Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips AVENT Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips AVENT Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

This Philips AVENT BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump is designed with an electronic memory that puts you in control. This AVENT electronic breast pump detects and continues with your personal pumping style, keeping you comfortable and relaxed. It provides a steady milk flow as it mimics the baby's suckling. It has soft massage cushion that further stimulates the milk flow and gets more milk naturally. The Philips AVENT BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump comes with a battery pack, bottle stand, milk container, pump, nipple, disposable breast pad, and manual pump parts to make the work quick and easy. It also comes with a manual pump part that is useful when there is no power.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation82%33 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Great pump!

02/24/2012
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good pump. I originally renter those pumps from the hospital that cost about $2,500. And this little single pump does the same job. I wish I had originally purchased this pump instead of spending my $55 on renting the one from the hospital. But that is how I am able to realize that this small single pump is just as good or better actually. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Very nice and convenient breast pump!

10/15/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice pump. The option of the battery backup is nice, but be advised the batteries do not last long. It takes 4 double A's and they last about 1 - 1 1/2 hours. I was traveling and left my plug in behind and had to use the battery backup until it was mailed to me. While it was great I was still able to use it, I spent a small fortune in batteries! It didn't matter what brand either. I used Rayovac, Energizer, and Duracel.
The pump itself is very easy to use. I use it without the gel cover that goes over the suction cup. In my opinion, it didn't create good suction so it too longer to pump. It is still very comfortable thought without that piece attached.
I pump at work, and it's not so loud that I worry about people hearing it when I close my office door. However, it is audible over the phone.
I've been using the pump for almost 5 months and I've never had any issues with it. I would recommend it! I love that it "remembers" the speed you set it to pump at.
Pros: Durable, Suction, Portability, Easy to Clean, easy to use
Cons: backup drains batteries
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

For me, it worked 10x better than Medela.

05/16/2011
By ,
Crestline, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this pump, I had issues with the pump in style by medela, I tried all the flange sizes and motor speeds and still couldn't pump anything leaving me engorged! I got this pump and wow, it's so comfortable. I love the petal insert because it massages further up and allows more let-down and has the perfect ammount of pressure/suction. I had also tried the mipump by first years and that one was too slow and took forever to pump milk, it also left a red ring around my nipple leaving them so sore. With the avent I can pump a lot and it almost feels the same way as when my baby nurses! it's comfortable, quick, not loud, small, every to travel with, fits just right, and it's also easy to clean/dissemble because it doesn't have a ton of parts. I like pumping on one side while my son nurses on the other, I get more milk out that way but even when he's not I can still pump quite a few ounces. Because I stay home and don't need to pump every day the single one works for me, but if you're a working mom I bet the double avent would be awesome. The only thing I don't like about it is that if I am not leaning fwd a bit, milk can get in between the petal insert and the hard flange and can drip if you're not careful but I always pump with a washcloth just in case, not a big deal and it doesn't happen all the time either. So far it's the only pump that has worked for me and I really like it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 4 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

The Best Pump Out There!

