Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Experience the most versatile digital phone service. The NetTalk Duo is designed to connect directly to your router or modem, which saves you cost and energy. The NetTalk phone has a glossy black plastic and chrome plastic lining the sharp edges and covering the flat side of the device. To get started, all you need is high-speed Internet and a traditional corded or cordless telephone. It is provided with three ports - a micro USB port, Ethernet port and a telephone jack port. You can make free calls to the US & Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world. The NetTalk phone provides with both e-mail and phone customer service. This NetTalk Duo VoIP telephone service creates fax-friendly phone line with free calling features such as 411 Directory Assistance, Enhanced 911, Visual Voicemail, call waiting, conference calling etc.
Average Customer Rating:
3.744 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(854 Reviews) 780
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
450
4 stars
137
3 stars
45
2 stars
42
1 star
180
Customer Recommendation73%621 out of 852reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
309 Questions | 1,371 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
450
4 stars
137
3 stars
45
2 stars
42
1 star
180
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

where to start

03/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you do not need a phone to work, this will work fine for you. Busy signal when the line is not, dropped calls, breaking up, noise on the line, toll free numbers do not ring, garbled voice. You do get what you pay for, mine is going back asap.
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Awful!, Awful!

03/26/2012
By ,
Wakefield, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VERY spotty voice quality - many times drops dead, but the greatest offense is tech support. I have waited between 1 hour and, today, I am still on hold after 4 hours. Disgraceful. Because of this, it was free, it would be too much.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

WORSE PRODUCT EVER!

04/05/2012
By ,
New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not only was the product, itself, a disaster, but they failed to port our number successfully the first time. Then, when we returned the unit, and told them we were returning it and cancelling the servive (after only 2 days) it, they PORTED our number! We lost the numberFOREVER now and had to gt a new one after over 20 years! What a mess! We'll never be able to contact all who had that number...they stole a pieces of our life! STAY AWAY FROM NET TALK!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

This product did not work for me.

06/27/2012
By ,
Pleasanton, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return this product because it did not work for me. It was a struggle getting it going. The last problem I couldn't get resolved was when someone calls from the cell phone I could hear them but they don't hear me. The tech support tried hard when I got them, but the wait could be as long as two hours.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!

07/01/2012
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would give this product no stars if I could, do not buy this product. the customer service is nonexistent. i had trouble registering the netduo and needed help I sent several EMAILS requesting assistance, and all I ever received was an autmated responce thanking me for my purchase. when calling their cust. service no. you are told that the wait is 80 minutes. IMHO no way to run a company let the buyer beware, btw I returned nettalk to the store and purchased Magicjack with better results
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Net Talk Duo is not recommended July 25, 2012

07/25/2012
By ,
Lilburn, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the Nettalk Duo for a month and a half. It did not work 50% percent of the time. I would not recommend this product to anyone. I kept it long enough to be able to provide a solid review. If you want to take a chance please keep your receipt and the original packings. You will be taking it back. I received a full refund from Walmart and purchased a similar product not carried by Walmart that has been around longer and it works fine. It cost a little more but is worth it. I hope this review is helpful to others trying to make a real decision to purchase this product or not. This is a real review written by a real person.
Tonja
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

JUNK!

07/31/2012
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very noisy, choppy voices, runs quite hot, so it’s not going to last, faxes almost always fail, etc. There basically is nothing GOOD about it!
Tech support is USELESS! I tried for 9 DAYS to get them to help. Possibly a firmware update would help, etc. You can NEVER get through on the phone, no matter how early you call with over a dozen attempts, the LEAST amount of time to wait was 34 minutes, and the most was 126!
I sent numerous emails, and opened 3 separate tickets. They answered 2 of the tickets, and NONE of the follow-up emails! The only “advice” they gave me was to send me a link to ANOTHER COMPANY’S WEBSITE which just gave the rudimentary solutions that I had already done before contacting them. When I told them I had already tried all of those things, they never replied again, until I opened a THIRD ticket!
I tried a known good Ethernet cable, different ports on the router, different phones, and then since I was also upgrading my entire network, it was put on a new, top of the line Netgear R6300 router. Nothing made the slightest difference!
I have Comcast as my ISP. I also, bought a Ooma Voip about a week after buying this Nettalk. The Ooma is PERFECT! Great voice, great faxing, and I also wanted to test their tech support, so I called, and in about a minute, I had a real person to talk to! I also emailed them and they answered quickly! So it’s not my equipment, it’s theirs, which I explained all of this to them in all the emails that went unanswered.
So save your money, and stay away from Nettalk. Get an Ooma instead. With it, you buy it, and never pay a yearly fee…ever! If you watch for deals, you can find one for about $150
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

