Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Experience the most versatile digital phone service. The NetTalk Duo is designed to connect directly to your router or modem, which saves you cost and energy. The NetTalk phone has a glossy black plastic and chrome plastic lining the sharp edges and covering the flat side of the device. To get started, all you need is high-speed Internet and a traditional corded or cordless telephone. It is provided with three ports - a micro USB port, Ethernet port and a telephone jack port. You can make free calls to the US & Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world. The NetTalk phone provides with both e-mail and phone customer service. This NetTalk Duo VoIP telephone service creates fax-friendly phone line with free calling features such as 411 Directory Assistance, Enhanced 911, Visual Voicemail, call waiting, conference calling etc.
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(914 Reviews) 840
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
469
4 stars
149
3 stars
50
2 stars
46
1 star
200
Customer Recommendation72%654 out of 912reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
333 Questions | 1,436 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
469
4 stars
149
3 stars
50
2 stars
46
1 star
200
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Not All It's Cracked Up To Be

09/10/2011
By ,
Reedsport, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had my device and service for a month now, so I feel it's been long enough to decide whether I like it or not. I do NOT. I switched from MagicJack because I thought this device, plugging directly into the router would be more reliable and give better sound quality in my calls. Neither is true. Too many times, I get a call and person who called me can't understand what I am saying; my words are so chopped up they are lucky if they can understand half of my words. Same is true with outgoing calls. Sometimes, the calls won't even go through....just dead air until I end the call. Turns out, there was ringing on the other end and the person I called answered the phone and could hear me but I had no idea they were on the line. No features other than the basics. No way to block anonymous or private numbers. I also don't like that there is no date/time stamps on the incoming calls so when I get a missed call, the caller id screen only shows name/number but not date and time the call came in. The ONLY people I would recommend this device to are those who are unable to use MagicJack (such as linux users).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
Proper Router?
Posted 09/13/2011
Did you check to see if your router is listed at Nettalk.com as one that properly works with the Nettalk Duo? And, did you call their customer service number to speak with them about your problems?
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Intermittant service, poor customer service

09/28/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The old saying "you get what you pay for", this is a prime example. I have had this standard Duo (not a WIFI version) for over 2 months, it is not dependable. Just stops working for days, fault code blames my modem, well my modem is working and is new. Trying to get answers from their customer service is almost useless, on one instance took almost 3 weeks. I have AT&T DSL Extreme, 3.0 mbps and a Trendnet 300mbps Wireless N ADSL 2/2+ Modem Router that I am using with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

poor call quality

11/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately the call quality was not good enough so I had to return the device. About 50% of the time the calls wouldn't go through at all, and when they did, the quality would be just "fair."
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Beware!! They will ask you to change number

02/10/2012
By ,
DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Folks, Before buying this please my sincere advice is to try to talk to a rep in customer service. Im one of those disgusted nettalk customer. I was happy with them for a month, then started my problems. Suddenly, my incoming calls stopped. Tried to talk to a rep, called the support number. All i got was to hear the menu 100 times after trying for 35 mins. I was frustrated. Only other option was to use thier online ticket service site. Opened the ticket, then after a day I got a reply saying that there are some problems we need to remote login to ur computer. So I was asked to install remote login software, to keep it open, give all the admin permissions for them to take control of my PC. I was hesitant, but I had not other option to do it. Next day, they remote login and did some checks. Tthats it. After a week i got a reply(this was after repeated tweeting, facebook msgs) that the number has been ported someone else, and I have to change my number. Rest. They want to again chagne the number which I did just a month ago.
Thanks,
Kiran
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
Does Not Need A Computer To Work!
Posted 02/14/2012
Plug it in to your router or modem - it does not need a computer to work!!! You can also port your home phone number.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

HORRIBLE!!!!! DON'T BUY!!!!

