Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Experience the most versatile digital phone service. The NetTalk Duo is designed to connect directly to your router or modem, which saves you cost and energy. The NetTalk phone has a glossy black plastic and chrome plastic lining the sharp edges and covering the flat side of the device. To get started, all you need is high-speed Internet and a traditional corded or cordless telephone. It is provided with three ports - a micro USB port, Ethernet port and a telephone jack port. You can make free calls to the US & Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world. The NetTalk phone provides with both e-mail and phone customer service. This NetTalk Duo VoIP telephone service creates fax-friendly phone line with free calling features such as 411 Directory Assistance, Enhanced 911, Visual Voicemail, call waiting, conference calling etc.
Average Customer Rating:
3.703 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(893 Reviews) 819
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
460
4 stars
144
3 stars
49
2 stars
44
1 star
196
Customer Recommendation72%641 out of 891reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
323 Questions | 1,423 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
460
4 stars
144
3 stars
49
2 stars
44
1 star
196
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

HORRIBLE!!!!! DON'T BUY!!!!

04/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GARBAGE!
Hasn't worked for 3 days, called tech. support each day, they acted like there was no problem, said to try it in 45 minutes, after they were closed, still didn't work. Must be a common problem, que today was 50 callers, but I waited on hold over SIX HOURS, no exaggeration, and then they disappeared!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not happy

08/08/2011
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It would be an amazing product if it worked!! It works 30% of the time and when it does it is crystal clear but other times we can hear the person calling but they cannot make out anything we are saying. At least with MJ it works almost all the time with a few cell phone like calls but they can at least make out what we are saying. We are going to contact customer service and see if they can fix this but not happy so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Do not purchase, not reliable, poor support

04/06/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product is poor. My netTalk Duo was purchased through Walmart.com and it stopped working yesterday. I submitted an online trouble ticket to netTalk support on yesterday, I got no response. I called today and a support agent could not get the device to work agian. I was advised to contact level 2 tech support on tomorrow, because they stopped taking calls for the day. (it was not closing time) The hold times to contact a netTalk tech support agent at 1-866-967-1063 are excessive. (20 minutes or more to get an agent that can't fix your problem.)
At times my calls sounded tunnelly, but usually clarity was fine.
In recent weeks dial tones started interrupting my calls, although neither I/ nor the person I was talking to pressed any keys. It happened on numerous ocassions. Finally on yesterday, the device shut off while I was talking and I haven't been able to use it since. It worked to some extent, for about 4 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Won't activate with my modem.

02/13/2014
By ,
Louisville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setup is impossible. Taking it back. Used to have the old magic jack. Setup was automatic. The thing broke is the only reason I was trying this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Horrible product and even worse customer service

12/13/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. What a horrible device and service. Extremely poor sound quality, calls disconnect, and it won't recognize DTMF tones. I've had my NetTalk device for 3 months and have wasted at least 25 hours of my time working with at least 5 of their support engineer to "fix" the issue. None of the "fixes" work however. The icing on the cake is they wouldn't refund my money due to a ridiculous 30 day money back policy. NetTalk, you've burned a bridge and will NEVER have me as a customer again. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Fine unless you need to reach customer service

04/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My daughter has one and it works great so I thought I would go ahead and buy one. The duo I bought has the incorrect cord so I can not hook it up. I was going to return it to Walmart but because of shipping mixup I did not receive the product until after the 15 day return window. This is where things went bad. The phone number for Nettalk does not work...go ahead and try it before you buy it's on their FAQ page. Tried opening a ticket (apr 8th) still no response. Tried live chat every day since the 8th and there is always a que and after about 30 minutes it says no one is available and disconnects. Horrible Horrible non existent customer service. The company should be ashamed. So the netduo is ok unless you have an issue then good luck getting assistance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

where to start

03/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you do not need a phone to work, this will work fine for you. Busy signal when the line is not, dropped calls, breaking up, noise on the line, toll free numbers do not ring, garbled voice. You do get what you pay for, mine is going back asap.
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
03/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the NewTalk Duo from Walmart in May 2011 and it worked pretty well for 6 months. I got a couple dropped calls and some sound issues but it worked. Then, suddenly, it stopped working and gave the error "Call can not be completed as dialed" when you called the number.
I submitted a support ticket through their website. Five days later with no response, I called tech support. Calling tech support does not put your through to tech support but to customer service instead. After I talked to someone in customer service, I was forwarded to tech support where I stayed on hold for at least 20 minutes before hanging up.
DO NOT use this as your primary phone or business phone. It is only good for calls every once in awhile to friends. And, if it ever stops working, just throw it away. You will not get help from tech support.
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

WORKS ON OCCASION

03/19/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a little shocked to see all the positive reviews as this nettalk duo is quickly becoming the biggest piece of junk I've ever purchased. I've had the device for 6 months now and it has probably actually worked for 2 weeks. It constantly shuts off and rarely does it respond after a power cycle. When it does work, a delay starts to creep in and continually get worse. It will get so bad that when you speak to the person on the other end, they won't respond for upwards of 20 seconds. I don't believe that there is live support because EVERY time I've called, NOBODY HAS EVER ANSWERED THE PHONE and I've probably spent 20+ hours listening to that stupid loop. Now I have to invest more money and get a cell phone reception booster to replace this. Seems silly that I have to do that considering I live in the middle of the city---that's a whole seperate story. I would suggest NOT BUYING this, but if you do-- good luck cause it apparently works for a lot of other people.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Verizon Fios not compatible

