Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Generic 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Slim USB 2.0 8X DVD Writer External Optical Drive is a portable DVD writer which can record a number of high-quality multimedia files. It can be used to record videos, photos and music. The USB 2.0 external DVD burner can write to DVRs at a speed of 8x and to a double-layer DVD media at a speed of 2.4x. It can be used to write on CD-R, rewrite to CD-RW and can read CDs at high speeds, as well. The external DVD RW drive, with 2.0 interface provides reliable data transfer. The USB port allows you to connect to your PC easily. Since it has a slim design, it is quite convenient to transport this stylish DVD writer.  Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website at www.solarregionusa.com ( www.sumasmedia.com )
Average Customer Rating:
3.851 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation79%103 out of 130reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Worth the money

03/14/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought a notebook for use when travelling and I needed a slim external CD/DVD drive. This works perfectly. Plugs into the notebook and no other external power is needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great extra DVD/CD drive.

06/26/2011
By ,
Sulphur,LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My desktop computer's DVD drive was having trouble burning DVDs
but the 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive solved the
problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
05/08/2012
By ,
charleston, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works perfectly right out of the box
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the internal drive died in my HP LAPTOP JUST PLUGGED THIS ONE INTO A USB PORT WINDOWS XP FOUND IT RIGHT AWAY & IT WORKS PERFECT. & IT COMES WITH EVERYTHING NEEDED TO HOOK IT UP.
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
01/10/2013
By ,
pasadena, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was very easy to use and met all expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
11/02/2011
By ,
Moses Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had just purchase the Acer Diamond Black 11.6 laptop which is fantastic by the way and wanted to make back up, restore and mirror image disk. Since the Acer does not have a DVD/CD write rewrite drive I got this nice external drive for my system. It was recognized by windows 64 bit seven immediately and ran like a champ. I got my back up project done in nothing flat. Great price great product. I couldn't ask for more as it did just what I wanted it for.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just what I needed

06/12/2013
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box, plugged in the USB cable to the laptop and instantly installed a program. No hassle. Did not need to use the additional power cable supplied. I have a Lanovo mini atom without a drive and needed to install some programs. This is perfect. Small, light weight and can be carried in my computer bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Excellant for the price

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this external DVD drive to use with my netbook and am quite pleased. Plugged it in and began using the product with no issues. Good DVD drive for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great!

11/21/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It hooks up easily and works great! No complaints! Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
05/31/2013
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have notebook and it works great with it. Very slim and nice looking -- Everything I wanted and needed. The price was great and received it sooner than expected. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
06/08/2013
By ,
baton rouge, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far so good using it for the first time with my computer which is also new so far i have no complaints
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

External usb dvd burner/player

03/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, works as expected. Gets power from usb port. Question why does it need 2 usb ports when my external 1tb external hdd needs only 1 for power and signals?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works great with my HP-Mini netbook

07/26/2011
By ,
Goffstown, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my HP-Mini netbook, only needed to use one of the usb cables to power it (a 2nd is provided for when you have low power usb ports).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Works exactly as I wanted.

05/19/2012
By ,
Owosso, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good machine for the price. It worked perfect as soon as I plugged it into my computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Just plug in the USB and it works

07/28/2013
By ,
Metro-West, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a way to load applications into a Netbook which has no internal CD/DVD capability. This works beautifully. Interesting option I did not need, there is a separate wall outlet power supply included in case the USB power is too weak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Good product...

02/12/2013
By ,
The South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXTREMELY easy product to use. No disc to install...just plug & go! My box, however, did not come with the user's manual although it was supposed to. I'm not sure if it was removed from the box for someone else or if the the factory forgot to put one in or if it was used then returned w/o the manual...dunno what's up w/that so I kinda had to figure it out for myself by looking closely at the box. I also found one of the tiny screws on the backside (I assume they hold the casing together) came out. We tried screwing it back in but discovered it was 'stripped' so it won't stay in. I may return the item for an exchange simply b/c I did not receive the user's guide & one of the screws is stripped. I doubt the stripped screw will have any real impact on the actual function of the device but you never know.
I did find, however, when I was trying to copy the same video more than once. It DOES pop up a screen asking if you want to burn more...if I clicked on 'yes', it kept saying there wasn't a disc in the device. I think it said that b/c it may've been reading the internal disc player that was already in the computer so I did have to go through the regular motions to copy the video. If that message pops up, just click 'cancel' & start again but just remember, your video will probably still be in the dubbing window ready to copy to disc so check there first...that's what I did after it kept telling me "file already in use"...I found it in the 'ready to copy' window.
It didn't take long to do each video, even having to go back through the steps to copy, but just be aware that I had to start over w/each copy and it'll work just fine so if anyone reading my review who's thinking of getting this particular writer...don't think the device isn't working if you get the same message that there's no disc in the recorder...it may just be reading the player that's already on your computer and not the new one you're using...you should be able to dub just by going back through the usual steps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Very good purchase

08/21/2013
By ,
avon, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The external drive was rece3ived on time and is working very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
12/27/2012
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a mini laptop that's a Dell, it didn't come with a CD/DVD port, I bought this one and and had Word installed in minutes! Great product and good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great so far

08/12/2011
By ,
Rome, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy plug n play and worked great. I had to plug in both connections from the drive to my MacBook, though. At first I just tried connecting the USB connection alone and that didn't work. Directions are very lacking.
I have only read and copied from an inserted CD, though; I haven't tried burning a CD or DVD yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive

Great

07/28/2013
By ,
Vallejo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works awesome whenever I pop the Netbook on, no problems, work's like any internal disk drive just external, portable on the go, whenever you need, love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 112 total reviews