Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Experience the most versatile digital phone service. The NetTalk Duo is designed to connect directly to your router or modem, which saves you cost and energy. The NetTalk phone has a glossy black plastic and chrome plastic lining the sharp edges and covering the flat side of the device. To get started, all you need is high-speed Internet and a traditional corded or cordless telephone. It is provided with three ports - a micro USB port, Ethernet port and a telephone jack port. You can make free calls to the US & Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world. The NetTalk phone provides with both e-mail and phone customer service. This NetTalk Duo VoIP telephone service creates fax-friendly phone line with free calling features such as 411 Directory Assistance, Enhanced 911, Visual Voicemail, call waiting, conference calling etc.
Average Customer Rating:
3.689 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(922 Reviews) 848
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
469
4 stars
151
3 stars
52
2 stars
46
1 star
204
Customer Recommendation72%658 out of 920reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
338 Questions | 1,442 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
469
4 stars
151
3 stars
52
2 stars
46
1 star
204
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Renewal is the NIGHTMARE

07/07/2013
By ,
Los Angeles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when i first purchased this item, it worked OK. a few dropped calls and some calls would not be received on my end. As it's used only infrequently and for outgoing calls, this was something I could live with.
Now one year later, trying to renew is the nightmare. after receiving many reminders that my service would be expiring, i decided to renew online. (a relatively easy process, I thought, considering how easy it was to set-up when I first got it.) Nope, it's nearly impossible to renew. It will give you an error code after typing in all your info & credit info. It will then ask you to fill out a service ticket. Checking online, I realized that this is the norm, not an exception.
DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT. YOU MAY NOT REGRET IT AT FIRST BUT YOU WILL WHEN IT COMES TIME TO RENEW.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Error Fixed
Posted 07/13/2013
This was a temporary issue that I also had when renewing. It has since been fixed and the service as always works great.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Absolute Junk!!! BUY AN OBi100 For The Same Price!

05/01/2013
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is junk, It will work fine for a few months then went out. Tech support has no Idea what to do and they will not replace it even if its still under the year warrenty. You will have to contact the BBB.. Read other reviews on the web, they are true. Your number will magically get disconnected. So when someone calls in it will say disconnected but you can still call out.. Tech support trouble shooted mine for over a month, and still has not replaced it. BUY A OBi100, It uses google voice easy to setup and is completely free.. I stopped trying to get my nettalk working and bought the OBi100 after reading tons of reviews on Amazon, Newegg, ETC. BUT AVOID NETTALK unless you want to waste your money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Their phone numbers don't work

03/31/2011
By ,
Selma, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I install the NetTalkDUO and it worked to make calls.
But when I called all three telephone numbers to contact NetTalk, they would answer with a 'message' of advertizing the NetTalkDUO, then start a busy signal.
Finally, I got a sales guy to answer, but as soon as he realized that I had already purchased a NetTalk, he hung-up on me.
However, if you do get the NetTalkDUO set=up your next door neighbor will have to dial your 'area code' in order to call your number. Crazy to explain to the locals. They will wonder if it will be a long distance call charged to them by AT&T.
Also, there no instructions on 'how to set-up your 'outgoing message' That was why I was trying to contact NetTalk for those instructions.
Maybe you can get them to tell you, and not hang-up on you.
I received my NetTalkDUO from Walmart. So glad I did, because I was able to 'return-it' for my money back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Never worked

12/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never could get this to work after hours online with the tech help desk. There appear to be too many limitations based on your ISP, router, etc. to be reliable. Don't waste your time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

No AR numbers

05/23/2011
By ,
conway, ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in AR and have to use a number from SD because they have no AR numbers. They've been promising one for 7 months now. I hate having to explain why I have a SD number and live in AR. If you are thinking of buying one call and make sure you can get a number in your area code. I sure won't be renewing when the time comes. I'm checking out ooma. They cost a little more but at least i can get a local number.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

not so good

07/15/2011
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I currently have a VOIP from another company. And no it is not from the magic-company. I was actually excited when I ordered this because of the reviews I've seen here at walmart. Unfortunately the product did not live up to my expectations, which were fairly low.
The hardware is small, but the phone service itself is just not good. Phone call was not clear, some times it wouldn't go through. I contacted Nettalk, but they were not able to help.
Luckily I purchased this from walmart and they accepted my return after.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not as advertised, Tech Support Dismal

06/18/2013
By ,
King George, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
States that existing phone #s can be ported but not everywhere and you don't find this out until you've bought the product. Then you can either live with the randomly assigned number or go through the aggravation of getting your money back. Tech support is totally and extremely USELESS. On chat, about 30 minutes of waiting to get started, then took over 7 minutes to answer a "yes/no" question. Nearly an hour an half later, finally found out why the number would not port. Called tech support phone number and hung up after waiting about 45 minutes. Fortunately, Walmart took the item back. Try Magicjack - about same price and you can find out if your number will port right up front before you commit to buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Awful product!