08/13/2012
By ,
crofton, md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just purchased this item and it's not compatible to the router supplied by verizon fios (Actiontec). Customer Service at Nettalk is very difficult to get through to
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
09/28/2012
By ,
Az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The best part of this product is getting your money back. Drops calls, drops words and customer service is non-existant. I called for a week each time I was told how many waiting. After 45 minutes the same number were waiting. Can't believe Walmart would carry this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
10/30/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT GET IF YOU HAVE DSL and land line on shared line. WILL NOT WORK. Had to return. When I ordered I did not read this warning.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
09/13/2012
By ,
Woodbridge
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product worked for 2 days then stopped. Tried to contact customer service and waited on hold for 3 hours then they disconnected the call. Then I submitted a service ticket and informed them at the product was not working and also the e911 address was wrong. So I give them the correct address and waited for 2days then they contacted me and inform me that the e911 address was fine. They never corrected it. I informed them to cancel my service witch they did not. So I returned this product back to the walmart. I Would never recommend this product..........
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Disappointed

06/26/2012
By ,
Springfield, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reviewing NetTalk Duo and MajicJack I decided to try NetTalk Duo because of the favorable comments. I tried the device on two different phone systems with a good quality incoming sound, but the outgoing sound was very choppy, not good for phone conversations. After reading information in the NetTalk forum I discivered this is not uncommon. When I called customer support the message said I'd be put on hold until the next agent was available in 135 minutes! I followed all the suggestions posted on their web page to no avail. Thankfully I purchased this from Walmart and it was returned without problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

RETURNED THE netTALK DUO

10/16/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product and was installing it when I was informed that I would be charged for having my number transported to netTALK DUO. Very disappointing especially when I purchased this it was stated in the information that there would be no charge. For that reason, I'm returning the product because this is definitely not a company that I would want to do business with. I contacted them via email and phone and the person on the phone was nasty and pretty much told me there would be no assistance (paraphrased). I sent a follow-up email to the company and still didn't receive feedback. I wouldn't recommend this company and am going to pursue another company. Very disappointed and if they can't provide assistance before I get the product, I can only imagine the lack of service I would get if I became a customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Bad product, bogus company, stay away ....

10/19/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Firstly couldn't find this product locally on any of the stores as shown on the website. Went and called several different Walmart, Target, Best Buy, Office Depot, Staples, Office Max in NY metro area. Had to order online and before ordering checked the website that the porting existing number for limited time is free of charge. Called their customer service which took at least 30 mintues to get to the queue and finally able to talked where customer agent said that the porting number free of charge is expired on Sept 4th. But when draw the attention that it is still showing on their website that it free of charge then the agent went back and confirmed and agreed that it will be honored once I get the device and activate it. When send an email to cs@nettalk.com to remind of their comittment and mentioned the name of the agent etc. They refused to honor that even manager John first admitted he did okay it that time and then refused to honor and started changing the story. Asked who is the President/CEO of the company, refused to give any names or phone numbers.
During the activation process the website will show error "page cannt be displayed". Took a day to finally activate. The quality of voice was having lot of echo as compared to my existing service with Vonage. I wouldnt recommend to any one after this experience, therefore returning the product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk Duo

09/29/2012
By ,
Centralia, Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought it to get rid of land line. Could not get it to work after 2hrs with tech on phone. They said I needed to up grade my system. Running Windows XP 3 pack also 1gig internet. Still wouldn't work so in order to save the exspence of a land line AT&A. Returned Duo to store and turned of land line. cell phone only. Real pain!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Didn't work for me...

08/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I apparently didnt follow instructions as should and it destroyed my router. OOPs.
But.... can say it would had been nice. Then again, after reading MORE reviews, the BIG problem would have been, ATT allowing me to cancel them... My daughter, and daughter-in-law both have quit ATT to go to another company, and they continually get bills, etc..... So... All I can say to those whom have purchased this, am happy for you. Perhaps at a later time, I shall try this again. Not giving up. OH! And WalMart didn't give a single bit of trouble refunding me my $$. Cash back at that! :-) Now i've to get back with NetTALK for my 3yr Warranty. Wish me luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Terrible!

01/14/2013
By ,
Cayman Islands
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I live out of the country and were so excited by Nettalk. One of the pros of it vs. competitors was that it lets you choose an area code for your phone number. What happened to us was that we chose the number we wanted and it was assigned to us- but for some reason that was never our number- people reached us at a completely different phone number entirely. Trying to sort this out was impossible. Don't let the 24/7 customer service sales pitch fool you- when you call you are a ridiculous caller number and it takes literally hours to get through. When I finally got through the only time I ever did, the person couldn't help and patched me through to tech support- I had to wait on hold for ages AGAIN and they couldn't sort out the number situation. A few months in it stopped working entirely. For the past few weeks I've sent trouble ticket after trouble ticket, email after email, to no avail. I can't call because I have no US phone, and it's radio silence from the company. I am going to throw in the towel and order a Magic Jack, crossing my fingers it's better. Save yourself the time and hassle- don't buy this product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Bad service

12/20/2012
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned first unit, virtually impossible to reach support via Nettalk. wasted almost a month with this. Terrible experience trying to get anywhere with Nettalk support people.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 820 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next