Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Bissell Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Bissell SpotBot 78R5 features new Deep Reach technology, which delivers solution further into the carpet where the deepest part of the stain resides. Strong and powerful vacuum suction cleans from the bottom up. This efficient Bissell portable deep cleaner uses the Automatic Smart System to deliver the right amount of solution — just select the type of stain and enjoy the freedom to walk away, leaving the SpotBot to do the hard work for you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(543 Reviews) 526
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
384
4 stars
69
3 stars
25
2 stars
24
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation95%133 out of 140reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 75 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
384
4 stars
69
3 stars
25
2 stars
24
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Great for small spots

01/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very easy to use, and does a pretty good job of cleaning up. It costs the same as some of the bigger vacuums, so if you have large spaces to clean, you'd be better of getting one of those. But if it's mainly because your animals (or kids, like me!) have accidents or throw up on spots of your carpet, it works wonderfully. It's easy to fill the solution, you just push a button, and it goes to work for you. The manual upholstery cleaner is also really easy to figure out. You just spray the water where you want it and then suck it up with the brush. Super easy and works really well. Definitely worth it if you just need small spots cleaned, and it takes up much less room than an upright deep cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Love it and Hate it. No really, I love it!

05/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First day I got it, I used it on 8 different spots on my carpet. All of them came out!!! They look fabulous. Problem is: the 6 inch spot is so clean, it makes the rest of my carpet look dirty (which is why I "hate it"). I have also cleaned my couches, and think it did a great job. I plan on moving outside to my car upholstry next. It is a bit on the heavy side to be truly portable, but compared to a full size, I guess I can't complain. Using the automatic cycle (which is SOOOO convenient) does leave the spot quite wet. But, following other reviewers advice, I just suck up the excess with the hose. All in all, I love it!!! For a family of 7 (4 kides under the age of 8 + one construction husband + one dog), it just might be the smartest investment I have ever made.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

must have for puppy owners!!!!!

02/06/2012
By ,
NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skeptical at first due to having used the little green clean machine back in the 90s. But times have changed and this machine is awesome!!!! Lots of suction power for the size. Great features, who can complain about set it and forget it. Just push a button and it goes to town. If u have dirty carpet it does leave what i call crop circles, round spot where it cleaned up the mess. So would reccomend getting the whole carpet cleaned first. Other than that Ive got a new puppy so this is the perfect time saver. No more towels to waste or soil and no more odor from urine not being completely sucked out of the carpet and padding.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Fantastic!

12/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wall-to-wall beige carpeting throughout my house along with a messy teenage boy and a cockatoo; not a good combination to say the least, but the carpets were newly installed when we purchased the house a few years ago. I have a big carpet cleaner that I use from time to time to shampoo the rugs, but I wanted something small and portable for little clean-ups inbetween. I toyed with getting a Little Green, but ended up going with the Spotbot because of the added "deep clean" feature. Can I just say that I am so grateful that I did! That feature alone makes this product worth buying. I had some spots that neither my big rug cleaner, nor scrubbing by hand have been able to get out. The six or so minutes the deep clean setting takes to complete was all that was needed to FINALLY get these spots out. And the best part is I could just place the Spotbot over the stains and walk away while it did its thing. I feel like I have brand new rugs again! I could not recommend this product more if you have pets and/or kids in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

A lifesaver!!!!

04/03/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Until I got this little cleaner, I was pretty much destined to replace my living room carpet after a puppy with a bad digestive system emptied itself out on the floor. I'm not the one who chose the cream colored berber, it was there when I moved in, but until the Spot Bot I was going to be picking out something new. I had tried countless carpet cleaners and oxy-cleaners and erasers, etc and all I got was a bigger stain and bigger smell. The Spot Bot took EVERYTHING OUT. EVERYTHING. The only drawbacks are a smallish cleaning area (you have to move it a little bit and run it again to clean large areas.....like this stain....) and it does leave a bit of dampness behind, as mentioned by another reviewer. That is easily taken care of by using the hand attachment to suction the water out. The Spot Bot was a lifesaver. I'd pay double this price for it, knowing it works so well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Definitely worth it!

