Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Dorel Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

The sturdy Full Metal Loft Bed combines style and functionality in its design. Built using solid black metal, this loft bed is the ideal choice if you need to save space in the bedroom. Its elevated bed design allows for a lot of space beneath that can be used for several purposes. You can put up a bean bag or make a study area out of it - you have sufficient space to do them all. It is durable and also looks stylish with its black metal finish. This black metal loft bed, apart from making your room more spacious, also gives it a contemporary look and feel. Its construction includes a ladder to climb to the bed and guard rails on all four sides that safeguard the bed from slipping down. The sturdy loft bed comfortably holds full size mattresses without box springs attached to them. Ideal for a teenager's bedroom with limited space, your son or daughter will appreciate its versatility and functionality.
Average Customer Rating:
3.88 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%44 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 75 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Perfect for Teen's Room

11/16/2012
By ,
Waldorf, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this loft bed after our 15 yr. old son begged us for one. He had a queen sized bed set in his room that left enough space in his room to move around, but with him being a teenage boy, not enough space for him and his friends to chill and hang out and keep his room clutter free.
The loft bed has offered way more useable space in his room and even provided a chill out area under the bed. The bed is VERY TALL, I’m 5'6 1/2 and have to slightly bend my head to stand underneath it, so be sure to do your height measurements to include the space of a ceiling fan if you have one as well.
We will be rearranging the location of his bed because it is too close to his ceiling fan.
Overall, we are very happy about the purchase and are kicking ourselves for not buying this instead of the queen bed set for him a few years ago.
Note: Just like the other reviewers, it does wobble, but is very sturdy and we see no need right now to anchor it to the wall.
BTW, our son is 6’0 and 185 pounds. The loft bed is very sturdy. My husband put it together by himslef and he did have to tweak a few things, however it came together very nicely.
Enjoy your purchase! Our son is. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great item...with alterations

05/30/2011
By ,
Wake Forest, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never write reviews, but felt I needed to with this item. It is working out beautifully...now. I cut 6 inches off each leg with a reciprocating saw and this made a huge beneficial difference. It was way too tall and swayed too much. With the 6 inches off, it still left plenty of room below, it is not too close to the ceiling either.
I also took two metal plates (like "L" brackets but without the bend) and applied them to the top back bar that goes against a wall and sandwiched the top bar of the bed between the brack and the wall with long bolts into studs. Now it has no sway or movement at all and is the right height.
I also bought a replacement ladder, as the ladder was too upright and the pegs were painful on the feet. I found a ladder that is for RV bunks on Amazon and it is perfect.
So given the low price, I didn't mind making these changes to make it perfect for us.
I also bought the small sized futon that goes underneath it and it has become the perfect room for my teenager.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

A practical piece for one with little space

04/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still living at home while being a full time art major and about to gain 4 new little brothers I needed to make room in my bedroom to do my art pieces. A loft bed was my best option.
What I like about this bed is that it doesn't come with a desk already installed so i can put my own furniture under it and it doesn't have a ladder that extends out causing more space issues (although I would have preferred one with it at both ends).
My full size mattress and my weight combined are both under the maximum limit so I felt better in that. But the bed does wobble a lot even when I turn from my stomach to back, what do you expect with a metal frame with cylinder posts?But it is sturdy and if you want something that stays still put in the money to buy a more expensive wooden frame.
Overall I am happy in my purchase and I recommend to those who buy it to try and sleep the first time on your stomach so that you can just imagine you're not so close to the ceiling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

a little unsure

03/21/2011
By ,
syracuse NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just purchased this bed for my 9yr old son after months of researching. I had it delivered to my home instead of site to store and the bed was here a day and a half later!! I had three people on hand to help and it was very simple assemble and only needed two people, took about an hour or so (we took breaks).
It is a nice looking bed, great value and fits on a 5x7 rug perfect my only concern so far is that there is some sway to bed especially when climbing up the ladder. It says it can hold 300lbs, but I'm a little nervous to test that much weight. I had my boyfriend climb up there and that's when we noticed the sway to it. All the screws were checked and tightened. So for right now I am keeping the box handy until my son trials it for a few nights. I really want this bed to work out for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Not as sturdy as I had expected

04/03/2014
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this loft bed for my teenage granddaughter. It was fairly easy to assemble but is not as sturdy as I had hoped. It wobbles quite a bit and I regret my decision to purchase it. I have owned the twin version of this bed with the attached futon and it was great. I suspect that this type of bed needs something under it to keep it sturdy. I would definitely not recommend this bed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

It's ok

04/02/2014
By ,
Ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the bed but it's very jiggly as you climb up. Feels like it might tip over. The pegs on the ladder hurt your feet too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Good for a small room

09/07/2012
By ,
columbus, oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I moved into my first apartment and didn't want to take my twin bed with me because it's uncomfortable to fit two people when my boyfriend sleeps over. But I also didn't have a bedroom big enough for a full or queen size bed. I was happy to find this bed because now I have a full size bed but my desk and dresser fit under it, so I've still got floor space. It was pretty easy to put together, and I made sure everything was very tight, but it still shakes when I get on or move on it. I think it's safe because I DID tighten everything, but it's still wobbly. The ladder hurts my feet, especially in the morning so I kind of jump down usually. I also had to take the blades off the ceiling fan so I wouldn't get my head chopped off. Because I don't have air conditioning, sometimes it's a bit too warm to sleep up there (it's warmer than on the ground), so I sleep on the floor. Just some things to consider.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Good product

