Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box:
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(216 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
53
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation72%156 out of 216reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 130 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
53
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
07/16/2013
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product stopped working after day 3. LitterMaid customer service is an answering machine and no one calls you back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very Very Very Dissapointed in this product

08/22/2011
By ,
lafayette, la
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had the Littermaid in the past and was excited to find a larger unit for multiple cats. Boy was i dissapointed in this new product. It made the biggest mess you ever saw, and before you ask yes everything was installed properly. It scoops and cat litter would get clumpped up and the sweeper arm would stall, litter would get all over the receptacle bin, alot of the times the sweeper arm would get stuck. When you went to change the recpectacle it is so flimsy that it would fold in half causeing litter to dump everywhere. Just a big mess! I'm going back to hand scooping the box and making the kids happier, no more sweeper arm in the way and it is cleam cause mama keeps it that way. I'm in the process of returning the item. It's going back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

not what we expected

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well I was under the impression that we could adjust the timer. false. it is apparently set at 10 minutes not the 20 we were told.
the receptacle says good for one week for up to 2 cats. we have 2 kittens and have only managed to get 3 days out of the one receptacle.
it works but is louder than expected, and does not fit the description we were given. we are seriously considering returning it.
also the pet paw cleaning ramp tends to fall off the unit about every other time it cycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

walmart service not product

02/01/2014
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let's see I received it and it was defective I brought it back to the walmart store and I didn't t get the shipping refunded just said to them shipped me another one they could not do that either ... so I returned the defective unit had to pay shipping for something I could t use because it was sent to me broken ... never again .. I am not rating the product that much than walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Smelly Litter Box

07/26/2011
By ,
Augusta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Smelly litter box ... most cats cover up their waste with cat litter and this keeps the cats waste from smelling up the room. However, with this automatic cat litter model the temporary waste storage ben smells up the room within one day.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
10/23/2012
By ,
Germany
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had several littermaids in the past. I am not very happy with the performance of this particular littermaid. It scoops just the surface of the litter, and does not scoop the bottom. So every couple of days, I have to go and scoop the bottom of the box. As a matter of fact, I am thinking of returning the litter box because of poor performance. Having to scoop every couple of days, kind of defeats the purpose of having and automatic litter box.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Worked for less than a week

08/07/2012
By ,
West Warwick, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's going back. It stopped working within a week. Littermaid customer service is poor, at best.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very low quality in this unit

07/01/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine broke after the very first pass. All I heard was a bunch of clicking and poof..nothing. Called Littermaid and was told they would send a replacement, have not gotten it yet, we shall see
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

stop working after 1 week

09/18/2012
By ,
Pasco wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a great product in the beginning years ago. I had one that last several years. The second onedid not last as long and this third one lasted 1 week. They are making them cheep and they don't last and they cost more. The older models are great. Wish I could find one of those.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
06/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped working after just 36 hours. We'll be returning this litter box for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

08/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Motor stopped working correctly after a month, contacted customer service about getting a replacement/refund and kept getting the run around. It has been 6 months and still nothing!! Don't spend the money!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Didnt worked

03/05/2013
By ,
Arecibo PR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It only worked once
Then it got stucked
Returned it the next day
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

DISAPPOINTING

08/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product arrived WITHOUT all the necessary parts - including a power supply. We tried using the power supply from our last Littermaid box (the one we were replacing since it had broken down in less than 2 years), and the new box still didn't even work. Needless to say, we are returning it.
The early versions of the Littermaid automated litterbox worked fantastically. It is a shame that the newer versions are so unreliable. What a disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Haven't Had The Opportunity To Use It

02/06/2014
By ,
Akron, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had great expectation. I ordered it on line. However the product arrived damaged. The box it came in nor any of the packing material was damaged. But several parts inside the box were warped out of alignment and could not be realigned. Naturally I had to return it. Luckily Walmart permits return to local store. Service was great and the product was taken and credit given immediately. I am now looking in stores to find another one rather than rsk waiting for a new one to be shipped only to find it is damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 automatic cat litter box

04/02/2014
By ,
Santa Fe, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked very poorly and loudly for 2 days and then quit working completely
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Stopped in the first week.

08/31/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked really well for about a week. Then, one morning, it had just stopped and jammed. It would not move. So, obviously, I returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
07/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a piece of junk. It was someone else's return, pieces were missing and a part was warped. I waited 10 days to get it and had to return it because it didn't work properly. They told me that they didn't have any more. Very disappointed in the product and the wait time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

does not work for my kitten

08/22/2013
By ,
McLean, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was recommended by a friend and I had high expectations. The litter box does not work if the litter isn't the exact right height and the rake can pick it up. If your cat (like mine) digs first and then goes, the rake can not get the "stuff" to put in the bin. If your cat (like mine) tries to go on the sloped edge, the rake can't get that either. If the "stuff" doesn't immediately solidify in the litter, the rake can not scoop it and it gets stuck on the rake. Needless to say, you will spend A LOT of time cleaning the self-cleaning litter box. Better off with a cheap plastic one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Piece of junk

01/19/2014
By ,
Fort Worth TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had bought this years ago and no problem so I bought another one for my 2 adopted kitties (from the shelter) because I knew this would be the best buy-well I was wrong. It didn't last 6 months. I was not allowed to get a warranty when purchased online (big mistake). I tried the stores but no one had it. This newer one is really not at all like the older version--the rake didn't work some times, I still had to clean out inside the box and the smell was horrible no matter what kitty litter I used--so now we are no longer going with the mechanical litter box and now are using one with an enclosure around it--the smell is a lot better-not perfect. Save money and buy a good enclosed one the first time. It will never break down. I still have it but can't see myself throwing it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not happy with product. Do not purchase ever again

09/23/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very unhappy with this product. I doesn't really clean the box very well. The feces gets stuck in the rake and clumps up other litter and when it sweeps through the box it forces the litter outside the box and does not always fall off into the waste container. There is still feces in the box after it sweeps through. I am still having to clean the kitty box every day "the old fashion way".
The cats are not very happy either, they don't seem to like that the box is dirty until I clean it.
The urine clumps up on the rake also and does not fall off the rake in the waste container.
I would NOT recommend this to a friend. In fact I would suggest that my friends with cats do NOT purchase this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 197 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next