Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

The First Years The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

The First Years Ignite Stroller, in the Black Stripe pattern, is easier for you to push and absolutely comfortable for your baby. The Ignite features the popular Euro-style frame combined with a contemporary design to deliver a durable stroller that you will love to use. Eight sturdy wheels with front locks and rear brakes offer a smooth, secure ride at all times on this lightweight baby stroller. Slip-resistant, tall handles offer convenient handling of the stroller. This 5-point harness stroller protects your baby from falling to the front. An adjustable and removable canopy keeps sunlight and UV rays at bay. The reclining system of the First Years stroller lets your little one snooze peacefully in a comfortable position, as you enjoy your walk or go about your shopping. You can stack your baby's essentials in the large upper storage console. The First Years Ignite Stroller, in the Black Stripe pattern, can be folded for easy storage and portability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%81 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 78 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Solid easy to use

10/09/2012
By ,
Boulder, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In my extensive search for a inexpensive "umbrella" stroller this model won out.
I bought both the Jet and the Ignite models. I decided on the Ignite model because it is just a tad larger and will accomodate my kiddo at least an extra 6mo-1year of growth. Both can hold up to 50lbs, but this model has a taller seat height. Personally seems a bit heavy for this type of stroller, but it is built well and should hold up to wear and tear.
Ignite:
-wider seat, 13 in
-will accomodate taller child
-rigid back support
Jet:
-lighter weight
-non rigid back support, seemed more comfortable
-narrower seat, 11in
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Just what we needed not too big or too little!

08/10/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are at a point with our almost 5 year son that we don't need a stroller and had gotten rid of the Jeep stroller that we had for almost 3 years at our garage sale. Then an unexpected chance to go to Disney World came up and we knew we would need a stroller to make it through the parks. We thought about renting at the parks, but remembered our last trip and the areas outside the park where our Jeep stroller came in handy. I researched strollers for bigger kids and this one seemed to fit the bill. Holds up to 50 lbs. The only drawback we've found it that my son is probably at the top of the height range (42") for this stroller and won't be in service long, but should recoop a good price in the resale market. In the long run, we won't spend near as much as renting and have the stroller on hand for times that we need it. Disney is in about a month. We test drove the stroller at the Mall. My son slept in it comfortably for about 45 minutes. It manuevered easily. It also had easy set up and didn't take up much room in our Chevy Cruze. Overall great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Great for on the go and the taller child.

06/01/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son turned 4 in Feb and is on the tall side of his age however he still needs a stroller for the mall, amusement parks and walks. His little legs just can't keep up and makes it easier to move faster. He fits in it fine wish it was a little taller in the seat to ground area for growing room but this is the best in the price range. Handles are at a great heighth, basket is easy to get to, the handle organizer is great, actually used the drink holder and the other pouch for drinks and worked great. The seat back it tall enough to go behind his head. Very easy to push and would definitely recommend to others. Very glad I purchased it instead of the Jet which is not as wide and had a shorter seat back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

It is an OK stroller...

06/04/2013
By ,
Bowie, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading many reviews, I decided this was the best fit for my 18 month old. I was looking for a stroller to transition from the Travel System. I purchased this stroller from Walmart.com with no issues. The stroller arrive and my husband put it together within 5 minutes (you just snap the wheels on). The glide/push is remarkably, the ease of turning also great. The construction material not so much. The backrest is just a flimsy plastic material covered in fabric. The 5 point harness, shoulder straps in particular have already come through the back slits (we have only used this product 3x). It is simply just threaded through the back and held on by the adjuster hook. The basket underneath will hold small items like a book bag, jackets/sweaters, extra sippy cups, snacks, etc. Although you will have to enter the basket from the side. The height of the handles are perfect (I am 5'6 and my husband is 5'10). All in all this stroller is just OK.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Best stroller owned

