Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Dorel Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Turn your childs room into a fun zone with the sturdy Full Metal Loft Bed. The metal frame loft bed provides extra space below for a desk or sitting area. Position your beanbag and relax with your favorite novel below the kids loft bed. The bed accommodates a full size mattress and is ideal for a teenager's bedroom with limited space. Your son or daughter will appreciate the versatility and functionality of the loft bed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%28 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Nice bed for the price

12/06/2012
By ,
slidell, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our pre-teen loves it. It seems a bit wobbly but safe enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

This loft bed is FANTASTIC and a great bargain...

09/19/2012
By ,
New York City, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
....AND looks much better than in the photo.
I was looking for a full-sized loft for my teenage daughter's room in our new apartment. She had previously had an enormous queensized loft from collegebedlofts.com, but it was so big and heavy there was no way to move it. Also, it took days to paint and assemble, even though it looked fantastic.
I wanted a loft for her that was easy to assemble, which we could take apart quickly to transport and that would fit nicely in her current room. Truthfully, price was the final deciding point in purchasing this loft. I was concerned about it from the picture.
I couldn't be happier with this bed. It was very, very easy to assemble and we were able to put it together in less than 1 hour. Although very light in actual weight, it feels sturdy (although it wobbles more than her previous loft bed due to the fact that the legs aren't 4x4 pieces of lumber. I'm a big woman and had to get up on the loft to install her blinds and once I was up there I felt secure.
The best part is that this loft looks wonderful. It is very neutral and would suite either a male or female. There is plenty of room underneath for whatever you want to put there.
I have no negatives about this loft bed. I think that it's a fantastic bargain, safe, sturdy, easy to assemble and looks great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver
06/15/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, Mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed for my 8yo son's room which is quite small. It opened up so much space in his room now that his room is staying clean! It's not too high like some of the other beds I have seen. It wasn't too bad to put together. My sister and I did it within a couple of hours and that's with spreading out all the parts and getting it ready. My son loves it because I've added a twin mattress at the bottom for now so he has the choice of sleeping on top or the bottom. A suggestion when putting it together. It tells you to put the guard rail on prior to putting on the mattress. I suggest you wait for this step till the end. We had to take it off to get the full size mattress on top (only do to limited room space). If you have enough room and enough clearance to the ceiling (without light fixture in you way) then you wouldn't need to skip this step. It was delivered in good shape and within a reasonable time frame. We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Okay Product - needed some additional stiffening

12/27/2011
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read reviews before ordering. However, they were a bit misleading. Product arrived as described and went together fairly easily. However, once assembled and used by my 11 year old the problems started. The bed squeaked with every movement so much that she had problems falling asleep. The be wobbled quite a bit. The bed probably would not fall down but its stability concerned me so I ended up running two lag bolts along two sides of the bed into wall studs using spacers between the bed and wall. After doing this, the bed was much more stable and is almost squeak-free. I would recommend for the price, but would make sure to tell people that you will probably needed to stiffen the bed up somehow. In reading about Loft beds, wobbling is not uncommon. However, it was more than my other child's bed and concerned me. Hope this helps others. Again, not a bad product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Good bed

04/12/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice bed, especially for the price. Simple to put together, although you need 2 people. It wobbles a little as you climb but nothing terrible. Overall my daughter LOVES this bed! So glad we bought it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Good, but...

01/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this for our 7-year-old daughter. She loves it! We love that it's full size so she has plenty of room to grow and that it allows for extra space in her room. It is much higher than a normal bunk bed so our bedtime routine has changed since I can't really tuck her in without climbing up there. (I'm 5'7" and can't walk under it without bending over, but I also can't peer over the matress.) She loves having a desk and and other big kid stuff under the bed. Assembly wasn't bad at all with a cordless drill and my hubby.
HOWEVER, one of the ~20 bars that goes under the matress was missing (no biggie...we didn't call for a new one, but expect that they would have sent us one if we asked). The other BIGGER issue was that as we assembled it we noticed multiple dings, dents, and areas of chipped paint on the pieces. There was no sign of damage to the box so I'm not sure where it came from. I'm really bummed about them, but we no longer had her previous bed so returning it wasn't really an option. We learned a lesson on that one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Great bed for the price!

03/04/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed to upgrade my 11 year old son to a full size bed and because he always wanted a loft bed. I chose this bed because our ceilings are only 8' high and this bed fit nicely into his room with about 2' to spare. Other beds I found on line for shorter ceilings were around $1500! For this price, you can't beat it! It's been great so far. My only issues are, like other reviews, the bed does squeak when you are in it. But it is a very sturdy bed. I slept in it one night with absolutely no complaints! Also, the ladder steps need some sort of cushioning. Perhaps it's not too tough on tiny feet, but when I climbed them it was murder! The other issue is the package arrived with no assembly instructions. Once I realized that, I went back to walmart.com and downloaded the instructions that were under the product description. Once I started putting it together, I realized these were outdated instructions because some of the pieces were no longer part of this bed and the labels on the parts did not match the labels on the instruction diagram. So about a fourth of the way into the assembly I had to break it down and start over. After that, everything went together smoothly. If this bed holds up, as I suspect it will, I would highly recommend it! Walmart, just supply the updated instructions in the packaging!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Decent loft bed for the price.

09/19/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent loft bed. It helps maximize the space in my bedroom so I can work on various art projects. I haven't had any squeaking issues since I made sure to tighten the bolts and screws as far as they would go.
The bed requires a fair amount of assembly. You need two or three people to assemble it.
Thought the listing says it's silver, it's more of a shiny dark gray.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Great space saver!!

