Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Experience the most versatile digital phone service. The NetTalk Duo is designed to connect directly to your router or modem, which saves you cost and energy. The NetTalk phone has a glossy black plastic and chrome plastic lining the sharp edges and covering the flat side of the device. To get started, all you need is high-speed Internet and a traditional corded or cordless telephone. It is provided with three ports - a micro USB port, Ethernet port and a telephone jack port. You can make free calls to the US & Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world. The NetTalk phone provides with both e-mail and phone customer service. This NetTalk Duo VoIP telephone service creates fax-friendly phone line with free calling features such as 411 Directory Assistance, Enhanced 911, Visual Voicemail, call waiting, conference calling etc.
Average Customer Rating:
3.698 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(916 Reviews) 842
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
469
4 stars
149
3 stars
51
2 stars
46
1 star
201
Customer Recommendation72%655 out of 914reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
337 Questions | 1,442 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
469
4 stars
149
3 stars
51
2 stars
46
1 star
201
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Less than perfect

02/18/2011
By ,
Pendleton, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I expected some glitches in setting this up, but the initial setup went perfect. The service does not work on incoming and hesitates on outgoing. This is not my first VOIP connection, I have 3 others that work flawlessly. I tried this on cable and also a fixed wireless. Neither met my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Massive rate hikes!

12/10/2012
By ,
Houston, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want to use this for just USA it is fine. I bought it specifically to call family in the UK. The rates were .009/min for landline and .08/min to UK cell phone - a bargain so spent the +$60 on the device. But on Dec 7 2012 netTalk changed their rates. Call to UK cell phone went up over 300% to .41/min. And calls to UK landline went up 3700% percent!!! from .009 to .345/min. Now they want to sell me an International package costing $120 per year but doesn't include UK cell phones. Wish I had stuck with Skype. Don't trust netTalk if they think this kind of rate hike is reasonable. Of course they have small print saying rates can change so buyer beware!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Nettalk, don't waste your money

07/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wrote a previous comment and Walmart did not post it for some unknown reason. Nettalk is a piece of junk! I ordered Nettalk based on all of the good feedback that others had posted. There are too many bugs that still need addressed, especially the issue with the dialer tone activating while talking to the other party. The call quality was very choppy and garbled. I pay for high speed internet, only to hear customer support blaming their problems on my internet provider. (No way, I am compurter literate and my download speed is 15mbps and upload is 7 mbps) The customer service rep said that their engineers are aware of the tone problem, and while I was talking with a technician, from my celluilar phone, his phone had that tone issue. I just laughed! The rep was short for words and told me to send the unit back to Walmart for a refund. On a good note, I took the recommendation from a negative poster from this website and purchased the obi100. OMG, the quality is perfect and has more features than Nettalk. It hooks into google voice (free) and the call quality is outstanding. I cancelled my regular phone service. The only downfall is that your 911 service is not ported, but you can pay $1.00 a month to an outside vender to have your address ported to your local county 911 center.. Cheers, Chiefdg3201
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Myers, FL
Obi100???
Posted 09/19/2012
Thanks for telling me there is another alternative to MagicJack and Nettalk. But can people call me back with the obi100?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Tremendous WASTE of time and effort

05/18/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I installed unit [easy] but could NOT get it to work properly. Called "tech support' [bad joke] and after a long effort, finally got a "ticket" written. Why a customer has to go thru some many steps is obvious - they want you to give up. After fianlly getting it done, the voice [using my cell phone] explained that tech was only available from 10 to 4 on Saturday and it was 3 and they were gone for the day but would return tommorrow after 10 AM. 11 Am Sunday, the same runaround and NO tech support. Glad I bought it from Walmart and could get my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not All It's Cracked Up To Be

