Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Black & Decker Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

The cordless Black & Decker Trimmer Edger is wonderful for clearing up and grooming your yard. Remove tough weeds or trim light grass even from tough-to-reach areas using this electric grass trimmer. The PowerDrive transmission of this lawn trimmer edger helps in getting the work done in no time. The trimmer can be changed to an edger for precise and sharp cuts. The flexible handle and tube on this 12" cordless trimmer edger allows you to move along easily and cut the needed area in the best possible way. This grass cutter is easy to carry around and runs long on the 20 V lithium ion batteries that come with the set. The batteries can be charged back in 8 hours using the smart charger. You do not have to knock the Black & Decker Trimmer Edger on the ground or press on the start or stop button to get a new line as the automatic feed spool system advances it automatically.
Average Customer Rating:
3.983 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation86%50 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Good Product

09/22/2012
By ,
Runnemede, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this because my old trimmer is heavy and the line changing is a pain. This trimmer is very light and easy to use. The line is very simple to change and takes just a few minutes. The battery life is about 20 minutes but it comes with two batteries. Yes, I agree with everyone else, the battery takes forever to charge. However, I bought the Quick Charger and it was totally worth it. I charge a battery in about 15-20 minutes. I also have the sweeper and drill so having the Quick Charger is worth the money. Would recommend the trimmer to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Smartest yard tool I ever purchased

06/02/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this in April 2012. No more struggling with gas and pulling to start. No more dragging 75 ft of extension cord out and rolling it up again. I have discarded those now. This thing works flawlessly. It's perfectly balanced for me and is a pleasure to use when the mood strikes. I don't have a lot to trim but I use it all over my 1/2 acre lot. I do not use it for more than 10-20 minutes at a time and only had to switch to the second battery after three days of use. Although I think trying to cut a whole field of grass with this would not be a good idea, it's perfect for trimming along the side of my house, garage, and trees and is perfect for a steep hill near the street. It comes with two lithium batteries, which is another big plus. Having used others over the years, this is by far the best yard tool I've ever bought. I don't often write reviews but I had to chime in on this one. Obviously I can't say anything about durability yet but I have already used it a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

So far, so good

06/08/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it to tackle the Jungle (that's what I call my back yard)... This thing eats threw grass even 4ft tall grass. It did jam a few times on thinker 1/2in thick weeds. The thing people need to remember is this product is designed for "normal" use and it performs great at that. I see a lot of complaints on here about things that really should have been expected. It's a battery... they do die, don't expect it to last forever. I got about 20min out of each of them and that was 100% full on never letting off the trigger. With the job I was asking it to do I expected about 15min out of each so I was more than happy getting 20min.
I think the main reason you get 2 batteries with this product is so you can use 1 to trim and 1 to edge. If your edging has not been done in a while and is harder work re-use the trimming battery. If you have always kept your yard edged/trimmed then this will be a great product for you. If you have not, then at least wait till "over working" the product is complete before judging it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Off the Chain (A BEAST)...Brilliant

03/13/2011
By ,
Goose Creek, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had it for 1 week now. I'm very impressed. It came with 2 lithium ion batteries (small batteries with a strong punch) (i needed them both). Takes about 6-7 hours to charge. Line feeds automatically no tapping. No problems yet...So far I love it. Remember to fully charge after every use. This way you wont diminish the power of your batteries. Enjoy yours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Great Trimmer!!!

04/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a bit skeptical about purchasing a battery powered trimmer. I have been using a gas trimmer for years and I didn't think a battery powered trimmer would really be able to hold it's own against a gas unit. After buying this battery powered unit and testing it out for about a month here is what I've found......
It is very light weight compared to a gas unit (less than half the weight). I could almost operate it one handed.
The plastic parts feel a bit cheap but they seem to hold up well. I am very rough with my tools and it hasn't broken yet.
The replacement spools are very easy to install and upgrade. I love the auto-feed feature (this way I'm not wasting time adjusting the line length or re-feeding new line when it goes bad).
It eats weeds and grass with ease. Just as good as my gas unit but it takes a few more passes and it's not as fast. (wouldn't be practical for commercial use).
I like that the unit comes with two batteries....however the batteries last about 12 minutes each (if you are running it full throttle non stop). It doesn't sound like a lot of time but for a small to medium yard with light weed eating needs it works like a champ.
Batteries take forever to recharge all the way. About 6 hours. I would highly recommend picking up at least one more battery to be used as a backup.
All in all this is a great product for the money. I don't have to worry about gas and oil. I pull the trigger and this unit starts every time without having to struggle with a pull cord. It's light weight so my arms don't feel like jello after using it. It's small and adjustable so it doesn't take up a lot of space in my shed. The lithium ion batteries hold their charge for a really long time when not in use and you don't have to worry about over charging them (also they are better for the environment).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Meets value expectations

05/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is everything as advertised. We have quite a large yard and the edging is almost accomplished with one battery. However, no complaints!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Great product!

