Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Slim USB 2.0 8X DVD Writer External Optical Drive is a portable DVD writer which can record a number of high-quality multimedia files. It can be used to record videos, photos and music. The USB 2.0 external DVD burner can write to DVRs at a speed of 8x and to a double-layer DVD media at a speed of 2.4x. It can be used to write on CD-R, rewrite to CD-RW and can read CDs at high speeds, as well. The external DVD RW drive, with 2.0 interface provides reliable data transfer. The USB port allows you to connect to your PC easily. Since it has a slim design, it is quite convenient to transport this stylish DVD writer.  Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website at www.solarregionusa.com ( www.sumasmedia.com )
Average Customer Rating:
3.847 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(137 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation79%105 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

just what I need

03/05/2011
By ,
melrose, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The external r/w cd is just what I need for my ACER 10.5 mini lap notebook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great with my HP-Mini netbook

07/26/2011
By ,
Goffstown, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my HP-Mini netbook, only needed to use one of the usb cables to power it (a 2nd is provided for when you have low power usb ports).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great extra DVD/CD drive.

06/26/2011
By ,
Sulphur,LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My desktop computer's DVD drive was having trouble burning DVDs
but the 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive solved the
problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great Value at a Reasonable Price

11/23/2011
By ,
Hampstead, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both my CD/DVD drives dies on my 6 year old HP so I bought this one to replace them. It works great and is very quiet in it's operation. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

External usb dvd burner/player

03/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, works as expected. Gets power from usb port. Question why does it need 2 usb ports when my external 1tb external hdd needs only 1 for power and signals?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

DVD slim external drive

03/23/2011
By ,
Brockton, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small and convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Perfect addition to my ACER Aspire One D255E.

04/13/2012
By ,
Joshua, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a eight year old Dell INSPIRON 6000 and recently received my ACER as a gift from my daughters. My Dell is just like a Timex, it just keeps on ticking. It's pretty slow, but so am I, but at 69, who cares !! The little ACER is just great. It is a lot quicker with about three times the memory and a tenth the weight but without a CD read/write drive, it was kinda incomplete. Then along comes this portably unit. It is now complete and it was cheap enought for this Senior Citizen to afford and not cut into his prescription money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great so far

08/12/2011
By ,
Rome, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy plug n play and worked great. I had to plug in both connections from the drive to my MacBook, though. At first I just tried connecting the USB connection alone and that didn't work. Directions are very lacking.
I have only read and copied from an inserted CD, though; I haven't tried burning a CD or DVD yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
05/08/2012
By ,
charleston, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works perfectly right out of the box
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the internal drive died in my HP LAPTOP JUST PLUGGED THIS ONE INTO A USB PORT WINDOWS XP FOUND IT RIGHT AWAY & IT WORKS PERFECT. & IT COMES WITH EVERYTHING NEEDED TO HOOK IT UP.
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellant for the price

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this external DVD drive to use with my netbook and am quite pleased. Plugged it in and began using the product with no issues. Good DVD drive for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

This is small and compact

12/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is small and compact and fits inside my computer case with my 10" Acer, Which is saying allot considering the case is small. it doesn't need an outside power source so it gets its power from the computer and with a separate cord it transfers the DVD info to the computer I have had no problems it was an easy plug and play product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Good product...

02/12/2013
By ,
The South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXTREMELY easy product to use. No disc to install...just plug & go! My box, however, did not come with the user's manual although it was supposed to. I'm not sure if it was removed from the box for someone else or if the the factory forgot to put one in or if it was used then returned w/o the manual...dunno what's up w/that so I kinda had to figure it out for myself by looking closely at the box. I also found one of the tiny screws on the backside (I assume they hold the casing together) came out. We tried screwing it back in but discovered it was 'stripped' so it won't stay in. I may return the item for an exchange simply b/c I did not receive the user's guide & one of the screws is stripped. I doubt the stripped screw will have any real impact on the actual function of the device but you never know.
I did find, however, when I was trying to copy the same video more than once. It DOES pop up a screen asking if you want to burn more...if I clicked on 'yes', it kept saying there wasn't a disc in the device. I think it said that b/c it may've been reading the internal disc player that was already in the computer so I did have to go through the regular motions to copy the video. If that message pops up, just click 'cancel' & start again but just remember, your video will probably still be in the dubbing window ready to copy to disc so check there first...that's what I did after it kept telling me "file already in use"...I found it in the 'ready to copy' window.
It didn't take long to do each video, even having to go back through the steps to copy, but just be aware that I had to start over w/each copy and it'll work just fine so if anyone reading my review who's thinking of getting this particular writer...don't think the device isn't working if you get the same message that there's no disc in the recorder...it may just be reading the player that's already on your computer and not the new one you're using...you should be able to dub just by going back through the usual steps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/16/2013
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it work great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just what I needed

03/10/2011
By ,
Le Mars, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I burned out my dvd/cd rom in my computer and this was the perfect fix...plus I can use it on my laptops since it's a usb plug in. perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
05/31/2013
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have notebook and it works great with it. Very slim and nice looking -- Everything I wanted and needed. The price was great and received it sooner than expected. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/05/2013
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this CD drive its awesome! And it works! I would recommend for you to buy it if your CD drive isn't workning. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/08/2013
By ,
baton rouge, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far so good using it for the first time with my computer which is also new so far i have no complaints
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellent portable product

07/02/2013
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This external DVD/CD R/RW drive is excellent. I am able to add software on two laptops that do not have built-in drives. I recommend this unit for anyone that needs this functionality. The cost provided excellent cost value while WalMart.com was able to deliver it quickly to my store. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/24/2013
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was so simple to work with and it works great. Now I am fully enjoying my notebook. I highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 115 total reviews