Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Experience the most versatile digital phone service. The NetTalk Duo is designed to connect directly to your router or modem, which saves you cost and energy. The NetTalk phone has a glossy black plastic and chrome plastic lining the sharp edges and covering the flat side of the device. To get started, all you need is high-speed Internet and a traditional corded or cordless telephone. It is provided with three ports - a micro USB port, Ethernet port and a telephone jack port. You can make free calls to the US & Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world. The NetTalk phone provides with both e-mail and phone customer service. This NetTalk Duo VoIP telephone service creates fax-friendly phone line with free calling features such as 411 Directory Assistance, Enhanced 911, Visual Voicemail, call waiting, conference calling etc.
Average Customer Rating:
3.695 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(918 Reviews) 844
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
469
4 stars
150
3 stars
51
2 stars
46
1 star
202
Customer Recommendation72%656 out of 916reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
338 Questions | 1,442 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
469
4 stars
150
3 stars
51
2 stars
46
1 star
202
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Worse support

04/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this two ago…..
Last two weeks… I am trying to resolve my international call feature (pre-paid in full )
5th time tech support hang-up on me… after waiting for close 2 hrs… each time … still not resolved.. as am writing this…. waiting in other line I am getting busy tone when I make any international calls…
If I cancel the service I did not get my money back… I lost over $150.00…
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Awful product!

05/23/2012
By ,
Owasso, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I followed the instructions on this explicitly and it appeared it was very simple--that is, if it worked! You have to do some things online to get your NetTalk Duo set up. It would never let me go past the first screen of instructions. When I called customer service, I was on hold for a very long time. When someone finally answered, they must have been using the NetTalk Duo, as the sound quality was awful and without me getting any answers, our call was disconnected. Don't waste your time trying this device. I returned it to Wal-Mart promptly and they were great in refunding my purchase price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Disappointed

06/26/2012
By ,
Springfield, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reviewing NetTalk Duo and MajicJack I decided to try NetTalk Duo because of the favorable comments. I tried the device on two different phone systems with a good quality incoming sound, but the outgoing sound was very choppy, not good for phone conversations. After reading information in the NetTalk forum I discivered this is not uncommon. When I called customer support the message said I'd be put on hold until the next agent was available in 135 minutes! I followed all the suggestions posted on their web page to no avail. Thankfully I purchased this from Walmart and it was returned without problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Net Talk Duo is not recommended July 25, 2012

07/25/2012
By ,
Lilburn, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the Nettalk Duo for a month and a half. It did not work 50% percent of the time. I would not recommend this product to anyone. I kept it long enough to be able to provide a solid review. If you want to take a chance please keep your receipt and the original packings. You will be taking it back. I received a full refund from Walmart and purchased a similar product not carried by Walmart that has been around longer and it works fine. It cost a little more but is worth it. I hope this review is helpful to others trying to make a real decision to purchase this product or not. This is a real review written by a real person.
Tonja
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

GREAT Deal!!!

08/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product about five weeks ago. Very easy to hook up! I have used Magic Jack in the past and connection clarity was intermittent at best. Customer support was and is almost nonexistent.
After Magic Jack I switched to Vonage. Connection clarity and overall quality of service including support were great. I switched to Net Talk Duo simply due to the fact that it is $300 a year less expensive than Vonage.
Before purchasing this product I read many of the reviews. I was impressed and decided to give it a try. I am GLAD I DID!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Verizon Fios not compatible

08/13/2012
By ,
crofton, md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just purchased this item and it's not compatible to the router supplied by verizon fios (Actiontec). Customer Service at Nettalk is very difficult to get through to
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Was excited but now very disappointed

08/14/2012
By ,
Knoxville TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered Nettalk back in May I read all the reviews and thought this would be a good solution for the expensive land line I had. Nettalk only lets a few calls thru, most of the time people can not hear you, while talking voice goes in and out and since May I have tried to reach tech help everytime I try and I have have tried alot 60 to 70 minute wait time. So I feel this means no customer service. Tired of bad service going back to land line at least my calls come thru and I can reach customer service. Please beware I dont know who wrote the positive reviews but my experience has been extremely negative.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Seems great but we didn't have the proper router

08/18/2012
By ,
Sedro Woolley, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this seems really cool, unfortuately we had a modem that wasn't compatible. If you go to net talk website they give a list of routers that usually work and usually don't work. I had to return it :(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Garbage

08/30/2012
By ,
DALLAS, TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. MY FIRST DUO DEVICE GOT BURNED AFTER 11 MONTHS. CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE WAS HORRIBLE. NO SERVICE ON THE PHONE ALMOST EVERYDAY. ONCE I MADE A CALL FOR TECH SERVICE, WAITING TIME WAS 65 MINUTES. VOIP CONCEPT IS GOOD BUT NETTALK IS NOT READY TO RUN THE BUSINESS YET.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Drops Calls/Customer Service Unreachable

10/06/2012
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ported my old Verizon land line phone number over to Nettalk Duo no problem but that is the only part of this that has gone smoothly. Now, when making calls on the Nettalk Duo, after about 20 minutes or so on a call, suddenly I will hear a loud constant tone and the line will disconnect. Also, incoming callers complain that my voice is breaking up or sounds like I am in a tunnel or under water. I keep resetting the Nettalk according to directions and it still doesnt fix the problem. I use Time Warner Cable so I have plenty of speed and have checked my router and modem for compatability. Still these issues persist. I have called thier customer service line 3 times. The wait times for a rep to answer is always close to an hour. Even though I hold the line, after about 30-40 minutes, I am suddenly disconnected. I give up on their customer service. I chose Nettalk over Magic Jack only because they advertised that they have live customer service. Had I known what a hassle their customer service really is, I would'nt have bothered. I will try Magic Jack Plus next.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
11/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had bad echos, and dropped calls, tech supprt was useless. Stay with Vonage.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Be very cautious this for us is a very unreliable

