Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

The Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan features a durable steel frame and a tempered safety-glass top. This seven-piece set also includes easy-care, fabric cushions. Includes table and 6 stackable chairs with back and seat cushions. See coordinating Crossman Collection pieces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
29
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%64 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
29
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Garbage. After only a few weeks.

04/27/2012
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was in love with this set when I first purchased it. After assembly, it was perfect. One month later, with no use, the cushions have holes. Its is falling apart and no one is even sitting on it. It is mild outside since it is NJ Spring so, the weather is not at fault. I am more than furious & too broke from the purchase to buy new cushions. I should have remembered that you get what you pay for... the price is low, but it reflect the quality.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 2 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Great

07/27/2011
By ,
Beaufort, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a screened in porch and my husband and i have been looking for a nice patio set. since my husband enjoys grilling a lot we decided we would get a dinning table. after looking online, i came across this one and we both agreed to get it. with the help of my mother in law, we brought it home and my brother in law put it together. It took him a couple of hours and one of the holes in the arm did not match up so we had to take it back to the store to have it exchanged for another one but at the end it came out perfect. the table is kinda wobbly but my husband is working on fixing it (my brother in law must of missed something.) overall we are very pleased with this set and enjoy it very much, the chairs are very sturdy too. just make sure you READ THE INSTRUCTIONS when putting it together. The colors are actually richer than in the picture which we love.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Parts mix-up

03/26/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So, here's the thing. The quality of this set is decent (although don't be misguided by the extremely low estimates of the time it takes to put it together). But, if you have any problems, you're going to be waiting 4 weeks at minimum for them to be resolved. In my case, they sent me 8 right legs and 4 left legs for the chairs (should have been 6 and 6). Through the number on the instructions and website that they direct you to call in case of problems, I learned that the product is manufactured in China and replacement parts take a minimum 4 weeks to arrive. Walmart is the "seller," the product is made in China, and Courtyard Creations (the company they tell you to call) just handles replacement parts. No one has a stake in making sure the customer is satisfied - I have never seen such a display of finger-pointing and failure to take accountability. My recourse: return the set (which I've put together with the exception of the missing parts) or wait, wait, wait. Very, very frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 4 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Superb dining set for a tight budget shopper!!!

01/14/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You will be challenged to find a better 7 piece dining set for the same price. In fact, the quality is at par with those $500-$600 sets available at Home Depot, K Mart and Target. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the large hex screws for the chairs and the hex tools that came with the set are of poor quality. Buy yourself a good hex tool set and take your time tightening the hex screws and you'll be OK. As far as the holes not lining up, as I read in other reviews, all I can say is, that's what happens to those who do not follow or read the instructions prior to assembling the set. The instructions clearly state not to tighten the screws (especially the chairs) until the assembly is complete. If you do that, you will not have any problems lining up the holes. Finally the color of the cushions is a little darker than what you see in the picture; however, this is a plus because for an outside pice of furniture a light color is not the best. I am extremely happy with this dining set and I certainly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Read the Instructions....not difficult at all!

07/14/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this set before I read the reviews, and I had buyers remorse after reading all the comments, but I decided to go home and read the instuctions before I even started to put the chairs together. It took me about 20-30 to put together the first chair and then about 15 minutes for the second and third and about 5-10 minutes every chair after that. I didn't run into any major issues. I did exactly what the instructions said.... I left the screws loose until every thing was in place and then I went back and tighten them up. The screws are numbered and I put each number screwed in order in seperate bags, so by the 3rd chair I knew exactly what screws I needed. The last chair I had to put together was faulty, however I called the store, and then let me swap it for one on display. I found the color warm and rich...it's actually a darker than what is shown (the colore of a banana bread) and the the set is comfy. I got this set on sale for 198.00, and it's definetly worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 6 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Great Look-Great Value

04/30/2011
By ,
Lanoka Harbor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very worried about putting this set together after reading the reviews about all the issues with the holes not lining up.
I'm going to set the record straight.
If you follow the instructions and leave the screws loose you WILL NOT have any problem.
My sister and I put the set together in 2 hours without any issues whatsoever. The tools were fine, I do not understand why so many people had trouble with them. The table was very easy to put together and the chairs as well. The chairs were just time consuming but, we took our time putting them together. This is a beautiful set. I can.'t wait to purchase some accessories to match with the set
5 STAR RATING
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Review 7 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Unexpected Quality!

