Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box:
Average Customer Rating:
3.616 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(302 Reviews) 282
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
72
3 stars
24
2 stars
18
1 star
61
Customer Recommendation73%221 out of 302reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 142 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
72
3 stars
24
2 stars
18
1 star
61
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

A great product that went downhill

03/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had 2 of these that worked great. This one is a piece, no power, does not scoop from the bottom, and no way to keep the sand out of the track. I hate it, what is the point of having automatic when you have to help it along every day and clean it. It all comes down to making money, the bean counters don't care about quality, just profit. Never again blah.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Haven't Had The Opportunity To Use It

02/06/2014
By ,
Akron, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had great expectation. I ordered it on line. However the product arrived damaged. The box it came in nor any of the packing material was damaged. But several parts inside the box were warped out of alignment and could not be realigned. Naturally I had to return it. Luckily Walmart permits return to local store. Service was great and the product was taken and credit given immediately. I am now looking in stores to find another one rather than rsk waiting for a new one to be shipped only to find it is damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

good for one cat

08/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
product is overpriced.this is third one i have owned and none have lasted over 3 years.you can get support if you have a problem,this will help sometimes and sometimes not.Cost too much to send back to be repaired so that leaves you with 2 choices---do without or buy another
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Hated it

02/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to return after 5 days could not keep the lid on so the cats mess would end up on the top of the container also did not keep the litter contained took it back to the store and they refunded the cost but still had to pay for shipping to my house
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Broken

12/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Litter compartment hinge broken off during shipping. Will need a replacement litter box.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very low quality in this unit

07/01/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine broke after the very first pass. All I heard was a bunch of clicking and poof..nothing. Called Littermaid and was told they would send a replacement, have not gotten it yet, we shall see
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Don't get it!

10/26/2011
By ,
Portsmouth, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really bad experience; the new ones are faulty indeed. It got stuck in the dumping position after a month of usage, and the replacement never came. After two months, called customer support again and they assured me that in at most another month I would get it. Just gave up and got SmartScoop Self-Scooping Litter Box, which is a way better option than LitterMaid.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Horrible - motor quit afte less than a month

07/20/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality has definitely plummeted in the last few years with regard to this product. My first LitterMaid lasted a few years, the second a year or 2, third less than a year and this one MERELY WEEKS!! Returning and may try ONE more...the LME9000. After this, I don't know what to do cuz there is nothing else really comparable on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

MOTOR BROKE IN 3 DAYS

07/25/2013
By ,
Dubuque, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because of all the good reviews. The motor stopped working after 3 days of use and it wasn't even on all the time because I was getting my cats used to it like the instructions said. When I did turn it on there wasn't much waste in there. I'm very disappointed in this litter box and will be bringing it back.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

08/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Motor stopped working correctly after a month, contacted customer service about getting a replacement/refund and kept getting the run around. It has been 6 months and still nothing!! Don't spend the money!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Had it for 3 weeks and it no longer works

12/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously owned a LitterMaid and it lasted 9 years with no problem (I had multiple cats using it). It finally gave out. So I ordered another one, as I loved the first one. However, in less than 3 weeks it no longer functions properly. The scooper stops mid-way (or near mid way) and does not reset.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Somethings broke, need to get a replacement

12/03/2013
By ,
Saraland, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have not been able to use it. Something is out of whack. I plan on taking it back and getting another one. I'm sure it will be what I'm looking for as soon as I get one that works. There are lemons in everything you buy. So I will get a replacement and then I can better rate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

STOPED WORKING

05/15/2014
By ,
ALBUQUERQUE NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I HAVE HAD MANY LITTER MAIDS BUT I NEVER HAD ONE THAT STOPPED WORKING AFTER TWO WEEKS.... ITS GOING BACK....
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Stopped in the first week.

08/31/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked really well for about a week. Then, one morning, it had just stopped and jammed. It would not move. So, obviously, I returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very disapointed

09/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have two cats and it jammed the first time they used it. I have three litterMaids before but this is a piece of junk its going back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Worked for less than a week

08/07/2012
By ,
West Warwick, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's going back. It stopped working within a week. Littermaid customer service is poor, at best.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
10/23/2012
By ,
Germany
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had several littermaids in the past. I am not very happy with the performance of this particular littermaid. It scoops just the surface of the litter, and does not scoop the bottom. So every couple of days, I have to go and scoop the bottom of the box. As a matter of fact, I am thinking of returning the litter box because of poor performance. Having to scoop every couple of days, kind of defeats the purpose of having and automatic litter box.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Stopped working after four days

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Working great for first couple days, then motor was sounding labored then just stopped working. Returned it for a full refund. I contribute the labored motor to my kitty likes to spread the litter, especially over the exposed track, placing resistance on the motor. Purchased an automatic box with enclosed track. No worries!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not happy with product. Do not purchase ever again

09/23/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very unhappy with this product. I doesn't really clean the box very well. The feces gets stuck in the rake and clumps up other litter and when it sweeps through the box it forces the litter outside the box and does not always fall off into the waste container. There is still feces in the box after it sweeps through. I am still having to clean the kitty box every day "the old fashion way".
The cats are not very happy either, they don't seem to like that the box is dirty until I clean it.
The urine clumps up on the rake also and does not fall off the rake in the waste container.
I would NOT recommend this to a friend. In fact I would suggest that my friends with cats do NOT purchase this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

product not what it said for 170. 00

09/14/2014
By ,
chico california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed I thought this would be helpful since I cannot clean any more be cause of my illness would really like to return produce as I live on a set income. It does not clean as said, there is nothing I can say more just doesn't work as I thought it was advertised. ?Sorry I really wanted it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 283 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next