09/10/2011
By ,
Reedsport, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had my device and service for a month now, so I feel it's been long enough to decide whether I like it or not. I do NOT. I switched from MagicJack because I thought this device, plugging directly into the router would be more reliable and give better sound quality in my calls. Neither is true. Too many times, I get a call and person who called me can't understand what I am saying; my words are so chopped up they are lucky if they can understand half of my words. Same is true with outgoing calls. Sometimes, the calls won't even go through....just dead air until I end the call. Turns out, there was ringing on the other end and the person I called answered the phone and could hear me but I had no idea they were on the line. No features other than the basics. No way to block anonymous or private numbers. I also don't like that there is no date/time stamps on the incoming calls so when I get a missed call, the caller id screen only shows name/number but not date and time the call came in. The ONLY people I would recommend this device to are those who are unable to use MagicJack (such as linux users).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
Proper Router?
Posted 09/13/2011
Did you check to see if your router is listed at Nettalk.com as one that properly works with the Nettalk Duo? And, did you call their customer service number to speak with them about your problems?
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

I was not able to choose a number

06/29/2013
By ,
charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent 3 weeks going through numbers and there were no numbers available.
Customer service is never around.
Do not waste your money.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Terrible experience!

03/06/2013
By ,
White Cloud, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took several attempts to install. Quit working after 1 call out. Took several more attempts to install. Then calls had static and a delay. Took several attempts to dial out as phone would either ring and disconnect or ring and give a busy signal for a handful of tries.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Read Before You Buy

03/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok I will give credit where it is due, I bought the duo in dec 11. Hooked it to my router and it worked great. So when went a busness trip, I took my duo to use with my lap top via usb. Guess what it did not work. So when I got back I contacted duo tech support (20 min wait on hold). The tech was very helpful and nice but he could not get the device to work at all (usb or router). So I sent it back and they promptly sent me a new one. When I got the new device I could not activate it online, so I had to sit on hold again waiting for tech support. Again the tech was very helpful, activated the device on my previous account. Hooked to router it worked fine, hooked to usb it would not work. Tech found firewall was the problem but he could not change the settings so the duo would work. I said ok, I would work on the settings myself or just turn firewall off while I was using duo. So while I was working on the fire wall the device went dead, no lights no nothing. If you want a device you can use on usb do not buy. I am done with duo.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
03/19/2013
By ,
Waitsburg, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we had some help installing the unit but could not get it to work on our system...we have 4 extensions and that might have been the problem...we returned the unit for credit
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Poor customer service

09/06/2013
By ,
Travelers Rest, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a MJ for about one year when I noticed it was getting very hot to the touch. We eventually had to get another MJ that failed to work as soon as we used their plug in adaptor. I chatted with tech support for about 45 minutes when that lady "sent" us to an "expert". After 1/2 hour, I suggested that it burned up when I plugged it in. Answer: "no." After 1/2 hour more, I had to give up due to time. with a consequent chat, I ended up getting another MJ for $11.
At first it met expectations, now I disappointed by the products performance over time, the associated parts #the plug in adapter, the cable hook-up [didn't tell you about that]#, and the customer service. Check other online reviews on line before buying this product. Not as impressive as these reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Didn't work for us

02/20/2011
By ,
Seattle, Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Followed directions. Setup was simple and straight forward. Seemed to work fine on initial set up. However, within 30-45min, there would be no dial tone.
The lights were still on, status light was green, but no dial tone. If I unplugged it from the network and plugged it back in, would start working again. But would again revert to no dial tone after 30-45min.
Had to return it after a week of trying to get it to work. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
01/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high expectation but it didn't work with window xp unfortunately, I had to return it. I really wish it would work! Needs technology breakthrough.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
Does NOT need a computer to work!
Posted 01/28/2012
Nettalk Duo plugs directly into your internet cable or router - you DO NOT NEED a computer for it to work.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
09/15/2013
By ,
Lake City, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thinking it would do what I needed. After I activated it, I can call out but can't receive any calls. I have contacted them twice about it and haven't got any message from them yet. If I could return it and get my money back I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Customer Service Non-existent

10/29/2013
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had no trouble setting up the product. I even got connection and was able to make and receive calls. However, the person I was speaking to could not understand me at all (said it sounded like a skipping CD and was unable to hear anything else). I was able to hear the person perfectly. I tried submitting a trouble ticket through Net Talk's website. I received no response. When I called the customer service number, I got a recording and no matter which option I chose the recorded message was the same indicating that I must issue a trouble ticket on their website. After weeks, I still have no working phone line or a response. I purchased it with a money back guarantee. However, without an option to cancel phone service or anyone who responds to customer service requests I simply have a connected phone line that doesn't work and stuck with the $50 loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Customer service and tech support non existent!