GREAT Deal!!!

08/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product about five weeks ago. Very easy to hook up! I have used Magic Jack in the past and connection clarity was intermittent at best. Customer support was and is almost nonexistent.
After Magic Jack I switched to Vonage. Connection clarity and overall quality of service including support were great. I switched to Net Talk Duo simply due to the fact that it is $300 a year less expensive than Vonage.
Before purchasing this product I read many of the reviews. I was impressed and decided to give it a try. I am GLAD I DID!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Poor Customer Service

08/01/2012
By ,
alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Duo did not work and customer service is all but nil. It took 5 hours for them to call me back. Once you buy the unit you can return it if it doesn't work. There are better VOIP units out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Verizon Fios not compatible

08/13/2012
By ,
crofton, md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just purchased this item and it's not compatible to the router supplied by verizon fios (Actiontec). Customer Service at Nettalk is very difficult to get through to
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Was excited but now very disappointed

08/14/2012
By ,
Knoxville TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered Nettalk back in May I read all the reviews and thought this would be a good solution for the expensive land line I had. Nettalk only lets a few calls thru, most of the time people can not hear you, while talking voice goes in and out and since May I have tried to reach tech help everytime I try and I have have tried alot 60 to 70 minute wait time. So I feel this means no customer service. Tired of bad service going back to land line at least my calls come thru and I can reach customer service. Please beware I dont know who wrote the positive reviews but my experience has been extremely negative.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Garbage

08/30/2012
By ,
DALLAS, TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. MY FIRST DUO DEVICE GOT BURNED AFTER 11 MONTHS. CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE WAS HORRIBLE. NO SERVICE ON THE PHONE ALMOST EVERYDAY. ONCE I MADE A CALL FOR TECH SERVICE, WAITING TIME WAS 65 MINUTES. VOIP CONCEPT IS GOOD BUT NETTALK IS NOT READY TO RUN THE BUSINESS YET.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Unreliable worst service ever

09/07/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had NetTalk duo for over one year now. I have an internet cable connection with speeds of 10mbs+ and the voice service on the nettalk duo was awful. No matter what I did it just did not work properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Stay away, stay FAR away from this device!

09/10/2012
By ,
Sheboygan, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this netTALK device to replace another netTALK device we had which burned out. Literally, burned out--smoke smell coming from the device and everything. Since netTALK would not replace the burned device, we ordered this second device to replace the first netTALK one. This second device never worked right. When people would call our number, they would consistently get the "all circuits are busy" message or the phone would just ring and ring on their end, but our actual phone would never ring. Once in a while it would work, but rarely. We missed a bunch of calls before we figured out that we weren't getting all of our calls. When we called customer service and waited on hold for about an hour (literally), the representative said that he would perform a "fix" and would be calling us back in 15-30 minutes because this "fix" took a while to complete. We never received a call back, ever. That was the icing on the cake for us. We returned the second device as we never should have bought it in the first place after the first one fried. Poor durability (burned up), poor warranty, poor customer service, and "hit or miss" performance (mostly miss). We've now purchased a MagicJack Plus device and will be giving that a try. Hopefully that will be a more positive experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
09/13/2012
By ,
Woodbridge
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product worked for 2 days then stopped. Tried to contact customer service and waited on hold for 3 hours then they disconnected the call. Then I submitted a service ticket and informed them at the product was not working and also the e911 address was wrong. So I give them the correct address and waited for 2days then they contacted me and inform me that the e911 address was fine. They never corrected it. I informed them to cancel my service witch they did not. So I returned this product back to the walmart. I Would never recommend this product..........
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Pathetically worse product

