Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Experience the most versatile digital phone service. The NetTalk Duo is designed to connect directly to your router or modem, which saves you cost and energy. The NetTalk phone has a glossy black plastic and chrome plastic lining the sharp edges and covering the flat side of the device. To get started, all you need is high-speed Internet and a traditional corded or cordless telephone. It is provided with three ports - a micro USB port, Ethernet port and a telephone jack port. You can make free calls to the US & Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world. The NetTalk phone provides with both e-mail and phone customer service. This NetTalk Duo VoIP telephone service creates fax-friendly phone line with free calling features such as 411 Directory Assistance, Enhanced 911, Visual Voicemail, call waiting, conference calling etc.
Average Customer Rating:
3.711 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(879 Reviews) 805
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
456
4 stars
140
3 stars
48
2 stars
43
1 star
192
Customer Recommendation72%632 out of 877reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
316 Questions | 1,403 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
456
4 stars
140
3 stars
48
2 stars
43
1 star
192
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Worse support

04/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this two ago…..
Last two weeks… I am trying to resolve my international call feature (pre-paid in full )
5th time tech support hang-up on me… after waiting for close 2 hrs… each time … still not resolved.. as am writing this…. waiting in other line I am getting busy tone when I make any international calls…
If I cancel the service I did not get my money back… I lost over $150.00…
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

JUNK!

07/31/2012
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very noisy, choppy voices, runs quite hot, so it’s not going to last, faxes almost always fail, etc. There basically is nothing GOOD about it!
Tech support is USELESS! I tried for 9 DAYS to get them to help. Possibly a firmware update would help, etc. You can NEVER get through on the phone, no matter how early you call with over a dozen attempts, the LEAST amount of time to wait was 34 minutes, and the most was 126!
I sent numerous emails, and opened 3 separate tickets. They answered 2 of the tickets, and NONE of the follow-up emails! The only “advice” they gave me was to send me a link to ANOTHER COMPANY’S WEBSITE which just gave the rudimentary solutions that I had already done before contacting them. When I told them I had already tried all of those things, they never replied again, until I opened a THIRD ticket!
I tried a known good Ethernet cable, different ports on the router, different phones, and then since I was also upgrading my entire network, it was put on a new, top of the line Netgear R6300 router. Nothing made the slightest difference!
I have Comcast as my ISP. I also, bought a Ooma Voip about a week after buying this Nettalk. The Ooma is PERFECT! Great voice, great faxing, and I also wanted to test their tech support, so I called, and in about a minute, I had a real person to talk to! I also emailed them and they answered quickly! So it’s not my equipment, it’s theirs, which I explained all of this to them in all the emails that went unanswered.
So save your money, and stay away from Nettalk. Get an Ooma instead. With it, you buy it, and never pay a yearly fee…ever! If you watch for deals, you can find one for about $150
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Utter failure in 419 /567 area code.

08/29/2012
By ,
Fremont, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There are no phone numbers for this in NW Ohio. So if you are one of the 2 million people in Toldeo, Findlay, Bowling Green, Fremont, etc, You are hosed. And you cannot port a Frontier number either, A complete waste of my time and gas, now I am off to try a Magic Jack.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not Happy after 2 weeks.

10/13/2012
By ,
Webb City, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read reviews on the NetTalk duo until I was blue in the face. and based on the info I thought this would be the way to go to get away from Vonage, I have a cable connection and in week 1, this worked beautifully. However we're at the end of week 2 and this week anytime I've made or recieved a call, it's been very choppy. I've ended up telling the other side to hang up and I'd call them on another line. Then I'd call them on a Skype phone phone number ($60yr)which was working properly ,still through the internet. So based on week 2, I do not recommend this. however I will give them fair chance. (maybe this was just a bad week and system issues for them. after all vonage went through that too) Hoping when all is said and done we end up pleased, but for now I'm not happy whatsoever.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Garbage

12/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned the NetTalk Duo for eight months and have tried it with two different modems and two wifi routers. The funny thing is, it worked OK for the first couple of weeks...sometimes garbled talk on both sides of the conversation. After that, I can make an outgoing call most of the time, but when you answer an incoming call, it buzzes loud while you are yelling hello fifty times.....then it goes to voicemail. Sometimes the caller hears you and sometimes not. Very frustrating. My advice is to use Skype or just pay for a real phone. Customer service for this product is impossible to reach. Don't wast your time and money like I did!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
08/30/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not registering after hundreds efforts. Customer Service phone asks to go to web site. Web site doesn't have much info. Ask to submit ticket. Answer of ticket doesn't come. Add-on $10 fix monthly international plan is just advertisement. Ask for deposit in credit account. In short, not satisfied.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not as it appears

01/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
service is like magicjack..
However the stinker is that you need to use a smart cell phone or computer to listen to your voicemail messages when away from home. There is no PIN provided to check messages using conventional phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Won't activate with my modem.

