Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for E Fun E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

E Fun E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

The Next3 tablet and eBook reader features the Android 2.1 operating system, which allows you be up to date and do anything you want efficiently. The large 8.4" LCD touchscreen lets you navigate your media effortlessly. The Next3 tablet and eBook reader includes a protection pouch, USB cable, AC adapter and stylus.
Average Customer Rating:
2.805 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation46%19 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

This product is Great

02/20/2011
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this tablet from WalMart recently,and was totally impressed with it. It's 8.4 inch screen though resistive is pretty smooth and precise, it has a calibration setup in the settings section of the tablet. It runs Google 2.1, which is not the latest,but it's what I see most mid end tablets run. It has an App Market already installed,some apps work,some don't, it tells you that. It come with 25 or 27 books already installed,and hundreds more available for free or purchase.Network setup is easy and painless,once this tablet is setup to your Network , it is easy to go surfing,shopping or what ever you like. Web Pages open nicely on that big 8.4 inch screen, so it's easy to read.This tablet has a very good feature set of formats for Reading,Video,Audio it even comes with YouTube which work well with the majority of videos but not all, it works as advertised.This Tablet is a great Tablet considering the price. I would recommend This to my friends.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+111points
Review 2 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Amazing!Better Than I Hoped For!

06/01/2011
By ,
Woodbridge, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started researching ereaders about 2 months ago, after breaking the Kobo I received for my Birthday. I was a bit apprehensive about the Nextbook because of some of the reviews. I decided to buy it anyway since it had the biggest screen, Touchscreen, Wifi and the price was reasonable. Fedex delivered my ereader 4 days after placing my order through Walmart.com. My first impression was that the quality was amazing. It looks and feels like it cost a lot more than it did. I immediately plugged it in to charge, was able to set up Wifi, Adobe Digital Edition, date/time and the Borders Desktop in under 3 minutes. The touchscreen works beautifully. The color is great. Books are super easy to open and read. Google and Youtube work just fine. I haven't yet found a website or application that would not run. The protective case that comes with it is pretty decent. I would definetly buy the same one if I found it in a store. All in all, this is one of the best purchases I've made. I prefer this ereader over both the Sony Pocket and Sony Touch and also the Velocity Cruz T101 and T301.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+227points
Review 3 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

What you get for the money

03/04/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I brought this table 3 days ago because it supported a lot of file formatts. I am a college student and wanted to use it to load textbooks but there is no supported app for that. It stated it supported Adobe but no. It has youtube install but it does not work. I went onto the manufactures site there is very little product support available. I would recommend the cheaper colby which I have purchased. Lots of product support they are upgrading your Andriod OS to 2.3 with flash support. the cobly supports andriod market place, the nextbook 3 only has a third party market place and i have not been able to download any apps successfully. If you are only going to use borders app to read, go onto the internet, listen to music, and store pics then this is a great product for you. Would not recommend for students looking to lighten their textbook load. Facebook worker great on it as well. This is for a kid or a light user.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NC
can you play games on this tablet?
Posted 10/07/2011
can you play games on this tablet?
-1point
Customer Avatar
NM
Next3 Was An Exercise In Frustration
Posted 08/10/2011
What's even worse is... Borders Bookstore is going bankrupt. Eventually, all stores will be closed. And if very few other apps run right on Next3...then there really becomes no point in buying it.
The first one I ordered arrived DOA, the 2nd one developed major hardware & O/S issues galore, & after 6 weeks of hassle, I eventually just got a refund. It looks nice, & it really could have been a great product, but it was a complete waste of my time. I gave up & got a Kindle 3G instead. It's not as snazzy, but unlike Next3, it reliably does what it was made to do. And that's really all I asked of it.
Thanks for sharing your experience with the Colby. I hope it worked out for you much better.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