03/22/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used a gas powered trimmer and when it came time to purchase a new one I was unsure about a battery powered trimmer but read some reviews and decided to try it out. I absolutely love it! No fumes and odor to deal with when trimming and edging. The two batteries are great! The trimmer/edger has exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Very lightweight, however....

07/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Am I the only person having an issue with this particular product? Personally, I think it does it's job very well, except for the fact that the batteries do not keep their charge. We charge them over night, for a minimum of 6 hours each, yet they both last only 15 minutes. The batteries that came with the product are the Black and Decker 20V Lithium Batteries. I was surprised to read all the great reviews as I have not been completely impressed with this product; due to the fact that I can only get 1/4 of our yard edged before it's completely dead. It's quite frustrating to be honest.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

A very good edger and trimmer

05/30/2011
By ,
Nevada, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first edger and trimmer, I decided to get the better instead of just good trimmer.
It has all the features I wanted and it was at a reduced price, so I went for it. I have used the trimmer feature and it is very good, I assume the edger part will be as well. When I talk to people they always ask if I got the automatic spool release feature and I tell them yes, it is part of reason I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Well Balanced Review

07/13/2011
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The B&D trimmer has worked well for light trimming of grass and weeds around my house. It is lightweight and it is easy to replace the string. The unit is a little awkward to use in edge mode, particularly when you need to bump the unit to feed more string. Overall it has been reliable. I my opinion the length of the trimmer rod is short. Battery will work for 20 mins. Charging will take 8 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Randleman, NC
Posted 03/23/2012
You don't have to bump the unit to feed line. It is automatic.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

B&D Cordless Trimmer Rocks!

05/27/2012
By ,
Central Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Trimmer arrived in a very timely manner to my local store. It was easy to do the final assembly out of the box. It is not a weak trimmer, it plows right through grass and light weeds. It can really trim away like an edger on driveway and sidewalk trimming. The only downside is the length of time for batteries to charge up. The unit comes with two batteries and both of them will take care of the trimming around my 1.5 acre yard. The trimmer line is pretty strong an does not require a tap to lengthen it back out very often.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Great for smaller yard

02/18/2012
By ,
Rio Grande City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the smaller B&D string trimmer (w/o the removeable battery) and was extremely disappointed. But, I gave them a second chance by returning that product and getting this version and it is wonderful. I have a quarter acre property and between the two batteries I can trim everything that needs trimming (plus some). Not intended for LARGE yards (acres), but will work well for most residential lots. After over a year of use it's still going strong!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Great Trimmer/Edger if you have health issues.

07/14/2011
By ,
Cocoa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful Trimmer/Edger if you have a small yard. Do not recommend buying this for a large yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Does a Great Job on a small place

04/02/2012
By ,
Randleman, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading the other reviews and on another site it may be that Black & Decker got a hold of a bad batch of batteries. I only have a Double wide mobile home but around the home, decking, trees, and ditches the trimmer did an excellent job and one battery did one and a half jobs. I only had to change batteries half way through the second time I did the yard. I was going to purchase the fast charger at Wal-Mart for 40 bucks but I don't think I'm going to need it. One note that may help others is I charged each battery just until the green light went solid and then removed them. I didn't leave them on for eight hours like the instructions say to do. I'm happy with mine. No more gas/oil mixing and no more pulling a string to try to get it started.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger
08/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
two batterys are more than enought for my yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Just didn't "cut" it.

06/18/2012
By ,
Southeast Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased because I thought it would be easier on my shoulder vs. a gas trimmer. The first time I used it I tried trimming around our 60' dia. pond. One battery did about 1/4 of the distance. After doing 1/2 of the pond, I had to wait about an hour for the first battery to re-charge. It was taking so long I decided to go ahead and trim around the driveway. It wouldn't even cut through a San Augustine runner. And the re-charged battery kept going in and out. Also, the ergonomics are off. The way you have to hold your right arm back to squeeze the trigger, really leaves your arm in discomfort. I had to keep switching arms. Maybe for a small garden home lot with Bermuda grass perhaps.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

Nice For Small Weed Eating

04/23/2012
By ,
Springdale, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This weed eater is meant for basic and small weed eating needs. It comes with 2x lithium batteries that have a strong charge (90-100%) that last for around 10 mins each. Beyond that time, the power noticably drops off. Very light weight and easy to carry around as well. The auto string feeder seems to work fine. The feeder tub seems a little light weight and one might take care to not use this for heavier jobs.
Don't expect this weed eater to power through large weeds. It's not designed for that at all. For trimming lawn edges, light duty fence line clearing and yard borders, this thing works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger

worth it!

05/02/2011
By ,
los angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well. Be sure to charge one of the two batteries at all times. The battery takes a while to recharge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger
07/10/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The battery life is not as long as advertised and I'm having difficulty purchasing line refills.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger
08/01/2011
By ,
hudson nh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lightweight...does the job well..very happy with my purchase...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next