09/28/2012
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worse product in the same domain i used in my life. When i have ordered the product online, the associate said over the phone, the money paid in advance for the product will never be returned. I don't take note of that initially. Later on i realized the meaning of it from own experience. Apart from the normal connection, i opted for international calls too. I used to call India from this device.Bellow given is the experience for the past 3 months
1. I cannot make more than 2 calls one after another at any cost.I can only hear a beep and some times that also wont be there.
2. Sometimes, after 45 seconds only the call will be redirected to the other party. Initially you will hear the other part dont respond/the number you are calling is not available. Don't loose eart. Keep waiting. Then you can hear the ring on other side.
3. Majority of the time you cannot hear what other party says. But they can hear you.
4. The similar kind of issue is happening for local US calls too. My wife try to call 3/4 times continuously to my local number. I will get the ring and pick the phone. That's all. I cant hear anything. Then i will call her back 3-4 times for getting to know why she called me.
I am fed up with this wonder ful product and i don't recommend it to anyone whom i know. Better avoid it to reduce your BP.
Thanks
Tutu
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
09/28/2012
By ,
Az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The best part of this product is getting your money back. Drops calls, drops words and customer service is non-existant. I called for a week each time I was told how many waiting. After 45 minutes the same number were waiting. Can't believe Walmart would carry this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not Happy after 2 weeks.

10/13/2012
By ,
Webb City, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read reviews on the NetTalk duo until I was blue in the face. and based on the info I thought this would be the way to go to get away from Vonage, I have a cable connection and in week 1, this worked beautifully. However we're at the end of week 2 and this week anytime I've made or recieved a call, it's been very choppy. I've ended up telling the other side to hang up and I'd call them on another line. Then I'd call them on a Skype phone phone number ($60yr)which was working properly ,still through the internet. So based on week 2, I do not recommend this. however I will give them fair chance. (maybe this was just a bad week and system issues for them. after all vonage went through that too) Hoping when all is said and done we end up pleased, but for now I'm not happy whatsoever.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

RETURNED THE netTALK DUO

10/16/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product and was installing it when I was informed that I would be charged for having my number transported to netTALK DUO. Very disappointing especially when I purchased this it was stated in the information that there would be no charge. For that reason, I'm returning the product because this is definitely not a company that I would want to do business with. I contacted them via email and phone and the person on the phone was nasty and pretty much told me there would be no assistance (paraphrased). I sent a follow-up email to the company and still didn't receive feedback. I wouldn't recommend this company and am going to pursue another company. Very disappointed and if they can't provide assistance before I get the product, I can only imagine the lack of service I would get if I became a customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Bad product, bogus company, stay away ....

10/19/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Firstly couldn't find this product locally on any of the stores as shown on the website. Went and called several different Walmart, Target, Best Buy, Office Depot, Staples, Office Max in NY metro area. Had to order online and before ordering checked the website that the porting existing number for limited time is free of charge. Called their customer service which took at least 30 mintues to get to the queue and finally able to talked where customer agent said that the porting number free of charge is expired on Sept 4th. But when draw the attention that it is still showing on their website that it free of charge then the agent went back and confirmed and agreed that it will be honored once I get the device and activate it. When send an email to cs@nettalk.com to remind of their comittment and mentioned the name of the agent etc. They refused to honor that even manager John first admitted he did okay it that time and then refused to honor and started changing the story. Asked who is the President/CEO of the company, refused to give any names or phone numbers.
During the activation process the website will show error "page cannt be displayed". Took a day to finally activate. The quality of voice was having lot of echo as compared to my existing service with Vonage. I wouldnt recommend to any one after this experience, therefore returning the product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 781 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  40 Next