NextBook Next3

03/28/2011
By ,
Killeen, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with this tablet. I have tried other tablets and the reason I settled on this one is because it is capable of playing many different video formats. In my job, I travel alot meaning a lot of time spent on airplanes. Using the SD card capability, I transfer the shows or movies I want to watch onto the SD card and later watch them on my tablet, on the plane.
The tablet uses the Android 2.1 operating system and is compatible with many of the different "apps" available online. I have found that not all apps work on the tablet but this is common with most tablets. Most of the apps you download are designed for use on your cell phone, which also uses the android operating system. The file browsing system and the internet browser are not the best so I downloaded and installed other apps to replace them and they work just fine.
It also has wi-fi capability and the battery installed is supposed to last about 4 to 6 hours but it seems to run down sooner than 4 hours.
I paid $199 for the tablet but I think the price has already dropped to about $149. All in all, I would still purchase this tablet because it does exactly what I want it to do. It is in NO WAY designed or capable of replacing a laptop computer. You can do simple documents and with the right apps, you can even read Microsoft documents as well as PDF documents.
I only gave this 4 stars because the Android operating system is still a "quirky" thing to use which does take away a little from the Tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+130points
Review 5 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Nextbook value is outstanding

03/29/2011
By ,
Dover, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought as a birthday gift for my 14-year old daughter now my wife wants one. You won't find a better tablet with Android 2.1 OS and a 8.4 touchscreen for less money. Great for browsing and reading books. Does not have a camera but camera models cost $200 more and may require a monthly contract if purchased through a cell phone plan. Plays just about every format of music and video there is so you can use it as an ipod while reading. Video playback is perfect and the sound quality is also very good through the built in speakers. Recommend you buy an 8Gig SD memory card with it which will give you 10Gig of storage. Battery is amazing as she has used it for a couple of hours every day for the past two weeks and it still doesn't require recharging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 6 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

NextBook Next3 GREAT

03/28/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched tablets for a month before deciding on the Next3.
It's AMAZING. Does everything it says.
I was looking for an e-reader and thought it would be nice to have music while I read a book. It does that.
Thought I'd like to watch an .avi movie I'd downloaded. It does that.
Pictures are beautiful on it.
And as a bonus I can read my e-mail on it.
The web is a little slow, The video quality is great, the music sounds best with ear buds
I added a 16GB SD card to it and have plenty of storage.
The manual is so so. I found the easiest way to navigate it is with the Explorer app included.
I've had no lockup problems with it.
GREAT BUY
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 7 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Great Product

05/13/2011
By ,
Shakopee MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my e-reader for two weeks and can't say enough good things about it. I had the unit shipped to my house and it arrived in a timeley manner. It is easy to set up the color of the screen is assume and all the features are great. The readeris great and easy to down load books. One thing I am very plesed with is the customer service they are located in California in the good old USA and have always resoponded to my questions via e-mail with in 2 hours with concise and accurate information. There is one down side the flash drive is not as the latest level so I can't view video's on line or stream music. All in all I would recomend this product to any one looking for a great e-reader for a great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 8 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

NextBook3

04/29/2011
By ,
manchester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an avid reader and I download a lot of books to my MP3 player from the library, with this Nextbook3, I can now download epub books also..there are many other great functions with this, like wifi and wma etc...a great bang for your buck....even the speakers are awesome to listen to my cd's...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 9 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Excellent

03/28/2011
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you can't afford the apple ipad this is the next best thing!!!!! Its cheaper and does the same thing. The only down side for me is I cant get wifi at my job so i have to wait to use it to when i get home.
But love it! Cant wait to use it on the plane!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

More than I expected

04/20/2011
By ,
Albany, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it was either this ereader or the nook color.I went with this for the price and features.so far so good.
the touch screen is responsive but not overly like some other models. the screen is large enough to watch youtube videos and browse internet via wifi comfortably.purchasing and syncing ebooks was quite easy once we got familiar with the adbode digital editions program and protocol.
I might buy a few more as gifts for family as they are amazed at the quality of the nextbook3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 11 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