03/12/2012
By ,
Philadelphia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hopeful, when I bought this set. Honestly, I didn't have great expectations for it, and just needed something outside for the occasional dinner on the deck sort of use. However, I was so surprised how well constructed it was!
We didn't have the problem of the holes not lining up, like some of the other reviewers. We put all the screws into place by hand, and then we tightened them with the wrench, once they were all in place. Worked perfectly.
The chairs are very wide, they don't "muffin snag" when you sit in them, or get out of them. The length of the chair seat is good too. No feeling of the thighs being suspended off the edge of a chair. The cushions are well made, and I was surprised to find they have little plastic clamps designed to fit the different supports of the chair, so they hold still!. Great set! So pleased with this purchase! I would recommend to a friend.
- Contractor was here today, and remarked he liked our new patio set. I asked him what he thought I gave for it, he said "$600?"..He thought I had bought it at the local patio shop, and was stunned I found this at Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 8 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Very pleased with this set, value for money

08/10/2011
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The secret to avoiding the hassle of putting it together is to get the store to do it and pick it up We live quite close to our local and store and so I purchased it and the manager said they would put it all together for me and to come back the next day which is what I did. Loaded it onto the back of the pick up and half an hour later was having my lunch off of it. Walmart offer several of these services , all free , I previously got a bbq from walmart and again avoided the hassle by getting them to put it together. Great set, sturdy and value for money, may show a bit of rust overtime judging by the display one they had in the store display but Im going to treat it with a protector just to make sure. Overall very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Great Value

02/24/2011
By ,
Fort Stewart, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I agree with the other two review, the holes do need to be aligned and with the right tools the assembly time was cut in half. We did have a chair that a screw did not want to go in after trying to do everything to tweak it, Walmart let us swap it out for one of the chairs on display. It is very comfortable and meets our expectations =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 10 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Good value

03/20/2011
By ,
Fremont In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a good value for the money. Most reviews say the holes don't line up well. That is true for only a couple of chairs but the key is if you leave all of the screws very loose when assembling they line up just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+80points
Review 11 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

good value..but

02/17/2011
By ,
Sun City West, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: inexpensive; fast delivery; well packaged; sturdy; attractive for the $$; seems quite sturdy
Cons: takes longer to put together than suggested as bolt holes did not align and some tweaking was necessary; the included tools were very low quality; with the right tools set up would be significantly faster; given the quality of the tools, one must wonder about longer term reliability of bolts etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 12 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Beautiful outdoor set

02/18/2011
By ,
Tamarac, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this set.. Well worth the money.
I gave it 4 stars in the overall rating because it took 2 hours to put together 2 of the 6 chairs.
And if the screws do not align perfectly (which will happen) the actual piece and the screw will strip. Not fun.
HOWEVER, once put together its a beautiful, comfortable, and WELL worth the money for this 7 pc set.
I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 13 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Great Looking Product

02/21/2011
By ,
Surprise, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value and good looking, sturdy product. The only problem is that some of the pre-drilled holes for the screws in the chairs didn't line up right. This caused the tools and screws to strip from the force of trying to put the pieces together. Besides this minor flaw everything looks and feels great! I would definitely recommend this prodect, especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 14 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Love this set!

08/22/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dad bought me this set for my birthday and I love it! My husband put it together within a few hours and didn't have any trouble. It looks beautiful with the unbrella that we purchased to go with it and it held up well in the rain also. I especially love the clips that hole the cushions onto the chairs...I hate nothing more than chasing cushions through a windy storm!
PS: Check your local Walmart store before you order this online. We purchased ours for $20 cheaper than online and didn't have to pay shipping!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 15 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Good Value