08/22/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We originally were going to buy the IKEA loft bed, because we had trouble locating a full size loft bed, but they were on back order, and we were in a hurry. This bed looks identical, so we were pleased that the price and look were so similar. This bed is a GREAT space saver, with plenty of room for our seven-year-old's desk as well as a small bookcase and bean bag chair. Our only complaint is that since the ladder is straight up and down, rather than at an angle like typical bunk beds, it is difficult to climb down both for our daughter AND for us!! Otherwise, a good quality bed that fits our purpose of saving space without sacrificing a full-size bed. Hopefully it will go to college with her!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

A good choice, but has its flaws

08/30/2011
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PROS:
The frame assembled easily and a memory foam type mattress fit well from a height perspective.
There's plenty of room underneath for a full sized desk.
CONS:
The ladder is straight up and not comfortable to climb in bare feet.
Though all of the screws/bolts are tight, it's still a bit wobbly. While it's fine for a teenager, I would not recommend for a younger child.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Was a lot taller than I thought

03/05/2014
By ,
Hamburg, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Only 2 problems. It is so close to the ceiling that my daughter has to army crawl into bed. Also, she can't sit up or stretch or she will touch the ceiling. We couldn't use our regular mattress (9 inches), we had to buy a bunk mattress of lesser quality so that it is 6 inches or less. I guess we should have done our research regarding size.
So if you have taller than average ceilings, and you are buying a new mattress anyway, then I had no other problems. It is of good quality and easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

A WHOLE LOT bigger then expected!

02/21/2012
By ,
Lewiston, ME
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I ordered this, even though going back though and seeing that it does say Full, I didnt know it was a full. The picture shows a twin, and thats what I thought I was getting. Yes. My fault. I got it home and put it together with the help of my fiance. This is a two or more person put together bed. It took up most of the room, but made alot more room in there for my 6 year old son. Bit bigger then expected though.... its do-able. My son loves it. We have his tv and chair under there so he can watch movies in his "Own little space" and not be bothered. :) Im glad he likes it. Its a bit wobbly but as I see from the other reviews, a few screws can fix that. Im not picky. He feels like a big boy with the upper bunk on there, thats all that matters to me. :D BTW its not silver, its grey. And again.... it is alot bigger then expected. Im 5'4" and this bed is atleast 3 inches taller then me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Quality product, easy to assemble.

05/03/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and I set it up pretty easily and quickly. It is very sturdy indeed, and fits right where we wanted it too. Very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

A great find!

04/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is eight and we purchased this bed for him to have more floor space in his room...he loves it, we love it! It is a great bed, for a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Exceeded expectations

12/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our 9 year old wanted a loft bed badly and we went with this one because the height worked with our ceilings. My husband put it together and commented that these were the simplest instructions he has ever followed. My daughter loves it. We are using her full-size mattress for now. It is sturdier than I expected and fits perfectly in her room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

good value

11/27/2013
By ,
Rochester MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bed was easy to put together, but the ladder really hurts to climb. Some of the holes did not line up and we had to alter the product. As others have said, the package was damaged but all parts were there. I would like a flat-runged ladder instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

excellent space solution and simple to assemble

05/30/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks even better than it does in pictures. Very sturdy. It does sway a little while people are climbing the ladder but its nothing that a bracket attached around the post to the wall won't fix. My kids love it (Review from my 4 year old, "its very comfortable, but high, but all I have to do is say, "Mama I'm finished napping, and you help me down") (The 6 year old has no problem with the height at all). It does fit a full sized bed underneath it, however, I think it would be very difficult to make and enter and exit the bottom one since the support bars for the loft are at and above the sides of the bottom bed. We solved the problem by turning the loft perpendicular to the bottom full bed. It left plenty of room to keep my nightstand next to the bed behind the loft ladder (with plenty of room to open the drawers. It also gives easy access to make both beds and enter and exit the bottom full sized bed since the foot of that bed has no rails now, there's also room to get out on one side next to the ladder. This was definitely the solution we needed for our summer cabin, thanks to this bed we can now sleep 5 people (plus a baby in a crib) in one room. We were really stuck until we found this, it's perfect. The price is exceptional for what you get too. The whole assembly took about 4 hours with my husband and I (and as I'm 8 months pregnant, I'm not too sure I was really that much help (-: ). We used a 6 inch Slumber 1 Youth - Bunk Bed Mattress with Moisture Barrier; Size: Full, (sold seperately $139) Since our kids (6 & 4) are going to use the loft it's perfect for them. My husband slid the mattress up the ladder in the box and we opened it on the loft, it unfolded into the correct position, perfect and easy. The assembly time was probably longer than it needed to be since we couldn't fix the box and all the parts at one time into the small cabin, so we had to unload and sort everything in the back of my pickup. Assembly in a house would be much easier since you'd be able to fit everything in the room with you. All in all the perfect solution to any space issue that needs a full sized bed. It looks great too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Slumber 1 Youth - 6'' Bunk Bed Mattress with Moisture Barrier
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Great product for the money

11/13/2013
By ,
Fargo, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not too hard to put together. Great way to maximize space. Just make sure you measure ceilings because it is tall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver
01/19/2012
By ,
Newville,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality was quite good for the price. It is more of a gray than silver but looks fine. I way 150lbs.
and when I climb on it with my 7 yr. old it wobbles a bit. I made a anchor and drilled side rail to mount solid to wall stud. We also hung pink camo material around it so our daughter could play underneath. Overall we were satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Silver

Works for 2!

08/08/2013
By ,
NYC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I live in an NYC studio. We were looking to save space by purchasing a loft bed that wasn't too tall (our ceilings are not especially high). This lift bed was exactly the height we needed. We can sit up in bed and still have head room. We're very happy with the bed so far and feel very comfortable with both of us on it. We do plan to bolt it to the wall because it does shake quite a bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next