No Support

03/30/2011
By ,
Bloomington, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you purchase this product and it needs support then be prepared to ship it back to the manufacturer. They have the worst tech support. They can give you any help over the phone.
I had the product a couple of weeks when a recurring error message kept popping up. I called for support and they told me that I would have to ship it back for a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 12 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

nice for the price

05/12/2011
By ,
Errol, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not knowing alot about ipads or netbooks, this product is user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 13 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

better than expected

07/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I reviewed a great deal of e-readers and when I came across the next3 and studied everyones thoughts about the product I went for it. The Pad I got was better than I expected. And It was delivered exactly the time that was estimated. Good job Wal Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 14 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Not what i expected

04/02/2011
By ,
Minneapolis,MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was attracted to the fact that it had the andriod operating system which I have on my smart phone. I thought I could download books on this ereader or my phone and be able.to access them on either device but I was wrong. The andriod operation system is not the same as what is on the phones. The market is different and i can't seem to download any other ereader app to synch with my phone. It is super slow to respond even on hi speed wifi. The only nice thing about it is the large screen. Buy something amazon compatible if you're big on technical devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 15 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Don't waste your money

04/16/2011
By ,
Round Rock, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From day one, this device has fought being used. It fails to connect to our wireless system 8 out of 10 times, or once connected, drops the connection and tells you "connection failed" and you have to start all over. Tried 15 times to connect to Borders and it never accomplished this. Downloaded Amazon's Kindle App (which works great on my ITouch) and downloaded two books. Started reading one of the books; when I tried to reload it to read it; I got an error message which kept directing my to delete the book and reload from Archived. After doing that about five times, the book disappeared completely and didn't even show in the Archived section. Needless to say I am returning this piece of you know what to the store today.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 16 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS
10/01/2011
By ,
Tyler, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this tablet via Walmarts site to store. The tablet got to the store rather quickly and I was really impressed when I opened the tablet. Great size and looks more expensive than I thought. Had some issues at first with the Borders app for downloading ebooks. If you dont have an acct with Borders then you just need to go thru kobobooks.com and sign up and download books. Download real simple and quick. I am really happy with this tablet. Does everything that I want it to do. Battery runs down a little fast but not bothersome for me. I recommend this tablet to anyone that is looking for a ereader/email/surfing the web for a decent price. Wifi works great when at a local hotspot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Not too easy to figure out.

03/10/2011
By ,
Chambersburg, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had some ups and downs while trying to learn how to use this product. I have some difficulty keeping logged on to web sites and trying to purchase ebooks. The email configuation was difficult and we had to contact the server company to receive assistance. I even had difficulty getting to the website for Nextbook. I know it is not my server as I have tried three different one's and have pretty much the same experience. The instruction booklet is a little difficult to follow, but between my son and I we seem to be coming along. I have thought a few times of returning it, but I don't like letting someting like this get the better of me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

E-Fun Is No Fun

06/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was my first tablet, and i had the worst experience with it. First, the tablet dosnt play youtube vids from the actual website..but from an youtube app, on top of that the app dosent play any video only certain videos. Within in the second day i had it, it froze for like 5 hrs, then when I took to college with me, the tablet kept losing wifi connection and i was in the wifi cafe to make it worse. This tablet is also very slow and everytime i try to watch a video it stops in the middle of the video. I took it back the next day. But hey you get what u pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 19 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Next3 Tab/reader

04/26/2011
By ,
Lansing MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great value. Purchased for wife who reads a lot but also allows web access. Not bad for speed. As a reader it functions well. Two things to improve:
1. Touchscreen is cumbersome. At times, wanted it to be more sensitive (didn't respond) and other times, less sensitive as scrolling (wiping) almost always causes an inadvertent selection.
2. There doesn't appear to be access to the Android Market for all the cool apps. There is access to a site called "Slider" which has a lot of apps but quite a few won't work on this reader (made for phones with cams, gps, etc.).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for E Fun Nextbook Next3 8.4" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet and eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Weak product

07/11/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My friend has an ipad, so I decided to buy a poor man's ipad. I wasted $180.00 It is slow and the battery died six weeks after I bought the product. I live in Brazil so I don't know if I can get a refund. I am going to send it back with my daughters when they return to college in the states.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next