Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Slim USB 2.0 8X DVD Writer External Optical Drive is a portable DVD writer which can record a number of high-quality multimedia files. It can be used to record videos, photos and music. The USB 2.0 external DVD burner can write to DVRs at a speed of 8x and to a double-layer DVD media at a speed of 2.4x. It can be used to write on CD-R, rewrite to CD-RW and can read CDs at high speeds, as well. The external DVD RW drive, with 2.0 interface provides reliable data transfer. The USB port allows you to connect to your PC easily. Since it has a slim design, it is quite convenient to transport this stylish DVD writer.  Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website at www.solarregionusa.com ( www.sumasmedia.com )
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation79%103 out of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
80 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
02/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dvd reader and writer. It is a little slow but hooked up to my windows
7 . with no problen at all. I would recomend it to any one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great extra DVD/CD drive.

06/26/2011
By ,
Sulphur,LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My desktop computer's DVD drive was having trouble burning DVDs
but the 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive solved the
problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

DVD slim external drive

03/23/2011
By ,
Brockton, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small and convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/30/2012
By ,
Lake St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go with my husband's notebook and my son's laptop that doesn't have an internal drive. So far so good. We have been allowed to download things on to the computers and that's basically what I bought it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just what I needed

06/12/2013
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box, plugged in the USB cable to the laptop and instantly installed a program. No hassle. Did not need to use the additional power cable supplied. I have a Lanovo mini atom without a drive and needed to install some programs. This is perfect. Small, light weight and can be carried in my computer bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Cheap and effective!!!

01/15/2013
By ,
South Bend, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this burner cause my laptops stop working. This slim external drive was perfect. I can plug it in my USB drive and burn or play dvds or CDs. It is also small so I can carry it with me in my laptop or just stick it in my purse if I want to take it with me. Great product!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

GREAT STOP COMPLAINING

10/06/2011
By ,
Chicago IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHO EVER SAYS THIS IS NOT WORKING WITH WINDOW 7 THEN THINK AGAIN.First make sure you have it plugged IN ,you have to have the internet connected to install driver and it works great with burning dl disc reading
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
04/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this item is very good. work well with my acer netbook.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellent portable product

07/02/2013
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This external DVD/CD R/RW drive is excellent. I am able to add software on two laptops that do not have built-in drives. I recommend this unit for anyone that needs this functionality. The cost provided excellent cost value while WalMart.com was able to deliver it quickly to my store. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great

07/28/2013
By ,
Vallejo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works awesome whenever I pop the Netbook on, no problems, work's like any internal disk drive just external, portable on the go, whenever you need, love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

great value and gets it done

12/20/2012
By ,
nashville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Plug and play on the Mac and recognized by all my main software. Can't go wrong. Well priced. Light, which can be good or bad. The internal drive itself is made by a well-known mfg. and the same model that I have inside other computers and have also paid $200 for as an external drive from other brands in the past. This was at the low end of $30! Deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/05/2013
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this CD drive its awesome! And it works! I would recommend for you to buy it if your CD drive isn't workning. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great buy, easy to use.

01/13/2014
By ,
Roanoke, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for netbooks. Works on Windows 7 and 8. I plugged the drive into the USB port, turned computer on, the drive was installed and I was ready to read or write to the drive. Great new gadget for a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great!

11/21/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It hooks up easily and works great! No complaints! Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/08/2013
By ,
baton rouge, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far so good using it for the first time with my computer which is also new so far i have no complaints
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/24/2013
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was so simple to work with and it works great. Now I am fully enjoying my notebook. I highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just what I needed

03/10/2011
By ,
Le Mars, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I burned out my dvd/cd rom in my computer and this was the perfect fix...plus I can use it on my laptops since it's a usb plug in. perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

just what I needed

04/21/2011
By ,
Macon, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well with my Aspire one net book.Only had to use one cable to power it.Recognized the drive without software.Plays DVDs fine and used it to create backup disc,no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
10/04/2012
By ,
Canton,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well did just what i need it for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Good product...

02/12/2013
By ,
The South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXTREMELY easy product to use. No disc to install...just plug & go! My box, however, did not come with the user's manual although it was supposed to. I'm not sure if it was removed from the box for someone else or if the the factory forgot to put one in or if it was used then returned w/o the manual...dunno what's up w/that so I kinda had to figure it out for myself by looking closely at the box. I also found one of the tiny screws on the backside (I assume they hold the casing together) came out. We tried screwing it back in but discovered it was 'stripped' so it won't stay in. I may return the item for an exchange simply b/c I did not receive the user's guide & one of the screws is stripped. I doubt the stripped screw will have any real impact on the actual function of the device but you never know.
I did find, however, when I was trying to copy the same video more than once. It DOES pop up a screen asking if you want to burn more...if I clicked on 'yes', it kept saying there wasn't a disc in the device. I think it said that b/c it may've been reading the internal disc player that was already in the computer so I did have to go through the regular motions to copy the video. If that message pops up, just click 'cancel' & start again but just remember, your video will probably still be in the dubbing window ready to copy to disc so check there first...that's what I did after it kept telling me "file already in use"...I found it in the 'ready to copy' window.
It didn't take long to do each video, even having to go back through the steps to copy, but just be aware that I had to start over w/each copy and it'll work just fine so if anyone reading my review who's thinking of getting this particular writer...don't think the device isn't working if you get the same message that there's no disc in the recorder...it may just be reading the player that's already on your computer and not the new one you're using...you should be able to dub just by going back through the usual steps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 113 total reviews