Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Slim USB 2.0 8X DVD Writer External Optical Drive is a portable DVD writer which can record a number of high-quality multimedia files. It can be used to record videos, photos and music. The USB 2.0 external DVD burner can write to DVRs at a speed of 8x and to a double-layer DVD media at a speed of 2.4x. It can be used to write on CD-R, rewrite to CD-RW and can read CDs at high speeds, as well. The external DVD RW drive, with 2.0 interface provides reliable data transfer. The USB port allows you to connect to your PC easily. Since it has a slim design, it is quite convenient to transport this stylish DVD writer.  Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website at www.solarregionusa.com ( www.sumasmedia.com )
Average Customer Rating:
3.851 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation79%108 out of 137reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 118 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Perfect addition to my ACER Aspire One D255E.

04/13/2012
By ,
Joshua, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a eight year old Dell INSPIRON 6000 and recently received my ACER as a gift from my daughters. My Dell is just like a Timex, it just keeps on ticking. It's pretty slow, but so am I, but at 69, who cares !! The little ACER is just great. It is a lot quicker with about three times the memory and a tenth the weight but without a CD read/write drive, it was kinda incomplete. Then along comes this portably unit. It is now complete and it was cheap enought for this Senior Citizen to afford and not cut into his prescription money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
04/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this item is very good. work well with my acer netbook.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
05/08/2012
By ,
charleston, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works perfectly right out of the box
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the internal drive died in my HP LAPTOP JUST PLUGGED THIS ONE INTO A USB PORT WINDOWS XP FOUND IT RIGHT AWAY & IT WORKS PERFECT. & IT COMES WITH EVERYTHING NEEDED TO HOOK IT UP.
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works exactly as I wanted.

05/19/2012
By ,
Owosso, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good machine for the price. It worked perfect as soon as I plugged it into my computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Easy Peasy!

06/05/2012
By ,
Bedford, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is literally, plug-in & use. I am very pleased with this purchase. IMPORTANT: It moves ALOT while burning, make sure it is securely in place......It will shake off the table, from vibrating so much. Other than that, I am glad I bought this. Definitely worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great External Drive!!!

06/23/2012
By ,
Benton Harbor, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DVD External Drive is great. It works great with my Dell laptop. It's perfect and it was just what i was looking for and I needed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
10/04/2012
By ,
Canton,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well did just what i need it for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

The ticket for my copies

10/13/2012
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can store all my bussness and personal information as well as pictors and videos
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

great value and gets it done

12/20/2012
By ,
nashville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Plug and play on the Mac and recognized by all my main software. Can't go wrong. Well priced. Light, which can be good or bad. The internal drive itself is made by a well-known mfg. and the same model that I have inside other computers and have also paid $200 for as an external drive from other brands in the past. This was at the low end of $30! Deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/27/2012
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a mini laptop that's a Dell, it didn't come with a CD/DVD port, I bought this one and and had Word installed in minutes! Great product and good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/30/2012
By ,
Lake St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go with my husband's notebook and my son's laptop that doesn't have an internal drive. So far so good. We have been allowed to download things on to the computers and that's basically what I bought it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/05/2013
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this CD drive its awesome! And it works! I would recommend for you to buy it if your CD drive isn't workning. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/10/2013
By ,
pasadena, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was very easy to use and met all expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Cheap and effective!!!

01/15/2013
By ,
South Bend, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this burner cause my laptops stop working. This slim external drive was perfect. I can plug it in my USB drive and burn or play dvds or CDs. It is also small so I can carry it with me in my laptop or just stick it in my purse if I want to take it with me. Great product!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Good product...

02/12/2013
By ,
The South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXTREMELY easy product to use. No disc to install...just plug & go! My box, however, did not come with the user's manual although it was supposed to. I'm not sure if it was removed from the box for someone else or if the the factory forgot to put one in or if it was used then returned w/o the manual...dunno what's up w/that so I kinda had to figure it out for myself by looking closely at the box. I also found one of the tiny screws on the backside (I assume they hold the casing together) came out. We tried screwing it back in but discovered it was 'stripped' so it won't stay in. I may return the item for an exchange simply b/c I did not receive the user's guide & one of the screws is stripped. I doubt the stripped screw will have any real impact on the actual function of the device but you never know.
I did find, however, when I was trying to copy the same video more than once. It DOES pop up a screen asking if you want to burn more...if I clicked on 'yes', it kept saying there wasn't a disc in the device. I think it said that b/c it may've been reading the internal disc player that was already in the computer so I did have to go through the regular motions to copy the video. If that message pops up, just click 'cancel' & start again but just remember, your video will probably still be in the dubbing window ready to copy to disc so check there first...that's what I did after it kept telling me "file already in use"...I found it in the 'ready to copy' window.
It didn't take long to do each video, even having to go back through the steps to copy, but just be aware that I had to start over w/each copy and it'll work just fine so if anyone reading my review who's thinking of getting this particular writer...don't think the device isn't working if you get the same message that there's no disc in the recorder...it may just be reading the player that's already on your computer and not the new one you're using...you should be able to dub just by going back through the usual steps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
05/31/2013
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have notebook and it works great with it. Very slim and nice looking -- Everything I wanted and needed. The price was great and received it sooner than expected. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/08/2013
By ,
baton rouge, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far so good using it for the first time with my computer which is also new so far i have no complaints
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just what I needed

06/12/2013
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box, plugged in the USB cable to the laptop and instantly installed a program. No hassle. Did not need to use the additional power cable supplied. I have a Lanovo mini atom without a drive and needed to install some programs. This is perfect. Small, light weight and can be carried in my computer bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/16/2013
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it work great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 119 total reviews