Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ematic Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

The Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen eBook Tablet is a terrific way to experience the Web, e-mail, videos, music, e-books, and photos. With Android 2.1 OS, this tablet PC offers high-speed access to thousands of applications, games, and more. Connect with the world anytime, anywhere in a jiffy with Wi-Fi and 3G. The 4GB internal memory allows you to store plenty of photos, videos, songs, and what not. Capture your lifes precious moments with the built-in camera that provides quality photos and share them with your friends instantly. This tablet with Wi-Fi has a 7 LCD wide touchscreen to enable easy and effortless access to all the applications with just a simple touch of a finger. The front camera in this tablet allows you to enjoy video chatting. The HDMI output allows you to connect this tablet with camera with the TV or PC monitor to watch videos, movies, or pictures in stunning HD quality. For additional storage space, this tablet PC has a 16GB SD memory card slot.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation72%26 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Absolutely No Support

02/26/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The good part first.
This is a good "starter" Android tablet. Has some nice features - great for basic stuff like browsing, checking email and playing music.
However, it is Android v. 2.1 - which lacks many improvements over current (as of this date) version 2.2 - and as far as I can determine, the unit can not be upgraded without "rooting" it, which is a pretty complex procedure - and not sure that can even be done to this unit.
Biggest complaint is there is absolutely no support available. Ematic has a website that lists a phone and email - I tried both - left a voice mail and sent emails - with absolutely no response. If you have problems with this unit - you are on your own.
Unit comes with a mini cd with an "upgrade tool", instructions are unclear and don't work - and as you see in the screen shot - it's pretty worthless as far as figuring it out on your own.
If you want a $170 "starter" tablet to play with - this unit is OK - but again, you are on your own.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 2 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Terrible product, Terrible support

05/21/2011
By ,
Chantilly. VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am an IT Director and know tablet technology fairly well. First, the product only turns on when plugged into the charger... Second, it performs a complete reset when when turning on each time. This wipes out all ebook subsciption content.. You literally have to reinstall ebook readers like Kindle and Barns & Noble each time it comes off the charger! Then you need to reregister the ebooks you've purchased. Seriously!
Customer support didn't return any of my calls until I left four messages in a week's span. I finally spoke to two technicians, neither of who knew anything about the product. Finally Amazon and other application vendors confirmed the product was defective.. I begged Walmart to take the product back since Ematic tech support completely blew me off. Fortunately Walmart's manager agreed to refund me even after the return period had expired. Great customer support at Walmart, however avoid this product at all cost.. Terrible, terrible - all the way around!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
a question to a pro
Posted 07/31/2011
Hi, as a technology specialist, your spectations may be too high. Anyway, as I do not have anyone else to ask, do you think it will work for my 8 years old daughter and my 11 years old son. I am not sure they even know what a ereader is, and I do not even know what the android is, I have a blackberry, so I guess it is a blackberry for tabs. they need it to check emails, facebook, youtube, internet games, and school investigation and dictionary. My concern is how easy to catch a wifi connection is, to use it all around the house, to storage temporary info for school works. Ibought netbooks for each last christmas, and have´nt used it even one time. I dont want this to happen again with the tab. I am not quit sure I understood that you mention that you have to use it plugged?
please help!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Excellent product- Glad I found it!

03/28/2011
By ,
Rural Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exceptional product. I was looking for an eReader. I decided on this since it was the same price as an eReader only.
The Android market is set-up and ready to go. Just set-up a GMail account and all you have to do is touch the icon on your screen. You have access to all the free or paid apps you want!
There were only a couple issues I had. The first one I had is that it was using the battery quickly. I just downloaded an app w/ airplane mode (prob was that it was searching for a cell phone connection) and a task manager. That problem is now solved.
The other problem was figuring out how to charge it. I know it sounds strange, but it wouldn't charge after the initial charge. I figured out that it has to have been partially depleted first, then it will charge. It does not matter if it is on or off, it will charge (blue light comes on to let you know).
However, the battery indicator is not accurate. I even tried apps to tell you about the battery. I just recharge it after every use. After the first initial time that I couldn't figure out how to charge it, I have not had the battery die on me. I use it for hours at a time since it is primarily an eReader for me (when I can get it back from the kids... they are in love with "Angry Birds").
I don't know why anyone would spend the money on an eReader only OR a more expensive tablet! I am REALLY glad I found this product!! It works better than I hoped!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 4 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

A decent product

03/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the product that serves my purpose. I need one that I can read e-books while in bed or couch. Plus, it gotta have Wi-Fi access and I can watch video and share music with my family.
The product is expandable in that it has Android market built-in. I've installed several apps through this mechanism. I would recommend moon+reader. It's way more advanced than the built-in e-readers.
The track ball is convenient as you browse through book list and email entries.
I should have given it a five-star. I dropped one as the packaged user manual is too sketchy and not so much helpful; also the company's website has not yet had support for this product.
In one word, love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lewiston, ME
Informative
Posted 07/20/2011
Your informative review gave me an honest perspective and information to find out if the website has improved when considering purchasing this item.
Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Excellent tablet for the price!

