Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Backyard Discovery Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Backyard Discovery Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Important Delivery Information: The freight trucking service that ships your Backyard Discovery swing set will contact you to schedule a delivery appointment. This item is only available for curbside delivery, and will not be moved into your home or garage. You will need to move the large box to its final location. Offering terrific value in a fantastic design, the Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set gives kids the interactive excitement of outdoor play. This Tucson swing set is a budget-friendly choice for smaller backyards. This eco-friendly cedar outdoor play set features a covered play deck, an 8' slide, two belt swings with kid-friendly chains and an incredibly fun trapeze bar.
Average Customer Rating:
4.095 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(620 Reviews) 567
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
257
4 stars
250
3 stars
58
2 stars
25
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation88%540 out of 613reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
95 Questions | 483 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
257
4 stars
250
3 stars
58
2 stars
25
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

AWESOME DEAL! GREAT PRICE!

06/12/2011
By ,
Kutztown, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of shopping around for a swing set for my daughters birthday and when i found this one i loved the price and showed it to my mother and father because that is what they wanted to get her for her birthday. so they decided that this looked pretty good for the price and bought it. they set it up this weekend and it took about 4 hours with 2 guys and it looks amazing, but it is not as easy to put together as u would think and you really need to have a lot of patients but in the end it is well worth it! way better than i expected! my 250lb uncle even stood on the picnic table part and even tho it bowed in the middle it did not break lol. there were about 8-10 kids ages 3-15 playing on it this past saturday and nothing went wrong or broke. if u are looking for a good quality and surprisingly tough swing set with a great warranty look no further cause you just found it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

My girls love this playground!

07/03/2012
By ,
Rockland, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 5 1/2 and an 11 1/2 year daughters who love this playground. They both say that they no longer want to go to a playground because there is no point, they have one in there backyard. It does move a little but I believe that is because it is on unlevel ground, but I feel safe letting them play on it. The directions could be a little easier such as having the helper pre put the screws into place to make it faster to screw in. On the ladder/rock wall the screws were too big and split the wood yet it is still secure even for me to climb and I am def over the weight requirement. Lunch and snacks have been eaten everyday on the built in picnic table. I would suggest this item to everyone and anyone, a great deal that has made our summer so far a blast. And I have saved a lot of money on gas not having to go to a playground all the time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Great value

04/14/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled it by myself in 10-12 hours. I recommend organizing the hardware into zip lock bags according to phases. This way you can build rather than search for parts. All wood was straight and went together well. Always pre-drill as the instructions indicate. Instructions seemed easy to follow.
My 3 year old Gran-daughter loves it!!! I swing on it with her also,so it is sturdy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Wasn't so bad to put together

07/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, I think it should be a MUST to organize all of the pieces, make sure everything was there and put everything in order. I did this the day before we put it together, it took me about an hour. This will make it SO much easier putting together. We laid the boards out in ABC # order and then used a folding table for the screws and put those in number order too. It took us seconds instead of minutes to find exactly what we needed. There were 3 adults putting it together and I was getting the parts laid out for the next step which also made it go very quickly. We were done in about 5 hours (great because it was about 110° outside that day). The instructions are daunting to look at but once you get started it's actually pretty easy. One package of screws only came with half the amount we needed but since they send you extras of everything else we were able to make it work. We also switched the rock wall and slide around to save room so the slide goes out the front instead of side. All you have to do is drill holes for the hand rails on the other side, but honestly my 3 year old doesn't even use them so we could have skipped them all together. We also did not put that bar up in the middle of the swings, he is too little for that so we put his toddler swing there for now. We also bought the steering wheel and telescope separately, they were great additions. I can tell this will be a very sturdy product and with the proper care will last a long time. We had it shipped to our house for $50 and all of the other toy stores wanted at least $250.
Things that made it easy:
-LAY EVERYTHING OUT AND ORGANIZE BEFORE YOU BEGIN
-Having an extra person get the screws and boards ready for the next step while the others work on the current step
-We all brought our tools so we had 3 sets. This was helpful because we broke a drill bit about 5 minutes into it so we didn't have to stop and go to the store. This was also helpful to have 3 drills, you definitely need at least 2 and then when one starts to die you can put it on the charger and grab another.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

My Kids Love It!