10/04/2013
By ,
Arlington, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased NetTalk Duo to avoid expensive monthly phone bills. Setup was simple and quick, call quality was excellent and then after a few months no service. It took MONTHS of no service to finally get phone service again. When it came time to renew thinking this must have been an aberration I decided to go ahead and renew online. It would not take my debit card. Again I wrote them and NEVER received a response. I was trying to PAY them to renew my service. As a result I lost my service.
After many weeks or months I broke down needing a phone so I decided to give them another chance. I purchased another year of service. Even had to pay a fee as my old service lapsed. I know, I know. Stupid right? Well as it turns out yes it was. I paid my money, they took it this time. Paid my reconnect fee and .... NOTHING! It has been months asking for customer service help and NOTHING! They even wrote me twice saying that the problem must be resolved and I responded to that email saying it had not been resolved. NOTHING. No acknowledgement no response of anything.
So I say to you. If you want to risk your money gambling on a company that will absolutely ignore you if you ever need customer service then my best wishes for success. As long as it is working it seems very good. As long as it is working. If you ever need support forget it. I wasted considerable money and more important time trying to get someone to provide technical support and got NOTHING.
I purchases two years total of NetTalk service and maybe got six months of interrupted service.
Anyone have any suggestions or similar experiences because I at least would like to have my money refunded as I never received any service on my renewal. Not one day!
By the way as I had service before I know I was connected correctly although I did go through the reconnect procedures and I have many times over the minimum speed on my computer they recommend. Of course I had no help in checking as they have no technical assistance. Try to call them. After an hour on the phone you will be hung up on. Write them and you will not receive a reply other than it appears your problem has been corrected. The left hand does not know what the right hand is doing there. You WILL BE on your own if you lose service which appears likely. At least in my experience.
I am not one to leave comments and ratings. I warned NetTalk I would begin doing this and so here I am. To Nettalk. I TOLD YOU I WOULD DO THIS. You did not even reply to that warning so this is the beginning of my reviews to the world warning them about you!
Good luck and I sincerely hope you heed my advice and purchase another product! You will regret it if you do not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
10/30/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT GET IF YOU HAVE DSL and land line on shared line. WILL NOT WORK. Had to return. When I ordered I did not read this warning.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not a dependable phone system.

01/31/2013
By ,
Salem AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Difficult to achieve installation.
Drops connection intermittently
Incoming calls sporadic
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

READ THIS BEFORE YOU BUY !!

12/11/2012
By ,
akron ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have good i-net in time warner and a decent router netgear 150n. When talking to a standard phone # such as a landline or digital phone, nothing but problems. Seemed to work ok when I was talking to verizon [ voip ] phone #'s. I used the original Magic Jack for 2 years and decided to upgrade to a unit with no computer needed. This is not the one!! Going to exchange it for a MJ plus.
I did decide to buy from Walmart because of great customer service :)
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not Happy after 2 weeks.

10/13/2012
By ,
Webb City, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read reviews on the NetTalk duo until I was blue in the face. and based on the info I thought this would be the way to go to get away from Vonage, I have a cable connection and in week 1, this worked beautifully. However we're at the end of week 2 and this week anytime I've made or recieved a call, it's been very choppy. I've ended up telling the other side to hang up and I'd call them on another line. Then I'd call them on a Skype phone phone number ($60yr)which was working properly ,still through the internet. So based on week 2, I do not recommend this. however I will give them fair chance. (maybe this was just a bad week and system issues for them. after all vonage went through that too) Hoping when all is said and done we end up pleased, but for now I'm not happy whatsoever.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Worse support

04/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this two ago…..
Last two weeks… I am trying to resolve my international call feature (pre-paid in full )
5th time tech support hang-up on me… after waiting for close 2 hrs… each time … still not resolved.. as am writing this…. waiting in other line I am getting busy tone when I make any international calls…
If I cancel the service I did not get my money back… I lost over $150.00…
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 843 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  43 Next