Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

Generic Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

This Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo will have you ready to fish. It has blank, through-handle construction to give the rod balance and sensitivity. With this Matzuo Medium Spin Combo, all you need to do is add water.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation70%7 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

GREAT ROD AND REEL COMBO!!!

05/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when i bought this pole i was looking for something with a metal reel because ive always had alot of problems with plastic reels breaking on me. so far this has been a great product to me. very sensitive so you can catch those finiky fish. i would definitley recommend this pole to anyone hard on fishing poles and to anyone who wants to catch more fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Neenah, WI
GREAT ROD GREAT REEL!!
Posted 07/08/2011
Combined, these are awesome! I love the long rod. Ignore the negative comment posted on here, it sounds like the person overloaded the spool to me......probably a NEWBIE.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

Good combo, almost great.

01/13/2012
By ,
South East NC Coast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for the three key features when purchasing a combo. I am specifically speaking about the reel at this point. I will cover the rod in the later portion. When selecting a reel I first look for the anti-reverse quality and function. Second I look for drag quality and function. Third thing I look for is number of ball bearings. All other features of a reel are evaluated after these three key features.
Evaluating the anti-reverse is a two part test. The first part is evaluating the bail, and the second part is evaluating the play in the handle. When you turn the handle and stop the first thing you should look for is if the bail completely stops and does not have any backlash. Then you evaluate if the handle has any play. The bail is the most critical part of this test. The bail on a quality reel has no backlash. This allows for better hook set, and does not stress the components inside the reel with a sudden backlash during aggressive hook sets. This will help the reel to last longer. The play in the handle although not as important; is a fit and finish issue. I tested some reels on the shelf and found that all of the reels were consistent and had very little to no backlash but did have some play in the handles. An anti-reverse switch is not important to me because I always leave the anti-reverse on.
Although I don’t suggest dismantling reels at the store; I usually take the spool off and look at the drag washers if possible and or how it is assembled. I prefer front drag reels because the drag is attached directly to the spool. I also prefer reels with audile clicks in small increments that can be felt when turning the drag knob. When line is being stripped from the spool you want it to be smooth and not surge. This will help with line breakage and your chances of catching big fish. Most reels today use some type of oil felt drag system. For 90% of applications this type of drag system is acceptable. It is hard to evaluate how well drag works without line. This is where knowledge from experience and a little bit of faith comes into play. I usually loosen the drag and turn the spool with my hand a few rotations then progressively do this while tightening the drag knob. I tested several reel drags to find they were all consistent and seemed to have a decent drag.
The reel has marked on the bail that it has five ball bearings. When evaluating this portion of a reel you simply have to put your faith in the company that when they advertise five bearings that is what you are getting. Remember when you think bearing don’t necessarily think small round metal balls inside some type of housing (Conrad bearing). Bearings are different shapes and sizes. A journal bearing does not have metal balls, or rollers they are direct contact between two surfaces. From my experience a reel may advertise five ball bearings and only have one Conrad bearing of five individual balls and no more. To me that is a one bearing reel. Reel companies can be misleading sometimes about this issue. This is also something you give up when purchasing less expensive reels. This reel does in fact have five bearings. Although not all ball bearings, it has: three Conrad type bearings, one set of roller bearings, and one journal bearing. It is smooth for an inexpensive reel.
Although I am not a huge fan of two piece rods, especially rods shorter than 7ft 6 inches. This rod is probably my favorite part of the combo. It is a good medium action with decent back bone. The action allows you to cover most types of fishing situations you would encounter freshwater and saltwater. Being a two piece rod makes it is easy to transport for those who travel with their combo. The split cork handle is neat but is not a big deciding factor for me when selecting a rod. In some cases depending on the rod holder it will not sit correctly in a rod holder because the missing material on the middle section of the grip. The rod has a nice stainless cushioned reel seats and line guides similar to what you would see on expensive rods. All line guides are single footed. Over all fit and finish for this rod is good.
The reason I picked this combo other than the reasons I previously covered are: Reel size; it is a 4000 series/size reel and holds 215 yards of 10 pound, 160 yards of 12 pound and 120 yards of 15 pound mono line. I prefer 12 mono on a combo like this. The line capacity allows you more versatility when fishing inshore saltwater. Hook something that can take some line and you’d wish you had more line. The main portion of the frame is metal. The side cover is plastic, the gears are metal, and the bail and bail wire attachments are plastic. The combo has held up well and preformed higher than expected for a combo in this price range.
My biggest complaint of the combo is the metal gimbal. It has a heavy silver metal piece on the butt or gimbal. If you are fishing in a boat you have to be careful not to drop the gimbal onto the deck of the boat and damage either the boat surface or rod. When you lean the rod against something the gimbal will slide out and the rod will fall because of the metal gimbal. I solved this problem by simply putting a rubber adhesive pad you can find at most hardware stores on the gimbal.
I dropped one of my combos in saltwater while attempting to get my hands on a flounder I caught. I was only a few doors down from the house and should have simply walked to the house and sprayed it out with freshwater and then sprayed some WD40 in it. I didn’t do that and continued to fish for several hours. I sprayed it out later that night and set it out to dry with the rest of my gear. Well let’s just say it would not turn the next morning. I attempted to take the reel apart and clean it. The reel’s assembly was over my head so it was turned into parts. I found the same reel on Ebay that was missing a handle for $8.00. I put the handle from my old reel on it and have a whole reel again.
I have caught a bunch of flounder, pin fish, small jacks, blue fish and a couple of red fish. Other features worth noting about this reel is: the soft touch knob and nice aluminum crank arm similar to high end reels. One tip I suggest with this reel that I use on all of my spinning reels is: flip the bail wire with your hand after casting. Do not use the crank handle to trip the bail. This will keep parts from wearing out as fast and most importantly keeps your fishing line from twisting or looping when wrapped around the spool. I feel certain with proper maintenance that this combo will last you a long time for saltwater or freshwater fishing. It is definitely worth the $29.96 price tag.
This is an independent opinion review of a product I purchased and used personally. Thanks for reading, hope it helps and tight lines!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

