Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dell Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dell Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

Stay connected to the digital world with this Dell Premium 17.3-inch Laptop PC with Windows 7. Powered by an Intel Core i3-380M processor and backed by 4GB of DDR3 system memory, you can power through numerous demanding applications at the same time and increase your multitasking effectiveness. Plus, you can store all of your multimedia on the Dell notebook computer's spacious hard drive. Whether you're at home or in your favorite WiFi-capable coffee shop, you'll always have a window to the world with the Dell Premium 17.3-inch Laptop PC with Windows 7C.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(215 Reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
55
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%201 out of 215reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
55
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

Dell 17r computer

03/31/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got a dell 17.3'' i3 laptop with 640 mb hard drive . Bought from wal-mart .com . It came fast , ordered on thursday, got on tuesday, i paid for 1 day shipping well worth 20.00.WAL-MART dont show you but it has great stainless around keys,with black non -lit keys . Sound is loudest i ever heard on laptop, i keep at only 30% volume for movies. Iam very happy and have a dell desktop , that is 11 years old, never touched.Igot peacock blue and its stunning , like stainless wrapped with blue celephane. You have keys for up/down volume on keyboard , and can check on 4 hour batterywith one button. I must warn you ,this thing likes fingerprints . but if thats my only problem to worry about ,i got rags for that. In closing i would like to say great job Dell, and windows 7 works great. I only had 2 days but,better than my old laptop, i use it at leasty 10-12 hours a day ,everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

Dell Premium Peacock Laptop

05/02/2011
By ,
Truth or Consequences, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thus far after about 1-2 weeks using the NEW Dell Premium laptop hubby & I are pretty pleased.
The size, the graphics, the software, lightweight, color are all to our liking.
someone had wrote about finger prints on the inside & outside, would have to agree, not so pretty, but cleanable.
I ordered this particular computer because I wanted to use it for the Internet, emails, Facebook and FB games, thus far all is working well for us.
I would have liked to have had a "nonglare" screen but will live with this one.
Others have talked about it not having a lighted keyboard, that doesn't bother us.
I like the fact that it set up really easy, my friend & I did it in about 4hours, because I also had just bought a NEW Cisco wireless unit. Pretty incredible how easy connections are made, our last new computer was 8 years ago & this one was a breeze to setup & use.
I am planning on buying another one similar to this one, but I will probably go to the next upgraded model, unless something else is new with Dell that has these features.
All in all we are very pleased with our very first laptop computer.
I gave 4 stars above because I always feel their is room for improvements. I found the price to be very reasonable, I had a set amount in my head & this one worked fine in my price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

items included but not listed

02/23/2011
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this only a day, and am still running diagnostics, updates, repairs and software installation.
There are several Windows updates that have failed to install, and there are several errors reported including memory leaks in the Event Viewer->Custom Views->Administrative Events.
There are 4 USB ports. 1 one on each side, and 2 in the back.
The USB port on the right side next to the DVD drive, includes an E-SATA port.
The Ethernet port is 10/100 and is located on the right side next to the USB/E-SATA port.
The power plugs into the back of the machine not the side.
The finish is glossy metallic Blue looking the keyboard area is glossy metallic silver looking.
The screen is probably one of the nicest looking I have seen at this price, compared to the 17" Toshiba at the same spec, and nicer than all the Acer's and HP's I shopped.
Built in Dell diagnostic, failed to update, crashed, and will no longer work.
Touchpad is multi-touch, you have to configure it to use "momentum" and the other multi-touch features. The pad is slightly recessed, the 2 buttons are about level with the top, and hard for me to "hit".
Full size keyboard with number keypad. This keyboard is NOT back lit.
Blue-tooth is present.
Wifi antenna is weaker than any other machine I have tried and has less range. It loses 1 bar signal at 11 feet from the router straight line no walls. The Wifi N signal will NOT quite reach 150 mbps, and the fastest I have obtained with it is 130 mbps.
Intellipoint drivers for my Microsoft wireless keyboard and mouse fail to install. (laser desktop) but the devices work anyway. This is the only Windows 7 machine I have any issue with this on. (tried 10 others with no problem)
Fan noise is noise, runs semi-frequently. Has a low pitched hum that hits me wrong but others may not hear it.
Speakers are actually pretty good for a laptop, and are placed in front sort of underneath and sort of face forward. Nice touch Dell!
Power usage is pretty decent.
Idles as low as 11-12 watts with the screen turned down. Other machines in a similar class 14-16 watts. This Dell does seem to hover about 16-20 watts for use on audio playback with scrolling screen text.
This power use is about what a similar Toshiba with special Eco Utility turned on would use. It's great. I do see spikes into the 30 watt range using my kill-a-watt during start up and other tasks. Charging does peak it over 65 watts, which is about what our 21" iMac uses all the time.
Our use is text reading, and spoken audio, as well as basic office and web.
It does show 4 processors cores because of the hyper-threading on each of the dual core i3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 4 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

EXCELENT

05/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MET ALL MY EXPECTATIONS, AND MORE.VERY RESONABLE PRICE AND I CHECKED. ONLY PROBLEM WAS FINDING A CASE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 5 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

Very "buggy" and poor performance overall.

06/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this for less than a week and then I returned for refund. Often would "time out" while trying to connect to various web sites. Various other errors encountered. Just plain old lemon, I guess? I found a great deal at Sam's Club on an HP Pavilion 17.3" dv7-4267cl ($709.00) and it works great. I love the HP and, surprisingly, am puzzled at the lack of performance in the Dell. By the way, and for what it's worth, upon returning the Dell to Walmart, the electronics associate (who inspected the computer for return) told me that a lot of the Dells were coming back for similar "buggy" reasons.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop for the price

06/17/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a gamer, a twitterer, a blogger or such. I use my laptop for searching the web, streaming videos, and email.
I feel that for the price that I have paid for this computer, I have gotten a grat deal.
My job uses Dell computers, I also use a Dell laptop at work, and they could not have gotten such a good price.
It is not loaded with a bunch of cheesy programs and advertisements like a lot of companies out there do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

Dynamic Dell

07/08/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 17.3" 640g Dell computer was a great deal. My wife has started PHd course work, and needed a new computer. I was looking online and found this deal. Hugh screen, keyboard includes 10 key pad, Webcam, 4g memory. Absolutely great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium
05/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got the computer a week ago and have not had much time to use it, but so far I am very happy with it. I think it is the best deal for the money and features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

Wonderful!!

03/29/2011
By ,
Annapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop has been great!! Very easy to setup, and use!! LOVE IT!! Great price for a Dell, and for all the space it offers to!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

A very usefull product

03/26/2011
By ,
Leesville La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I simply love my new laptop. Its fast and easy to use and you can see the words on the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium

likemoreinstructions

03/30/2011
By ,
Billings,Mt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
would like more instructions since there are no software programs installed
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dell Premium Peacock Blue 17.3" i17R-1408PBL Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium
Based on the average of (204) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5