02/13/2014
By ,
Louisville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setup is impossible. Taking it back. Used to have the old magic jack. Setup was automatic. The thing broke is the only reason I was trying this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Nettalk, don't waste your money

07/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wrote a previous comment and Walmart did not post it for some unknown reason. Nettalk is a piece of junk! I ordered Nettalk based on all of the good feedback that others had posted. There are too many bugs that still need addressed, especially the issue with the dialer tone activating while talking to the other party. The call quality was very choppy and garbled. I pay for high speed internet, only to hear customer support blaming their problems on my internet provider. (No way, I am compurter literate and my download speed is 15mbps and upload is 7 mbps) The customer service rep said that their engineers are aware of the tone problem, and while I was talking with a technician, from my celluilar phone, his phone had that tone issue. I just laughed! The rep was short for words and told me to send the unit back to Walmart for a refund. On a good note, I took the recommendation from a negative poster from this website and purchased the obi100. OMG, the quality is perfect and has more features than Nettalk. It hooks into google voice (free) and the call quality is outstanding. I cancelled my regular phone service. The only downfall is that your 911 service is not ported, but you can pay $1.00 a month to an outside vender to have your address ported to your local county 911 center.. Cheers, Chiefdg3201
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Myers, FL
Obi100???
Posted 09/19/2012
Thanks for telling me there is another alternative to MagicJack and Nettalk. But can people call me back with the obi100?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Dont Buy

01/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This company started off good , now the fax will not work , when I call out I get a busy signal (when I know im calling a phone that is not busy) took back today for a refund . I am not a magic jack fan because of there customer service but calls are great , faxing is perfect , customer service BAD but i can deal with it.
If you buy be prepared to return
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
03/15/2012
By ,
Missouri City TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Net talk worked as advertised but their customer service related to porting my home phone number was very deficient. Their service helpline cut me off twice after waiting 30 min(try it).
Their E-mail help line was extremely slow. It took several days to get a reply which was to use a different E-mail address. I used my daughters and it worked. They had been using my address so they had a working address for me. It will take about 2 weeks to convert from my temporary number so I do not yet know if it will be successfull.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

where to start

03/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you do not need a phone to work, this will work fine for you. Busy signal when the line is not, dropped calls, breaking up, noise on the line, toll free numbers do not ring, garbled voice. You do get what you pay for, mine is going back asap.
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Bad service

12/20/2012
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned first unit, virtually impossible to reach support via Nettalk. wasted almost a month with this. Terrible experience trying to get anywhere with Nettalk support people.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Terrible experience!

03/06/2013
By ,
White Cloud, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took several attempts to install. Quit working after 1 call out. Took several more attempts to install. Then calls had static and a delay. Took several attempts to dial out as phone would either ring and disconnect or ring and give a busy signal for a handful of tries.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
03/25/2013
By ,
Sarasota FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a magick jack and ended buying this product, it doesn't work the same, hard to connect and receive calls
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Has not lived up to expectation

05/11/2011
By ,
Kissimee,FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This device is very unreliable having difficulty completing calls.I had to revert to my Vonage
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

GREAT Deal!!!

08/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product about five weeks ago. Very easy to hook up! I have used Magic Jack in the past and connection clarity was intermittent at best. Customer support was and is almost nonexistent.
After Magic Jack I switched to Vonage. Connection clarity and overall quality of service including support were great. I switched to Net Talk Duo simply due to the fact that it is $300 a year less expensive than Vonage.
Before purchasing this product I read many of the reviews. I was impressed and decided to give it a try. I am GLAD I DID!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

just wow

05/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
set it up and tested it out. my calls were breaking up. customer service number is a recording telling you to call from net talk phone. i waited 1 1/2 on hold to be told to unplug my phone and they would call my cell to walk me through steps. that guy never called and i plugged the phone back in to call them and now couldn't get a dial tone to call them back. RETURN! no wonder they get such a low rating on amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not as advertised, Tech Support Dismal

06/18/2013
By ,
King George, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
States that existing phone #s can be ported but not everywhere and you don't find this out until you've bought the product. Then you can either live with the randomly assigned number or go through the aggravation of getting your money back. Tech support is totally and extremely USELESS. On chat, about 30 minutes of waiting to get started, then took over 7 minutes to answer a "yes/no" question. Nearly an hour an half later, finally found out why the number would not port. Called tech support phone number and hung up after waiting about 45 minutes. Fortunately, Walmart took the item back. Try Magicjack - about same price and you can find out if your number will port right up front before you commit to buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

03/14/2014
By ,
JACKSONVILLE, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I NEVER GOT A CHANCE TO USE IT, IT DIDN'T WORK OUT OF THE BOX. I TRIED GETTING IN TOUCH WITH TECH SUPPORT, BUT TECH SUPPORT FOR ALL INTENT AND PURPOSE IS VIRTUALLY NON EXISTENT. THE POSTED HOURS OF OPERATION ON THEIR WEBSITE IS 8AM TO 5PM, MAYBE. THEY ARE ONLINE ONE MINUTE, OFFLINE THE NEXT, AND PHONE SUPPORT IS WHENEVER THEY GET BACK TO YOU. I HAD THE DEVICE FOR THREE DAYS BEFORE I SENT IT BACK FOR A REFUND. I SUGGEST MAGIC JACK OR SKYPE PHONE, THE MONEY IS ABOUT THE SAME.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 806 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next