Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box:
Average Customer Rating:
3.638 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(276 Reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
64
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 star
56
Customer Recommendation74%205 out of 276reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 140 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
64
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 star
56
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

no improvement from basic system which was extreme

01/31/2013
By ,
attleboro,ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Main problems were two fold. Basin doesn-t hold enough depth, motor loud AND no different from basic model....MULTIPLE jams (filler in tracks) and motor burnt out on third day. Tried three recommended litters ALL stuck to rake. Cats absolutely FREAKED OUT when machine working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

worked for a week.

02/08/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for a week then rake stopped. Followed all troubleshooting steps and even googled it. Next step return it. You know how DISGUSTING it is digging around a dirty litterbox trying to fix it?? Almost threw up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Disappointed in this purchase

02/25/2013
By ,
Bear, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I had saved the box it came in I would return it. It was advertised for multi-cats but I found there is much lacking. I HAVE 2 RAGDOLL CATS. 1. The box needs to be emptied twice a day and usually the filter portion falls off becomes feces sticks to it; 2. Urine seeps out between the litter box and litter holder and that requires clean up; 3. it is not easy to empty even with a paper towel in the holder; 4. Litter is everywhere outside the box and only the minimum amount of the recommended litter is used; 5. Rake tends to hold what should be put in the litter container; and 6. The entire box must be taken apart and scrubbed every week. Before this I had an automatic Scoop litter box that broke after 3 years. It was easy to clean and I only had to empty it once a day, never any urine seepage, rake did the job, and scrubbing only had to be done about every two months. l AM ANGRY ABOUT THE CHOICE I MADE WITH THIS PURCHASE. I AM SAVING UP TO GO BACK TO A SCOOP BOX and sell this box on e-bay!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
03/02/2013
By ,
ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
motor made grinding noises as soon as we tried it but thought it was possibly cat litter in the track and then it just froze and could not go back to the home position.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Didnt worked

03/05/2013
By ,
Arecibo PR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It only worked once
Then it got stucked
Returned it the next day
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
04/28/2013
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed, as the rake will not go back to home position after 5 days. Of course, it failed on a weekend. Intend to call Littermaid first thing Monday morning. I have had 3 Littermaids and had very good luck with them, all 3 lasted an average of 5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
06/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped working after just 36 hours. We'll be returning this litter box for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Nice model / not too efficient

06/10/2013
By ,
Novato, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the Story: The cat does it's neccesities on one side of the box, the machine does it's cycle and cannot catch all the waste at once. When the cat covers his waste splashes the sand on the tracks, This doesn't help the rake to work properly for the second run when the cat comes back during the day.
I purchase the machine less than a month ago on line for $ 120.00 plus tax / competitors won't charge you taxes. Walmart lower the regular price $ 10.00 and now I need to deal with it.
There is a good model in Pet Food Store that I may try to get asap. 7-10-13
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
07/16/2013
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product stopped working after day 3. LitterMaid customer service is an answering machine and no one calls you back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

MOTOR BROKE IN 3 DAYS

07/25/2013
By ,
Dubuque, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because of all the good reviews. The motor stopped working after 3 days of use and it wasn't even on all the time because I was getting my cats used to it like the instructions said. When I did turn it on there wasn't much waste in there. I'm very disappointed in this litter box and will be bringing it back.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

does not work for my kitten

08/22/2013
By ,
McLean, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was recommended by a friend and I had high expectations. The litter box does not work if the litter isn't the exact right height and the rake can pick it up. If your cat (like mine) digs first and then goes, the rake can not get the "stuff" to put in the bin. If your cat (like mine) tries to go on the sloped edge, the rake can't get that either. If the "stuff" doesn't immediately solidify in the litter, the rake can not scoop it and it gets stuck on the rake. Needless to say, you will spend A LOT of time cleaning the self-cleaning litter box. Better off with a cheap plastic one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LITTERMAID IS NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE! DON'T BUY !

