Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Slim USB 2.0 8X DVD Writer External Optical Drive is a portable DVD writer which can record a number of high-quality multimedia files. It can be used to record videos, photos and music. The USB 2.0 external DVD burner can write to DVRs at a speed of 8x and to a double-layer DVD media at a speed of 2.4x. It can be used to write on CD-R, rewrite to CD-RW and can read CDs at high speeds, as well. The external DVD RW drive, with 2.0 interface provides reliable data transfer. The USB port allows you to connect to your PC easily. Since it has a slim design, it is quite convenient to transport this stylish DVD writer.  Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website at www.solarregionusa.com ( www.sumasmedia.com )
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation80%102 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 113 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/05/2013
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this CD drive its awesome! And it works! I would recommend for you to buy it if your CD drive isn't workning. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
10/04/2012
By ,
Canton,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well did just what i need it for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great with my HP-Mini netbook

07/26/2011
By ,
Goffstown, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my HP-Mini netbook, only needed to use one of the usb cables to power it (a 2nd is provided for when you have low power usb ports).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

This is small and compact

12/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is small and compact and fits inside my computer case with my 10" Acer, Which is saying allot considering the case is small. it doesn't need an outside power source so it gets its power from the computer and with a separate cord it transfers the DVD info to the computer I have had no problems it was an easy plug and play product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/16/2013
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it work great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellent portable product

07/02/2013
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This external DVD/CD R/RW drive is excellent. I am able to add software on two laptops that do not have built-in drives. I recommend this unit for anyone that needs this functionality. The cost provided excellent cost value while WalMart.com was able to deliver it quickly to my store. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/30/2012
By ,
Lake St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go with my husband's notebook and my son's laptop that doesn't have an internal drive. So far so good. We have been allowed to download things on to the computers and that's basically what I bought it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Good Drive

12/06/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product works well with netbook
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great so far

08/12/2011
By ,
Rome, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy plug n play and worked great. I had to plug in both connections from the drive to my MacBook, though. At first I just tried connecting the USB connection alone and that didn't work. Directions are very lacking.
I have only read and copied from an inserted CD, though; I haven't tried burning a CD or DVD yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great buy, easy to use.

01/13/2014
By ,
Roanoke, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for netbooks. Works on Windows 7 and 8. I plugged the drive into the USB port, turned computer on, the drive was installed and I was ready to read or write to the drive. Great new gadget for a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

DVD slim external drive

03/23/2011
By ,
Brockton, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small and convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

great value and gets it done

12/20/2012
By ,
nashville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Plug and play on the Mac and recognized by all my main software. Can't go wrong. Well priced. Light, which can be good or bad. The internal drive itself is made by a well-known mfg. and the same model that I have inside other computers and have also paid $200 for as an external drive from other brands in the past. This was at the low end of $30! Deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just plug in the USB and it works

07/28/2013
By ,
Metro-West, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a way to load applications into a Netbook which has no internal CD/DVD capability. This works beautifully. Interesting option I did not need, there is a separate wall outlet power supply included in case the USB power is too weak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellant for the price

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this external DVD drive to use with my netbook and am quite pleased. Plugged it in and began using the product with no issues. Good DVD drive for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
05/08/2012
By ,
charleston, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works perfectly right out of the box
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the internal drive died in my HP LAPTOP JUST PLUGGED THIS ONE INTO A USB PORT WINDOWS XP FOUND IT RIGHT AWAY & IT WORKS PERFECT. & IT COMES WITH EVERYTHING NEEDED TO HOOK IT UP.
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great

07/28/2013
By ,
Vallejo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works awesome whenever I pop the Netbook on, no problems, work's like any internal disk drive just external, portable on the go, whenever you need, love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/10/2013
By ,
pasadena, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was very easy to use and met all expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

just what I need

03/05/2011
By ,
melrose, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The external r/w cd is just what I need for my ACER 10.5 mini lap notebook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just what I needed

06/12/2013
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box, plugged in the USB cable to the laptop and instantly installed a program. No hassle. Did not need to use the additional power cable supplied. I have a Lanovo mini atom without a drive and needed to install some programs. This is perfect. Small, light weight and can be carried in my computer bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 110 total reviews