04/03/2011
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything was there, even came with extra hardware. Took my husband and father about 9 hours to put together from the time the box was opened till time for the kids to play on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Well built set

07/10/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will say first that plan on it taking 8 hours to build if you have 2 people. Instructions are not very good at telling you how many bolts, screws etc... on each section.
When built it is a very sturdy swing set and I would recommend it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Great Value, Average Instructions

03/12/2012
By ,
Clinton, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Based on previous reviews, it took about 8 hours to assemble - as expected. Fit in my Father's mini-van with the seats out. Unfortunately, there were a few bolts missing but we were able to make the assortment of excess hardware work for us. I highly recommend laying all the boards out in alphabetical/numerical order when starting, and don't avoid an inventory! We had all our boards, just a few missing pieces of hardware. My 2 year old daughter is just a little small to climb on this herself, but she loves it!
I would highly recommend this product for those that know what they are getting into, and have a decent assortment of mechanic's and carpentry tools. An 18V impact driver went a long way!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

A big hit!

01/16/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't too sure how the quality would be because the price is so low, compared to other brands. BUT, it's gorgeous! Very sturdy. I can't say if it was easy to put together because my husband did that and it took him about 16 hours (8 hours Sat & Sun), but he did read the directions and went step by step. I did help put the slide part together as that is definitely a 2 person job; not easy. We also had to put some silicone spray to help it slide in easier. I am genuinely impressed with the quality of this swingset. My 5 year old LOVES it! The photos I attached to this review were taken before we put the other swing on. It DOES come with 2 swings and hanging rings.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Great swing set for the price

05/17/2011
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked up in a mid-sized SUV...fit w/o any problems. It's 1-200 lb box, so you'll need some help loading and unloading. Yes, there is a slide in the box. It took me approximately 8 hours from start to finish with the help of a neighbor. Instructions are fairly easy to follow. There is extra hardware, so don't worry if there are pieces left over. For the price, I'm very please.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Nice product for the money, granddaughter loves it

07/19/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took 3 of us most of the day to assemble, made a few mistakes and had to re-do a few pieces, orientation of the drawings need to be made aware of, need to made sure that the right bolts and nuts are used, because of very similar. Ran out of some bolts for that reason.
Childs swing seat added extra.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Great Value Swing Set

12/27/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall great value for the price! Why spend double or triple the price when you can get this one for just under 400 bucks?
Pros: good price, free delivery if you use site to store, finished product looks nice and is fully functional. My 2 year old son loves it!
Cons: pretty challenging and time-consuming to put together. You definitely need 2 people when putting the slide together and beginning the fort assembly. If you don't have perfectly level ground I would recommend creating a base. I used 4x4's which worked well, however added a few hours to the overall build time. I was then able to anchor the set into the 4x4 base using metal brackets. This is much more effective than the plastic stakes given with the set and also makes the set much more stable. Wood is a little soft so be sure not to overtighten the screws (and be sure to pre-drill!). I was not missing any lumber or hardware. Just be sure to take your time and read the instructions carefully.
Good luck and enjoy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Very Nice But One Major Gripe

06/09/2011
By ,
New Orleans, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I built this for my kids over the course of two days, with my 7-year-old 'helper'. I took my time and everything went smoothly. Everything fit together nicely and the playset seems sturdy. My gripe is: You need to pre-drill HUNDREDS of 1/8" holes for the wood screws. This added several hours to the build time. They really should pre-drill these holes at the factory where each board is already being cut & drilled. TIP: Use two screw guns, one for driving screws and another for the pre-drilling.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+355points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Freeport, Grand Bahama
Preparation of Grounds
Posted 06/20/2012
Is there a special procedure required to have the grounds prepared before setting up the swing set? E.g. should i clear the ground of the grass and put down sand or anything that is equivelant to making the area better for the balancing of the swing set.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Went together easily, some minor hardware missing.

05/22/2012
By ,
Moorhead, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(Let that be a lesson to me: always Ctrl+A, Ctrl+C long reviews before moving on in case the page crashes.)
My father and I assembled this swing set in about 8 hours, working straight through on one day. We could have cut 1/2 hour or so off that time if the cordless drill we were using for the pilot holes hadn't died on us. It really is much faster to have one adult drilling and the other screwing, especially on the fort floor and wall boards.
As you can see in the attached picture, we installed the slide going off the front of the fort, rather than the side. We did this to save space in a small back yard. The switch worked really well, but I recommend holding off on drilling into the slide surface (one of the very first steps) until you know where you want it mounted and what might interfere.
(Note: I purchased a separate baby swing from Walmart, which is installed next to the slide in my picture - this swing set comes with two of the yellow swings.)
We were missing bolts to hold the rocks onto the rock wall, but they will be easily replaced at our local hardware store.
Beware, the box is heavy! Definitely "team lift" this one. I was able to fit the box easily into a minivan with the rear seats down and one middle seat removed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Perfect for a 2 & 4 year old, room to grow!

