Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

The First Years The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

As your child grows, you will continue to get use from The First Years True Fit Car Seat. The interior dimensions of this car seat are large and comfortable. In fact, with the cushioned seat pads and roomier seat, it may be hard to convince your child to get out of the car. This convertible car seat delivers all of the standard features from The First Years' original True Fit Car Seat, along with several new features.
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation93%28 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

AMAZING!

12/10/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This carseat is very versitile I have a Mini van and it fits amazing and really easy to transfer when I need to put it into my moms suv and my boyfriends tahoe (rear-facing). I love that the headrest is removable and my son wont need it until he is 18 months because hes a little shorter than average. Also the fabric is amazing and soft and easily cleanable. the straps are nice and thin but still sturdy. It has a level so you know your in the right spot when installing, making it really easy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

BEST CAR SEAT ON THE MARKET!!

06/29/2012
By ,
Mairon, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this exact car seat in a different design for my daughter when she was 11 months old, a year and a half ago. She is now 2 and I am pregnant again and I will DEFINITELY buy this car seat for my new child! I love this pattern because we are waiting to find out the gender and this will work perfect!
The reason I say this is the best car seat on the market is because I did months of research before choosing on a car seat when I bought my daughters. This car seat is side impact tested and very safe. I LOVE LOVE LOVE how easy this car seat is to handle! It is a tad bit heavy but if you're just putting it in the car then you'll be fine. The head rest is awesome with a handle on it and easy to take off and put on. The straps blew me and my family away at how easy they are to adjust! Just pull the tabs and move, no rethreading, literally takes about 10 seconds. The buckles are safe and easy enough for adults hands (my little hands and my dad's big hands both maneuver these buckles easily) but not too easy for little hands (like when my 2 year old screams and pushes and pulls in every attempt to get out but can't get the buckles undone...she loves this car seat "MY CAR SEAT" but hates being in the car for more than 15 minutes. period.). The straps adjust very easily with the bottom pull adjustment, although this might be hard to do in rear facing, it's still a very easy process in forward facing. My two most favorite features are how EASY it is to switch from rear facing to forward facing with a simple flip of the big lever thing on the bottom and it's done. Just turn it around!!! The very, very best is how well the latch system and seat belt system work together. Whether rear or forward facing the seat has built in latches that hold the buckle in place, VERY well and when coupled with the latch system and done tightly the seat is put very well in place. I have never had a wreck with my child but I have no doubt that were that to happen, she would be very safe and secure. Which is why my new child will get the same treatment :)
Did I mention this car seat is amazingly easy to wash?! Simply has 4 straps to unhook in the back and then just snaps on & off the base of the seat! I machine wash and put it in the dryer, still works perfect for me after a year and a half!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Awsome Seat!

03/02/2012
By ,
Elizabeth, co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent about 6 months reading reviews and going into stores looking for the car seat that had everything i wanted for my little ones. This is a great seat, its comfortable and fits great in my car. I have a Toyota camry wich is a smaller car so i wanted something that was big enough for my 2 boys (both very large for their age) but would still leave room for the front seats to scoot back. I wanted something that had added safety features for cars that were made before the latch system was built in and this was it! I love the seat belt clamp! It made installing this seat forward faceing a snap! Although rear faceing was very tricky it was hard to get the belt lined up with the clamps because of the way the seat needs to be angled, but when you do get it in (2 people makes this way easer!) its nice and snugg and with the removable head rest i can have the front seat back all the way! The only thing i dont like is that you have to leave the latch system clamps on the seat there is no way of removeing them inless you cut them off (wich i did NOT) so the belts just kinda hang there. Its a small negative to all the great things about this seat
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Baby and Momma Loves it.

07/30/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent so much time trying to find the perfect car seat for my little one. He is 7 months old (30 inches and 19.5lbs) and already too tall for his infant carrier. This was a breeze to install. Everything is color coded so you cant go wrong. I had to use a pool noodle to get it at the correct angle rear facing. If not at the right angle it will be difficult to adjust the straps.
The seat is so comfortable and the material is breathable. My son used to sweat so much in his infant carrier because of the plush material. This is getting him through the Atlanta summer without sweating excessively.
This car seat has the highest rating for safety and ease of use from the NHTSA. It rear faces up to 35lb which is also highly recommended. I Just cant say enough good things about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 5 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

great find

06/06/2011
By ,
colonial heights, va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent many weeks trying to find a convertible car seat for my son. This is my first child so everything is new and foreign to me when it comes to baby products and I wanted to invest my money wisely in something safe, durable and that would last a good stretch of time for my growing boy. I knew this car seat was the one at first sight. It's roomy and comfy, my kid really can't help but fall asleep as soon as he gets in it. The set up was incredibly easy. It's color coded so you know where exactly youre suppose to position the seat belt, whether its rear or front facing. The only thing is it is a little bit big. In my Toyota corolla I can't push or recline my seat all the way back, I'm short, so that's not a big problem for me, but it could be for drivers that have a small car and are taller and need more room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 6 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green
08/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a Honda Civic and my main concern when looking for a car seat was finding one that would easily fit rear facing in our car. That's why I was so excited when I read that the top head rest portion detaches which makes it more compact (and my 10 month old doesn't look so much like she's swimming in a guge seat!). I also love the no-re-thread harnes adjustment feature. Another big feature for me is that it has such a high weight limit so I know she won't easily out-grow it. It was super easy to install. Love the material and the black and green color. Over all couldn't be more pleased with our choice!
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 7 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Great Car seat