01/29/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cleans up all our dog's little messes -- and takes the odor away too. Everything from urine, vomit, and diarrhea (gross, I know, but it happens!) We have off-white/speckled carpet, so I needed something that would really clean the stains well and not leave a trace of scent behind. This thing is also great for other various spot cleaning/spills. Easy to use, clean up, store away. I'm impressed and happy with the purchase. Have had it over a year now and have definitely gotten my money's worth. If you have a pet, this is a MUST have!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5
02/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought the SpotBot Pet after we got our puppy and loved it! It saved our carpet! I gave it to my son when he moved into an apartment with his puppy. I bought this one because I still have animals at home and accidents happen and I love it just as much as the Pet one! It pays for itself!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Excellent Product

01/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure this would clean pet messes, but after a "little accident" I had to try something. The spray cleaners, water and towls were NOT doing the job. This machine really does the job. Totally awesome on getting the carpet clean. There were even a couple of old previous messes from my dog and the Bissell got them out!! I mean completely out!! No wierd colors or lines. I did use both the automatic feature and the manual brush on a larger area. The Bissell pet cleaner solution works....so use it if you have a pet stain. Recommend this product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Pretty good carpet spot "getter-outer"

04/05/2014
By ,
Anna, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bissell SpotBot usually does what it is supposed to do: get spots out of your carpet. Of course, the machine is not 100% successful, but has worked on most stains. The small amount of cleaning solution that comes in the package only lasts about 3 spots so be prepared to purchase some more immediately; if you have pets, be prepared to frequently purchase more!! The wife says that she loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Works great!!!

04/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am shocked how much the SpotBot cleans the carpet. I bought it last night and have been running it for about 2 hours in a prone spot where the dog likes to go to the bathroom. It has cleaned up nicely. I bought the pet stain remover to help clean the spots. It makes the house smell GREAT!! Wish I would have bought this sooner very handy!! Thank you Bissell for a great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Miracle Worker

02/16/2011
By ,
Lynchburg, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Several years ago we hired a pet sitter to watch our 60-pound dog for a few weeks while we were on vacation. We had used this pet sitter in the past with great success but for some reason this time she did a horrible job. In fact from what the neighbors tell us, she did not show up for many days at a time. During that time our dog obviously had gone to the bathroom (yes both kinds) multiple times in the same general area. She tried to cover it up by cleaning up with spray cleaners and the like, but it left a stain that stunk for a long time. We had originally tried the non-automatic Bissel cleaner on it, and that helped reduce the smell, but the spot remained. After many tries we gave up on the spot and assumed we would have to replace the carpet when we could afford it. Now, I must say this again, that was several years ago. The stain has resisted years of wear and tear, and every spray cleaner on the market.
Today I bought the Bissell SpotBot Pet, and a bottle of the “Pet Stain and Oder” detergent. All the reviews online spoke of how well it removed old stains, but I was not really optimistic since this stain had been so resistant in the past. I filled up the tank according to the “every day messes” instructions. I did not use the OxyGen that was included, just the pet detergent. I pressed the “set-in stain” button and walked away from the machine. I came back when I heard it beep, and was shocked to see clean carpet when I moved the machine! The SpotBot had completely removed all trace of the invincible stain, and did it in six minutes hands free.
The only complaint I have about the job it did, was that it left the carpet very wet. This was easily addressed by using the hose to suck up the excess water. The little SpotBot has now been running for several hours cleaning not only the old pet stain, but also dried play dough from my seven year olds room and all kinds of old set in stains. To give you an idea of how hard I am working the machine, I have almost completely used up the entire bottle of pet detergent. The little SpotBot just keeps going.
Over all it this machine is a great tool for any family with pets and small children, or for people that are just messy. Many stains come up fine with the faster “Surface stain” setting which uses a lot less detergent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+286points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Does this have a water heater?
Posted 06/13/2011
Does this one have a water heater? Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Great for Set-in Stains!

12/02/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine has been a lifesaver in getting set-in stains removed from my carpet. I had a couple of stains that my upright Bissell Heat Pro would not even get out. This machine, however, managed it. I have 2 small dogs and a cat that occasionally have accidents or throw up on my light colored carpet. I only wish that this cleaner had a better suction (like a wet/dry vac) when extracting the water. I have to use the hose each time to make sure that all the water is sucked up. I don't like the idea of having soggy carpet that may eventually mold, so I am thorough about using the hose to extract the water after the machine has done its cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

A Must Have

04/20/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. It is perfect for people with kids. It has cleaned up cherry yogurt (dried and fresh), potty training accidents, paints, markers you name it off my floor and my couch. It is very convenient. One thing I read before I bought it is people said to use the wand to go back over the spot when the machine stops to suck up the excess water. I find that to be true and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

This SpotBot really works!

