Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Mainstays Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Cut out on the extra light entering your office or home with the Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds. The Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds provide privacy and light control with 1" room darkening slats crafted of PVC. The off-white window blind comes with an adjustable cord tilter, which lets you change the alignment to suit the need. These durable, lightweight blinds are easy to install. These Off-White Mini Blinds offer a perfect solution to cut down extra sunlight during bright afternoons in your apartment. The blinds enhance your privacy by blocking the view through the window. Enjoy watching movie on your TV or projector using the Mainstays blinds to cover up your windows. The adjustable mini blinds are available in various sizes to suit your requirements. The package comes with all the needed hardware and setting up the blinds is an extremely easy task.
Average Customer Rating:
4.159 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(433 Reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
111
3 stars
32
2 stars
27
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation87%375 out of 433reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 170 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
111
3 stars
32
2 stars
27
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Does the job - inexpensive and instant solution

09/05/2011
By ,
Chula Vista, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using some temporary coated paper blinds with adhesive at the top to replace some existing metal mini blinds that I could not manage cleaning. These fit pefectly in the existing hardware. Bonus since the window casements are plaster, cement or the like. I got the 46" size light filtering first for $9 but too short even though I followed the box measurements and no problem with returning them. The 47" room darkening fit just right, my window opening measured 46 5/8.
They seem and feel cheap... some sort of vinyl plastic not sure how long they will actually last in the California sun, room faces the east, but for under $20 they meet the need. I was replacing some sort of coated paper temporary ones from target that fall apart in the sun.
The valance single slat to cover up the hardware came broken -- slit about 1" from end. I did not have to use hardware so no comment on installation from starting from the beginning. They do seem to darken the room but not like blackout curtains -- not sure what is difference between light filtering and darkening except price. I picked them up at the store, I didn't prepay and order on line. Looking at the instructions, pictures and words -- good to have both.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Disappointed by color and room darkening ability

11/25/2013
By ,
Panama City, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought these blinds to replace the Mainstays alabaster light-filtering blinds on two east-facing windows in my living room that let in too much bright morning sun. I wanted blinds of a similar color that would match the light-filtering blinds on an adjacent (northern) wall's windows but block out more of the light. Unfortunately, these room-darkening blinds don't appear to keep the sunlight out any better than the light-filtering type. And the off-white color of the blinds looks a mottled pinkish beige when the sun is shining on them. The pictures I'm including with this review were taken around 7am. Both sets of blinds are installed in the same room on side by side east-facing windows.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Disappointed by color and room darkening ability
Posted 05/03/2014
Thank you so much for your review. From the two pictures you posted, the off-white mini-blind does look pinkish-beige. What I don't understand is why don't they off the room-darkening mini-blind in the alabaster color too? That's what I'm looking for also. The room darkening blinds do block more light than the light-filtering ones. I accidentally bought a light-filtering blind for an upstairs window and couldn't believe how bright the light came in through it. My fault as I didn't notice it said light-filtering. I thought I grabbed the room-darkening. I found alabaster vinyl mini-blinds at JC Penney but they are ON SALE at $24.99 and $25.99. I might have to at least order the two for my kitchen since they are an odd size, 33" wide. I guess mini-blinds are on the way out because I used to be able to buy them everywhere and cheap. I used to wash them sometimes once maybe but then it was just more convenient to buy new ones and replace them in 2 minutes! They were cheap so it was worth it for me to do that. Now I can't even find alabaster mini-blinds that don't cost a lot. I liked Mainstay too. I bought Bali or was it Levolor? last year through Blinds Galore and they didn't work well at all. I need to replace them. They even refunded my money because they wouldn't even go up and down correctly and they would be lop-sided. I wish these didn't look pink...I'd buy them in a heartbeat!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Great blinds, horrible packaging!

01/01/2014
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do like the mini-blinds I ordered but will NEVER order from Walmart again. I ordered 5 mini-blinds. The actual package is about 5" wide x 24" long x 2" deep. Imagine my surprise when there was knock on my door from the delivery man saying I had 5 BIG boxes. Big doesn't even begin to describe it. Each box was about 18" side x 26" long x 24" high.
Inside each box was a long, crumpled strip of brown packaging paper--long meaning extended through my dining room and living room and then some. Inside, at the very bottom of the big box, was a little box with the mini-blinds.
What a waste! Not only did you waste the big box (not needed--my other set of wider mini-blinds came in their own box and were just fine), you wasted all that paper and I'm sure it cost more to ship the big box.
I was left with lots of material to unpack and recycle. Very disappointed!!! Like I said--no more Walmart ordering for me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Worst. Blinds. Ever.

