Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Remington Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Achieve an easy well-groomed style with the Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard and Hair Clipper. This versatile clipper can be used for both cutting hair and trimming facial hair. It is a stylish chrome clipper that has razor sharp blades and a high-torque motor to easily cut through the most challenging hair without bogging down. The blades are perfectly aligned and designed to give you clear visibility of the cutting edge for outlining a beard or trimming a mustache or neckline. The titanium-coated blades are self-sharpening and can trim stubble, full beards and a variety of hair styles with ease. The Remington hair clipper comes with three combs to choose from and has 15 lock-in place settings to deliver a precise and even trim. It is designed for both corded and cord-free use and includes a rechargeable battery for your convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation82%50 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Great product !!

04/06/2012
By ,
Fremont,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this trimmer set for almost a month now to cut both the hair and beard. I am really amazed with the blades and their design. No other trimmer in the past had given me a closer trim than this one in the neckline region. The design is very sturdy as well and worked really well even after i dropped the product on a hardwood floor couple of times. Another particular feature of this product that i like is wash. Just put under the tap and let the trash cleaned with ease. I absolutely recommend this product to everyone, its a great buy !!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Great product, good price!

02/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 year old son has super thick curly hair. He doesnt like the curls or the time it takes to manage his mane so he chooses to keep it cut short. We have easily gone thru 5 clippers in his lifetime, some cheap ($25) some not so cheap ($100+).
This Remington clipper performs better than any clipper I have used before. It is well built and powerful. Often with other clippers they would not be able to cut thru his hair, they would lock up in his hair. These move thru his hair like butter. It makes cutting his hair a breeze, it no longer feels like a chore. Haircuts with these clippers are fast and EASY! Plus you save a ton of $$$ not going to the barber every week.
He loves them because they dont pull his hair like some of the other clippers did. He also no longer complains about the gaurds scraping his scalp.
I am pleasantly surprised with the quality of the Remington clippers. The cordless feature is a lifesaver too. I cut his hair on the back porch and we had to run an extension cord thru the kitchen. Not any more!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Nice cordless trimmer

02/06/2012
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Either my wife or I have been trimming my hair for years and I've gotten pretty handy with the clippers. At first, I was a little skeptical of this one because it didn't have the heavy-duty feel of the clippers I typically use.
I underestimated the power of these and how nice it was to not have to worry about the power cord. These also solved one of the other issues of my old set - too many guards. This unit comes with three guards, but you can adjust each up or down and effectively get the same adjustability as if you had 15 separate guards. The other nice thing is if you press the button on the side, the cutting blades come apart for easy cleaning.
You can charge it with a USB port or the included power adapter. I didn't try the USB charging, but if you're packing it for a trip, you might be able to cut down one more charger.
Only downside I have with it is that my other clippers have an angle attachement to taper the trim on the sides of my head. Not a big deal if you're used to not having one, but I miss it a bit when I'm doing my own head.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

No more barber shop fees

01/23/2012
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband goes to the barber about every 3 weeks since he needs to keep a really short haircut for work. He pays at least $25 each time he goes and he never really likes the outcome (nor do I). Its either too long, too short or uneven. I told him I would happily give him haircuts, I just needed to watch a few youtube videos and get a trimmer. I chose the Rem Precision power trimmer because it had great for do-it-yourself grooming reviews. It is really easy to use, he could even use it on himself if he wanted to quickly trim his sideburns. It came with all the different attachment number parts so he can choose if he wants a 2 some days or a 4 other days. There is also a nice little black bag to put all the pieces in when its not in use. I like that it plugs into the wall to charge so when you are using it there are no chords in the way or batteries to worry about. It's a solid product, not cheap feeling at all. I found it really easy to use, now if I could only have someone come to my house and sweep up the hair then I would be over the moon.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

It's Cordless and Lightweight!

