Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Experience the most versatile digital phone service. The NetTalk Duo is designed to connect directly to your router or modem, which saves you cost and energy. The NetTalk phone has a glossy black plastic and chrome plastic lining the sharp edges and covering the flat side of the device. To get started, all you need is high-speed Internet and a traditional corded or cordless telephone. It is provided with three ports - a micro USB port, Ethernet port and a telephone jack port. You can make free calls to the US & Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world. The NetTalk phone provides with both e-mail and phone customer service. This NetTalk Duo VoIP telephone service creates fax-friendly phone line with free calling features such as 411 Directory Assistance, Enhanced 911, Visual Voicemail, call waiting, conference calling etc.
Average Customer Rating:
3.703 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(892 Reviews) 818
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
460
4 stars
143
3 stars
49
2 stars
44
1 star
196
Customer Recommendation72%640 out of 890reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
322 Questions | 1,421 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
460
4 stars
143
3 stars
49
2 stars
44
1 star
196
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

TERRIBLE! CUSTOMER SERVICE VIRTUALLY NON-EXISTENT

03/08/2013
By ,
South Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In trying to cut down on monthly bills, I decided to try the NetTalk DUO. There were mixed reviews so I thought I'd take a chance. DON'T DO IT! I have had my device for THREE MONTHS. First issue: They were supposed to port my number over in one week. It finally got done after THREE weeks.
Next issue: The call quality was terrible on many incoming/outgoing calls initially AND there were numbers I could not call (they'd ring twice then I'd get a busy signal##, so I submitted a support ticket. I heard NOTHING for a week. In the meantime, I had called customer support. WHAT A NIGHTMARE. The first time I called, I waited on hold and started out as caller number 39. After waiting on hold for TWO hours #being caller number 5 for over 30 minutes with hope - stupid me#, I hung up. I tried again the following Monday. I work from home so I left my phone on speaker while I waited on hold for THREE HOURS #I'm not # until I was finally able to speak to someone. They took my notes, tried a few changes in my router #brand new Cisco router/wireless AP#, then said they'd keep a ticket open to work on it. I was told that I'd hear something the next day via email. An email came in a few DAYS later.
At the end of that first battle/debacle I still had the same QOS #quality of service# issues, but I could now dial all numbers. I still had QoS issues. So... around and around we went. Each time they would "fix" one issue, other issues would surface or return.
Long story short, after THREE MONTHS of being patient #being cheap I guess and using my cell phone the majority of the time# and many emails back and forth with NetTalk #most of of mine are apparently ignored#, I still have QoS issues #I've been told I sound like "a fish under water", calls cut-out, etc#, some outgoing calls just ring and ring #even when I know there is an auto attendant that should answer on the other end#, I cannot call some numbers at all #rings twice, then busy signal#, etc. I have asked that my number be ported back to my old phone company. Guess what? I haven't heard anything from them, so apparently I am going to have to make a three hour marathon call and wait on hold until I maybe reach someone.
I'm going to see if Walmart will refund my money. I'm guessing not, but it's worth a shot. I'm also going to ask for my $19.95 refund to port my number over.
Save yourself the stress!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

they tryed to give an out of state phone #

04/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to get my old number transferred
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Customer Service Non-existent

10/29/2013
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had no trouble setting up the product. I even got connection and was able to make and receive calls. However, the person I was speaking to could not understand me at all (said it sounded like a skipping CD and was unable to hear anything else). I was able to hear the person perfectly. I tried submitting a trouble ticket through Net Talk's website. I received no response. When I called the customer service number, I got a recording and no matter which option I chose the recorded message was the same indicating that I must issue a trouble ticket on their website. After weeks, I still have no working phone line or a response. I purchased it with a money back guarantee. However, without an option to cancel phone service or anyone who responds to customer service requests I simply have a connected phone line that doesn't work and stuck with the $50 loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

COULD have been a helpful puoduct

02/09/2011
By ,
centerville George
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not get my area code ( 478) for my phone . How could close by people call. a long distant number. Called but got no help. I threw my box away now I cant even get my refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

where to start

03/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you do not need a phone to work, this will work fine for you. Busy signal when the line is not, dropped calls, breaking up, noise on the line, toll free numbers do not ring, garbled voice. You do get what you pay for, mine is going back asap.
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk is a huge disappointment

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'll admit that NetTalk seemed like a good idea when we first got it and it worked for a while. However, when things went bad we quickly realized that NetTalk provides no customer support. There's no phone number one can call, except one that directs you to the website. They offer a chat feature, but after I was on hold for over an hour I received a response saying they were "Offline." We've emailed every day for a month, and have only received one response - an email telling us they're trying to improve their response time. No one at NetTalk has attempted to fix our problem. The is a TERRIBLE company. If you want to pay for phone service that doesn't work, use them. However, if you'd like to be able to make and receive calls, NetTalk isn't the company for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