06/22/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this one after I tripped from carrying too much and fell on the wheels of my first and same stroller bending the wheels. My first stroller was the city chic one. Loved it. But it's handles had a foam like covering and tore off. This one is plastic and much better. Also the other difference was the back. This one is flat and hard. It seems to have more support for maybe a bigger child. No give in it at all. There is metal parts behind it preventing the give. So that also makes this one just a couple inches wider when folded. The city chic one had no backing to it yet was strong enough for my two year old. It was similar to the normal umbrella back or a hammock back. I actually preferred it better. But both are outstanding and I would certainly recommend this one or brand type. Fits easily wit all seats up in an expedition with plenty of extra room. My tall husband can also be comfortable pushing it. Folds like umbrella stroller just taller and sturdier.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

everything we needed it to be

08/07/2011
By ,
Porterville, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this with my 3 yr old 40lb grandson four straight days this last vacation. The turning wheels were great, no problem with multi-surfaces, I am 5'10" and didn't have to stoop over the handles. It reclined enough that he was comfortable when napping, the straps were easily adjusted for his size. Folded easily and was great for our trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Love it!!

06/07/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We absolutely love this stroller. It pushes and strolls so easily and folds up nicely like and umbrella stroller to fit in the trunk w/out taking up a lot of room. We have gone on many stroller rides, shopping trips etc just so my grandson can ride in the stroller. The cupholder and zipper pouch at the top are just an added bonus. I love being able to put my cell phone, keys, and even wallet in there and zipping it up to keep it safe. The storage on the bottom is not huge like on a full size stroller but more than enough room for a purse or diaper bag. I highly recommend this stroller to everyone. Oh and the sun visor covers nicely as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Great Economical Stroller!!

03/19/2012
By ,
Evansville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a stroller to take to Disney World for my almost 4 year old daughter, she weighs about 40 lbs.(Stroller is rated for 50 lbs.) I needed something that would hold her comfortably and also not be big and bulky, while also providing a little bit of extra space to carry other things. This stroller is perfect!! I found some reviews online and liked what I read, so I bought one myself. This was one of those purchases that was worth its weight in gold. If you've been to Disney, you should know that its at least $15/day for stroller rental and you have to turn them back in at the parks they're rented from. This stroller allowed us to pack extra items such as a camera and camcorder (small one) as well as umbrellas and a few other items. It folds up very tight and is pretty light. It moves and turns with ease. The seat reclines and it has a retractable shade/visor. My daughter loved it and we loved having it with us. It made a huge difference while walking, waiting on buses, in lines, etc. A truly great item especially for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Affordable big-kid stroller

02/14/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to take my 55 lb child to 4 days/nights of Disneyland fun. Walking in Disneyland by day is the plan but by night-time fireworks and getting back to the hotel the stroller is a life-saver. Folds umbrella style for the plane and shuttle bus. A little short height-wise for a tall big kid but serves our purposes. Wish we'd purchased it years ago when we really needed a day to day stroller.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Perfect for my 2 1/2 year old

06/03/2013
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that my daughter is over 2, it was time to get rid of the big clunky stroller. I wanted to get a umbrella stroller but one that was affordable and would last for a little bit. After a lot of searching and paying close attention to the detailsf each stroller, I finally picked the first years stroller. I don't love the black stripe but this color was on sale. The stroller is rated up to 50 pounds and with her only being 32 pounds, it should last for a while. So far we have been on two trips with the stroller. It's lightweight, easy to fold, semi-reclines, and has a large enough umbrella cover. The only disappointing thing about the stroller is the small undercarriage space and the ability to actually place it in the basket. I purchased a mommy hook for my purse and bags and only place small things underneath, which seems to work for what we use it for.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

So far, so good!

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this stroller after returning a cheap umbrella stroller for my 9 month old granddaughter. It is definitely a step up but still lightweight and easy to fold up and store. Have only used it a couple of times but I think it will work well as she gets older. Has many great features like swivel front wheels, harness strap, canopy and cup holder. Also a great height. Very pleased so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Worked pretty well for our disneyland vacation

05/24/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a stroller for my 5 month old (note: my 5 month old loves to sit up) for our vacation and he did great in this stroller. Tall handles are great for my tall husband (6'2") and I love the little cupholder/zipper compartment up top. It's also nice that it can seat up to 50 lbs, so when I was holding baby, big brother could take a break and ride in the stroller for a minute. And I'll be able to use it for the next few years as baby grows. It also folds down easily and is fairly compact for easy car storage. There are just a couple of things I'd change - the seat doesn't recline very far back, (which isn't necessary for the older kiddos, but would have been nice for my baby for napping) the understorage basket is very small and hard to get in and out of, and the sunshade doesn't have "complete coverage" as I remember reading - it folds in and out but at times i'd throw a blanket over my sleeping baby for better coverage.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

BUY THIS STROLLER, ITS AWSOME!!