07/14/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this set in our local store yesterday. The boxes (2 of them) fit in the back of our minivan with the back seats removed. My husband assembled the set. It took considerably longer than indicated on this website. He wished that the manufacturer would have designed the product so that power tools could be used, rather than the small set of wrenches included. One chair leg/arm was a tiny bit bent. He was still able to assemble the chair, but it's a tad wobbly. Also, one screw was slightly bent and stripped, but he was able to make it work. The set looks great (colors are much richer than in the featured photograph... more brown than light tan), and I think it was a good value for the price paid. Like I mentioned, we just got it yesterday, so we'll have to wait and see how it holds up. Happy so far though!
We also bought the matching conversation set, which I'll review separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
 
My Product Recommendations
Mainstays Crossman 4-Piece Conversation Set, Tan
4.3 out of 5(126)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Review 16 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6
07/07/2012
By ,
Worcester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to my local Walmart to look for patio furniture. This set was on clearance for $148.00. I jumped at the chance to buy it at this price. I highly recommend this set. It is very comfortable and the style is nice and contemporary. The only negative I have is that they state that the setup time is 20 minutes for 2 people. I am pretty mechanically inclined and have good tools. It took me and my wife 2 and a half hours to get everything set up. Some of the bolts need "easing" into the holes. I agree with the other posters that you should not tighten anything until finished but even doing that we still had to mess with the alignments. That said, after getting everything assembed this set is nice, solid and beautiful. Thank You Walmart for a great patio set at a bargain price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Two of the six chairs were OK

04/25/2012
By ,
SW, Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first assembly step is very difficult. I struggled for several minutes on each of the first two chairs, but managed to get them assembled. The next four, I fruitlessly battled over the course of the week. I don't think the parts were made properly. I called the phone number for advice, but all they can do is ship parts, no assembly help. They wanted me to take some photos and email them, then they'd decide what to do. I was too frustrated to deal with that, so BACK THEY GO! The table that goes with the chairs was decent and reasonably easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 18 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Nice product...difficult to put together

07/04/2011
By ,
West Deptford, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter as a house warming gift. Her boyfriend put it together which was a bit of a challenge. Fortunately, I had read the reviews and emailed them to her so they would see the problem with the holes not matching up. Unfortunately, she didn't read my email prior to assembling. Like everyone else, they tightened all screws as they were assembling which caused the holes not to line up properly. After breaking a piece on the first chair, they decided the set was junk. After we told them about not tightening up all the screws until they were all in place, assembling the set became a bit easier. But...she now has 5 chairs not 6. They called the manufactor and they said that they will send a new piece, which is on back order. (which shows there is a defect in the product if they are replacing so many of these parts that they are out of them.) They will not get this replacement piece for 6-8 weeks. By that time, the summer will be over. Hopefully, they really send the piece they need to fix the chair. Chairs and table seem solid, sturdy and the chairs are comfortable. Since my daughter doesn't have her inside dining set, she sits outside at this table to eat. So far she likes it. We'll see if the part comes in and she has a complete set in time for the end of the summer. If anybody has had trouble getting parts, I'd appreciate a response or tip on how to get the company to make good on their product... Overall...if we get the replacement part....I would recommend this product. I will keep you posted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 19 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6

Great product - Lousy Assemby

04/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DO YOURSELF A FAVOR... get a hex bit to use with your power drill. Makes life much easier ! ! !
Completely agree with previous reviews on the allignment of the holes. The pre-drilled holes on my set were HORRIBLE! I had multiple problems getting the screws to go in... and that was even without trying to assemble, just the screw by itself into the pre-drilled hole wouldn't go in on most holes. I had to force the screw in with all my might using the small hex wrench tool provided, and it was taking over 30 minutes per chair. After the top layer of skin off my hand came off and just before I was going to take the entire set back to the store, I decided to see if I had a hex bit for my power drill. Luckily I did. Used the hex bit and my power drill and that cut each chair down to about 5 minutes. Very happy with the product now that it's up. Very good value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 20 for Mainstays Crossman 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Tan, Seats 6
03/14/2012
By ,
Birmingham, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great deal for the price. Looks great outside in our courtyard. I searched everywhere from walmart to Lowes to Home Depot. I believe this gave me the most bang for my buck. When putting the chairs together, make sure to not tighten bolts until all bolts are in their location. Otherwise, it's a great buy and looks more expensive than it actually is! (the cushions are darker than pictured on the internet and on the box)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next