Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Mainstays Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

The Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe is a convenient option for storing your clothes without cluttering your room. This easy-to-assemble storage wardrobe is a good choice, if you want to add additional storage space to your room. It provides ample storage space with two hanging rods and four shelves. With so many clothes storage racks, you will no longer have clothes scattered around the room. The easy-access zippered doors not only add convenience, but also make this storage wardrobe compact enough to be placed almost anywhere. With a smart design, it also adds beauty to the dcor. Its sturdy frame ensures this storage wardrobe will fit the bill for years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.271 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation90%63 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

this hanger is very weak !

05/26/2014
By ,
seoul, south of korea
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received it 2 weeks ago, and I tied the bar of hanger with a tape. Because I hung several clothes, and the latch of the hanger is broken. :(
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Exceeded Expectations!!

05/23/2011
By ,
Wilmington, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to add closet space to our bedroom that was inexpensive but nice in appearance. For $38 I could not beat this!!! I use this to store my husbands suits, he is 6'4 so he is very tall and the suit jackets which I placed on top, fit wonderfully. The storage is great ( about the size of a small closet, but you also get the shelves good for folded items, watches, cufflinks, etc) and this was SOO easy to put together NO tools needed. Word of advice this is VERY tall so I would assemble in the room you plan to use it in. Will be buying another for our children's room as this was such a great deal! Sturdy considering the material. Again I recommend and will be buying more before they decide to raise the price lol ;-) Oh and could easily be used in a laundry room to hang clothes without everyone seeing your "delicates" and store detergent, dryer sheets and cleaning products on the shelves to keep out of sight and keep looking organized. So many possibilities for this Im very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Good choice for a basement or spare room

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to hang and store out-of-season clothes after we cleaned and organized the basement. I was quite happy with the purchase. It's a good choice if you're not using it all the time and is better built and arranged than I expected. But if you want to be opening and closing it all the time, the zipper would be a hassle for frequent use. So I'd recommend this for either longer-term storage or a room where you don't mind having the wardrobe open so you can get items without unzipping it. Assembly is a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Great substitute for a closet!

04/01/2014
By ,
Ponca City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A room that is not technically a bedroom is being used as a bedroom. This sturdy, easy to set up, extremely well priced closet gave the room a closet. It is not the prettiest thing, but it is not ugly either. This makes the space work so much better. Great value too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

good product

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very tall, with no problems hanging shirts and pants.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe
07/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this yesterday. I am staying in someone's living room for an indefinite period, and I have been living out of a suitcase for the last several months. I liked this product because it is much better for my clothes, and the canvas cover hides my clothes from view when not in use.
Overall, I like it, but I had a few issues with it. For one, some of the poles seem like they are a fraction of an inch too small for the space they must fill. This led to much pushing and pulling, and eventually some masking tape. The structure is now fine and stable, but when we tried to move it five feet across the room, we had to do it very carefully, and had some breakage.
The other problem is the canvas cover. The cover is extremely important for me, because the closet will be kept in a highly trafficked area. When I first put it on, it came to about six inches from the bottom of the structure. After much pulling and tightening, I got it to about two inches from the bottom, which is okay. It came with two little strings attached to help with this process. They both broke off immediately.
I expected to zip and unzip it with the frequency that most 20-year old girls access their closets, but since the zipper goes all the way to the top of the structure, I have to use a stool get to the top of the zipper. It's kind of a pain. I imagine I will sometimes leave it open or half-zipped.
The other little thing I have noticed, is that now that I have it fully loaded, it seems to tilt forward just a bit with the weight of the clothing. Hmmm....
Other than those things, it's a good product and I am grateful to not have to live out of duffel bags, boxes and exploding suitcases.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Average Dress Wardrobe Stand...

05/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this for 42$ which is little bit high compared to the Cost. I expected little durable & stronger Stands/columns for the money i paid which is not too good for the Cost.
I can say this is worth only for 25-30$ for the Durability & options... The Cloth cover doesnt entirely cover the Wardrobe. Cloth Cover is little loose in the corners, bottom areas & even Kids can bring the entire set down as it is not that much strong or I doubt it to be much durable .....
If you can get another one with good durability for say another 10-15$ u can go for that than this one. Price is little high for the durability of the product. Durability then price will be the main concern for buyers... The 42$ price for a thing like this would have been good had the durability/cloth coverage were good ...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Great for a bedroom without a closet

11/21/2013
By ,
Reading, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had mine for a year now and had no problems. i love how there is hooks on both sides to hang belts
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Exceeded my expectations

05/09/2011
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this today and assembled it right away. Assembly was a breeze! I could not believe how much room this has and the great features included. The best part about it is the sturdiness of this product. This was the best $40 bucks I've spent in a long time--well worth it and I will be purchasing another one tomorrow for my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

