Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Slim USB 2.0 8X DVD Writer External Optical Drive is a portable DVD writer which can record a number of high-quality multimedia files. It can be used to record videos, photos and music. The USB 2.0 external DVD burner can write to DVRs at a speed of 8x and to a double-layer DVD media at a speed of 2.4x. It can be used to write on CD-R, rewrite to CD-RW and can read CDs at high speeds, as well. The external DVD RW drive, with 2.0 interface provides reliable data transfer. The USB port allows you to connect to your PC easily. Since it has a slim design, it is quite convenient to transport this stylish DVD writer.  Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website at www.solarregionusa.com ( www.sumasmedia.com )
Average Customer Rating:
3.859 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation79%109 out of 138reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 118 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Worth the money

03/14/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought a notebook for use when travelling and I needed a slim external CD/DVD drive. This works perfectly. Plugs into the notebook and no other external power is needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great extra DVD/CD drive.

06/26/2011
By ,
Sulphur,LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My desktop computer's DVD drive was having trouble burning DVDs
but the 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive solved the
problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great drive!

12/09/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactally what I was looking for. For tablets and PDA's that have a USB port, this is THE BOMB!! Very thin, pretty quiet, fast AND double layer! What more could you want?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

The ticket for my copies

10/13/2012
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can store all my bussness and personal information as well as pictors and videos
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/05/2013
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this CD drive its awesome! And it works! I would recommend for you to buy it if your CD drive isn't workning. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Cheap and effective!!!

01/15/2013
By ,
South Bend, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this burner cause my laptops stop working. This slim external drive was perfect. I can plug it in my USB drive and burn or play dvds or CDs. It is also small so I can carry it with me in my laptop or just stick it in my purse if I want to take it with me. Great product!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

easy to use/ slim and compact

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for external drive/ slim/ portable/ good performance from a small accessory/ great dollar value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellant for the price

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this external DVD drive to use with my netbook and am quite pleased. Plugged it in and began using the product with no issues. Good DVD drive for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just what I needed

06/12/2013
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box, plugged in the USB cable to the laptop and instantly installed a program. No hassle. Did not need to use the additional power cable supplied. I have a Lanovo mini atom without a drive and needed to install some programs. This is perfect. Small, light weight and can be carried in my computer bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
04/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this item is very good. work well with my acer netbook.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Very good purchase

08/21/2013
By ,
avon, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The external drive was rece3ived on time and is working very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellent portable product

07/02/2013
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This external DVD/CD R/RW drive is excellent. I am able to add software on two laptops that do not have built-in drives. I recommend this unit for anyone that needs this functionality. The cost provided excellent cost value while WalMart.com was able to deliver it quickly to my store. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/27/2012
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a mini laptop that's a Dell, it didn't come with a CD/DVD port, I bought this one and and had Word installed in minutes! Great product and good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Does it"s job..

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use . Have not used the writer feature yet .Very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
11/02/2011
By ,
Moses Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had just purchase the Acer Diamond Black 11.6 laptop which is fantastic by the way and wanted to make back up, restore and mirror image disk. Since the Acer does not have a DVD/CD write rewrite drive I got this nice external drive for my system. It was recognized by windows 64 bit seven immediately and ran like a champ. I got my back up project done in nothing flat. Great price great product. I couldn't ask for more as it did just what I wanted it for.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works as advertised.

02/02/2014
By ,
Nampa, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This external DVD drive works as advertised. It is less expensive than others I found and works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great! (but watch out for Win7 Starter)

08/02/2013
By ,
Grand Lake, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this little drive to go with our Acer Aspire Netbook bought earlier from Wal-Mart. The Netbook has Windows 7, Starter Edition, which does not support DVDs. I tried the drive on two of our other systems (Windows XP Professional) and it worked great. Simple to install -- just plug in the USB cable and you are good to go. Once I upgrade the W7 Starter I'm sure it will work just fine on the Netbook.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/24/2013
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was so simple to work with and it works great. Now I am fully enjoying my notebook. I highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Ext DVD/Rom

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works good.... does job purchased for.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

excellent product

10/15/2014
By ,
brawley, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item, because the disc drive on my laptop went out...i love this product and would recommend it to anyone who needs an external burner for whatever reason...you wont be disappointed. ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 120 total reviews