04/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GARBAGE!
Hasn't worked for 3 days, called tech. support each day, they acted like there was no problem, said to try it in 45 minutes, after they were closed, still didn't work. Must be a common problem, que today was 50 callers, but I waited on hold over SIX HOURS, no exaggeration, and then they disappeared!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Nettalk Duo - Saturday Tech Support - MIA

01/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In the 2 weeks I had the DUO got a busy signal for all outgoing calls
including my own cell.
On hold for one hour Sat Jan 7th. Tech Support never answered so could not
determine source of call problem.
An hour hold = no tech support.
Don't know if I could have gotten it to work. Didn't want to
exceed 15 day return limit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every few days
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
03/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the NewTalk Duo from Walmart in May 2011 and it worked pretty well for 6 months. I got a couple dropped calls and some sound issues but it worked. Then, suddenly, it stopped working and gave the error "Call can not be completed as dialed" when you called the number.
I submitted a support ticket through their website. Five days later with no response, I called tech support. Calling tech support does not put your through to tech support but to customer service instead. After I talked to someone in customer service, I was forwarded to tech support where I stayed on hold for at least 20 minutes before hanging up.
DO NOT use this as your primary phone or business phone. It is only good for calls every once in awhile to friends. And, if it ever stops working, just throw it away. You will not get help from tech support.
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

WORKS ON OCCASION

03/19/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a little shocked to see all the positive reviews as this nettalk duo is quickly becoming the biggest piece of junk I've ever purchased. I've had the device for 6 months now and it has probably actually worked for 2 weeks. It constantly shuts off and rarely does it respond after a power cycle. When it does work, a delay starts to creep in and continually get worse. It will get so bad that when you speak to the person on the other end, they won't respond for upwards of 20 seconds. I don't believe that there is live support because EVERY time I've called, NOBODY HAS EVER ANSWERED THE PHONE and I've probably spent 20+ hours listening to that stupid loop. Now I have to invest more money and get a cell phone reception booster to replace this. Seems silly that I have to do that considering I live in the middle of the city---that's a whole seperate story. I would suggest NOT BUYING this, but if you do-- good luck cause it apparently works for a lot of other people.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Did not work!

10/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product to save $50 a month on my phone bill. After reading reviews for both NetTalk Duo and Magic Jack I decided to go with NetTalk Duo. This was a huge mistake. I connected this product through the USB in the back of my computer instead of through the router, because I have TWC(Time Warner Cable) and when I connect my modem to my router my internet runs too slow. I was able to get this product to connect after shutting my computer on and off dozens of times. Once it was finally connected it would only stay connected for a few hours and would then shut off. This would require me to have to shut my computer on and off over and over again and reset my modem over and over again until finally I would get lucky and it would work. When it did work connection sounded broken, and after about 15-30 minutes of talk time it would either disconnect or make a loud beeping sound. I returned the product after two weeks of this and purchased a Magic Jack which has been working flawlessly for me. I am still waiting on a NetTalk Duo customer service representitive to contact me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

NetTalk Duo, The Family Joke. Beware!

01/26/2013
By ,
New Baltimore, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased the Duo about 5 months ago and are constantly having problems making and receiving calls. We have At&T Uverse with a high speed internet connection. I have worked with customer service many times and to no avail we still have problems. We even had At&T come out and rewire the house! The phone always drops call, gets choppy, beeps, buzzes, etc. It has become the joke of family and friends who call and we lose the call. I would look elsewhere!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Very Poor Technical Support - Very Not Satisfied

12/04/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been using this NetTalk and they have a very poor technical support. I'll just use this for a year because there is no refund and I already bought 1 year service.
Technical support, if you call them over the phone, it will take you forever for the next support. Even if you leave a message for callback, it doesn't work. I don't understand why Walmart carry this product. When you port your number to NetTalk and if you have a uVerse Internet, goodluck. I ask for a replacement, for the device but they don't want to replace it because I think the device is defective. Lesson learned, don't port your number to this device and don't bother to call the support if you don't have free time. If you want to spend your whole day for technical support, go ahead, but an hour or more for just waiting, it's a waste.
The device is hot when it connected to your router for 24 hours. You need to reset it most of the time. Also, when you try to use it for outbound call and hang-up, you can't call for the next number. You need to power off or disconnect it from the power source to call or receive call.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service
01/15/2013
By ,
greenville sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can call out but can't receive calls Tried to get a tech but no luck on the phone holding for a hour on my cell no luck. email with a claim number .Its been 4 days nothing. Ready to take it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

This service is horrible. SAVE YOUR MONEY.

