Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Slim USB 2.0 8X DVD Writer External Optical Drive is a portable DVD writer which can record a number of high-quality multimedia files. It can be used to record videos, photos and music. The USB 2.0 external DVD burner can write to DVRs at a speed of 8x and to a double-layer DVD media at a speed of 2.4x. It can be used to write on CD-R, rewrite to CD-RW and can read CDs at high speeds, as well. The external DVD RW drive, with 2.0 interface provides reliable data transfer. The USB port allows you to connect to your PC easily. Since it has a slim design, it is quite convenient to transport this stylish DVD writer.  Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website at www.solarregionusa.com ( www.sumasmedia.com )
Average Customer Rating:
3.851 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation79%108 out of 137reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/24/2013
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was so simple to work with and it works great. Now I am fully enjoying my notebook. I highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great! (but watch out for Win7 Starter)

08/02/2013
By ,
Grand Lake, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this little drive to go with our Acer Aspire Netbook bought earlier from Wal-Mart. The Netbook has Windows 7, Starter Edition, which does not support DVDs. I tried the drive on two of our other systems (Windows XP Professional) and it worked great. Simple to install -- just plug in the USB cable and you are good to go. Once I upgrade the W7 Starter I'm sure it will work just fine on the Netbook.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 23 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Does it"s job..

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use . Have not used the writer feature yet .Very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 24 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

External usb dvd burner/player

03/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, works as expected. Gets power from usb port. Question why does it need 2 usb ports when my external 1tb external hdd needs only 1 for power and signals?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 25 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great Drve

04/05/2011
By ,
American Canyon, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this unit because I have an older system without a burner, just CD not DVD, now I have two working DVD burners, and I can move it any where I need it. Works great too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 26 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

just what I needed

04/21/2011
By ,
Macon, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well with my Aspire one net book.Only had to use one cable to power it.Recognized the drive without software.Plays DVDs fine and used it to create backup disc,no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+104points
Review 27 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great with my HP-Mini netbook

07/26/2011
By ,
Goffstown, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my HP-Mini netbook, only needed to use one of the usb cables to power it (a 2nd is provided for when you have low power usb ports).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 28 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

GREAT STOP COMPLAINING

10/06/2011
By ,
Chicago IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHO EVER SAYS THIS IS NOT WORKING WITH WINDOW 7 THEN THINK AGAIN.First make sure you have it plugged IN ,you have to have the internet connected to install driver and it works great with burning dl disc reading
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 29 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great!

11/21/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It hooks up easily and works great! No complaints! Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 30 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
02/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dvd reader and writer. It is a little slow but hooked up to my windows
7 . with no problen at all. I would recomend it to any one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 31 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/27/2012
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a mini laptop that's a Dell, it didn't come with a CD/DVD port, I bought this one and and had Word installed in minutes! Great product and good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 32 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/30/2012
By ,
Lake St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go with my husband's notebook and my son's laptop that doesn't have an internal drive. So far so good. We have been allowed to download things on to the computers and that's basically what I bought it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just what I needed

06/12/2013
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box, plugged in the USB cable to the laptop and instantly installed a program. No hassle. Did not need to use the additional power cable supplied. I have a Lanovo mini atom without a drive and needed to install some programs. This is perfect. Small, light weight and can be carried in my computer bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 34 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/16/2013
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it work great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellent portable product

07/02/2013
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This external DVD/CD R/RW drive is excellent. I am able to add software on two laptops that do not have built-in drives. I recommend this unit for anyone that needs this functionality. The cost provided excellent cost value while WalMart.com was able to deliver it quickly to my store. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

easy to use/ slim and compact

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for external drive/ slim/ portable/ good performance from a small accessory/ great dollar value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 37 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

just what I need

03/05/2011
By ,
melrose, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The external r/w cd is just what I need for my ACER 10.5 mini lap notebook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 38 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great extra DVD/CD drive.

06/26/2011
By ,
Sulphur,LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My desktop computer's DVD drive was having trouble burning DVDs
but the 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive solved the
problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 39 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great so far

08/12/2011
By ,
Rome, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy plug n play and worked great. I had to plug in both connections from the drive to my MacBook, though. At first I just tried connecting the USB connection alone and that didn't work. Directions are very lacking.
I have only read and copied from an inserted CD, though; I haven't tried burning a CD or DVD yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 40 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellant for the price

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this external DVD drive to use with my netbook and am quite pleased. Plugged it in and began using the product with no issues. Good DVD drive for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
21-40 of 119 total reviews