07/06/2011
By ,
Paducah, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this tablet for about 4 months now... was thinking about purchasing an Ematic E-Reader when I saw the tablet on sale and thought, "Hey... why not give it a shot..." and let me say I'm glad I did!
For the price this tablet offers more bang for the buck than most of its competitors. It comes loaded with Android 2.1... and although the OS won't update it's not really that big of a deal.
The Android Market offers plenty of Apps to allow you to do just about anything with it. I can check my email, get on Facebook, read the news, play games like Words With Friends, order stuff online... just about anything I would normally do on my computer or my DROID smartphone.
I have been more than pleasantly surprised with it since my purchase and it's a product I wish Walmart would actually carry in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Eglide review

02/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received my eglide from wallmart.com, the price is very reasonable. I have been looking for an ereader or Ipad type device but i didnt want to pay over 200 dollars. other wise i wold just get another laptop. but this thing is amazing. the clarity, the sound and ease of use it is worth the money. i took it out of the box turned it on the factory set for static ip had to be changed to search, it picked up my wireless right away, i typed in my wep, and i was online. the memory is big and downloads are fast. it is great to get my hands wet as new devices are coming out of the wood work, i was at an RV show yesterday in AC, Verrizon has a MIFI device that will create a WIFI hot spot no matter where u are. things are moving fast. but for now the EGLIDE will do. GREAT for the BATHROOM!!!! great reading material free book downloads.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

nice tablet!

02/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried several other 7 inch tablet/ereaders, including a Nook. I liked that well enough but decided to try to find something about a $100 cheaper. This tablet fit that description. The screen is resistive, but it is more responsive than some of the other resistive screens on some of the other tablets I tried. The flaw with this one is it doesn't always give an accurate response; I'll push one icon and every so often something else will open.It is annoying but I like the tablet enough overall that I'm willing to keep it even with that problem.
I believe it has access to the full Android app market (this tablet has Android 2.1). Some of the other tablets I tried would require "rooting" or hacking to gain access to that market. I am not very familiar with the Android operating system, since it's only been a few months since I tried the first of the many 7 inch tablets I've bought (and returned). Overall I still would recommend this product. I would give it 5 stars if it weren't for the problem it has with the screen response.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

eGlide 7"

03/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this tablet for about three weeks now.
Works great for internet access and as e-book reader.
Workmanship such as fit and finish is acceptable but not perfect.
Google Market access is a great plus.
Takes too long to recharge, but with a display brightness properly adjusted, sleep mode on and turning wi-fi on/off only as needed, battery life is around six hours.
Reading PDF files depends I guess on the file itself.
Some fullsize books open fine and some pdf catalogs are too slow to turn a page.
The size and the weight (about 12oz) are perfect for travel.
Overall for $150 it is a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Good For books and video.... Not for much else.

08/31/2011
By ,
Starke, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros:
- This makes for a very functional E-reader. You can upload your own materials (PDF, E-pub, txt, etc..) very easily via USB or uploading them onto SD-Card.
- Same can be said for video. It plays video very well and the internal speaker isn't bad considering the product. Plays MP4, Divx, FLV, etc.
- It's small, and portable, but large enough to read with comfortably.
Cons:
- VERY WEAK on the Processing end. Many Android apps (including Angry birds) may install on the unit, but will load very slowly and barely run.
- Will not run Netflix. At All.
- PDF's with many pictures or large files will not open smoothly on this unit.
- The battery meter does not work at all. It either says "Charged" or it's dead. The battery percentage non-functional.
Summary:
If you're looking for a unit that will let you read E-books or Watch videos that you have already downloaded, then this is the unit for you. It does those tasks well. I am happy with it for that reason. I wish it would run more Andorid apps, but for 100 bucks, I didn't expect much and was not disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

ematic Android tablet PC

04/02/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The device gets you on the internet for $150. The WiFi
works well. The 7" sceen is adequate for most purposes. The sceen is sharp and clear. The device fills the gap between netbooks and cell phones.
Overall it's a pleasing experience to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Love It

02/12/2011
By ,
Warren, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this product. I tried the Cruz, but returned both, one was shocked from static and it would not turn on after that, so I returned it. The second Cruz I could not get it to go online. When you clicked the button it would turn the whole thing off. After check reviews I decided on this one and love it. I was looking for something that I could read books on, check my email, browse the internet and play some simple games like sudoku and such. I download the Kindle app and a few other games from Android Market and they work great. It even comes with a GPS app. I bought a Nook, book type, case for it and it fits it great. I take it everywhere I go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

