Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Mainstays Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Cut out on the extra light entering your office or home with the Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds. The Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds provide privacy and light control with 1" room darkening slats crafted of PVC. The off-white window blind comes with an adjustable cord tilter, which lets you change the alignment to suit the need. These durable, lightweight blinds are easy to install. These Off-White Mini Blinds offer a perfect solution to cut down extra sunlight during bright afternoons in your apartment. The blinds enhance your privacy by blocking the view through the window. Enjoy watching movie on your TV or projector using the Mainstays blinds to cover up your windows. The adjustable mini blinds are available in various sizes to suit your requirements. The package comes with all the needed hardware and setting up the blinds is an extremely easy task.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(365 Reviews) 287
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
98
3 stars
26
2 stars
22
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation87%318 out of 365reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 161 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
98
3 stars
26
2 stars
22
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Great blinds, horrible packaging!

01/01/2014
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do like the mini-blinds I ordered but will NEVER order from Walmart again. I ordered 5 mini-blinds. The actual package is about 5" wide x 24" long x 2" deep. Imagine my surprise when there was knock on my door from the delivery man saying I had 5 BIG boxes. Big doesn't even begin to describe it. Each box was about 18" side x 26" long x 24" high.
Inside each box was a long, crumpled strip of brown packaging paper--long meaning extended through my dining room and living room and then some. Inside, at the very bottom of the big box, was a little box with the mini-blinds.
What a waste! Not only did you waste the big box (not needed--my other set of wider mini-blinds came in their own box and were just fine), you wasted all that paper and I'm sure it cost more to ship the big box.
I was left with lots of material to unpack and recycle. Very disappointed!!! Like I said--no more Walmart ordering for me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Disappointed by color and room darkening ability

11/25/2013
By ,
Panama City, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought these blinds to replace the Mainstays alabaster light-filtering blinds on two east-facing windows in my living room that let in too much bright morning sun. I wanted blinds of a similar color that would match the light-filtering blinds on an adjacent (northern) wall's windows but block out more of the light. Unfortunately, these room-darkening blinds don't appear to keep the sunlight out any better than the light-filtering type. And the off-white color of the blinds looks a mottled pinkish beige when the sun is shining on them. The pictures I'm including with this review were taken around 7am. Both sets of blinds are installed in the same room on side by side east-facing windows.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Disappointed by color and room darkening ability
Posted 05/03/2014
Thank you so much for your review. From the two pictures you posted, the off-white mini-blind does look pinkish-beige. What I don't understand is why don't they off the room-darkening mini-blind in the alabaster color too? That's what I'm looking for also. The room darkening blinds do block more light than the light-filtering ones. I accidentally bought a light-filtering blind for an upstairs window and couldn't believe how bright the light came in through it. My fault as I didn't notice it said light-filtering. I thought I grabbed the room-darkening. I found alabaster vinyl mini-blinds at JC Penney but they are ON SALE at $24.99 and $25.99. I might have to at least order the two for my kitchen since they are an odd size, 33" wide. I guess mini-blinds are on the way out because I used to be able to buy them everywhere and cheap. I used to wash them sometimes once maybe but then it was just more convenient to buy new ones and replace them in 2 minutes! They were cheap so it was worth it for me to do that. Now I can't even find alabaster mini-blinds that don't cost a lot. I liked Mainstay too. I bought Bali or was it Levolor? last year through Blinds Galore and they didn't work well at all. I need to replace them. They even refunded my money because they wouldn't even go up and down correctly and they would be lop-sided. I wish these didn't look pink...I'd buy them in a heartbeat!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Does the job - inexpensive and instant solution

09/05/2011
By ,
Chula Vista, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using some temporary coated paper blinds with adhesive at the top to replace some existing metal mini blinds that I could not manage cleaning. These fit pefectly in the existing hardware. Bonus since the window casements are plaster, cement or the like. I got the 46" size light filtering first for $9 but too short even though I followed the box measurements and no problem with returning them. The 47" room darkening fit just right, my window opening measured 46 5/8.
They seem and feel cheap... some sort of vinyl plastic not sure how long they will actually last in the California sun, room faces the east, but for under $20 they meet the need. I was replacing some sort of coated paper temporary ones from target that fall apart in the sun.
The valance single slat to cover up the hardware came broken -- slit about 1" from end. I did not have to use hardware so no comment on installation from starting from the beginning. They do seem to darken the room but not like blackout curtains -- not sure what is difference between light filtering and darkening except price. I picked them up at the store, I didn't prepay and order on line. Looking at the instructions, pictures and words -- good to have both.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Worst. Blinds. Ever.