12/17/2011
By ,
Lexington, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased these blinds so that we could darken our room because of a 3rd shift worker. First of all, they don't darken the room. If you can get them installed without them breaking, that is. We had to also get room darkening curtains because of the light that was let through. After only a month or so, the blinds are warped! One set has melted so badly that part of the ends are folded completely downward. The other set is melted and saggy. They are placed on the side of the house that faces the sun all day, so I'm not sure how they'd be on the shaded side. So after wasting money on these, we'll be purchasing wooden blinds instead. Don't waste your money on these cheap things...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

These Blinds are Just Right

10/15/2013
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an easy way to allow light in during the day and to provide privacy at night. These blinds perform these functions nicely. I can even provide light through the top half of the windows during the day while still ensuring some privacy on the lower half of my first floor windows by lightly “brushing down” the slats on the bottom half to close them– perfect!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

excellent blinds for the price

05/26/2014
By ,
Tampa, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat the price for these nice blinds. They are not the most impressive or fancy. They don't completely blacken the room. But they install easy and look neat and clean, and can be dressed up with sheers or valances. The one I bought today is my third, having bought a pair (at a higher price elsewhere). I like the vinyl, which looks a lot more upscale than shiny aluminum blinds (eek). Ivory and white are nice neutral colors, but I'll bet they would sell more if one could get these in other shades like forest green, dove gray, oak brown, and other neutral colors.
Installation is very easy and user friendly. I was replacing the same blind, so I just had to slide one out and put the other in. But I put in the brackets when I first installed them. The instructions are clear, they have photos, and a drill and screw driver and you are good to go. Most come in common sizes. These blinds also are great if you want more privacy at night but don't want anything to overpower nice sheers that are the main window treatment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

good replacement

07/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for the worn and dirty blinds I previously had.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Room darkening blinds

05/10/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not sure why these are advertised as "room darkening" blinds. They are not.
We purchased 2 of these for the glass doors on our master bedroom.
When anyone walks down the hallway at night the light would shine thru the drapes and wake us up.
The light still shines through-but doesn't wake us as often. They are flimsy and don't close tight enough to be darkening and the light even comes thru the area where the cables to control the blinds are.
They are inexpensive standard mini blinds.
We will never open them, so I expect them to hold up for years. If you put them in a room where you would actually open or close them, I think they would break easily.
They were so inexpensive that they were worth every penny to us for covering the glass in the doors. But, I would not reccommend them as room darkening blinds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

they are exactly what i wanted

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Gets the job done

06/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were replacement blinds in a house I'm renting so I was able to easily pop the new ones in the same hardware as the previous blinds. For the price, they are a great value. Just not super durable against children and pets.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

economical blinds do the job

06/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These are not high quality, as you might expect from the price, but they do the job in a room where they will not be abused by rough treatment.
So......not high quality or durability......but good enough for my needs.
One negative thing I need to mention..... the screws provided have too thick of a head on them! The blinds would not fit in the bracket :-( We had to use our own screws that had flatter heads.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Great blinds

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The blinds are purrrrfect and do the job well. My window is 6' wide but sliders so butted together they are great. Can open half at a time with one side of widow openl
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Blinds

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love them
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Room Darkening? I don't think so.

06/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I didn't expect much, and that's what I got. Room dimming maybe. Not darkening.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Not very room darkening

06/11/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Only slighty room darkening. Some of the slats look a different color on the interior side but were the same consistent color on the exterior side. If you expect ROOM DARKENING don't buy these; better off with metal blinds for true darkening effect. I like the color and kept them even though I hoped they would keep out more light I was more concerned with the outward appearance. I had to cut them to fit the window as well, they were not an exact fit.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Looks great!

05/25/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You pay for what you get? Well I think that isn't the case here. These window blinds look great and are not expensive at all! You would think that if they weren't expensive you wouldn't be satisfied with the item, well I really like how they look & would purchase them again for the rest of my house.
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

not as dark as I thought

06/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are ok but they are not as darkening as I needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Mini Blinds

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are great! As good as the ones you pay $30.00 for!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Great value

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These mini blinds did the trick at an affordable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Blinds

06/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These blinds are really nice not cheap looking and would buy more if needed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 356 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next