Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Mainstays Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

The Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe is a convenient option for storing your clothes without cluttering your room. This easy-to-assemble storage wardrobe is a good choice, if you want to add additional storage space to your room. It provides ample storage space with two hanging rods and four shelves. With so many clothes storage racks, you will no longer have clothes scattered around the room. The easy-access zippered doors not only add convenience, but also make this storage wardrobe compact enough to be placed almost anywhere. With a smart design, it also adds beauty to the dcor. Its sturdy frame ensures this storage wardrobe will fit the bill for years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%49 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Exceeded Expectations!!

05/23/2011
By ,
Wilmington, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to add closet space to our bedroom that was inexpensive but nice in appearance. For $38 I could not beat this!!! I use this to store my husbands suits, he is 6'4 so he is very tall and the suit jackets which I placed on top, fit wonderfully. The storage is great ( about the size of a small closet, but you also get the shelves good for folded items, watches, cufflinks, etc) and this was SOO easy to put together NO tools needed. Word of advice this is VERY tall so I would assemble in the room you plan to use it in. Will be buying another for our children's room as this was such a great deal! Sturdy considering the material. Again I recommend and will be buying more before they decide to raise the price lol ;-) Oh and could easily be used in a laundry room to hang clothes without everyone seeing your "delicates" and store detergent, dryer sheets and cleaning products on the shelves to keep out of sight and keep looking organized. So many possibilities for this Im very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Great substitute for a closet!

04/01/2014
By ,
Ponca City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A room that is not technically a bedroom is being used as a bedroom. This sturdy, easy to set up, extremely well priced closet gave the room a closet. It is not the prettiest thing, but it is not ugly either. This makes the space work so much better. Great value too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

So much better than expected!

01/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was extremely easy to put together and it's much sturdier than I expected despite how light it is. We live in an apartment with little storage and really need extra closet space...this is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Ok product

02/25/2014
By ,
Laredo, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this item broken. I didn't not return it since I needed the closet immediately as was not available in stores. I just tape fit together
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Great for a bedroom without a closet

11/21/2013
By ,
Reading, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had mine for a year now and had no problems. i love how there is hooks on both sides to hang belts
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe
07/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this yesterday. I am staying in someone's living room for an indefinite period, and I have been living out of a suitcase for the last several months. I liked this product because it is much better for my clothes, and the canvas cover hides my clothes from view when not in use.
Overall, I like it, but I had a few issues with it. For one, some of the poles seem like they are a fraction of an inch too small for the space they must fill. This led to much pushing and pulling, and eventually some masking tape. The structure is now fine and stable, but when we tried to move it five feet across the room, we had to do it very carefully, and had some breakage.
The other problem is the canvas cover. The cover is extremely important for me, because the closet will be kept in a highly trafficked area. When I first put it on, it came to about six inches from the bottom of the structure. After much pulling and tightening, I got it to about two inches from the bottom, which is okay. It came with two little strings attached to help with this process. They both broke off immediately.
I expected to zip and unzip it with the frequency that most 20-year old girls access their closets, but since the zipper goes all the way to the top of the structure, I have to use a stool get to the top of the zipper. It's kind of a pain. I imagine I will sometimes leave it open or half-zipped.
The other little thing I have noticed, is that now that I have it fully loaded, it seems to tilt forward just a bit with the weight of the clothing. Hmmm....
Other than those things, it's a good product and I am grateful to not have to live out of duffel bags, boxes and exploding suitcases.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

I'd say 4.5 stars Overall

08/18/2013
By ,
St Charles, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read review after review on similar items before I bought this one. Let me say I am very pleased with this product and it exceeded my expectations. I bought it today and it was extremely easy to put together. I think a few people mentioned it was hard to put the cover on but I had zero issues with that. Just unzip the cover and lay it down, and insert the rack on the ground it was very easy and no damage to the cover at all. I read 1 review saying the fabric was no more than a glorious paper towel, but I believe 90% of these closets have the same fabric. I think it is the breathable concept that makes the cover this way. I was very nervous about purchasing something that would not hold my things b/c I have several bulky items. This was not an issue and it was sturdier than you might think. Down sides are: not able to get in different colors, no wheels, and shelves are very thin. Although the shelves are thin this was not an Issue for me since my boots are not that heavy I used the shelves for 2pairs of boots on each shelf and it was perfect. I will buy another 1 in a few days I just want to make sure it doesn't break like other reviews on similar items... I will post if this happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Exceeded my expectations

05/09/2011
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this today and assembled it right away. Assembly was a breeze! I could not believe how much room this has and the great features included. The best part about it is the sturdiness of this product. This was the best $40 bucks I've spent in a long time--well worth it and I will be purchasing another one tomorrow for my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

No Hassle!

