Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box:
Average Customer Rating:
3.607 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(252 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
59
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 star
51
Customer Recommendation74%186 out of 252reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 140 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
59
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 star
51
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
04/28/2013
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed, as the rake will not go back to home position after 5 days. Of course, it failed on a weekend. Intend to call Littermaid first thing Monday morning. I have had 3 Littermaids and had very good luck with them, all 3 lasted an average of 5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Nice model / not too efficient

06/10/2013
By ,
Novato, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the Story: The cat does it's neccesities on one side of the box, the machine does it's cycle and cannot catch all the waste at once. When the cat covers his waste splashes the sand on the tracks, This doesn't help the rake to work properly for the second run when the cat comes back during the day.
I purchase the machine less than a month ago on line for $ 120.00 plus tax / competitors won't charge you taxes. Walmart lower the regular price $ 10.00 and now I need to deal with it.
There is a good model in Pet Food Store that I may try to get asap. 7-10-13
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Somethings broke, need to get a replacement

12/03/2013
By ,
Saraland, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have not been able to use it. Something is out of whack. I plan on taking it back and getting another one. I'm sure it will be what I'm looking for as soon as I get one that works. There are lemons in everything you buy. So I will get a replacement and then I can better rate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

not what we expected

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well I was under the impression that we could adjust the timer. false. it is apparently set at 10 minutes not the 20 we were told.
the receptacle says good for one week for up to 2 cats. we have 2 kittens and have only managed to get 3 days out of the one receptacle.
it works but is louder than expected, and does not fit the description we were given. we are seriously considering returning it.
also the pet paw cleaning ramp tends to fall off the unit about every other time it cycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

STOPED WORKING

05/15/2014
By ,
ALBUQUERQUE NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I HAVE HAD MANY LITTER MAIDS BUT I NEVER HAD ONE THAT STOPPED WORKING AFTER TWO WEEKS.... ITS GOING BACK....
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

its not like the older litter box it sticks alot

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
its not like the older litter box it sticks alot
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

good for one cat

08/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
product is overpriced.this is third one i have owned and none have lasted over 3 years.you can get support if you have a problem,this will help sometimes and sometimes not.Cost too much to send back to be repaired so that leaves you with 2 choices---do without or buy another
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Very Very Very Dissapointed in this product

08/22/2011
By ,
lafayette, la
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had the Littermaid in the past and was excited to find a larger unit for multiple cats. Boy was i dissapointed in this new product. It made the biggest mess you ever saw, and before you ask yes everything was installed properly. It scoops and cat litter would get clumpped up and the sweeper arm would stall, litter would get all over the receptacle bin, alot of the times the sweeper arm would get stuck. When you went to change the recpectacle it is so flimsy that it would fold in half causeing litter to dump everywhere. Just a big mess! I'm going back to hand scooping the box and making the kids happier, no more sweeper arm in the way and it is cleam cause mama keeps it that way. I'm in the process of returning the item. It's going back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Worked for less than a week

08/07/2012
By ,
West Warwick, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's going back. It stopped working within a week. Littermaid customer service is poor, at best.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Did not work. I returned it to Walmart

10/18/2014
By ,
port charlotte FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product did not function properly. So I returned it to the store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Second automatic litter box

07/15/2011
By ,
fort worth, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have one littermaid elite series for single cat houshold. We wereb in need of a larger litter box for one of our cats so opted for the multi household litterbox 980. We had the same expectation of it working as our last litterbox has. Unfortunatly withing the first week it started to malfunctin. The reke would get stuck, and would not retract but only would make a loud annoyin sound untill turned off. So after trying all the trouble shooting tips and talking to customer service we have had to ship item back to manufacturer for a replacement. Hopefully we just had a random malfunction with this box as we are really happy with the one we still have. Waiting on our new litter box to arrive now! ( if this next box still malfunctions we will try the new elite series as these litter boxes when workign are really great time saver and keep litter box clean and free of smells)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Don't get it!

10/26/2011
By ,
Portsmouth, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really bad experience; the new ones are faulty indeed. It got stuck in the dumping position after a month of usage, and the replacement never came. After two months, called customer support again and they assured me that in at most another month I would get it. Just gave up and got SmartScoop Self-Scooping Litter Box, which is a way better option than LitterMaid.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
07/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a piece of junk. It was someone else's return, pieces were missing and a part was warped. I waited 10 days to get it and had to return it because it didn't work properly. They told me that they didn't have any more. Very disappointed in the product and the wait time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Cat Poo

09/03/2012
By ,
LV NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Old Mega broke after 5 years. This 980 lasted 3 weeks and broke, head will not move. Try something else!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not worth it.

11/28/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two littermaid cat boxes prior to this one that worked well. Each lasted about two years, which seemed substantial considering I have two cats. This will be my third littermaid catbox and it doesn't work nearly as well as the previous two. I opted to by the larger multi-cat version, which hasn't made a difference. However, it doesn't seem to scoop well, leaving substantial cat wastes behind. Also the disposable container constantly falls out of receptacle lid causing a mess. I would NOT recommend this product especially considering the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Had it for 3 weeks and it no longer works

12/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously owned a LitterMaid and it lasted 9 years with no problem (I had multiple cats using it). It finally gave out. So I ordered another one, as I loved the first one. However, in less than 3 weeks it no longer functions properly. The scooper stops mid-way (or near mid way) and does not reset.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Broke after one week

01/10/2013
By ,
Boston,ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited about my purchase but the motor stopped after one week. I took it back to Walmart.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
06/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped working after just 36 hours. We'll be returning this litter box for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 automatic cat litter box

04/02/2014
By ,
Santa Fe, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked very poorly and loudly for 2 days and then quit working completely
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

08/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Motor stopped working correctly after a month, contacted customer service about getting a replacement/refund and kept getting the run around. It has been 6 months and still nothing!! Don't spend the money!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 233 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next