05/30/2011
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child is 9 months and over 22 lbs. the instructions on this seat were a little misleading so i called the mftr. and they said as long as his head does not reach the top of the seat then the top part did not need to be attached. I have a large SUV and this seat would not fit rear facing with the top attachment. This car seat was one of the few that had the option to detach the upper part to make it easier to fit rear facing in any car. Love the color, padding, ease of moving the straps, and ease of installation. Be sure it is installed at the correct angle b/c if not the straps will be difficult to tighten b/c it will be jammed b/w the seats.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

love this car seat

05/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this car seat so much with my daughter that I bought two more for the next baby that is due in july. excellent safety ratings. very easy to install once you have read the instructions. will actually fit a newborn baby correctly and doesn't seem to big. even fits well into my husbands honda fit (very tiny car). Would and have recommended this seat to others. money spent is well worth it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Bought same carseat second time around

01/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not used this particular carseat yet, but I am currently using an older version (Misty Morning) for my 1.5 yr old. I have not been able to find any carseat that compares with this one. I used it from day 1 to take Baby home from the hospital. The removable headrest was/is really the selling point for me. I had trouble in the beginning figuring out how to install it but now I can remove/install in any vehicle no problem. The newer version has added props (for lack of better word) to help you get the right angle which was my problem at first so I'm stoked that that problem has been taken care of. The other new addition is a ball-indicator for the angle as opposed to the sticker line of the older version. It has one of the largest weight-spans especially when you compare the price. The only problem we have is sometimes the straps get folded-in where they thread through the bottom of the seat; it is annoying but is easily fixed. I don't know if this has been fixed on the newer version yet or not? This carseat will last us until it is Booster-seat time: major perk!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Great car seat with a great price!!

10/08/2012
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started my search for my daughter's convertible car seat I started looking at the Baby Bargins book I had that rated things. This car seat had an A rating and when looking around the internet about it I also saw good reviews/ratings online too!!! I bought this car seat for my daughter who is 8 1/2 months. I tried her in it once already to make sure she liked it and it fit her well. She loved it even fell asleep within 5 minutes of being in it!! I also have used this car seat on my 3 year old niece and she loved sitting in it which made me happy that my daughter would still be able to sit in it and love it at 3 even!! It is a little big but I have a big SUV so the space isn't a problem with us. I would highly recommend this car seat to anyone!! It has plenty of room to allow your child to grow and still fit in it. I LOVE that it has a lock system to hold the belts or latch system securely knowing your car seat won't ever loosen!! And to never have to manually move the straps again won't hurt my feelings either! I love the whole package that comes with this car seat!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

difficult to install!

08/07/2011
By ,
Sautee, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This seat (rear-facing) did not fit in our Mazda Tribute or GMC Sonoma crew cab . It did, however, fit in my mother-in-law's GMC Envoy. When rear-facing, the buttons that secure the cover cannot be accessed after it is installed. You must have the seat cover off to install it properly, so that makes installation a real pain! Also the release button to loosen and tighten the harness is virtually inaccessible while in a rear-facing position and is very difficult to get to. The seat seems comfy and durable, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 12 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

So happy I went with this!

03/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My decision was between this and the Radian. Sooooo glad I went with this seat. I'm a massage therapist and have to bring my table with me sometimes....which means the seat needs to be easy to transfer easily. IT DOES. I was so overwhelmed with reviews, laws, regulations, ect, on different carseats. This one seemed to get fantastic ratings overall.....was a few dollars more than we'd planned on spending. But worth it! My 10 month old seems so comfy and safe. Glad we went with this!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 13 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Great seat for a small back seat car

07/05/2012
By ,
Orlando
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have a Volvo xc90 and had a hard time finding a rear facing seat for my 3 month old. The infant seats wouldn't allow us to put the front seats back at all, but this seat provides the flexibility to take part of the headrest off to fit in a smaller car! It is great, only wish it came with the infant head support, but that can be purchased 3rd party.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Safe, comfortable and affordable!