Great Pole and Reel

07/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been fishing 3 times a week with this pole for about 2 months now. I strung some 10lb test on it and it casts smooth and far. Its reels quiet and the pole has great action for the topwater fishing I do. I have numerous pole and reel setups and always find myself grabbing this one while I am in the boat, even over my Mitchell gold 308x. For the price this setup is a clear winner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

Great Combo, for the price

03/26/2012
By ,
Branson, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used the rod and reel combo a quite few times, probably 15-20 times. This combo basically is a get what you pay for rod and reel. It is very smooth casting and reeling and has a good feel. The bail will sometimes close after a cast when you start to reel and sometimes you manually have to close it yourself. The rod is pretty sensative and that is with 10lb test that I put on mine, and of coarse line will make a difference. For a 2-piece rod it works very well, have caught 2-3lb fish and not felt once like it would break. The anti-reverse works great, the best I have used yet as far as that which is great for setting the hook. In all is a very good choice if your a novice or intermediate fisherman and not a tourney fisherman.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

ONe of the best under $30 combos

04/04/2014
By ,
Maryville Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own 6 of these combos with four different family members helping me use them almost every weekend from spring to late fall last year. We didn't have a fail period and be live me my boys can be hard on fishing rods! We used them on everything from sun fish to bass to twenty pound+ cat fish. I'm looing to pick up four more to put in the reserve for future springs to come
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

Great rod and reel combo for fresh or saltwater!

09/07/2012
By ,
Petal, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these combos a few months back thought it was a great price. Have used it at least twice a week since purchase and works great! I just purchased a second combo like this and will probably purchase another! Great for beginners or experts, or in fresh or salt water!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

decent casting rod

06/02/2013
By ,
tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for a soft bait rod. It worked great the first two times I used it but, the third time out I hooked a fish and the upper half of the rod snapped in two...A clean break as if it was cut...ok reel ..sub par rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc
04/19/2013
By ,
port arthu tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first experience with this rig was not pleasant. After purchasing i strung the reel with 20 lb hi-vis yellow power pro. I intended this to be my flounder fishing rig. The first few casts felt awesome, so i had high hopes for this combo. Around the 5th cast i hooked up with a flounder and the rig performed exceptionally well, until a friend of mine was netting the fish for me. He hits the flounder in the tail and naturally the fish is going to thrash around again. Just as he was putting the fish in the net the screw came out of the bail and the line roller and washers fell in to the water. When this happened my line snapped. Luckily the fish was netted at this point. The flounder was average size 16" I take the rig back to the store and get a replacement because i liked how it felt.
The replacement worked flawlessly for a short time. I landed several large speckled trout 25" and above. I then hooked on to a puppy drum (18" redfish) Started to bring him in and all of a sudden i could hardly reel. I finally pull the fish in by hand. Later i take the reel apart and see what the problem was. There was not a drop of oil or grease inside the reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
WOW 20lb test really?
Posted 06/25/2014
This is a very good combo for the price, the fact that someone even put 20lbs test on this reel shows they already don't know what they are doing.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

Not worth the money

06/19/2011
By ,
Sterling, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this pole and put 10 # test on it. At the store the reel operated fine open the bail reel some and it would close right away. But for whatever reason as soon as the fishin string was on there the bail would not shut when reeled had to do it physically with my hand, and than reel no big deal but it is new and should work properly. Also it is not a smooth casting reel really the down fall to this set up is the reel. But the pole may not be that great either the one time out with it didn't catch anything but l did get snag once and while yanking on it to get it free it seemed like the pole could snap any given time. I say spend a little more and you'll will be much happier in the long run. Happy Fishin.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Matzuo 6'6" Medium Spin Combo, 2 pc

It's Just Okay

12/24/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It seemed great in the ad, but when i got it in the mail, it didn't have any instructions. I purchased this for a beginner and expected at least something to come with it that explained how to put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.