12/28/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for the Grandkids for Christmas. It is sturdy and beautiful! Took the easy way out and hired it installed in Atl. Also recommend Brandon....proplaysetinstaller.
He also did the landscaping around.
They will enjoy it for years.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Excellent Value

09/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently finished putting together my swing set, and I have to admit that it went together easier than expected. 2 people are not required, but certainly helpful at a few stages. There are a lot of holes that need to be pre-drilled. The Torx tools they give you are worthless. mine twisted into uselessness on the third bolt set I did by hand. The hardware was generally strong. The holes lined up well. The directions were very easy to follow - definitely not made by the Ikea people. Overall, for the price, this is hard to beat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TN
Slide Position
Posted 04/04/2012
I noticed that you turned the slide to where it is forward rather than out the side. Was this hard to do? The slide going out the side is the only thing keeping us from purchasing this. Our back yard it fairly small and we don't want the set to take up more space than necessary.
thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Great product for the price!

12/28/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little concerned when purchasing this item since it received some mixed reviews but I was pleasantly surprised! It took my husband and I about 12 hours to complete and that was including breaks and a trip to Home Depot. The directions were pretty easy to understand and I have no construction background. The wood isn't the greatest quality but you get what you pay for and the swing held my weight (145 pounds) with no issue. I definitely wouldn't attempt to climb the rock wall though...lol. I used the advise of a previous review and took all items out of the box and organized them by letters which seemed to work well. My husband did most of the assembly while I got the pieces ready for the next "phase." It wasn't bad at all and we actually enjoyed putting it together on Christmas Eve to surprise our 4 year old daughter Christmas morning. Needless to say- she LOVES it. The one thing I do recommend though is obtaining better "stakes" or something to anchor the swing-set down...it does come with plastic stakes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Nice Playset - Especially When You Consider Price

04/08/2012
By ,
Cumming, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked for awhile before buying this set. I compared 'apples', 'oranges' and everything in-between just to be sure.
I will say that this set is for younger/lighter kids #my son is 2 years old#. If I were to pick the ideal age group I'd say 2 to 7 or so. After that it may get a little tight as its not all that big.
Also, it does use a few 1x's where some of the MUCH more expensive sets will use 2x's, but again.....you know that in advance, you get what you pay for AND it more than does the trick.
All in all it took me 6 or 7 hours to put together with a little help from the wife now and again #you will need help from time to time holding things in position#. Id say a total of 10 to 11 'man hours'.
A couple assembly suggestions:
1# Layout all the parts and material BEFORE starting. It will make everything much easier #this includes the hardware#
2# Have a fully charged Drill & Impact Driver #one of each# so you don't have to go back and forth changing drill bits. Ideally you'd even have 2 Impact Drivers #one with a Phillips Bit and the other using the Torx bit many of the bolts use#, but that will only save a few minutes....
The Impact Driver was key though as the Drill #24V Ryobi# was not able to drive the bolts nearly as good as the Impact Driver was.
3# Pre-Drill the holes! Don't try to cut corners as the wood #typical and basic cedar# WILL split if you try. Some of the screws are also required to be drilled close to the edges #especially on the ladder and table/bench#, so be gentle so you don't split the wood. In some cases - and you'll see them when its time - the 1/8th bit is too large and you won't get a good bite if you use it #again, I noticed this mostly on the table/bench#.
Otherwise, I would buy this again if I were in the markets for another playset. Our son loves it, it looks great and really was a good value at $399.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Very Happy With This Product!

02/03/2014
By ,
Thousand Oaks, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was very happy with this product. Takes a day or so to put together, but prety easy. Just need to pay careful attention to the instructions.
A little nervous about durability. Some of the thin cedar pieces seem a little weak, but overall very happy with the quality of this product, especially for the price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

06/15/2011
By ,
Ukiah, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading tons of reviews, I settled on this swing set. I was willing to pay up to $1,500.00 on one! This one had the best reviews when it came to ease of setting it up, parts being all together and nothing broke, etc. I didn't want my husband and I to go nuts over the thing! So we organized each part first. Everything was labeled clearly. Then I grouped each board & hardware in a pile for each step as my husband built. I also helped measure, pre-drill, prop things up, etc. But it went together smoothly in about 7 hours total. VERY sturdy! This is for a 6 child family daycare to use every day. It's sturdy, safe, affordable, attractive & fun!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Discovery Tucson Cedar Wooden Swing Set

a lot of issues

05/08/2011
By ,
Mansfield ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
first off I was missing 12 pieces. They gave me 12 of a different board that was too short. The screws for one of the parts was labeled wrong and I had to use my own screws. The wood is super soft which makes the product cheaper and easier to put everything together.
The directions are easy to follow. I had a lot of extra pieces. Whoever puts the parts together does it too quickly.
It all comes in one box which is nice and if you put the screws in order by the number on the bag it is much easier.
If you are looking for a cheap swingset this is a good option.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 568 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next