12/17/2011
By ,
Lexington, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased these blinds so that we could darken our room because of a 3rd shift worker. First of all, they don't darken the room. If you can get them installed without them breaking, that is. We had to also get room darkening curtains because of the light that was let through. After only a month or so, the blinds are warped! One set has melted so badly that part of the ends are folded completely downward. The other set is melted and saggy. They are placed on the side of the house that faces the sun all day, so I'm not sure how they'd be on the shaded side. So after wasting money on these, we'll be purchasing wooden blinds instead. Don't waste your money on these cheap things...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

These Blinds are Just Right

10/15/2013
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an easy way to allow light in during the day and to provide privacy at night. These blinds perform these functions nicely. I can even provide light through the top half of the windows during the day while still ensuring some privacy on the lower half of my first floor windows by lightly “brushing down” the slats on the bottom half to close them– perfect!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

excellent blinds for the price

05/26/2014
By ,
Tampa, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat the price for these nice blinds. They are not the most impressive or fancy. They don't completely blacken the room. But they install easy and look neat and clean, and can be dressed up with sheers or valances. The one I bought today is my third, having bought a pair (at a higher price elsewhere). I like the vinyl, which looks a lot more upscale than shiny aluminum blinds (eek). Ivory and white are nice neutral colors, but I'll bet they would sell more if one could get these in other shades like forest green, dove gray, oak brown, and other neutral colors.
Installation is very easy and user friendly. I was replacing the same blind, so I just had to slide one out and put the other in. But I put in the brackets when I first installed them. The instructions are clear, they have photos, and a drill and screw driver and you are good to go. Most come in common sizes. These blinds also are great if you want more privacy at night but don't want anything to overpower nice sheers that are the main window treatment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Affordable and easy to hang

11/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cant beat the price. I ordered vinyl blinds to cover window area of door to facilitate light control so needed better hold down brackets to secure bottom than the two that came with it. One broke when installing but expecting a replacement in the mail so no worries. If your looking for vinyl blinds buy these, they do the job affordably.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Room darkening blinds

05/10/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not sure why these are advertised as "room darkening" blinds. They are not.
We purchased 2 of these for the glass doors on our master bedroom.
When anyone walks down the hallway at night the light would shine thru the drapes and wake us up.
The light still shines through-but doesn't wake us as often. They are flimsy and don't close tight enough to be darkening and the light even comes thru the area where the cables to control the blinds are.
They are inexpensive standard mini blinds.
We will never open them, so I expect them to hold up for years. If you put them in a room where you would actually open or close them, I think they would break easily.
They were so inexpensive that they were worth every penny to us for covering the glass in the doors. But, I would not reccommend them as room darkening blinds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

No box, broken blind

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have actually purchased these blinds in my local Walmart store and they have been great, unfortunately they were out of stock in store. Therefore I resulted to ordering online. When I received the blind it was in a postal box as usual, but when I opened it was not in the regular manufacturer box. It was simply a blind with instructions, a blind broken in half that didn't look like the mainstay blinds already in my home.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

ROOM-DARKENING MINI BLINDS

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love not waking up to daylight shining in my eyes. I get extra sleep I need, since these blinds block daylight very well. Great product that I would recommend to everyone who needs their full forty winks!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

They do what they say.

06/28/2014
By ,
Clayton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These blinds are billed as "room-darkening" and they do an excellent job of blocking most of outside light. Great for the bedroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

nice

11/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

gets the job done

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had yo buy off white because white was discontinued: ( they hung up quick because the old brackets were universal so there was no need to use the ones included. The drawstring is very long so it needed to be knotted up for safety. They do darken your room depending on the way you close them. They get the job done
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Blinds

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this are nice blinds for a good price we put them in the kids playroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

great for the price

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the sun shines bright through the windows now excellent choice glad I purchased these blinds
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

No frills, performs it's function

07/04/2011
By ,
Oak Park, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just moved to an apartment. Needed inexpensive blinds for privacy and blocking afternoon sun. These did the trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Looks great!

05/25/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You pay for what you get? Well I think that isn't the case here. These window blinds look great and are not expensive at all! You would think that if they weren't expensive you wouldn't be satisfied with the item, well I really like how they look & would purchase them again for the rest of my house.
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

great !!

11/02/2014
By ,
madison, maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These blinds are a great value, plus they were easy to install. Just love them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Darkens room somewhat

03/04/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This blind works somewhat, if you're needing it to say, darken a room to sleep, it will work fine but if you're buying it to block light from a window that shines on your TV . . . don't bother, get some insulated curtains instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Blinds are great!!

10/24/2014
By ,
Duncan, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The blinds were just what I wanted. I could not purchase the off-white in the room-darkening blinds at the store. Eventually, we plan to get metal or wood blinds, but for now, (we just moved) these are great!! I rated them "good" only because they are plastic, not because there is anything I don't like.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 288 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next