No way to record voice message

05/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't believe they don't have the ability to record your own voicemail message. They don't tell you that in commercials, on their website or in their quick guide. This is going back--is a deal breaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

not so good

07/15/2011
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I currently have a VOIP from another company. And no it is not from the magic-company. I was actually excited when I ordered this because of the reviews I've seen here at walmart. Unfortunately the product did not live up to my expectations, which were fairly low.
The hardware is small, but the phone service itself is just not good. Phone call was not clear, some times it wouldn't go through. I contacted Nettalk, but they were not able to help.
Luckily I purchased this from walmart and they accepted my return after.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Would not recommend!

11/23/2011
By ,
S.E. Ks.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a way to lower my phone bill. I figured with the NetTalk, I could save $600 a year. After receiving this product, it took me a couple of days just to get it registered. This could have been my computer, but not sure on that. Then I spent several hours on the phone with a NetTalk technician. He finally determined it was my router causing the problem. After that, I spent several hour on the phone with a router tech. They determined it was the NetTalk device. All other accessories work with my computer, plus we have 2 computers hooked to the router. I'm not buying a new computer, or router, just so I can use the NetTalk. I took it back and got a refund. It might work for you, but it didn't work for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Hardware is a piece of junk - dont waste your time

01/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The hardware worked for about a week then died. Call quality was ok after repeated calls to tech support to fix issues (hold times are longer than 30 minutes). When the device died I tried to call tech support again to get a replacement, but hold times were even longer than 30 minutes so I gave up and returned the device. Don't waste your time or money with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
Reset Button
Posted 02/03/2012
Did you push the Reset button? Mine cut off just once in the last 7 months - I put the end of a paper clip into the reset hole and pushed the reset button. So easy a caveman could do it.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 31 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
03/15/2012
By ,
Missouri City TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Net talk worked as advertised but their customer service related to porting my home phone number was very deficient. Their service helpline cut me off twice after waiting 30 min(try it).
Their E-mail help line was extremely slow. It took several days to get a reply which was to use a different E-mail address. I used my daughters and it worked. They had been using my address so they had a working address for me. It will take about 2 weeks to convert from my temporary number so I do not yet know if it will be successfull.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Will be fine - if you do not need support

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had a ticket for support for 8 days with no response. I have tried calling as well - phone numbers only tell you to use their website. Lightning zapped my old Nettalk Duo, so I need their assistance porting my account to the new device. Since I have not activated this device yet, I am finally giving up. I Ordered a Magicjack 2 days ago and will port my number to that. I used Nettalk for 33+ years with no problem, but I have NEVER seen such non-responsive, non-existent support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk Nightmare

02/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me start by saying I was a NetTalk Duo fan for the first week that I owned one. In fact, I liked it so much that I bought two more as Christmas gifts and immediately paid for them (just like the first one) by VISA. My satisfaction was misplaced. Shortly thereafter, my first Duo began to malfunction.
It began by going off-hook for no apparent reason. I could still see the Duo on my network but I would have no dial tone. I could not receive or make calls. The problem persisted but could be fixed by disconnecting and then reconnecting the usb line.
NetTalk's support was there for me and confirmed my setup. Finally, when the USB port fell off inside the Duo, they authorized a refund. I sent back the defective Duo and I canceled my order for the other two that had not been shipped. End of story you think?
Now get this...It took four phone calls and 8 weeks to get my refund for the broken Duo! To top it off, I still had not received my refund for the canceled order of two. Let me make this perfectly clear...I had been billed and paid for all three Duos. My VISA statements back me up on this (more on this to come.)
OKaaaay... So now I had to convince them that I was worthy enough to get the money back for my canceled order. Apparently, I didn't quite measure up... I had to make five more calls and even FAXed in three months worth of well-annotated VISA statements! They claimed that they never got the FAX. I have a FAX machine report that says they did.
And then, shortly after the FAX incident, one more credit for a DUO limped on to my VISA statement. This was three months after canceling my order! WOO HOO! But yes, some of you may have noticed, this only makes two refunds out of the three. I was still short one Duo refund.
Okaaaaay... so I called again (my 9th and final call) and this time I spoke with a "supervisor" who claimed a check "had been sent." Uhmmmm...its been two months now (five months total) and I'm still looking at an empty mailbox.
So listen carefully oh gentle reader, NetTalk will tell you things like "I spoke to my supervisor", "Someone will call", "Seven to ten business days", "Should be next week", "FAX us your statement", "FAX takes 5 days", "Call VISA", "Call us next week" and my personal favorite... "The check's in the mail" just to wear you down.
I'm sorry that I ever heard of NetTalk. I will never do business with them again. I hope that this review will save some other poor schmuck like me from a similar fate.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

