Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Modus Furniture International Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Modus Furniture International Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Bring timeless wood styling to your bedroom with the Riva Platform Bed. This headboard and footboard set is crafted from tropical mahogany and a birch wood veneer. The rectangular headboard cutouts and low profile design lend to this bed a sophisticated and contemporary look. The Riva Platform Bed is enhanced by a deep espresso finish and protected by a lacquer coating.
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%17 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

much nicer than I expected

12/02/2012
By ,
florence, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No squeaks or rattles and it is absolutely rock solid. And it's beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Gorgeous Bed!

01/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed for my 15 year old daughter. It arrived in perfect condition - not a single scratch on it. Very convenient to have it sent site to store. This product WAY exceeded my expectations. It is sleek and sophisticated. The appearance is rich and polished. The bed itself was easy to assemble and very sturdy. This was the first time we bought furniture online from Walmart and I am soooo glad I did. My daughter loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Great bed for the price!

07/27/2011
By ,
Lancaster, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the color and design of this bed. It is also very sturdy and easy to assemble. No complaints here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Such a Value!

11/07/2011
By ,
fresno, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks expensive but is NOT! Great product!! Is a perfect shade of espresso. My only concern is that it has no matching dressers. I hope to pair in with the Modus Nevis line to match. Super Awesome!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Perfect bed!

05/01/2012
By ,
Saint Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this bed last week since our little house wouldn't allow our box spring up the stairs. It came in right on time, and I must say did not take very long to assemble at all. I think my boyfriend did it in about a hour. I absolutely love how it looks! It is the perfect hieght, not to low and not too high and of course no box spring needed! It's also VERY sturdy, there is no wiggleing or moving. It's perfect! Did site to store and saved us an extra 100 bucks on shipping too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

worth it

03/18/2012
By ,
New Castle, Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a guest bedroom; it's much sturdier than I thought (solid wood); and attractive. It's a nice heavy bed so it doesn't move at all when you get in bed or move around. Well worth the money. Good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Great buy

02/26/2012
By ,
San Francisco Area, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked long and hard for a reasonably priced be. Beds that are more clean and contemporary in design are outrageously priced in most stores. This bed has a gorgeous finish, and looks chic. The quality is just as good as those designer places. The headboard is not solid wood, but framed with wood, and faced with wood. But the joints and finish work are great. A great find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Looks just like in the picture!

01/02/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bed. We bought this for our spare bedroom with the Contura 12" Pillowtop Memory Foam Mattress and our guests have complimented on how comfortable it is! My husband had no trouble at all putting it together. Bed frame is very well made and sturdy with no movement. Does have a reddish mahogany look in some light if you look real close, but with a glance, has a dark or black appearance. Very beautiful and much better quality than we expected. Very satisfied!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

perfect!

03/10/2013
By ,
Winchester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bed!! I had a previous platform bed from "This End Up" that I purchased in 1992, when I was 19! I still wanted a platform bed, but, more modern and one with a bigger headboard, and one that did not rest of the floor, but was lifted up. I kept going back to this one, and the price is excellent. Other websites have the same bed for double the price! It arrived early, and 2 people put it together in less than an hour. It arrived in perfect condition. It is very modern, and the perfect height. Excellent quality! I am loving the smell of the new wood! The color changes in lighting, sometimes looks black, sometimes looks dark brown, and sometimes looks dark cherry. I am using a new 12.5 inch plush mattress with it. (no boxspring!) Extremely happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Nice but too low to the ground.

10/30/2012
By ,
Knoxville,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bed was nice and sturdy but too low to the ground for just one mattress. Took it back and got my money back and got something different. I think this would work best for one person who is short/small frame or a kid. Beautiful color, reddish brown not black.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Looks great, but easily damaged

08/26/2012
By ,
West Grove, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this using the Site-to-Store shipping option. The slats & siderails were fine, but when the headboard arrived, it was damaged. I called Walmart.com, and to their credit, they said they would have someone come pick the headboard up, and ship a new one directly to my house. Unfortunately, the second headboard arrived even more damaged than the first. Given the difficulty of getting one to my house in good condition in the first place, I have concerns about how well it would hold up to daily life, let alone the next time I move to a new place. I'm giving up and returning the whole thing for a refund. I love the look of this bed, but I think I need to find something with more solid headboard construction.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Great for the price

11/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what it looks like in the pictures. We are impressed with the color and quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Excellent bed and It's easy to put together.

04/15/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were skeptical about getting a site to store bed from Walmart but we decided to give it a try. This bed looked good and was recommended by others. We couldn't have been happier. It was easy to assemble as my son and I did it in about 1 hour maybe less. It looks Great and My wife and I sleep real well on it with our Memory foam mattress. Good Bed. Good Value Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso
02/22/2013
By ,
staten island, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no problem putting it together with my sister. looks very nice and is sturdy.
very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

So far, so good!

05/15/2012
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed exceeded our expectations. This is the least expensive bed we found that was made from real wood and it is very sturdy, looks great, and is easy to put together. We had to send back one of the side rails due to a dented corner, but Walmart was very responsive and had the extra part sent to the store in two days! We would highly recommend this bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Great look for a good price

08/24/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions are great, can easily be put together by one person in a reasonable length of time. It is a very nice looking bed and I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

bad delivery

07/22/2012
By ,
Gulfport, MS.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this bed July 1st site to store. Today is the 22nd and only 2 of the three pieces have come in so it can't be put together yet. Almost two weeks late! Will update later.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso

Great

05/08/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bed for the price! The hard wood is a little softer than I expected but has held up well so far. Assembly wasn't bad but 2 people are definitely necessary.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Riva Queen-Size Platform Bed, Espresso
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5