Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box:
Average Customer Rating:
3.574 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
43
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation71%130 out of 183reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 104 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
43
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Returned

07/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work. The rakes got full of dirty litter and dirty litter also piled up at the bottom of the box, where the rakes were unable to dump it into the litter collector. I had to take the box apart to clean the rakes. This was far more time consuming and dirty than just using a plain litter pan and scooper.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

worked for a week.

02/08/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for a week then rake stopped. Followed all troubleshooting steps and even googled it. Next step return it. You know how DISGUSTING it is digging around a dirty litterbox trying to fix it?? Almost threw up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Didnt worked

03/05/2013
By ,
Arecibo PR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It only worked once
Then it got stucked
Returned it the next day
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

walmart service not product

02/01/2014
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let's see I received it and it was defective I brought it back to the walmart store and I didn't t get the shipping refunded just said to them shipped me another one they could not do that either ... so I returned the defective unit had to pay shipping for something I could t use because it was sent to me broken ... never again .. I am not rating the product that much than walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Cat Poo

09/03/2012
By ,
LV NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Old Mega broke after 5 years. This 980 lasted 3 weeks and broke, head will not move. Try something else!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
10/23/2012
By ,
Germany
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had several littermaids in the past. I am not very happy with the performance of this particular littermaid. It scoops just the surface of the litter, and does not scoop the bottom. So every couple of days, I have to go and scoop the bottom of the box. As a matter of fact, I am thinking of returning the litter box because of poor performance. Having to scoop every couple of days, kind of defeats the purpose of having and automatic litter box.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very low quality in this unit

07/01/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine broke after the very first pass. All I heard was a bunch of clicking and poof..nothing. Called Littermaid and was told they would send a replacement, have not gotten it yet, we shall see
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Had it for 3 weeks and it no longer works

12/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously owned a LitterMaid and it lasted 9 years with no problem (I had multiple cats using it). It finally gave out. So I ordered another one, as I loved the first one. However, in less than 3 weeks it no longer functions properly. The scooper stops mid-way (or near mid way) and does not reset.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
07/16/2013
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product stopped working after day 3. LitterMaid customer service is an answering machine and no one calls you back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

MOTOR BROKE IN 3 DAYS

07/25/2013
By ,
Dubuque, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because of all the good reviews. The motor stopped working after 3 days of use and it wasn't even on all the time because I was getting my cats used to it like the instructions said. When I did turn it on there wasn't much waste in there. I'm very disappointed in this litter box and will be bringing it back.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LITTERMAID IS NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE! DON'T BUY !

09/15/2013
By ,
Upper-midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned 2 other Litter Maid boxes when they first became available many years ago. They both lasted approximately 6 years. After those broke I went back to scooping the litter by hand because they were expensive to replace. Recently I suffered a back injury. After reading all the negative reviews, I purchased another pair. I really thought all those negative reviews couldn't be true. I had to return one of them immediately because the motor wouldn't pull the rake thru the litter. After only one week of using the second one, the light started blinking indicating a problem. I don't know what Litter maid did to their once good product? I'm so disappointed in the product because I know what it used to be. I will not be ordering another Litter maid product. Do not waste your money!! Dissatisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Stopped in the first week.

08/31/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked really well for about a week. Then, one morning, it had just stopped and jammed. It would not move. So, obviously, I returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Stopped working after 4 days

09/02/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this even after reading the negative reviews. I was hoping that those were isolated incidents because there were numerous positive reviews. Purchased this for my two cats because I was going on vacation and didn't want to make the person staying at our house have to clean the litter box. The package arrived about a week before we were to leave...perfect. Right out of the box I knew this wouldn't last. It's made of cheap plastic. When I set it up and put clean litter (one of the recommended) the cleaning bar seemed to struggle to rake the litter. I set it up and the cats started using it. When I arrived home from work after the 4th day of use, the cleaning bar was stuck about 2/3 of the way through the cleaning cycle. I followed the instructions in the manual to no avail. I took it apart and made sure nothing was stuck in the track. Nothing I did seem to work. It remained stuck in the same position making a slight slicking noise then the light would start blinking. I returned it to my local Walmart store and received a full refund. DON'T BUY THIS. IT'S A WASTE OF YOUR MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Piece of junk

