Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box:
Average Customer Rating:
3.566 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(219 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
53
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
48
Customer Recommendation72%158 out of 219reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
53
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
48
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

stop working after 1 week

09/18/2012
By ,
Pasco wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a great product in the beginning years ago. I had one that last several years. The second onedid not last as long and this third one lasted 1 week. They are making them cheep and they don't last and they cost more. The older models are great. Wish I could find one of those.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

no improvement from basic system which was extreme

01/31/2013
By ,
attleboro,ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Main problems were two fold. Basin doesn-t hold enough depth, motor loud AND no different from basic model....MULTIPLE jams (filler in tracks) and motor burnt out on third day. Tried three recommended litters ALL stuck to rake. Cats absolutely FREAKED OUT when machine working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
04/28/2013
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed, as the rake will not go back to home position after 5 days. Of course, it failed on a weekend. Intend to call Littermaid first thing Monday morning. I have had 3 Littermaids and had very good luck with them, all 3 lasted an average of 5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Nice model / not too efficient

06/10/2013
By ,
Novato, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the Story: The cat does it's neccesities on one side of the box, the machine does it's cycle and cannot catch all the waste at once. When the cat covers his waste splashes the sand on the tracks, This doesn't help the rake to work properly for the second run when the cat comes back during the day.
I purchase the machine less than a month ago on line for $ 120.00 plus tax / competitors won't charge you taxes. Walmart lower the regular price $ 10.00 and now I need to deal with it.
There is a good model in Pet Food Store that I may try to get asap. 7-10-13
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

its not like the older litter box it sticks alot

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
its not like the older litter box it sticks alot
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not what they used to be.

08/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of Junk....
I owned the original model of this unit for 6 years with no problems. It was build solid and just worked. It still works but the base warped so I thought I would buy a new one.
Had the new one a week and the rake stuck in the forward positions. Called support and it turns out the power cable to the rake motor came undone. After only one week of use. They are sending a new one.
The material is cheaper than the original and at this point I'm looking for a way to just replace the base on my old one because it works like a champ. Good thing I didn't throw it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very low quality in this unit

07/01/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine broke after the very first pass. All I heard was a bunch of clicking and poof..nothing. Called Littermaid and was told they would send a replacement, have not gotten it yet, we shall see
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
07/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a piece of junk. It was someone else's return, pieces were missing and a part was warped. I waited 10 days to get it and had to return it because it didn't work properly. They told me that they didn't have any more. Very disappointed in the product and the wait time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Somethings broke, need to get a replacement

12/03/2013
By ,
Saraland, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have not been able to use it. Something is out of whack. I plan on taking it back and getting another one. I'm sure it will be what I'm looking for as soon as I get one that works. There are lemons in everything you buy. So I will get a replacement and then I can better rate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Does not clean well at all.

07/29/2014
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst of the 3 litterboxes I own.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

08/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Motor stopped working correctly after a month, contacted customer service about getting a replacement/refund and kept getting the run around. It has been 6 months and still nothing!! Don't spend the money!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not happy with product. Do not purchase ever again

09/23/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very unhappy with this product. I doesn't really clean the box very well. The feces gets stuck in the rake and clumps up other litter and when it sweeps through the box it forces the litter outside the box and does not always fall off into the waste container. There is still feces in the box after it sweeps through. I am still having to clean the kitty box every day "the old fashion way".
The cats are not very happy either, they don't seem to like that the box is dirty until I clean it.
The urine clumps up on the rake also and does not fall off the rake in the waste container.
I would NOT recommend this to a friend. In fact I would suggest that my friends with cats do NOT purchase this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Had it for 3 weeks and it no longer works

12/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously owned a LitterMaid and it lasted 9 years with no problem (I had multiple cats using it). It finally gave out. So I ordered another one, as I loved the first one. However, in less than 3 weeks it no longer functions properly. The scooper stops mid-way (or near mid way) and does not reset.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

not what we expected

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well I was under the impression that we could adjust the timer. false. it is apparently set at 10 minutes not the 20 we were told.
the receptacle says good for one week for up to 2 cats. we have 2 kittens and have only managed to get 3 days out of the one receptacle.
it works but is louder than expected, and does not fit the description we were given. we are seriously considering returning it.
also the pet paw cleaning ramp tends to fall off the unit about every other time it cycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Don't get it!

10/26/2011
By ,
Portsmouth, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really bad experience; the new ones are faulty indeed. It got stuck in the dumping position after a month of usage, and the replacement never came. After two months, called customer support again and they assured me that in at most another month I would get it. Just gave up and got SmartScoop Self-Scooping Litter Box, which is a way better option than LitterMaid.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
07/16/2013
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product stopped working after day 3. LitterMaid customer service is an answering machine and no one calls you back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
06/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped working after just 36 hours. We'll be returning this litter box for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Returned

07/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work. The rakes got full of dirty litter and dirty litter also piled up at the bottom of the box, where the rakes were unable to dump it into the litter collector. I had to take the box apart to clean the rakes. This was far more time consuming and dirty than just using a plain litter pan and scooper.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Worked for less than a week

08/07/2012
By ,
West Warwick, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's going back. It stopped working within a week. Littermaid customer service is poor, at best.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Piece of junk

01/19/2014
By ,
Fort Worth TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had bought this years ago and no problem so I bought another one for my 2 adopted kitties (from the shelter) because I knew this would be the best buy-well I was wrong. It didn't last 6 months. I was not allowed to get a warranty when purchased online (big mistake). I tried the stores but no one had it. This newer one is really not at all like the older version--the rake didn't work some times, I still had to clean out inside the box and the smell was horrible no matter what kitty litter I used--so now we are no longer going with the mechanical litter box and now are using one with an enclosure around it--the smell is a lot better-not perfect. Save money and buy a good enclosed one the first time. It will never break down. I still have it but can't see myself throwing it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 200 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next