08/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay. When I first decided to buy a pump I researched tons and tons of websites and reviews wanting to know which brand was best. I ended up going with this pump due to its affordability and I have not been disappointed!
First off this pump is so easy to learn how to use. I recommend going to Avent's website and watching their instructional video so you can get an idea of exactly how it works.
Second, it is super easy to dismantle and clean, which is important when you're using it daily and having to clean it after each use.
Third, it comes with a wall plug and a battery pack and I have found that both worked great.
Fourth, Avent sends the pump with one set of spare parts. I loved this about them since other breastpump brands are really out to get your money from having to replace parts as they wear out. With this pump you already have a set for when you need it.
Fifith, my husband surprised me and bought one of the other top brand's very expensive double pump (I wanted to cut down on pumping time-I kind of wish he would have gotten me the double Avent pump instead), and I have been so disappointed with it since I couldn't even use it when I opened it due to the breastshields being too big. He bought it about a week and a half ago and I am still waiting to receive the smaller size breastshields I had to order from the company since none of their retailers carry the smallest size. With the Avent you can use your pump with their massaging petals insert or without, so it's like you receive two sizes of breastshields with the one product. The only downside would be if you are someone who needs a really large breastshield. If that's the case then I would recommend a different brand since Avent doesn't market different sizes of breastshields.
Sixth, one of the brands really markets their "2 phase technology" for better milk expression. This pump has that same technology it's just created by you! You can pump the pump faster in the beginning to initiate letdown and then slower for the rest of the milk expression. Watch Avent's video online to see more about what I'm talking about.
Seventh, after a month and a half I tripped over my pump while it was plugged in and ended up breaking the motor. I was so devastated since I absolutely loved the pump. I decided to call Avent and see if there was anything they could do. Sure enough the customer service was wonderful, and they sent me out an entire brand new pump. I couldn't have been happier! Also what was so great was that while I was waiting for the new pump to arrive I was able to switch the pump over to hand expression with the accessories they include. This is huge since once again other name brands don't have a feature like this where you can switch between motor and hand held expression. I would have been in such a rut if I couldn't have hand expressed during the time my motor was broken.
Overall this is just such an ingeniously designed pump made for easy usage, cleaning, and great expression of milk. I'm so impressed with Avent and really feel like they're not just out to make tons of money off of you by overpricing their items and then making you pay for all the extra parts etc. Trust me... you will love this pump!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+102points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Great Review
Posted 08/22/2012
thanks so much for your in depth review it helped soo much!
0points
Customer Avatar
Tx
question about the the breastshields??
Posted 12/26/2011
whats consider the breastshields being too big?? or to small ? I'm a size C40 or a D... so would this be the right product for me?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Best Breast Pump Ever!

08/11/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this breast pump! I used the Avent manual breast pump with my first child and I loved it. I decided to purchase this electric/manual pump with my second child and I LOVE IT. I just purchased it today and I have already used it. I would recommend this product to everyone I know. I love the way the electric speed matches your manual speed and you can change the speed while pumping. LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Great pump

06/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this pump for about a month now and I really like it. It has a plug in with a long cord or you can use the battery pack(what I usually use) so you can take it anywhere. I haven't used the manual pump yet. The auto pump is great because it frees up your other hand. I was afraid to use it at first but all it does is continue at the rate of your previous pumps. Very comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

The only electric pump that ever worked for me!

01/03/2012
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pump is awesome! I have never been able to get more than a couple drops from an electric pump before this one. And trust me, I tried 11 different kinds! The IQ feature that lets you start manually, then the motor mimics what you've done is incredible! Finally a way to get some milk out without getting so tired doing it by hand! I thought I was done with kids and gave it away after my last child. Now I'm going to buy it again for my next one because nothing else works for me. And it's super easy to travel with too!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

AWFUL!!!

01/04/2012
By ,
Ottawa, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product on december 30th. December 31st it no longer had suction. I called and they sent me out a replacement that I had to wait until January 4th to get. That pump also had horrible suction. I called to just get my money back since you can't return these to the store. I had to send them a copy of my receipt and then wait for them to contact me to send me the packing slips so I can send it back and THEN I will have to wait ANOTHER 4-6 weeks to get my check. I am on a tight low budget and don't have money to just drop another 100 on a pump. My son doesn't latch but I want him to have breast milk as it is the best for his health. But thanks to Philips Avent I will have to dry up and switch to formula because I can't afford to go get another pump! They are not the nicest people and they don't care about helping their customers that are unhappy! I would NOT recommend this pump or anything within that company!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 9 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

A great buy!