09/15/2013
By ,
Upper-midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned 2 other Litter Maid boxes when they first became available many years ago. They both lasted approximately 6 years. After those broke I went back to scooping the litter by hand because they were expensive to replace. Recently I suffered a back injury. After reading all the negative reviews, I purchased another pair. I really thought all those negative reviews couldn't be true. I had to return one of them immediately because the motor wouldn't pull the rake thru the litter. After only one week of using the second one, the light started blinking indicating a problem. I don't know what Litter maid did to their once good product? I'm so disappointed in the product because I know what it used to be. I will not be ordering another Litter maid product. Do not waste your money!! Dissatisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Not happy with product. Do not purchase ever again

09/23/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very unhappy with this product. I doesn't really clean the box very well. The feces gets stuck in the rake and clumps up other litter and when it sweeps through the box it forces the litter outside the box and does not always fall off into the waste container. There is still feces in the box after it sweeps through. I am still having to clean the kitty box every day "the old fashion way".
The cats are not very happy either, they don't seem to like that the box is dirty until I clean it.
The urine clumps up on the rake also and does not fall off the rake in the waste container.
I would NOT recommend this to a friend. In fact I would suggest that my friends with cats do NOT purchase this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Major Malfunction

11/01/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had several of the LitterMaid litter boxes over the years. With each new model, they "tweak" the design a little bit. I love that this one is designed to not allow litter to slip between the spaces around the receptacle. I did not like, however the fact that it did not function directly out of the box. It would cycle to dump, but the trigger to send it back into the starting position is malfunctioning and the rake is stuck in the dump position. No amount of resetting will send it back to rest.
It happens on occasion, that you get a unit that just doesn't work. Unfortunately, I got another unit (from another source), and the second unit does not work either. Same problem. Until they fix this issue, I will not buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Somethings broke, need to get a replacement

12/03/2013
By ,
Saraland, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have not been able to use it. Something is out of whack. I plan on taking it back and getting another one. I'm sure it will be what I'm looking for as soon as I get one that works. There are lemons in everything you buy. So I will get a replacement and then I can better rate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Piece of junk

01/19/2014
By ,
Fort Worth TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had bought this years ago and no problem so I bought another one for my 2 adopted kitties (from the shelter) because I knew this would be the best buy-well I was wrong. It didn't last 6 months. I was not allowed to get a warranty when purchased online (big mistake). I tried the stores but no one had it. This newer one is really not at all like the older version--the rake didn't work some times, I still had to clean out inside the box and the smell was horrible no matter what kitty litter I used--so now we are no longer going with the mechanical litter box and now are using one with an enclosure around it--the smell is a lot better-not perfect. Save money and buy a good enclosed one the first time. It will never break down. I still have it but can't see myself throwing it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

walmart service not product

02/01/2014
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let's see I received it and it was defective I brought it back to the walmart store and I didn't t get the shipping refunded just said to them shipped me another one they could not do that either ... so I returned the defective unit had to pay shipping for something I could t use because it was sent to me broken ... never again .. I am not rating the product that much than walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Haven't Had The Opportunity To Use It

02/06/2014
By ,
Akron, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had great expectation. I ordered it on line. However the product arrived damaged. The box it came in nor any of the packing material was damaged. But several parts inside the box were warped out of alignment and could not be realigned. Naturally I had to return it. Luckily Walmart permits return to local store. Service was great and the product was taken and credit given immediately. I am now looking in stores to find another one rather than rsk waiting for a new one to be shipped only to find it is damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

not what we expected

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well I was under the impression that we could adjust the timer. false. it is apparently set at 10 minutes not the 20 we were told.
the receptacle says good for one week for up to 2 cats. we have 2 kittens and have only managed to get 3 days out of the one receptacle.
it works but is louder than expected, and does not fit the description we were given. we are seriously considering returning it.
also the pet paw cleaning ramp tends to fall off the unit about every other time it cycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid 980 automatic cat litter box

04/02/2014
By ,
Santa Fe, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked very poorly and loudly for 2 days and then quit working completely
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 257 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next