11/18/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had many reliability problems with our system. Emails to net talk have not been returned 7 email assistance requests messages
calls do go through
if someone calls us, during a conversation, the old conversation disconnects
during conversations, suddenly, other party can not hear us but we can hear them
at times, callers are told our number is no longer in service
at times, we hear other foreign language talkers talking in c\background as we try to talk
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Worked poorly at first, and now not at all. Junk!

12/02/2012
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am tech savvy and I have a relatively fast internet connection (25+ down & 5+ up). I changed to netTALK from Vonage to try and save some money. This netTALK Duo is total junk! When it did work, the audio was poor, especially as the conversation went long for some reason. There would be times when audio would cutout and the person on the other line would not even hear what we were saying. For more than a month now, our phone wont even ring. Sometimes it goes to voice mail, and other times it just has the "number out of service" message, with no constant pattern. Again, total junk! I have now moved to Ooma, which seems great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Complete Waste of Time and Money

12/18/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After a grand total of three calls (phone quality was ok but lagged) it stopped working. Called NetTalk tech support, run through the usual hoops, and an hour and forty minutes later I was given an RMS to send it to them for replacement. The replacement arrived 7 weeks later. Instructions enclosed noted options for calling to transfer old account or simply activating it as new device. Their website insist on the later. It has been nearly three hours since I made the call and while still on hold I went for option #2 ...which completely locked out the device and it will no longer merge with the NetTalk USB software. My first mistake was purchasing the device, the second was not returning it to Walmart for a prompt refund. Looks like I'm getting Mom a GoPhone for Christmas.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Bad service

12/20/2012
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned first unit, virtually impossible to reach support via Nettalk. wasted almost a month with this. Terrible experience trying to get anywhere with Nettalk support people.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

only works about 30% of time, NO Support..NONE

12/27/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a very very poor product. Will tell callers that your number is disconnected or not in service, or hangs on them. May work about a 3 out of 10 times if you are lucky.
Your support attempt will go like this.. call their toll free number, wait 45 minutes to speak to agent, then get transferred to tech support, then get another que of about an hour, then get disconnected. attempt to create online trouble ticket, weeks go by and no reply.
Try something else unless you want pathetic service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Horrible product

01/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Spent a good 2 hours trying to get this thing to work, including changing internet settings and such. Finally, took it back to Walmart and bought a magic jack plus. Came home, plugged in the magic jack plus, and was using the phone within like 10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Terrible experience!

03/06/2013
By ,
White Cloud, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took several attempts to install. Quit working after 1 call out. Took several more attempts to install. Then calls had static and a delay. Took several attempts to dial out as phone would either ring and disconnect or ring and give a busy signal for a handful of tries.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

TERRIBLE! CUSTOMER SERVICE VIRTUALLY NON-EXISTENT

03/08/2013
By ,
South Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In trying to cut down on monthly bills, I decided to try the NetTalk DUO. There were mixed reviews so I thought I'd take a chance. DON'T DO IT! I have had my device for THREE MONTHS. First issue: They were supposed to port my number over in one week. It finally got done after THREE weeks.
Next issue: The call quality was terrible on many incoming/outgoing calls initially AND there were numbers I could not call (they'd ring twice then I'd get a busy signal##, so I submitted a support ticket. I heard NOTHING for a week. In the meantime, I had called customer support. WHAT A NIGHTMARE. The first time I called, I waited on hold and started out as caller number 39. After waiting on hold for TWO hours #being caller number 5 for over 30 minutes with hope - stupid me#, I hung up. I tried again the following Monday. I work from home so I left my phone on speaker while I waited on hold for THREE HOURS #I'm not # until I was finally able to speak to someone. They took my notes, tried a few changes in my router #brand new Cisco router/wireless AP#, then said they'd keep a ticket open to work on it. I was told that I'd hear something the next day via email. An email came in a few DAYS later.
At the end of that first battle/debacle I still had the same QOS #quality of service# issues, but I could now dial all numbers. I still had QoS issues. So... around and around we went. Each time they would "fix" one issue, other issues would surface or return.
Long story short, after THREE MONTHS of being patient #being cheap I guess and using my cell phone the majority of the time# and many emails back and forth with NetTalk #most of of mine are apparently ignored#, I still have QoS issues #I've been told I sound like "a fish under water", calls cut-out, etc#, some outgoing calls just ring and ring #even when I know there is an auto attendant that should answer on the other end#, I cannot call some numbers at all #rings twice, then busy signal#, etc. I have asked that my number be ported back to my old phone company. Guess what? I haven't heard anything from them, so apparently I am going to have to make a three hour marathon call and wait on hold until I maybe reach someone.
I'm going to see if Walmart will refund my money. I'm guessing not, but it's worth a shot. I'm also going to ask for my $19.95 refund to port my number over.
Save yourself the stress!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Doesn't last as long as the service you purchase.

03/13/2013
By ,
Hamtramck, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to replace it twice in two years. Drops calls left and right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 845 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  43 Next