01/19/2014
By ,
Fort Worth TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had bought this years ago and no problem so I bought another one for my 2 adopted kitties (from the shelter) because I knew this would be the best buy-well I was wrong. It didn't last 6 months. I was not allowed to get a warranty when purchased online (big mistake). I tried the stores but no one had it. This newer one is really not at all like the older version--the rake didn't work some times, I still had to clean out inside the box and the smell was horrible no matter what kitty litter I used--so now we are no longer going with the mechanical litter box and now are using one with an enclosure around it--the smell is a lot better-not perfect. Save money and buy a good enclosed one the first time. It will never break down. I still have it but can't see myself throwing it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not happy with product. Do not purchase ever again

09/23/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very unhappy with this product. I doesn't really clean the box very well. The feces gets stuck in the rake and clumps up other litter and when it sweeps through the box it forces the litter outside the box and does not always fall off into the waste container. There is still feces in the box after it sweeps through. I am still having to clean the kitty box every day "the old fashion way".
The cats are not very happy either, they don't seem to like that the box is dirty until I clean it.
The urine clumps up on the rake also and does not fall off the rake in the waste container.
I would NOT recommend this to a friend. In fact I would suggest that my friends with cats do NOT purchase this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Disappointed in this purchase

02/25/2013
By ,
Bear, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I had saved the box it came in I would return it. It was advertised for multi-cats but I found there is much lacking. I HAVE 2 RAGDOLL CATS. 1. The box needs to be emptied twice a day and usually the filter portion falls off becomes feces sticks to it; 2. Urine seeps out between the litter box and litter holder and that requires clean up; 3. it is not easy to empty even with a paper towel in the holder; 4. Litter is everywhere outside the box and only the minimum amount of the recommended litter is used; 5. Rake tends to hold what should be put in the litter container; and 6. The entire box must be taken apart and scrubbed every week. Before this I had an automatic Scoop litter box that broke after 3 years. It was easy to clean and I only had to empty it once a day, never any urine seepage, rake did the job, and scrubbing only had to be done about every two months. l AM ANGRY ABOUT THE CHOICE I MADE WITH THIS PURCHASE. I AM SAVING UP TO GO BACK TO A SCOOP BOX and sell this box on e-bay!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

not what we expected

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well I was under the impression that we could adjust the timer. false. it is apparently set at 10 minutes not the 20 we were told.
the receptacle says good for one week for up to 2 cats. we have 2 kittens and have only managed to get 3 days out of the one receptacle.
it works but is louder than expected, and does not fit the description we were given. we are seriously considering returning it.
also the pet paw cleaning ramp tends to fall off the unit about every other time it cycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Haven't Had The Opportunity To Use It

02/06/2014
By ,
Akron, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had great expectation. I ordered it on line. However the product arrived damaged. The box it came in nor any of the packing material was damaged. But several parts inside the box were warped out of alignment and could not be realigned. Naturally I had to return it. Luckily Walmart permits return to local store. Service was great and the product was taken and credit given immediately. I am now looking in stores to find another one rather than rsk waiting for a new one to be shipped only to find it is damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 automatic cat litter box

04/02/2014
By ,
Santa Fe, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked very poorly and loudly for 2 days and then quit working completely
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not what they used to be.

08/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of Junk....
I owned the original model of this unit for 6 years with no problems. It was build solid and just worked. It still works but the base warped so I thought I would buy a new one.
Had the new one a week and the rake stuck in the forward positions. Called support and it turns out the power cable to the rake motor came undone. After only one week of use. They are sending a new one.
The material is cheaper than the original and at this point I'm looking for a way to just replace the base on my old one because it works like a champ. Good thing I didn't throw it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 164 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next