05/11/2011
By ,
Oakton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unfortunately it seems that products rarely meet consumer expectations. However the SpotBot performs as advertised. It is compact, fairly lightweight and really gets stains out. I have an unhousebroken puppy who occasionally has accidents on the carpet. I just place the SpotBot over the stain and leave it there to do the work. Within a few minutes it beeps to let me know that the job is done. I recommend this product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Perfect for any spot!

03/10/2014
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My step-mom has had a Spotbot for a couple years because of her 3 chows, my first experience with the it was one of excitement. No more scrubbing the mess into the rug only to have a bigger mess. With cats, it is a dream, they are fascinated by it too....watching it work for the 3 minute cycle. Also, thank you to Wal-mart, with free shipping, most companies send it via camel, SLOW. I ordered it on Thursday, FedEx dropped it off on the following Monday. Will recommend it to anyone with kids, pets, or just a spotted rug. And the box makes a great cat toy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

In some ways, better than the original

01/01/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old SpotBot died after a productive career of removing pet stains from my white olefin Berber carpet. I was generally satisfied with it, but purchased the new model hoping some of the minor shortcomings would be corrected.
-It seems to use more fluid than the original.
-It leaves the carpet a bit wetter than the original.
-It cleans just as good, and maybe better because the brush is a different design.
-It is easier to carry with an improved handle.
Other than that, it's the same. It even has the same annoying beep after it's finished that won't stop till you attend to it - I was really hoping the Engineers at Bissell would change that in this incarnation. The build quality is good, and I expect it to last just as long, if not longer than my original.
A couple of hints:
1) Be prepared for a little round ring of clean in an otherwise untidy world.
2) The manufacturers $pecial fluids work very well, but on most spots you can use a fraction of what is recommended - or just plain water with maybe a few drops of some other cleaner like Simple Green and achieve the results you want. I would avoid anything containing chlorine because of the possibility of internal corrosion. However pre-spotting with a spray bottle containing a bleach solution followed by a plain-water SpotBot cycle works well on my WHITE carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Best and Easiest tool for picking up stains

03/10/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The SpotBot makes it extremely easy to pick up spots and stains, even ones that have been there "forever". I keep it handy since I have a very senior dog who has begun getting sick a lot. When she's done, all I do is pick up any solid pieces that came up and set the SpotBot over it and let it work. Cleans it right up!
I have even gotten down on my hands and knees and scrubbed the spots and can't get them as clean as the SpotBot does. I love this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Well worth it!

05/14/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several cats and an inside dog. This product is worth it's weight in gold. I have a cat that insists on going in one corner of my living room. This machine totally cleans up the mess and smell. You just fill it turn it on and it cleans the mess. LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Broke after about a year

09/28/2013
By ,
South Jordan, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My SpotBot has been loosing suction over time. You can tell this by the level of water in the waste tank. When I first bought it it suck up about as much water as it put down. Last week it only pick up about a table spoon and it put down the whole fresh water tank. I opened it up and found that the flexible hose vacuum line connected to the scrubber cracked. I went online to Bissell's website to order the broken part and it is not offered. This flexible plastic vacuum line should have been made of better material. It is similar to the flexible nozzle on a gas can but not made as well. I would recommend the purchase of this unit when they upgrade the flexible internal hose. Then the machine should last much longer than one year or so. When it did work I loved being able to set it on a stain and walk away. Its great for small spill or to clean up after small dogs but don't expect it to work longer than a year or so depending on use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell SpotBot Portable Deep Cleaner, 78R5

Thousand Times Better than the Bissell SpotBot Pet

03/06/2014
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought (and returned) 2 of the Pet Spot Bots that leaked like crazy. They were a replacement for
my original Spot Bot (not a "Pet Spot Bot"...those came out later) which was very old and very
well used and finally gave out. This machine seems to be just as good as my original one (so far).
But stay away from the ones with "Pet" in the name....they are worthless!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next