05/23/2012
By ,
Owasso, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I followed the instructions on this explicitly and it appeared it was very simple--that is, if it worked! You have to do some things online to get your NetTalk Duo set up. It would never let me go past the first screen of instructions. When I called customer service, I was on hold for a very long time. When someone finally answered, they must have been using the NetTalk Duo, as the sound quality was awful and without me getting any answers, our call was disconnected. Don't waste your time trying this device. I returned it to Wal-Mart promptly and they were great in refunding my purchase price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

READ THIS BEFORE YOU BUY !!

12/11/2012
By ,
akron ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have good i-net in time warner and a decent router netgear 150n. When talking to a standard phone # such as a landline or digital phone, nothing but problems. Seemed to work ok when I was talking to verizon [ voip ] phone #'s. I used the original Magic Jack for 2 years and decided to upgrade to a unit with no computer needed. This is not the one!! Going to exchange it for a MJ plus.
I did decide to buy from Walmart because of great customer service :)
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
09/15/2013
By ,
Lake City, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thinking it would do what I needed. After I activated it, I can call out but can't receive any calls. I have contacted them twice about it and haven't got any message from them yet. If I could return it and get my money back I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
04/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this product. Incoming calls sounded okay, but the quality of outgoing calls (from the perspective of the person I called) was absolutely horrible. Don't waste your money.
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Did not work

11/30/2013
By ,
Las Cruces NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The black box, (seems to be an empty box).
After following all the instructions to connect, I found that the area code for my town is not included.
Sent an email asking for help, which was never answered.
Thank god I purchased that empty box from Walmart, They refunded all my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Didn't work for me

10/09/2012
By ,
Rossiter, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't make phone calls, when i make a phone call, i can't hear anything, it was silence, dead silence, I returned the first one and got a new one, the same thing happened, so i returned it again and got my money back, no i wouldn't recommend this product to anyone! It was a waste of time!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
02/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They advertise you can port your own number over to their service but the cannot. To prove this I went to port my number for vonage and they said it wasn't available. I called vonage and told them what Nettalk duo people told me and informed them they could not hold this number and they agreed and that they go to their people to make sure it was available and they got back to me by email and said they had not received a requist yet but if there was a problem they gave me a email address to give to nettalk duo to resove the problem.
When I called Nettalk duo and inform them not only were they not interested in the email address but there was no way the could do anything about porting my number. They simply lied about being able to port numbers over and the only numbers available were the on they asign me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

This product did not work for me.

06/27/2012
By ,
Pleasanton, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return this product because it did not work for me. It was a struggle getting it going. The last problem I couldn't get resolved was when someone calls from the cell phone I could hear them but they don't hear me. The tech support tried hard when I got them, but the wait could be as long as two hours.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Doesn't last as long as the service you purchase.

03/13/2013
By ,
Hamtramck, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to replace it twice in two years. Drops calls left and right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Unreliable worst service ever

09/07/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had NetTalk duo for over one year now. I have an internet cable connection with speeds of 10mbs+ and the voice service on the nettalk duo was awful. No matter what I did it just did not work properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
03/25/2013
By ,
Sarasota FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a magick jack and ended buying this product, it doesn't work the same, hard to connect and receive calls
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NO HIDDEN FEES??????

08/31/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Check your renewal bill. Their fees are much higher than the competition. Shop around and look at fees beyond the first year of service...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Worked great - for one week.

04/13/2013
By ,
Raleigh NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easily installed and worked like a champ for one week - then failed. Gird yourself for an hour long wait - or more - for Nettalk tech support, after which you'll be re-routed to another queue and another hour long wait. If you buy this product, treat it as a gamble; pleased if it works and willing to throw away some money if it doesn't. Mine is on it's way back to the manufacturer - who knows when or if it will return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 849 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  43 Next