01/08/2013
By ,
DFW Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This service is horrible. SAVE YOUR MONEY. The customer service is a joke. Held for three hours and the system automatically disconnected the call. I have had the product for four months and it has never worked properly. Sorry I switched to this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

No local numbers!

03/31/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After getting the product and trying to set it up I find that there are no numbers available with any Oklahoma area code. I did a little more checking and found four other states with no numbers available.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Terrible!

01/14/2013
By ,
Cayman Islands
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I live out of the country and were so excited by Nettalk. One of the pros of it vs. competitors was that it lets you choose an area code for your phone number. What happened to us was that we chose the number we wanted and it was assigned to us- but for some reason that was never our number- people reached us at a completely different phone number entirely. Trying to sort this out was impossible. Don't let the 24/7 customer service sales pitch fool you- when you call you are a ridiculous caller number and it takes literally hours to get through. When I finally got through the only time I ever did, the person couldn't help and patched me through to tech support- I had to wait on hold for ages AGAIN and they couldn't sort out the number situation. A few months in it stopped working entirely. For the past few weeks I've sent trouble ticket after trouble ticket, email after email, to no avail. I can't call because I have no US phone, and it's radio silence from the company. I am going to throw in the towel and order a Magic Jack, crossing my fingers it's better. Save yourself the time and hassle- don't buy this product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

I was not able to choose a number

06/29/2013
By ,
charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent 3 weeks going through numbers and there were no numbers available.
Customer service is never around.
Do not waste your money.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Degraded Service & Poor Support

01/10/2014
By ,
Southern New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this product for 3 years and has worked relatively well. However, I now have a noise problem and cannot make or receive calls. But, here's the point: Technical Support is nearly nonexistent now. No inbound voice calls are taken. Your first choice is to begin with a chat that after a few minutes knocks you off and makes you write up an email trouble ticket.
I have an outstanding trouble ticket that is 5 WEEKS old without resolution. In this case, it's not necessarily the product, but the poor service.
Don't waste your money on a has-been product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

no tech support available for Net Talk

01/03/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Support is only are available 5 days a week and for only 6 hours each day = but I have been trying now for three days to get help - when I am 5th or 16th in line for chat I get a message that chat is not avialable at this time. Now Magic Chat is not good at all - but at least it is available 24/7 and if I perservere I will get the help I need. With NetTalk I get NO help at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

worst device ever

06/21/2014
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never had a chance to try the service because 2 devices didn't work for more than a couple of phone calls. There is no way to set anything on the device if its not working or configured right, even for their tech support (which is horrible). If for any reason it isn't working right, the only option is to unplug the device, reset it, plug it in, and hope it self updates its firmware. Tech support will have you try this over and over and if it doesn't fix all problems, then your device is defective (according to them). There is not even a way to make it forcibly update its firmware, or tell if it successfully updated.
When you do call tech support, you literally have to wait for a couple of hours before they answer, then they just say they will have someone call you back, which will take all day if they call back at all. One time I started trying to get a hold of them first thing in the morning, and they called back that evening about 10 minutes before their call center closed. So about 10 minutes into their return call, they hang up and I find out they just closed.
It took weeks to try and get two different devices working and neither ever worked right (I was again told by their tech support, your device is defective).
Search around and read reviews on different sties. You will see this is all common.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NetTalk Duo, VoIP Telephone Service

Poor quality product

07/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product with good expectations. This install was fairly easy. However, the product had many problems with calling out or in. I have been out of service for many days now with no customer support. The company forces you to use online tickets for issues. I have submitted several with no response yet. Their service is absent as well as the functionality of their product. This is a major WASTE of money. Please AVOID at all cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 841 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  43 Next