Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Slim USB 2.0 8X DVD Writer External Optical Drive is a portable DVD writer which can record a number of high-quality multimedia files. It can be used to record videos, photos and music. The USB 2.0 external DVD burner can write to DVRs at a speed of 8x and to a double-layer DVD media at a speed of 2.4x. It can be used to write on CD-R, rewrite to CD-RW and can read CDs at high speeds, as well. The external DVD RW drive, with 2.0 interface provides reliable data transfer. The USB port allows you to connect to your PC easily. Since it has a slim design, it is quite convenient to transport this stylish DVD writer.  Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website at www.solarregionusa.com ( www.sumasmedia.com )
Average Customer Rating:
3.851 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation79%108 out of 137reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 118 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great External Drive!!!

06/23/2012
By ,
Benton Harbor, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DVD External Drive is great. It works great with my Dell laptop. It's perfect and it was just what i was looking for and I needed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

just what I needed

04/21/2011
By ,
Macon, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well with my Aspire one net book.Only had to use one cable to power it.Recognized the drive without software.Plays DVDs fine and used it to create backup disc,no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/10/2013
By ,
pasadena, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was very easy to use and met all expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/05/2013
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this CD drive its awesome! And it works! I would recommend for you to buy it if your CD drive isn't workning. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
02/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dvd reader and writer. It is a little slow but hooked up to my windows
7 . with no problen at all. I would recomend it to any one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellent portable product

07/02/2013
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This external DVD/CD R/RW drive is excellent. I am able to add software on two laptops that do not have built-in drives. I recommend this unit for anyone that needs this functionality. The cost provided excellent cost value while WalMart.com was able to deliver it quickly to my store. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Nice Value

07/06/2011
By ,
Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instant plug-in and setup. Very easy to use. I cannot carry it with me in my Netbook 10.2 inch carry case 'cause it is a bit too big for the external pocket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellant for the price

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this external DVD drive to use with my netbook and am quite pleased. Plugged it in and began using the product with no issues. Good DVD drive for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Cheap and effective!!!

01/15/2013
By ,
South Bend, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this burner cause my laptops stop working. This slim external drive was perfect. I can plug it in my USB drive and burn or play dvds or CDs. It is also small so I can carry it with me in my laptop or just stick it in my purse if I want to take it with me. Great product!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Good product...

02/12/2013
By ,
The South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXTREMELY easy product to use. No disc to install...just plug & go! My box, however, did not come with the user's manual although it was supposed to. I'm not sure if it was removed from the box for someone else or if the the factory forgot to put one in or if it was used then returned w/o the manual...dunno what's up w/that so I kinda had to figure it out for myself by looking closely at the box. I also found one of the tiny screws on the backside (I assume they hold the casing together) came out. We tried screwing it back in but discovered it was 'stripped' so it won't stay in. I may return the item for an exchange simply b/c I did not receive the user's guide & one of the screws is stripped. I doubt the stripped screw will have any real impact on the actual function of the device but you never know.
I did find, however, when I was trying to copy the same video more than once. It DOES pop up a screen asking if you want to burn more...if I clicked on 'yes', it kept saying there wasn't a disc in the device. I think it said that b/c it may've been reading the internal disc player that was already in the computer so I did have to go through the regular motions to copy the video. If that message pops up, just click 'cancel' & start again but just remember, your video will probably still be in the dubbing window ready to copy to disc so check there first...that's what I did after it kept telling me "file already in use"...I found it in the 'ready to copy' window.
It didn't take long to do each video, even having to go back through the steps to copy, but just be aware that I had to start over w/each copy and it'll work just fine so if anyone reading my review who's thinking of getting this particular writer...don't think the device isn't working if you get the same message that there's no disc in the recorder...it may just be reading the player that's already on your computer and not the new one you're using...you should be able to dub just by going back through the usual steps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

External usb dvd burner/player

03/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, works as expected. Gets power from usb port. Question why does it need 2 usb ports when my external 1tb external hdd needs only 1 for power and signals?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great drive!

12/09/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactally what I was looking for. For tablets and PDA's that have a USB port, this is THE BOMB!! Very thin, pretty quiet, fast AND double layer! What more could you want?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/24/2013
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was so simple to work with and it works great. Now I am fully enjoying my notebook. I highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

just what I need

03/05/2011
By ,
melrose, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The external r/w cd is just what I need for my ACER 10.5 mini lap notebook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
11/02/2011
By ,
Moses Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had just purchase the Acer Diamond Black 11.6 laptop which is fantastic by the way and wanted to make back up, restore and mirror image disk. Since the Acer does not have a DVD/CD write rewrite drive I got this nice external drive for my system. It was recognized by windows 64 bit seven immediately and ran like a champ. I got my back up project done in nothing flat. Great price great product. I couldn't ask for more as it did just what I wanted it for.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/27/2012
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a mini laptop that's a Dell, it didn't come with a CD/DVD port, I bought this one and and had Word installed in minutes! Great product and good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/16/2013
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it work great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great! (but watch out for Win7 Starter)

08/02/2013
By ,
Grand Lake, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this little drive to go with our Acer Aspire Netbook bought earlier from Wal-Mart. The Netbook has Windows 7, Starter Edition, which does not support DVDs. I tried the drive on two of our other systems (Windows XP Professional) and it worked great. Simple to install -- just plug in the USB cable and you are good to go. Once I upgrade the W7 Starter I'm sure it will work just fine on the Netbook.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
10/04/2012
By ,
Canton,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well did just what i need it for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/08/2013
By ,
baton rouge, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far so good using it for the first time with my computer which is also new so far i have no complaints
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 119 total reviews