02/16/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this trimmer to cut my boyfriend's hair for the first time. I have never used a haircut trimmer before, so I was a bit nervous. However, this trimmer was super easy to use and I am looking forward to use it again now that I know what to expect.
I asked my boyfriend to compare how this was different from his other trimmer and he said this had a better quality, even though his other trimmer was a bit more expensive. What makes it better is that it is cordless so it is convenient to use anywhere around the house without having to look for a plug and it is pretty lightweight compared to some clippers so it's easy to maneuver.
It is also easy to change between the 3 combs and also to adjust to the different length settings. Most important of all, it felt sturdy and powerful so it allowed me to give an even haircut even as a newbie. At this price, what else can I ask for? This is pretty nice.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

EXCELLENT!!!

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the product and recommend it!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Great for skin close cutting.

05/17/2014
By ,
Wilmington, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for cutting without the attachments. I'm nearly bald and cut my hair as short as possible. This tool works great without attachments. No more cut and pinched skin like with my other cutters. Also, good for travel.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

OUTSTANDING !

06/04/2012
By ,
ALEXANDRIA, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
long battery life. pop up shaving head to run under faucet to clean. cutting blades just right for me. i like the stubble cut the best. clean, sharp cut. no cons for this beard trimmer. i love it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Remington shaver

04/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I admit I`ve only used it once since I received it. It operated just fine and the blades seemed quite sharp. Easy to clean as well. Time will tell if it holds up over time, but for $25.00 how can you lose? A "discount shaver" website had this same shaver on sale for $50.00 !
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Good so far

02/10/2012
By ,
SF Bay Area, California, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used this a couple of times, and it seems to work pretty well.
It feels pretty solid in my hand, definitely not lightweight so may be a bad choice for frequent travelers. The included travel case is nice and fits all the accessories snugly, but is fairly thin material and probably wouldn't protect the combs much if it got packed down in your luggage, but it at least keeps everything together in my medicine cabinet.
Each comb clicks into place on the shaver, and can be adjusted to several different positions, for different length cuts. I think there is writing on the plastic to tell you the length, but it is small and hard to read. It would be nice to know how this matches up to the comb lengths used by my barber.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Nice Trimmer

04/20/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trimmer worked much better than my last one. It is very sharp, and cut my hairs without much effort. Make sure you use one of the attachments so you don't cut yourself. I like the little case it comes with. It is good for storage and travel.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

This product was perfect for me, nice price !

03/31/2014
By ,
Washingtonville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, works perfectly for me. Would recommend it !
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

great so far

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only used once so far but worked fine. needed adjustability to 1.75 inches- only one I found- looks, feels and works fine.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

LOVE this trimmer

03/02/2014
By ,
Summerville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG, my previous trimmer felt like it was ripping my hair out of my head!! I just bought this, and I truly love it!! It was like cutting soft butter, it was very smooth, and easy to use. I highly recommend these clippers! The boost on this is nice, and the cleaning is very easy to do.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Especially Great for a bed ridden individual!

01/18/2014
By ,
South Euclid, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been looking for a Clipper/Shaver for my brother for some time now. I was glad that we purchased it online from Walmart. I liked that there weren't that many loose parts and that it had a case to put all of the parts in it.
I like that it is heavy and it feels substantial. It cut the hair on my brother's face with ease. My brother is bed ridden and this seemed to me to be perfect for him. The only thing we needed was a small mirror for him to use it himself from the bed.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Good product

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Great Hair Clipper

02/17/2014
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great hair clipper. Better than most and cordless. Cuts people and animals hair. Blades stay sharp. Cleaning is easy. Holds a charge long enough for a decent cut. Gives a good close cut or any cut length you want.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Great Product !!!

02/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using separate products for Hair and beard before buying this one. Great pricision and excellent control. USB charging is a smart feature and comes very handy while travelling. Nice finish. Overall a good value for the product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

Light weight, low noise, easy to use.

01/19/2014
By ,
Milpitas, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use it mainly to cut hair, it is cordless(corded if plug in), light weight, enough power, low noise. it come with a pouch which is good for storage. Overall I am satisfied with this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington HC5550 Chrome Precision Power Beard & Hair Clipper

The Worst

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was nothing like I expected . The clippers overheat. They dont cut low or barely cut. The addons are cheaply made. Save your money
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next