03/06/2014
By ,
MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because I needed more space in my room. It was for an adult. While it takes some time to put together, it isn't complicated, just a lot of parts. Surprising sturdy for something of this price, and though it does rock a little bit it isn't so bad that I don't feel safe when climbing up and down or when moving around on the bed. If it bothers you, you can easily secure it to the wall. My biggest complaint is that the ladder is painful on my feet. I have wrapped the bars in pipe insulation and duct tape for the time being, until I buy a better ladder.
A great purchase overall, considering most lofts that I looked at were between $600 and $2,000
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

full metal loft bed

03/24/2014
By ,
butler, indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 16 year old daughter. She loves the bed and it gives her more space in her room. She went from a queen bed to the full. A little shakey and ladder uncomfortable but has plenty of head room when sitting up in bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

worked out great!

03/01/2014
By ,
MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for the price. We put this in our sons room, had to cut down the legs as his ceiling is low. All the parts were there and went together fine. Love the price and if he ever decided he didn't want a loft bed we can cut it down even more!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black
01/06/2012
By ,
Texarkana, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bed for my 14 year old son and he absolutely loves it. I assembled the bed myself and it took approximately 2 hours. If you have someone to help you it shouldn't take quite that long. The instructions are clear. The bed does have a slight sway, but nothing to be of concern. I read a review in which someone had shortened the legs to decrease the sway--this would be great if the loft space underneath the bed was going to be used for a small child, but my son is almost 6 feet tall and if we lowered it, he wouldn't be able to sit at his desk, so consider the amount of space needed under the bed before you decide to shorten the legs. Overall we are both pleased with the bed and the increase in usable space in his room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Loft Bed

04/11/2011
By ,
Sunland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought 2 one for my son and the other for my daughter, they both seem to love it. They have so much room now! The beds are very nice looking and sturdy. If you are looking to make more room in your kids rooms this is a nice option to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Appreciate the value price and easy shipping

02/13/2014
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter loves the extra room for her drum set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Made lots of extra room.

02/03/2014
By ,
Orange County
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upset with one post being badly dented.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great Bed

05/07/2012
By ,
North Central,IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bed for my eight year old son. At first he was excited to get in it, but was reluctant to sleep in it. After I bought C clamps with spacers and bolted it to the wall studs it barely moves and he loves it. It was pretty stable before but would sway just a little, which kind of freaked him out. It's actually a pretty heavy bed, but for younger kids I would recommend bolting it to the wall. Also you can put a memory foam mattress on it without a bunky board.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great Bed for the money

08/30/2011
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed is stylish and functional - the weight capacity (at 300 pounds) is more than most loft beds. It was easy to put together, too. I share the opinion of the other reviews, though, about it being wobbly. We are going to bolt it to the wall to secure it better but overall it's a great bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

Good buy for the money

01/03/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with my purchase, it is what I expected for the price and function intended. I ordered it for my 7 yr old son (loves it). There were some nicks and scratches but overall nothing noticeable once constructed. My husband and I were able to put it together without a problem. I will say in one or two sections we had an issue with the fit but once we realized if we put the opposite side in first it fit. Not sure if it was and alignment issue in the manufacturing process because the directions did not state a certain order of placement was necessary. I will say there is some movement of the bed when climbing on and off but not to the point that it seems unsafe or unsturdy. My 14 climbed up as well with no problems. I also note that the bed is tall so if you have 8ft ceilings as we do there is not much head room, we had to remove the ceiling fan because there is not enough clearance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Big Joe Bean Bag Chair
4.2 out of 5(77)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black
07/17/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We recently purchased this bed for our daughter. I love the idea and space saving availability of the the loft bed. For the price, I figured it wouldn't be perfect. We too have the same issues with the bed being very wobbly, but it definitely is not going anywhere. Our main complaint is that is it very squeaky. Whenever my daughter climbs up or down the ladder or moves the slightest but in bed we can hear it down the hall. She doesn't mind, but it is driving me crazy. Going to try to add some rubber washers to see if it helps. Anyone else have this issue or have any ideas on how to eliminate the noise??
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

My Bed

11/03/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the bed, it does shake like other comments have stated, but nothing that scares or concerns me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Full Metal Loft Bed, Black

unstable bed that cannot be moved once assembled.

08/27/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bed looks good overall and will work for what we need it for, however:
1. The directions for assembly were simple, but the order of assembly made for a lot of "rework". The bed comes in about 50 pieces (no joke, most of the bed is separate poles that have to be screwed together). Going through the assembly, you would attach the top end rails to the poles, then the bottom end rails. DO NOT tighten the screws completely because a curved bracket does not fit around a round pole after it's already attached to another piece. Hence the rework, did a lot of tightening per instructions and a lot of untightening of screws to get the pieces together.
2. This is not a bed that can be moved without complete disassembly. There is no way to keep the bed in one piece to move out of a door and if you take off any side/end, you pretty much have to take the whole thing apart to get it out. SAVE THE DIRECTIONS if you ever plan to move it!!!
3. The bed is VERY unstable. When you go to step on the ladder, the other side of the bed lifts off the floor and once you are on top of the bed, the bed is VERY wobbly - and NO, not because we didn't tighten the screws.
4. The ladder is about a foot wide - same for the gap at the top of the ladder. Not sure why anyone would think that a full size loft would only need a foot gap to get up to the bed. who needs a bed that big if they can fit between a one foot gap???
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next