Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box:
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(286 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
68
3 stars
23
2 stars
16
1 star
57
Customer Recommendation74%212 out of 286reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 140 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
68
3 stars
23
2 stars
16
1 star
57
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
03/02/2013
By ,
ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
motor made grinding noises as soon as we tried it but thought it was possibly cat litter in the track and then it just froze and could not go back to the home position.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
04/28/2013
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed, as the rake will not go back to home position after 5 days. Of course, it failed on a weekend. Intend to call Littermaid first thing Monday morning. I have had 3 Littermaids and had very good luck with them, all 3 lasted an average of 5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not durable.

12/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second LitterMaid Self-Cleaning litter box we have owned. The first one was the regular-sized and I am not sure how long it lasted, but it was longer than this one did. The first one's gears stripped after a while of use, so we tossed it. We decided to get another one and got this Multi-Cat size, hoping it would last longer for our two cats. It has been four months and already the gears are stripped. It gets stuck picking up even the smallest clump of litter. The rake gets stuck in the center and if we are not home to fix it, the cats cannot get into the box to use it. I am going to see if there is a warranty on this machine because it should really last longer than four months.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

MOTOR BROKE IN 3 DAYS

07/25/2013
By ,
Dubuque, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because of all the good reviews. The motor stopped working after 3 days of use and it wasn't even on all the time because I was getting my cats used to it like the instructions said. When I did turn it on there wasn't much waste in there. I'm very disappointed in this litter box and will be bringing it back.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not happy with product. Do not purchase ever again

09/23/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very unhappy with this product. I doesn't really clean the box very well. The feces gets stuck in the rake and clumps up other litter and when it sweeps through the box it forces the litter outside the box and does not always fall off into the waste container. There is still feces in the box after it sweeps through. I am still having to clean the kitty box every day "the old fashion way".
The cats are not very happy either, they don't seem to like that the box is dirty until I clean it.
The urine clumps up on the rake also and does not fall off the rake in the waste container.
I would NOT recommend this to a friend. In fact I would suggest that my friends with cats do NOT purchase this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

STOPED WORKING

05/15/2014
By ,
ALBUQUERQUE NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I HAVE HAD MANY LITTER MAIDS BUT I NEVER HAD ONE THAT STOPPED WORKING AFTER TWO WEEKS.... ITS GOING BACK....
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Somethings broke, need to get a replacement

12/03/2013
By ,
Saraland, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have not been able to use it. Something is out of whack. I plan on taking it back and getting another one. I'm sure it will be what I'm looking for as soon as I get one that works. There are lemons in everything you buy. So I will get a replacement and then I can better rate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

does not work for my kitten

08/22/2013
By ,
McLean, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was recommended by a friend and I had high expectations. The litter box does not work if the litter isn't the exact right height and the rake can pick it up. If your cat (like mine) digs first and then goes, the rake can not get the "stuff" to put in the bin. If your cat (like mine) tries to go on the sloped edge, the rake can't get that either. If the "stuff" doesn't immediately solidify in the litter, the rake can not scoop it and it gets stuck on the rake. Needless to say, you will spend A LOT of time cleaning the self-cleaning litter box. Better off with a cheap plastic one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

product not what it said for 170. 00

09/14/2014
By ,
chico california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed I thought this would be helpful since I cannot clean any more be cause of my illness would really like to return produce as I live on a set income. It does not clean as said, there is nothing I can say more just doesn't work as I thought it was advertised. ?Sorry I really wanted it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Glad it's bigger

12/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been using automated litter boxes for years. As for a newer models I was glad to see this a bit bigger and roomier for multiple cats..
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very disapointed

09/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have two cats and it jammed the first time they used it. I have three litterMaids before but this is a piece of junk its going back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Worked nicely for ONE DAY.

12/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After a few weeks I have found this box to be way too messy and has to be cleaned out more frequently than a normal litter box in order for it to function at all! Not happy with my purchase at all. RETURNING ASAP.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Smelly Litter Box

07/26/2011
By ,
Augusta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Smelly litter box ... most cats cover up their waste with cat litter and this keeps the cats waste from smelling up the room. However, with this automatic cat litter model the temporary waste storage ben smells up the room within one day.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Stopped in the first week.

08/31/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked really well for about a week. Then, one morning, it had just stopped and jammed. It would not move. So, obviously, I returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Second automatic litter box

07/15/2011
By ,
fort worth, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have one littermaid elite series for single cat houshold. We wereb in need of a larger litter box for one of our cats so opted for the multi household litterbox 980. We had the same expectation of it working as our last litterbox has. Unfortunatly withing the first week it started to malfunctin. The reke would get stuck, and would not retract but only would make a loud annoyin sound untill turned off. So after trying all the trouble shooting tips and talking to customer service we have had to ship item back to manufacturer for a replacement. Hopefully we just had a random malfunction with this box as we are really happy with the one we still have. Waiting on our new litter box to arrive now! ( if this next box still malfunctions we will try the new elite series as these litter boxes when workign are really great time saver and keep litter box clean and free of smells)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Much smaller than I expected

01/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an original LitterMaid many years ago and it didn't work that well. The litter never had enough time to clump before the rake went over it so the rake was always covered with wet litter. Eventually I threw it out. After reading about the improvements I decided to try it again as I have shoulder problems and scooping litter by hand has become increasingly difficult for me.
This model is marketed for large or multiple cats. That's an absolute joke. I pulled it out of the box, took one look at it and put it right back in the box. I have 2 cats that aren't especially huge- about 15 lbs each and they would never fit in this box. The overall dimensions include the waste receptacle, motor housing and frame so the actual size available for the litter is not that big. Plus, my cats are "sand throwers" so the litter would have ended up all over the place due to the small size.
I'm sorry it didn't work out so I guess I'll have to keep my super-jumbo old-fashioned litter box and keep scooping by hand.
I guess if you have one smallish cat that has polite litter habits this might work for you. Not for my big boys though.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not worth it.

11/28/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two littermaid cat boxes prior to this one that worked well. Each lasted about two years, which seemed substantial considering I have two cats. This will be my third littermaid catbox and it doesn't work nearly as well as the previous two. I opted to by the larger multi-cat version, which hasn't made a difference. However, it doesn't seem to scoop well, leaving substantial cat wastes behind. Also the disposable container constantly falls out of receptacle lid causing a mess. I would NOT recommend this product especially considering the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Horrible - motor quit afte less than a month

07/20/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality has definitely plummeted in the last few years with regard to this product. My first LitterMaid lasted a few years, the second a year or 2, third less than a year and this one MERELY WEEKS!! Returning and may try ONE more...the LME9000. After this, I don't know what to do cuz there is nothing else really comparable on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not what they used to be.

08/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of Junk....
I owned the original model of this unit for 6 years with no problems. It was build solid and just worked. It still works but the base warped so I thought I would buy a new one.
Had the new one a week and the rake stuck in the forward positions. Called support and it turns out the power cable to the rake motor came undone. After only one week of use. They are sending a new one.
The material is cheaper than the original and at this point I'm looking for a way to just replace the base on my old one because it works like a champ. Good thing I didn't throw it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

08/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Motor stopped working correctly after a month, contacted customer service about getting a replacement/refund and kept getting the run around. It has been 6 months and still nothing!! Don't spend the money!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 267 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next