LIMITED USAGE

08/31/2011
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Upon reading the user agreement before activating my unit I discovered a 5000 minute usage limitation per month. That's less than three hours usage a day, for my family with 3 teenage daughters this will not do. I was shocked to discover that a voip device would be limited. I will be returning this and getting the MagicJack.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
MJ
Posted 09/11/2011
MagicJack has the same policy. No worries as people won't be able to call you with MJ.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Posted 09/06/2011
i believe MJ is the same thing. read the TOS.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 35 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Beware!! They will ask you to change number

02/10/2012
By ,
DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Folks, Before buying this please my sincere advice is to try to talk to a rep in customer service. Im one of those disgusted nettalk customer. I was happy with them for a month, then started my problems. Suddenly, my incoming calls stopped. Tried to talk to a rep, called the support number. All i got was to hear the menu 100 times after trying for 35 mins. I was frustrated. Only other option was to use thier online ticket service site. Opened the ticket, then after a day I got a reply saying that there are some problems we need to remote login to ur computer. So I was asked to install remote login software, to keep it open, give all the admin permissions for them to take control of my PC. I was hesitant, but I had not other option to do it. Next day, they remote login and did some checks. Tthats it. After a week i got a reply(this was after repeated tweeting, facebook msgs) that the number has been ported someone else, and I have to change my number. Rest. They want to again chagne the number which I did just a month ago.
Thanks,
Kiran
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
Does Not Need A Computer To Work!
Posted 02/14/2012
Plug it in to your router or modem - it does not need a computer to work!!! You can also port your home phone number.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

netTalk Duo not yet ready for prime time ...

07/25/2011
By ,
Oceanside, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart service was great. Got the item in 2 days after ordering online. They were very accommodating and friendly when I returned the netTALK Duo to the store. No problems with Walmart, only with the product:
1) Without notice, netTALK deleted voice mails automatically, that were less than 24 hours old. The response I got from tech support was that this "Our servers delete messages after a certain amount of time ...". Inexcusable.
2) Call waiting beeps occur every 2 seconds when on a current call. Per your tech support, no way to adjust the timing. Very annoying.
3) Random DTMF tones (keypad tones) occur during phone calls. Tech support alleges that the tones are created by vocal intonations. Something I've never experienced when using VoIP systems with 2 different employers over past 5 years. Not buying it.
4) Can't yet use transfer existing phone # to netTALK service. Per postings and a response to me from tech support, the ability to transfer an existing phone number is to be available "soon". FAQ and forum posts indicate this has been the response for at least 13 months now.
5) Poor call quality. Calls usually good on my end, but other parties hear pops, static, and intermittent transmissions ... can only hear about 1/2 of what I'm saying. This problem is so sporadic, there is no way it is a problem with my phone, router, or ISP service.
When the service works, it works well. Unfortunately, at this point, I can't trust it to
consistently work as needed. And I am unwilling to try to start a process of elimination of replacing components at my end that work great for all other purposes except netTALK service. Therefore, I discontinued service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

only works about 30% of time, NO Support..NONE

12/27/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a very very poor product. Will tell callers that your number is disconnected or not in service, or hangs on them. May work about a 3 out of 10 times if you are lucky.
Your support attempt will go like this.. call their toll free number, wait 45 minutes to speak to agent, then get transferred to tech support, then get another que of about an hour, then get disconnected. attempt to create online trouble ticket, weeks go by and no reply.
Try something else unless you want pathetic service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

could not install

06/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I opened the NetTalk Duo, I read the simple instructions. But, after following those instructions more than 30 times, I was not able to install the device. And, because I could not install the device, I could not talk with the tech support people at NetTalk Duo to get assistance. My son-in-law uses NetTalk Duo in a different city. He tried to get help or troubleshooting advice from the tech support. All they would say was the number printed on the inside of the product box must have been corrupted. Contrary to the instructions in the box on what to do if a problem developed (do not go back to the dealer!), NetTalk told my son-in-law that I should take the package back to the dealer. I have taken the unworkable product back to Walmart, got my money back, and I have cancelled any thoughts about trying NetTalk Duo.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Seems Nettalk Duo is not unlimited...

07/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am returning this device tomorrow... Not one word in the fine print did anything tell you the plan is limited to 5000 minutes a month... Unlimited???
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
01/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high expectation but it didn't work with window xp unfortunately, I had to return it. I really wish it would work! Needs technology breakthrough.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
Does NOT need a computer to work!
Posted 01/28/2012
Nettalk Duo plugs directly into your internet cable or router - you DO NOT NEED a computer for it to work.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 819 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next