02/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just used this pump for the first day home from the hospital. The first session I got 1oz. the second session I got 3 oz. This is the 3rd day after birth and I think I am getting amazing results. I suggest pumping on one breast while feeding on the other that is how I got the 3 ozs. The pump is pretty quiet for the most part. EASY TO CLEAN AND ASSEMBLE. My idea of a pump. By the way I used the hospital grade Almeda. and got a syringe full only 5ml. So there is my opinion on this pump. I am very pleased. If you have trouble at first don't give up just keep at it and find your rhythm and relax. Congrats to all of you new mommies.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

wonderful pump, affordable

04/30/2011
By ,
san leandro ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pump in the beginning to help my milk come in faster after birth. After my son had problem latching so I pump from there on. Very easy to use and pumps a lot of milk. I love this pump.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

value for money...

03/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very handy...easy to use... works great... one of the best...
Also has great warranty from Philips... the power cord was having some loose connection... avent sent us new cord without any hassles...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+2points
Review 12 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Great Choice!

04/12/2010
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful value! This pump works great and it is very comfortable to use. I would purchase it again if that says anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump
11/27/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The suction wasn't quite as much as I would have liked so it took longer to express. Overall pretty good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

No suction

12/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i purchased the pumped today cause the one i have broke yesterday (which i used for one yr). so i have decided to try this brand...there was not enough suction to get the milk out; it barely made my nipple move. maybe for other moms thats plenty of suction but i pumped for about 5min and got only one drop out! oh and i paid 130 for it not the online price of 99.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 15 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Good Value

01/19/2013
By ,
Ukiah, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had and evenflow pump that I felt wasn't working well so I decided to buy a better brand. This one has been very good. I really didn't want to spend $100 on a pump but I decided to take the plunge. So far it has worked out great and I get more milk out than my previous pump did. I also like the fact that it comes with spare parts and the option to make it a manual pump. Very easy to use and clean. I just wish it came with a carrying case to put it in.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Manual is less expensive and more effective

01/14/2013
By ,
Waukesha, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the manual version of this pump at first, but wanted to purchase the electric version in hopes that it would be more effective. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. The manual one is much better, I am able to get more milk in less time. I was not able to express much milk with the electric one. Thinking I had a defective model, I exchanged it for a new one. Same results. The suction is much greater with the manual version. I would not recommend this product. The only good thing I can say about it is that Philips Avent was a dream to work with for the refund process. I was able to return the used pump to Avent directly - currently waiting on a refund check in the mail.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump
09/07/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice pump for the money. I got mine in a set with the starter items for under $100. It came with some spare parts to change out when needed. I have used min at least 30 times and it works well. I get just as much milk as the hospital pump. This pump has nice features of being electric, battery, and manually operated. The electric operation is a bit noisy but handy if you don't want do it manually. I prefer the manual pumping with this pump. It is no less messy with the cup than the Madella. Very comfy cup. I have used it so much that it basically is as the description says and can be used daily.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Not what I expected

11/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This pump does not have much suction, and at times it seems like it's impossible to get a good seal for some reason. Also, after using it, milk gets trapped in 3 different places, making it nearly impossible to take it apart or put it away without making a mess. It's not extremely quiet, which I don't mind, but it claims to be. It takes much longer to get milk that my hand pump, and never gets as much either. I chose this one because of really good reviews, and I was pretty disappointed. I splurged, and I shouldn't have.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 19 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Electronic part did not worked, manual did

12/09/2012
By ,
FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The manual part of it worked very well, but there was no way to make the electric pump working. I tired to breast feed for as long as possible, and I purchased this pump for just in case I need it. Few months later when I needed the pump I found out that I have only manual pump since the electric simply did not worked. To one who wants to buy it I have an advice: put the pump together as soon as you get the product to make sure that it is working.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
0points
Review 20 for Philips AVENT SCF312/01 BPA Free Single Electric Breast Pump

Better than hospital grade

02/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never got my son to latch on the breast and thus had to pump since his birth. I used a manual for a while but it seemed to dry up my milk supply. I rented a hospital grade Medela Symphony model and was very disappointed! The avent is just as good, or better! The silicone insert really does stimulate your hind-milk let down. Come on, it's only 99 dollars! To buy a hospital grade pump costs over a thousand and it is not as good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next