
Suwanee, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dinnerware is an excellent value. It is sturdy, yet fashionable. It maintains its color after both multiple washes and microwave uses. And, what a great price! I love the set in a red color and enjoy mixing it up with plain white dinnerware for an attractive, but casual, table.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

BUY THIS BUNDLE!!!!!

03/18/2014
By ,
Houston,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my set and I am absolutely in LOVE with this set! I ordered the set in the Cobalt color and I get so many complements from friends and family. They are very durable. I will be getting another set just to have in another color.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

I wish they still had the yellow!!!

11/22/2013
By ,
Nowata, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like these dishes. Bought them to replace a set of dinnerware from JCP which were supposed to be microwaveable, but would burn the skin off your hands if you barely heated them.
These can be put in the microwave (within reason, folks) and still be touched. Sometimes you need a potholder, but again, its reasonable.
The colors are beautiful and my favorite was the yellow, which has been discontinued, I guess. I wish someone could tell me why, because I thought t was the prettiest. I have the yellow, orange, and red sets and use them mixed together--very pretty. I have also added the tiny bowls in the blues and greens and want the soup cups and some of the serving pieces as well.
I've had this set for over a year and its held up quite well only a few light scratches in the finish. And believe me, this stuff does not get babied!!! Buy it, you'll like it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Buy This!!

11/15/2013
By ,
Clearfield, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a dinnerware set for several months and couldn't find anything I liked. I had recently changed my kitchen decor and went with primitive/country theme. I was bound and determined that I wanted Corelle dinnerware but I just couldn't find that perfect set. Well I found this at a Walmart store, but I just wasn't sure at first well I LOVE IT! It's a perfect color match for the country/primitive decor,( I got the red set) the coffee cups are BIG, the plates are good sized, and have a rim around them that is actually kinda helpful for chasing food around the plate and the bowls are BIG and deep. Yes, it is a little heavier than what I wanted (the weight was the reason behind wanting Corelle) but you can't go wrong with this set. Bought 2 sets for less than $50.00, Love this set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

good value for product

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inexpensive quality set of dishes for everyday use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Please bring back all of the colors, I LOVE them!!

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE them! Had considered Fiesta but I bought all five colors and they are perfect (and a much better deal!!).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Excellent Product

03/10/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I know why these dishes were so hard to order. . . they are a beautiful orange spice and compliment the set of kitchen dishes that I now have. The latter were purchased from Walmart back in 2006 and, so, are out of stock. I couldn't find a pattern to match the original, but I did find these in a complementary color that goes perfectly with the original set. The cups are HUGE, so may not get used very often (I have alternatives), but the rest of the set remains high in demand and is wearing very well. They arrived evenly toned and with no broken pieces. The dishwasher does not appear to effect them. All in all, an incredible bargain, better than anything else that I have seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 16-Piece Stoneware Dinnerware Set, Assorted Colors

Great Set for Price

08/07/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked this set mainly because it had great colors to choose from and the bowls were nice and deep which I like. I also loved the idea that you could mix and match at the store also if you only wanted a few extra items or ones of different colors. My only critique is that on one of the plates that I ordered there is a little imperfection where the ceramic sticks up and the paint is lighter around that area. I'm sure I could take it back and get it replace however if I wanted to. All in all though this is a great set and I highly recommend it. I bought them in both blue and green and love how they compliment each other.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next