I'd say 4.5 stars Overall

08/18/2013
By ,
St Charles, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read review after review on similar items before I bought this one. Let me say I am very pleased with this product and it exceeded my expectations. I bought it today and it was extremely easy to put together. I think a few people mentioned it was hard to put the cover on but I had zero issues with that. Just unzip the cover and lay it down, and insert the rack on the ground it was very easy and no damage to the cover at all. I read 1 review saying the fabric was no more than a glorious paper towel, but I believe 90% of these closets have the same fabric. I think it is the breathable concept that makes the cover this way. I was very nervous about purchasing something that would not hold my things b/c I have several bulky items. This was not an issue and it was sturdier than you might think. Down sides are: not able to get in different colors, no wheels, and shelves are very thin. Although the shelves are thin this was not an Issue for me since my boots are not that heavy I used the shelves for 2pairs of boots on each shelf and it was perfect. I will buy another 1 in a few days I just want to make sure it doesn't break like other reviews on similar items... I will post if this happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

So much better than expected!

01/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was extremely easy to put together and it's much sturdier than I expected despite how light it is. We live in an apartment with little storage and really need extra closet space...this is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Perfect addition to my bedroom

07/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just needed a portable wardrobe for a temporary bedroom. This worked out perfectly. The design is simple. It was easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Very sturdy wardrobe

07/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried a number of garment racks and wardrobes recently as I do not have enough closet space. The others all fell over or had missing pieces, but this one works great! I have hung all of my work clothes in it and use the shelves to store shoes and stacks of sweaters. It is holding up very well. My only complaint is that I wish it came in other colors that matched the rest of my furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Great for extra storage

07/15/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this wardrobe to store my 3-year old's off-season clothes. It was easy to put together. It's lightweight, but sturdy. It's nice that there are shelves on the side. I'm loving this product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

So much space!!

10/18/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll admit, I was a bit skeptical as I was putting this thing together, it didn't seem like there'd be much space. But Wow!, I was able to fit so much in this little closet! The other reviews pretty much sum it up, but there is something i can add. The outer cover came with a hook on each side, so i've made the sides and the top of the closet functional as well! I put my hats/caps on top, and hung my accessories along the sides. Not only was this closet more than enough for my new winter wardrobe, it freed up some space in my real closet so it doesn't look so cluttered anymore!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

So far, so good

07/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased this product and so far I have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Overall I like this product, but a few bugs...

10/17/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this product because I like to hang all of my clothes and don't own a dresser, so my walk in closet is maxed out. I've purchased a $7.99 garment rack at Walmart in the past, and it worked well for about a year but eventually got bogged down by my weight of clothing and snapped. The 2 huge things that drew me to this one is that A.) it has the built-in shelves for me to keep my jeans and things that would normally go in a dresser, and B.) the canopy cover that makes it look more clean and organized. The price was right (in comparison to other brands) and it was in stock at my local store so I gave it a shot. Here are some things I liked:
- It was much, much taller than I'd expected. I'm 5'8" and it towers over me.
- The shelves on the side are much larger than I expected and hold a lot.
- I like that it comes with 2 bars for stacked/double hanging instead of one (however, mine was missing a piece so I wasn't able to install the bottom bar).
- The canopy cover is a nice material and makes it look less thrown together
- It was pretty easy to assemble and looks to be more durable than the last unit I bought.
Things I didn't like:
- Mine was missing a piece, so I can only use one of my hanging bars
- the canopy although nice was very very difficult to wedge on, and doesn't cover the whole unit. My cover stops just a few inches short of the ground.
- The flaps on the cover don't pin back neatly as they look like they should
I paid $37.88 for this, and I'm a little torn on whether or not it was worth it. By comparison, that price is low, especially for the incredibly convenient shelves and the cute canopy. However, the small details that could've been easily fixed (missing pieces, snug canopy cover) would make the unit completely worth it if they had been. If you don't want to spend $75 on a baller-looking garment rack, then this $37.88 is well worth it. If you don't mind paying double this for the extra tid bits then I may say go that track. Overall though, I'm glad I purchased it because it was much needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Exactly what I needed.

01/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item has filled the need I had perfectly. My bedroom closet is very small so I ended up not putting the clothes I wear all the time away. I ended up with a very messy bedroom because of this. I purchased this item a few weeks ago and put all the clothes I wear most often in it and now I don't need to wrestle with my closet unless I need something I only wear for special occasions. If put together correctly, this closet is very sturdy and is currently holding 15 hanging shirts, 8 pairs of pants, 4 skirts and 20 folded items. There is still plenty of room for more shirts and pants and 3 of the 4 shelves are still empty. Hope this helps...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Wonderful closet

06/25/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great closet for my daughters room & easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

awesome, I love this thing

06/16/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very spacious racks. I use 2 storage fabric bins on each shelve. I use it for my newborns clothes so its a nice space for small clothes. Its a little wiggly. Everything is plastic would of preferred metal but its for a baby. Adults may need a metal support. But seems pretty sturdy so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next