Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sport Rack SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sport Rack SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Average Customer Rating:
3.476 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation71%15 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Made in U.S.A. You will not be disappointed.

12/15/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this after lots of research, it is well constructed and is very easy to assemble it took me about forty five minutes to complete and will require two people. As far as the other review I have no idea what their problem was. it mounts right to my factory roof rack and all the mounting hardware was there....if you do NOT have a factory roof rack with cross bars you will need to order the optional mounting hardware,which is clearly mentioned when you purchase this product.
I love the design and it is made in the U.S.A. !!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+53points
Review 2 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Could be sturdier

05/27/2012
By ,
UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Assembly went just as described--good instructions. You'll need a helper for a couple of steps of the assembly to hold the top. The plastic used for the box is softer than I expected--it doesn't like the warm sun. Despite the hinge locks, the top sags and droops while open, making it difficult to load. Once closed and latched, the box seems to hold its shape okay. Mounting to my vehicle's roof rack was straight-forward, though the u-bolts near the hinges were tough to get to and tighten down, expecially with the top sagging. Recommend you use a ladder to reach into the back of the box to tighten those u-bolts down. Give yourself a good 30-45 minutes to assemble the box and install on your vehicle. Probably 15 min to install or remove from your vehicle once you've assembled it. The box is less expensive than a Thule or Yakima, and rightly so.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Review 3 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Did the Job

06/30/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to go on vacation. Read all the reviews, and researched all the competitors, ie thule, honda, etc. This looked to be the best value for the money. I was very aprehensive due to reviews of flimsy when in heat. We went to Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, Sedona, Lake Powell, etc. in late June. It held up just fine, is on flimsy side, so when its opened in heat, but never buckled or sagged.
We could not have gone on vacation without it. It did the job, even better than expected.
A little side note, it did make us too tall to enter 50% of parking structures in Las Vegas, therfore, had to park with oversized trucks and trailors, but was not a big deal, and sometimes got closer parking because of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Review 4 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Very Happy

04/29/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought this item for a vacation for my family. It was not too difficult to assemble. It does take a little help to get it mounted on the roof rack. I was worried about it keeping water out. My whole drive from Virginia to N.Y. it rained and at the end trip I found just a tiny bit of water and all my luggage was dry (I did install the weather proof strip incorrectly though). Overall very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Review 5 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095
06/12/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took 45min-1 hour to properly build and about 10 min to set up on the top my car. I have used it twice for a few music festivals and it literally is like having an extra trunk. I also looked at this exact brand on REI as well as a few camping stores and Walmart had the best deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Review 6 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095
08/28/2012
By ,
Salem Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Made it in one piece and everything stayed dry all the way from Oregon to Virginia!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Good deal at $129.00 but...

11/24/2012
By ,
Lynchburg, Va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I paid $189.00 for it just last month (Oct '12). With tax $198.00! Grab it at $129.00! It is "o.k." for the purpose intended. Very lightweight materials, as in "flimsy", but will hold if handled gently. NOT easy to put together. I feel I overpaid by $60.00 but at the current $129.00 it's a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 8 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Nice Product

06/24/2012
By ,
Charleston WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 08 toyota 4 runner and it fit great! I used it on 10hr trip one way and it was great. No problems. Has a lot of storage space. If I had to say anything bad about the sport rack is it takes some time to put togather when you get it. Nice product for the money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 9 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

DO NOT ORDER

09/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item does NOT come with all moutning hardware as indicated. When you contact the dealer directly they know NOTHING of this porduct or can tell you how to get the parts! This item is very difficult to assemble and not worth it. Nothing Wal-Mart is at fault for, its the product itself!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
SportRack Explorer review
Posted 09/20/2011
This cargo box does take some assembly. The installation instructions are posted so that prospective customers can review them before purchasing the product. A master parts bag should always be included with this item. This parts bag includes parts for assembly and the parts for mounting the cargo box onto a vehicle's roof rack. If you received an Explorer that was missing any parts you can call the Thule/SportRack customer service department at 800-238-2388 for assistance. Please call so that we can make this right for you.
Nancy@Thule
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Terrible Design!

12/18/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this carrier! It has a nice look. So far it seems durable but the design is an absolute nightmare. The way you connect it to your roof is next to impossible. You will need two people in order to do connect it to your roof. The clamps on the front and back to keep it closed are also difficult to clamp down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 11 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Need two people to assemble but happy!

11/13/2012
By ,
Cincinnati
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good size. Fairly easy to assemble (with 2 people). Have not used it on trip yet but installed on roof and appears to be a great match for our needs. Great price! Quality seems to be great too. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 12 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

You get what you pay for

09/01/2012
By ,
lake tahoe, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty flimsy construction, but it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 13 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095
08/16/2012
By ,
Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for. It's a cheap box it didn't open and close well. I returned it within hours of assembling it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Great Light wight Roof Carrier,Great Price.

01/27/2013
By ,
Fremont, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Great carrier for the price. We have a Toyota Sienna That has no place for a Spare Tire. So this was the best salutation for us.,Plus We can lock it to make sure it is secure. There is still room inside for a few things as well. I like that this is not skinny like most of the carriers out there, But is still compact & light weight enough for ease of installation on top of the Van.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

not bad for the price

12/23/2012
By ,
Holly
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Item was slightly damaged during shipping. Box was smashed up. The lid was dented in and when I pushed it back out it left a crease. But I needed it for planned vacation . No time to return. Other than that it is a good product. Fairly easy to assemble light weight and overall a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 16 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095
01/31/2013
By ,
Columbus ms
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This roof box is hard to put together. The included hardware did not have a proper fit. The side supports/ opening springs are hard to open and close. The front and rear latches are hard to open and clothes and fall apart every time you do get them open.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095

Good for the price.

02/08/2013
By ,
kalamazoo MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for now and then, to flimsey for every day use .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for SportRack Explorer Roof Box - Model #A90095
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5