02/07/2012
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is magnificent!! We own a Combi convertible car seat for my 2 1/2 year old and so I had high standards when I set out for find one for my youngest (8 months) who has outgrown his infant seat. I didn't really want to spend the extra $$ on another Combi if I didn't have to. After reading tons of reviews online I thought I would give this one a try and I am so glad that I did!! This car seat is every bit as sturdy and well built as our combi. The seat back coming off is a great feature and makes installing it rearfacing so much easier without the added bulk, and makes it easier for the car seat to grow with the baby. This seat has lots of padding making longer car rides much more bearable. The cover snaps on and off so easily for cleaning and the no thread adjustable straps are pure genius. Rear facing installation was simple and once in the car seat felt incredibly safe and didn't budge at all. The ONLY thing that left room for improvement on this seat is the recline. I picked this seat specifically for that feature over others I was looking at. The recline on this seat is barely enough to call it recline. Fortunately the seat sits at a little bit of a recline already so when you add the little that it will allow it is enough for longer car rides without your baby's head flopping forward, and I tested it front facing with my 2 1/2 year old to be sure it would be ok in the future and it was. I would have liked to see a better recline but wasn't willing to spend $100 more for that feature alone like our combi. Overall I am extremely satisfied with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Good Value

07/30/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice car seat for the price. I wish there was some cushion or adjustable neck rests where the head goes. My 10 month old daughter's head flops too much when she falls asleep because her head can't touch the sides of the car seat. We ended up buying some neck support pillows to help with that problem. The removable head extender is nice. With it on, it takes up a lot of space in the back of my Toyota Tacoma Double Cab. The car seat won't fit in the middle as rear-facing, and doesn't give the passenger sitting in front of the car seat much leg room. I think this is a problem that we will have with any car convertible car seat, however. The tightening strap in the front can be a little tough to access with it rear-facing, but it is still a handy feature.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Safety Over Functionality

02/17/2012
By ,
Eugene, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the top rated convertible car seat by the NHTS. That is the primary reason I purchased it. However, in a rear facing installation, the 'lever' to release the tension on the belt (to tighten your baby\toddler into the seat fully) is WAY too low. This means you have to force your hand down between the carseat and the back of the chair it's installed in, which is not very functional, practical and certainly not easy to get a tight install without a lot of effort. It is a two hand job for sure....
Once you make the switch to forward facing and this is no longer an issue at all. At that point, I would give it 5 stars. But come on guys... really, you say this can go either way, did you test it rear facing in *any* vehicle?
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

LOVE IT!

03/23/2012
By ,
Cranberry Township, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the pink butterfly one for my daughter when she was out growing her travel system (the last model). I researched for months on end to ensure I found the safest car seat I could find. Because of our family recreational activity of taking our Jeeps off road safety was the highest priority. Because this car seat not only possesses the LATCH system but also the belt lock-off system makes for the most secure car seat I have ever known of. I sit in it (with my knees) to compress the cushion before I lock the belt in and it will not move; not even a centimeter!! I actually purchased the black and green one for our second car seat so we do not have to move around just the one. Yes it is large. In my Wrangler it takes up over half the seat but it is a small price to pay for safety! I give it five stars because of all this but one down side is the inside under where she sits... it will hold all kinds of goodies and if not cleaned out it can get a bit gross! Still SO worth buying!! Plain and simple... its worth every penny and I paid about double for the first one that I did the second! I think its better than the others that go for more; not just for the safety but also the ease of use- the cover comes off easy for washing and there are no strange steps for any adjustments because it all just slides and locks in place. If I would have known about this before I would have had this for my daughter as a newborn because it is WAY safer than the Eddy Bauer we had for her!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

Comfy but tricky!

05/31/2012
By ,
Central Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basically, what everyone says on their reviews is true. You MUST read the entire manual before trying to install it! Also, there is absolutely NO WAY to tighten the straps when it is locked in place, rear facing. However, it looks to be roomy & comfy for our 8 month old! We actually bought 2 of these, one for each of our vehicles. In my husband's truck, I don't think we could get enough phone books or towels under it to really tilt back. She only rides in that one for about 2 minutes every day, so not too big of a deal! Sits just fine in my Traverse.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green
11/06/2012
By ,
Mound City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughter's 1st Birthday to transition her from the carseat/carrier she was outgrowing, but still wanted the rearfacing option. I like the fabric and feel and roominess of it, and she seems to be very comfortable in it! My only complaint is I wish the cupholder sat alittle higher, but like that it can be put on either side. Also, was a bit disappointed that what appears to be a lime green trim color is really more of a yellow/green, but not a big deal. Overall, very good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for The First Years - True Fit Convertible Car Seat, Abstract O's, Black and Green

I absolutely love this seat!!

10/28/2012
By ,
Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this car seat for my son when he was 5 months old. This was 3 years ago and he's still in it. We absolutely love it! Great fit, roomy, easy to install and fits nice and snug in my honda pilot. We just unsnap the snaps, throw the cover in the washing machine on gentle cycle, and hang dry when it needs to be cleaned. Bought a 2nd seat for my daughter a few years later, love it just as much. It's definitely worth every penny. Plus, large enough for them to be in it for several years to come!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next