Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box:
Average Customer Rating:
3.591 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
55
3 stars
20
2 stars
12
1 star
49
Customer Recommendation73%169 out of 232reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
55
3 stars
20
2 stars
12
1 star
49
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Stopped in the first week.

08/31/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked really well for about a week. Then, one morning, it had just stopped and jammed. It would not move. So, obviously, I returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Second automatic litter box

07/15/2011
By ,
fort worth, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have one littermaid elite series for single cat houshold. We wereb in need of a larger litter box for one of our cats so opted for the multi household litterbox 980. We had the same expectation of it working as our last litterbox has. Unfortunatly withing the first week it started to malfunctin. The reke would get stuck, and would not retract but only would make a loud annoyin sound untill turned off. So after trying all the trouble shooting tips and talking to customer service we have had to ship item back to manufacturer for a replacement. Hopefully we just had a random malfunction with this box as we are really happy with the one we still have. Waiting on our new litter box to arrive now! ( if this next box still malfunctions we will try the new elite series as these litter boxes when workign are really great time saver and keep litter box clean and free of smells)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Returned

07/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work. The rakes got full of dirty litter and dirty litter also piled up at the bottom of the box, where the rakes were unable to dump it into the litter collector. I had to take the box apart to clean the rakes. This was far more time consuming and dirty than just using a plain litter pan and scooper.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

walmart service not product

02/01/2014
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let's see I received it and it was defective I brought it back to the walmart store and I didn't t get the shipping refunded just said to them shipped me another one they could not do that either ... so I returned the defective unit had to pay shipping for something I could t use because it was sent to me broken ... never again .. I am not rating the product that much than walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very low quality in this unit

07/01/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine broke after the very first pass. All I heard was a bunch of clicking and poof..nothing. Called Littermaid and was told they would send a replacement, have not gotten it yet, we shall see
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Haven't Had The Opportunity To Use It

02/06/2014
By ,
Akron, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had great expectation. I ordered it on line. However the product arrived damaged. The box it came in nor any of the packing material was damaged. But several parts inside the box were warped out of alignment and could not be realigned. Naturally I had to return it. Luckily Walmart permits return to local store. Service was great and the product was taken and credit given immediately. I am now looking in stores to find another one rather than rsk waiting for a new one to be shipped only to find it is damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Horrible - motor quit afte less than a month

07/20/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality has definitely plummeted in the last few years with regard to this product. My first LitterMaid lasted a few years, the second a year or 2, third less than a year and this one MERELY WEEKS!! Returning and may try ONE more...the LME9000. After this, I don't know what to do cuz there is nothing else really comparable on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

DISAPPOINTING

08/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product arrived WITHOUT all the necessary parts - including a power supply. We tried using the power supply from our last Littermaid box (the one we were replacing since it had broken down in less than 2 years), and the new box still didn't even work. Needless to say, we are returning it.
The early versions of the Littermaid automated litterbox worked fantastically. It is a shame that the newer versions are so unreliable. What a disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LITTERMAID IS NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE! DON'T BUY !

09/15/2013
By ,
Upper-midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned 2 other Litter Maid boxes when they first became available many years ago. They both lasted approximately 6 years. After those broke I went back to scooping the litter by hand because they were expensive to replace. Recently I suffered a back injury. After reading all the negative reviews, I purchased another pair. I really thought all those negative reviews couldn't be true. I had to return one of them immediately because the motor wouldn't pull the rake thru the litter. After only one week of using the second one, the light started blinking indicating a problem. I don't know what Litter maid did to their once good product? I'm so disappointed in the product because I know what it used to be. I will not be ordering another Litter maid product. Do not waste your money!! Dissatisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Had it for 3 weeks and it no longer works

12/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously owned a LitterMaid and it lasted 9 years with no problem (I had multiple cats using it). It finally gave out. So I ordered another one, as I loved the first one. However, in less than 3 weeks it no longer functions properly. The scooper stops mid-way (or near mid way) and does not reset.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not what they used to be.

08/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of Junk....
I owned the original model of this unit for 6 years with no problems. It was build solid and just worked. It still works but the base warped so I thought I would buy a new one.
Had the new one a week and the rake stuck in the forward positions. Called support and it turns out the power cable to the rake motor came undone. After only one week of use. They are sending a new one.
The material is cheaper than the original and at this point I'm looking for a way to just replace the base on my old one because it works like a champ. Good thing I didn't throw it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Didnt worked

03/05/2013
By ,
Arecibo PR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It only worked once
Then it got stucked
Returned it the next day
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Broke after one week

01/10/2013
By ,
Boston,ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited about my purchase but the motor stopped after one week. I took it back to Walmart.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

no improvement from basic system which was extreme

01/31/2013
By ,
attleboro,ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Main problems were two fold. Basin doesn-t hold enough depth, motor loud AND no different from basic model....MULTIPLE jams (filler in tracks) and motor burnt out on third day. Tried three recommended litters ALL stuck to rake. Cats absolutely FREAKED OUT when machine working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

08/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Motor stopped working correctly after a month, contacted customer service about getting a replacement/refund and kept getting the run around. It has been 6 months and still nothing!! Don't spend the money!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
04/28/2013
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed, as the rake will not go back to home position after 5 days. Of course, it failed on a weekend. Intend to call Littermaid first thing Monday morning. I have had 3 Littermaids and had very good luck with them, all 3 lasted an average of 5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Nice model / not too efficient

06/10/2013
By ,
Novato, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the Story: The cat does it's neccesities on one side of the box, the machine does it's cycle and cannot catch all the waste at once. When the cat covers his waste splashes the sand on the tracks, This doesn't help the rake to work properly for the second run when the cat comes back during the day.
I purchase the machine less than a month ago on line for $ 120.00 plus tax / competitors won't charge you taxes. Walmart lower the regular price $ 10.00 and now I need to deal with it.
There is a good model in Pet Food Store that I may try to get asap. 7-10-13
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Somethings broke, need to get a replacement

12/03/2013
By ,
Saraland, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have not been able to use it. Something is out of whack. I plan on taking it back and getting another one. I'm sure it will be what I'm looking for as soon as I get one that works. There are lemons in everything you buy. So I will get a replacement and then I can better rate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

not what we expected

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well I was under the impression that we could adjust the timer. false. it is apparently set at 10 minutes not the 20 we were told.
the receptacle says good for one week for up to 2 cats. we have 2 kittens and have only managed to get 3 days out of the one receptacle.
it works but is louder than expected, and does not fit the description we were given. we are seriously considering returning it.
also the pet paw cleaning ramp tends to fall off the unit about every other time it cycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

STOPED WORKING

05/15/2014
By ,
ALBUQUERQUE NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I HAVE HAD MANY LITTER MAIDS BUT I NEVER HAD ONE THAT STOPPED WORKING AFTER TWO WEEKS.... ITS GOING BACK....
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 213 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next