05/25/2013
By ,
Miami Lakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have a fancy $300 stroller with all the bells & whistles that I used a lot when my son was a baby, but now that he's getting older (2 1/2) its too much to schlepp around for everyday use. I also have a cheap umbrella stroller which has been good for quickie uses but not really enough for longer outings. This new Ignite stroller is the best f both worlds! It is lightweight but sturdy, looks great, simple but has everything you need. I love it! The only thing that prevented me from giving the 5th star is that the storage on the bottom is difficult to access. It is a pain to get stuff in & out, but I'm still glad to have it. I thought I would miss the snack try but I dont even notice because overall I love this stroller! For the money, it cant be beat. Very pleased with this purchase & use it all the time!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Great stroller for travelling

09/17/2012
By ,
Wpg Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely pleased with this stroller. Used while traveling/ alot of walking. Lightweight & sturdy, not like the cheaper ones. My 6 yr old is on the taller side and fit it quite comfortably. Excellent value for money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe
08/12/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rated for 50lbs but the seat is low so the childs legs almost touch the ground and the wheels. My grandaughter is 38lbs but her feet hung way over.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Very easy to use

02/05/2014
By ,
Hesperia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some assembly required but very easy to put together. Much easier to use than a regular stroller. My son is secure in place, but still comfortable. Easy to take down and put up. As well very easy to push on many different terrain. Well worth the money. Very good storage under stroller. As well as up top. :-)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

perfect compact umbrella stroller holds 50lbs!!

08/19/2013
By ,
Parlier CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read reviews on different websites regarding this stroller. I had narrowed down my search to 3 umbrella strollers. I seen a YouTube video review and seen just how perfect this stroller was. it is sturdy and very easy to maneuver. it is light, easy to fold and unfold, has harness seatbelt with adjustable height which was a plus. the seat is wide and deep ( I have a large 1 1/2 year that is 38" and almost 40lbs) the stroller turned with ease and easy to move with one hand. I suggest this stroller. I had purchased the cosco comfy stroller it was lightweight and very inexpensive $25.00. i am 5'5" and I found it uncomfortable to walk hunched over it and kept kicking the frame. i also have the expedition jogging stroller by baby trend but it takes up SO much room in the trunk of my Mitsubishi Galant, its bulky, takes up lots of space in stores, aisles restaurants everywhere, heavy and easily topples over with a purse of bag hanging from the handle. the ignite stroller is the replacement. it is compact (not like the $15-19 umbrella strollers but you get what you pay for with those) i am in love with stroller it is the perfect compact umbrella type stroller. the fact that it holds up to 50 lbs was a major plus and selling point. definitely recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Love this stroller

01/19/2014
By ,
Honolulu,Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stroller after reading a lot of the reviews. It met all of my expectations. I bought it because I babysit my grandnephew. I was using an umbrella stroller which he would always fuss to be put in it or if he sat in it for 15 minutes he wanted out but he loves this one. No problem in getting him to stay in the stroller now.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Easy stroller

09/24/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the perfect stroller for us. The handles are at just the right place to make 6'4" husband and 5'6" wife happy. The ride is smooth for little one and we loved the many color options. The storage under the seat is nicely sized though it is a little tough to get to with cross bars in the back of stroller, it is easier to get to when the child is not in the seat. I heard a lot of complaints about the size of the canopy, so I was expecting something much smaller than it's actual size. It provided adequate shade, anything too much bigger and it would make it harder for our 17 month old to see out.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The First Years - Ignite Stroller, Black Stripe

Good product, expecially for price

03/16/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about purchasing this product because of how inexpensive it was but after reading the reviews I went for it. I think its great. Its light weight and easy to manuver however, the stroller drifts the left all the time so I can't push it one handed. Its not the end of the world so I am happy overall.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next