12/30/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical buying this but was convinced after reading many good reviews. I needed an extra closet because I just moved in to a place with such a small closet space. I needed something low budget but durable. This was very easy to set up and surprisingly durable. I hung my clothes just fine. It doesn't look crooked like my friend's who bought a similar one but doesn't have the cover. I like that this one has a cover to prevent dust. Overall, I am very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

mainstays

03/18/2014
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

For room with no closet

12/04/2013
By ,
Springfield MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a room we have in our basement with no closet. I thought this would be better than some of the other options and I liked the price. My 14 yr old daughter and I put this together in about 20 minutes with only a hammer. I was impressed with how easy it went together and the size once it was all done. I think we might take the canopy off and iron it but overall, for the price, it looks very good and seems sturdy. We have not put any clothes in it yet but will update after my daughter uses it for a few months.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Very sturdy wardrobe

07/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried a number of garment racks and wardrobes recently as I do not have enough closet space. The others all fell over or had missing pieces, but this one works great! I have hung all of my work clothes in it and use the shelves to store shoes and stacks of sweaters. It is holding up very well. My only complaint is that I wish it came in other colors that matched the rest of my furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

good for an extra closet

12/05/2013
By ,
st Louis Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was afraid that it wouldn't be strong enough to handle my teenage girl and all of her stuff but it has more than passed my expectations we are very happy with this and plan to get another one for our other daughter
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

So much space!!

10/18/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll admit, I was a bit skeptical as I was putting this thing together, it didn't seem like there'd be much space. But Wow!, I was able to fit so much in this little closet! The other reviews pretty much sum it up, but there is something i can add. The outer cover came with a hook on each side, so i've made the sides and the top of the closet functional as well! I put my hats/caps on top, and hung my accessories along the sides. Not only was this closet more than enough for my new winter wardrobe, it freed up some space in my real closet so it doesn't look so cluttered anymore!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Overall I like this product, but a few bugs...

10/17/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this product because I like to hang all of my clothes and don't own a dresser, so my walk in closet is maxed out. I've purchased a $7.99 garment rack at Walmart in the past, and it worked well for about a year but eventually got bogged down by my weight of clothing and snapped. The 2 huge things that drew me to this one is that A.) it has the built-in shelves for me to keep my jeans and things that would normally go in a dresser, and B.) the canopy cover that makes it look more clean and organized. The price was right (in comparison to other brands) and it was in stock at my local store so I gave it a shot. Here are some things I liked:
- It was much, much taller than I'd expected. I'm 5'8" and it towers over me.
- The shelves on the side are much larger than I expected and hold a lot.
- I like that it comes with 2 bars for stacked/double hanging instead of one (however, mine was missing a piece so I wasn't able to install the bottom bar).
- The canopy cover is a nice material and makes it look less thrown together
- It was pretty easy to assemble and looks to be more durable than the last unit I bought.
Things I didn't like:
- Mine was missing a piece, so I can only use one of my hanging bars
- the canopy although nice was very very difficult to wedge on, and doesn't cover the whole unit. My cover stops just a few inches short of the ground.
- The flaps on the cover don't pin back neatly as they look like they should
I paid $37.88 for this, and I'm a little torn on whether or not it was worth it. By comparison, that price is low, especially for the incredibly convenient shelves and the cute canopy. However, the small details that could've been easily fixed (missing pieces, snug canopy cover) would make the unit completely worth it if they had been. If you don't want to spend $75 on a baller-looking garment rack, then this $37.88 is well worth it. If you don't mind paying double this for the extra tid bits then I may say go that track. Overall though, I'm glad I purchased it because it was much needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Exactly what I needed.

01/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item has filled the need I had perfectly. My bedroom closet is very small so I ended up not putting the clothes I wear all the time away. I ended up with a very messy bedroom because of this. I purchased this item a few weeks ago and put all the clothes I wear most often in it and now I don't need to wrestle with my closet unless I need something I only wear for special occasions. If put together correctly, this closet is very sturdy and is currently holding 15 hanging shirts, 8 pairs of pants, 4 skirts and 20 folded items. There is still plenty of room for more shirts and pants and 3 of the 4 shelves are still empty. Hope this helps...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

great product. love it

02/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it.
I bought two. Looks neat, clean and keeps everything in place. Surprisingly holds soooooo much.
Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Dont bother

02/17/2014
By ,
Wilton Manors FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The enclosed parts were not entirely labeled, instructions poor and quality non exisitant. Poles bent shortly after building. Cover stretched beyond limit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe
11/07/2011
By ,
Northern , NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great product that I went back and bought a second. No this is not California closets, but for 35 bucks it does exactly want it should! Yes it's plastic, but I have over 20 shirts hanging from top rack and over 20 pants hanging from the bottom. The 4 shelves are full of sweaters and sweats. Having downsized from a walk-in closet to a tiny single closet, this has been the best find!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 2-Tier Hanging Wardrobe

Nice

12/19/2013
By ,
Richmond, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assy
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next