Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Yard-Man Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Yard-Man Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Save valuable time and money with the Yard Man Select Series 46" Gas-Powered Riding Mower. This riding mower features a high performance 46" twin-blade cutting deck that creates a clean cut, every time. The riding mower navigates easily around obstacles, and you'll enjoy a reduced cutting time while mowing. The Yard Man Select Series 46" Gas-Powered Riding Mower is ideal for mowing up to two acres of flat land.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation80%8 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System
01/02/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With my 11-year-old mower showing signs of weakening I decided this year to get a new one. While surfing the internet this month (Dec.) I ran across this good buy (Special price) from Walmart. It was delivered on the 8th and so far is running good. After 2 weeks of use the battery went dead, which I know sometimes happens. My local Walmart store exchanged it for a new one. I have been looking for a 46" cut model and because of the winter have not cut any grass here on the NY/PA border. I do use a mower the year round however on my property with a tow cart, mostly hauling firewood. I expect this unit to be about average since most riding mowers anymore are made by MTD. I watched my local Lowes's store for a good buy since April and observed many mowers returned with defects. The most I saw returned all summer were the Toro with John Deere ranking second. The price of this unit sealed the deal for me, and since has been raised to $1200, still not bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Warren MI
So-so product
Posted 05/16/2012
After 1 year of use I have a mixed feeling about this product. So far it was fixed twice. And it is very hard to find authorized service center. And they do not like make a warranty repairs.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Great decision!

09/16/2012
By ,
Waxhaw, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my homework. I reviewed the mowers in the class and size we wanted. i compared options and specs. I chose this mower for the options, the price, and the earlier reviews. The only thing I was disappointed in was the shipping options. The system would not allow me to have the mower shipped to the nearest store and allow me to pick it up. Regardless of what I chose, the website always referred me back to shipping to my home. That cost me an additional $97. Regardless, the mower arrived well packed. After putting it together (simple), it started up and drove off the pallet. We have used the mower three times since. After leveling the anti-scalping wheels, the cut is perfect, the mower runs smoothly, and we are most pleased. Excellent quality. Great price. Plenty of power. And it looks great. We could not be more pleased (after getting over the extra $97).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Yardman Select Series

03/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lawnmower for $1200 at my local Walmart it feels like it has plenty of power and it looks great. You can adjust the seat by removing one bolt and i like the gas pedal it will take a little bit to get use to. I looked at many different Lawn Tractors at Sears,lowes and Tractor Supply. For the price i went with the Yardman over the Sears 46 inch 21hp mower it just looked and felt like a better quality mower and i wanted a deck wheels b/c my yard isnt even. I plan on keeping this mower a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System
05/31/2011
By ,
Central VA - Rural
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No site to store on this item so had to rely on CEVA Freight. Tracking was ok, but would have helped had I been given a local phone for CEVA to follow up since they failed to notify me of arrival at local terminal. This seems to be a great lawn tractor for the money, and mush less than comparable machines, and is well made. "Saftey interlock" system is a bit "overboard" as it appears one must disengage mower before moving slector into reverse. Have not yet used for mowing, but did choose this model as the deck has "guide wheels" which less expensive units don't have. Has some good options for accessories. MTD (Yardman) were very helpful answering questions. The biggest job was unpacking unit from shipping crate. Lots of "dunnage" to take to the dump. Only assembly was installing steering wheel, seat, and hooking up battery. Great spring loaded seat, and foot speed control - no gears to shift. Heavy machine, and started on first crank of engine. Steers easily, and is big and strong enough to tow cart or other tow behind needs. Much larger than I expected, and will meet all my needs for the foreseeable future. Also purchased Delux tractor cover from Walmart, and it fits completely this size machine. Also, freight delivery was easy as driver lowered unit to ground with gate lift for me exactly where I wished for unpacking. Tip - remove all sides of shipping crate, remove any plastic shipping cover from under wheels and unit can be driven off base of crate if palet is slightly off center so it tips as tractor moves forward allowing front wheels to oass over crate braces and onto ground.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Great tractor

08/27/2011
By ,
Flint, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves the tractor but the delivery people are not dependable! They said they were going to call the night before the scheduled delivery time and give us a 4 hour window...they never called. I tried to call that night before but they were closed and called first thing in the morning and good thing too as we were not home and were out camping and found it was going to be that morning. We had already driven back home and arrived at 9:00 to be sure and it arrived at 10:20am. So just plan on being home the entire day they say they will deliver cuz chances are you won't get a call like they say! Other than that the tractor itself works great and my husband now LOVES to mow the lawn :D LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

DO NOT BUY this lawnmower!

07/28/2011
By ,
El Dorado AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst lawn mower ever! Had it a month and have had it worked on 2 times already. It won't start more than once. When it heats up it won't start back up. 2 flat tires, bad battery...the list goes on. Wish I would of never bought it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Best ever owned

03/14/2013
By ,
Albion, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zero problems in 3 years. One belt replaced. Love it and actually look forward to mowing, now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Good looking junk.

06/03/2011
By ,
Warren MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product received in non operating condition. Very poor factory support. My estimate to fix the problem is $25.00 part and 20 min. labor. But authorized service did not want to do it. I start thinking to return product to walmart. I will never buy any MTD product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Great buy for the money!

06/03/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used on 2 acres of level to slight slope land. This mower is exactly the same as the Murray 46", only the color is different and they are now all made by MTD. Our last Murray 42" lasted 12 years before the transmission finally gave out - the engine still cranked right up! Very happy with power and ease of use. Does not mow in reverse, but that's a safety feature. Foot pedal is definitely a plus with relatively quiet engine. No headlight switch, so they stay on all the time. We compared lots of mowers and have no regrets on this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard-Man Select 46" 19.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Automatic Drive System

Too many safety features for me!

04/15/2014
By ,
North Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once the dead, 13 month old battery (on a supposedly newmower) was addressed at the store, we took the mower home. Then I discovered that it in no way resembled the 2 previous Murray riders I've owned. Have to disengage blades to shift from forward to reverse, verus single pedal hydrostatic drives I was used to. IMO, this is a bad deal, but may not be a big deal to some users. Also, it has a governor that only allows it to barely outrun a snail. I give myself credit to decide how fast is safe to operate a lawn tractor, as opposed to some safety engineer at the factory. I expect it's longevity to be great as I've come to expect from Murray and Briggs-Straton when teamed up. We've only used the mower one time, so I may have to revise my 4 star rating by end of Summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.