More than I expected

02/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am new to mobile devices so this is my first purchase other than a cell phone. I had hoped to get an Archos 101 but realized it was not happening without a premium so when I saw this I decided to just get it for the time being. I needed it for travel to check email and read books. It does a great job at both and I am pleasantly surprised at the quality and capacity of the tablet.
It finds wifi with no problem. I find though when I travel each time I reboot I must pick a connection for the tablet. Don't know if this is standard. It has a kindle app and some books work and some do not. I assume it depends on the format of the book. Other books work fine. One of the deciding factors for me was the dual processor and it is fast.
All in all I think it is a great item for the price. The build quality seems fine. Touch can be calibrated to the individual. Has Android market installed as well as a number of other apps.
Negative. Screen can be a little squirrly and sensitive to touch and will occasionally flip upsidedown on me. The more I use it the less it happens so maybe it is me. Battery could last longer.
Comes with manual,earbuds,dc charger,and mini to regular usb cord. There is also a very helpful stylus within the tablet. Took me a while to find it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Don't waste your money

03/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, I went in with decent expectations; it's not an IPad, it's not a NookColor, it's a <$200 android tablet. I wanted to try an ereader/tablet, but didn't want to pay $500+.
When I first opened the box, I was a little relieved, not a bad looking item. As I began playing with it, I figured I could make this work. Then, I did the update. This is where it started getting a little annoying. The firmware upgrade was kind of a pain. I was able to knock it out within a few minutes, but it was a little confusing (hold the esc key down until it tells you to release it.)
Next, I downloaded 1 book and 1 magazine using the Kindle application. Neither would work. So, I tried to loading the Nook application, and it wouldn't even load to the tablet.
I tried a couple of games (Angry Birds) and really couldn't get them to work. I would not have counted off for this part, because it would have fallen into the notion that I wasn't getting an IPad.
My recommendation would be to pay a little extra money and get the Nook-Color. My understanding is that the Nook can be routed which will give you more options. Otherwise, go with the big dogs (Ipad, Galaxy, etc.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 14 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

cheap ebook

08/31/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At first I really liked it. Then almost 3 weeks to the day it started crashing. It is similar to another review here in that it keeps saying that acore is not opening and asks for only a forced close. When I force close the whole screen goes dark and then starts to reload again. There is no way I can access my settings. From reading about some of the other tablets I think it needs to be reset to factory specs and there is a way to do it if you can access the settings. Since I can't I'm stuck. I have contacted Ematic but based on past questions and attempts to reach them I doubt if I will get a response. Even if I can return it now it has my info on it. Nothing serious but automatic access to my email, business email, etc. Not good. Sorry I did not wait to purchase a more expensive one with good support or info forums online. Ematic is not covered very much on the line forums.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Good unit, almost.

03/13/2011
By ,
Central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have mixed opinions about this Tablet. The reader is good. The browsing speed is fair but good enough. My problems are: the battery icon does not give an accurate reading of he battery level and sometimes when the unit is plugged into the wall power to charge, I get a display that the battery is low and should be plugged in!. The unit will drop the wifi connection on its own and needs to be powered off and restarted to get back to browsing. While reading on one occasion, the unit froze completely and needed a restart. For the price its not a bad unit but some patience is needed for its quirks. I am on the fence right now about continuing with it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

works well for the price

02/07/2011
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this online at 178.00 (reg price) Walmart's manager gave me the new 148 clearance price when I picked it up.
Pro's
1. relatively fast
2. low price
3. nice screen
Con's
1. the touchscreen is lower end, not as nice as an Ipad's. not horrible though.
2. doesn't come with a ton of app, you'll want to download android apps.
overall, thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

an enjoyable product

04/01/2011
By ,
andalusia,al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i recieved this product faster than i thought i would. it came with everything it said it would. it was ready 2 use right out of the box. have had just a few problems but it was not the product it was the user!!! great product. books download really fast and i can read for hours. just remember to power off if your not going to use it for awhile, saves battery life. i love it!!! the best !!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

Eglide..... A++++++++++

03/31/2011
By ,
Lamar ar.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a ereader for my girlfriend and read several reviews about the eglide so I bought one and it's just great....looking to buy another in the next two weeks... It's the cheapest on the market and works great....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet
07/18/2011
By ,
Bx NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this tablet because of the reviews I read my, But unfortuntely it did not workout for it kept on freeze on me and some of the downloads I would do would not function right while others I had to delete cause it would run slow....And as for the other ppl that enjoy it and that it work for them great for them....I did however take it back and order another one which is the filemate 7inch with andriods & google hope this one works better......The good thing about ordering from walmart is that you can take it back to any of their stores you won't get your shipping & handling back from them but they give you a number so you can call.....At the long run I had no problems return it and they were so nice you just have to be patience with them!....I love shopping there!....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Ematic eGlide 7" Touchscreen Ebook Tablet

love

04/21/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love love love my ematic eglide. It is so great to be able to download books to be able to read anytime!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next