Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Mainstays Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Cut out on the extra light entering your office or home with the Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds. The Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds provide privacy and light control with 1" room darkening slats crafted of PVC. The off-white window blind comes with an adjustable cord tilter, which lets you change the alignment to suit the need. These durable, lightweight blinds are easy to install. These Off-White Mini Blinds offer a perfect solution to cut down extra sunlight during bright afternoons in your apartment. The blinds enhance your privacy by blocking the view through the window. Enjoy watching movie on your TV or projector using the Mainstays blinds to cover up your windows. The adjustable mini blinds are available in various sizes to suit your requirements. The package comes with all the needed hardware and setting up the blinds is an extremely easy task.
Average Customer Rating:
4.204 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(319 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
175
4 stars
85
3 stars
24
2 stars
19
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation87%278 out of 319reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 151 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
175
4 stars
85
3 stars
24
2 stars
19
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Disappointed by color and room darkening ability

11/25/2013
By ,
Panama City, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought these blinds to replace the Mainstays alabaster light-filtering blinds on two east-facing windows in my living room that let in too much bright morning sun. I wanted blinds of a similar color that would match the light-filtering blinds on an adjacent (northern) wall's windows but block out more of the light. Unfortunately, these room-darkening blinds don't appear to keep the sunlight out any better than the light-filtering type. And the off-white color of the blinds looks a mottled pinkish beige when the sun is shining on them. The pictures I'm including with this review were taken around 7am. Both sets of blinds are installed in the same room on side by side east-facing windows.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Disappointed by color and room darkening ability
Posted 05/03/2014
Thank you so much for your review. From the two pictures you posted, the off-white mini-blind does look pinkish-beige. What I don't understand is why don't they off the room-darkening mini-blind in the alabaster color too? That's what I'm looking for also. The room darkening blinds do block more light than the light-filtering ones. I accidentally bought a light-filtering blind for an upstairs window and couldn't believe how bright the light came in through it. My fault as I didn't notice it said light-filtering. I thought I grabbed the room-darkening. I found alabaster vinyl mini-blinds at JC Penney but they are ON SALE at $24.99 and $25.99. I might have to at least order the two for my kitchen since they are an odd size, 33" wide. I guess mini-blinds are on the way out because I used to be able to buy them everywhere and cheap. I used to wash them sometimes once maybe but then it was just more convenient to buy new ones and replace them in 2 minutes! They were cheap so it was worth it for me to do that. Now I can't even find alabaster mini-blinds that don't cost a lot. I liked Mainstay too. I bought Bali or was it Levolor? last year through Blinds Galore and they didn't work well at all. I need to replace them. They even refunded my money because they wouldn't even go up and down correctly and they would be lop-sided. I wish these didn't look pink...I'd buy them in a heartbeat!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Does the job - inexpensive and instant solution

09/05/2011
By ,
Chula Vista, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using some temporary coated paper blinds with adhesive at the top to replace some existing metal mini blinds that I could not manage cleaning. These fit pefectly in the existing hardware. Bonus since the window casements are plaster, cement or the like. I got the 46" size light filtering first for $9 but too short even though I followed the box measurements and no problem with returning them. The 47" room darkening fit just right, my window opening measured 46 5/8.
They seem and feel cheap... some sort of vinyl plastic not sure how long they will actually last in the California sun, room faces the east, but for under $20 they meet the need. I was replacing some sort of coated paper temporary ones from target that fall apart in the sun.
The valance single slat to cover up the hardware came broken -- slit about 1" from end. I did not have to use hardware so no comment on installation from starting from the beginning. They do seem to darken the room but not like blackout curtains -- not sure what is difference between light filtering and darkening except price. I picked them up at the store, I didn't prepay and order on line. Looking at the instructions, pictures and words -- good to have both.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Great blinds, horrible packaging!

01/01/2014
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do like the mini-blinds I ordered but will NEVER order from Walmart again. I ordered 5 mini-blinds. The actual package is about 5" wide x 24" long x 2" deep. Imagine my surprise when there was knock on my door from the delivery man saying I had 5 BIG boxes. Big doesn't even begin to describe it. Each box was about 18" side x 26" long x 24" high.
Inside each box was a long, crumpled strip of brown packaging paper--long meaning extended through my dining room and living room and then some. Inside, at the very bottom of the big box, was a little box with the mini-blinds.
What a waste! Not only did you waste the big box (not needed--my other set of wider mini-blinds came in their own box and were just fine), you wasted all that paper and I'm sure it cost more to ship the big box.
I was left with lots of material to unpack and recycle. Very disappointed!!! Like I said--no more Walmart ordering for me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Worst. Blinds. Ever.

12/17/2011
By ,
Lexington, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased these blinds so that we could darken our room because of a 3rd shift worker. First of all, they don't darken the room. If you can get them installed without them breaking, that is. We had to also get room darkening curtains because of the light that was let through. After only a month or so, the blinds are warped! One set has melted so badly that part of the ends are folded completely downward. The other set is melted and saggy. They are placed on the side of the house that faces the sun all day, so I'm not sure how they'd be on the shaded side. So after wasting money on these, we'll be purchasing wooden blinds instead. Don't waste your money on these cheap things...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

These Blinds are Just Right

10/15/2013
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an easy way to allow light in during the day and to provide privacy at night. These blinds perform these functions nicely. I can even provide light through the top half of the windows during the day while still ensuring some privacy on the lower half of my first floor windows by lightly “brushing down” the slats on the bottom half to close them– perfect!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

excellent blinds for the price

05/26/2014
By ,
Tampa, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat the price for these nice blinds. They are not the most impressive or fancy. They don't completely blacken the room. But they install easy and look neat and clean, and can be dressed up with sheers or valances. The one I bought today is my third, having bought a pair (at a higher price elsewhere). I like the vinyl, which looks a lot more upscale than shiny aluminum blinds (eek). Ivory and white are nice neutral colors, but I'll bet they would sell more if one could get these in other shades like forest green, dove gray, oak brown, and other neutral colors.
Installation is very easy and user friendly. I was replacing the same blind, so I just had to slide one out and put the other in. But I put in the brackets when I first installed them. The instructions are clear, they have photos, and a drill and screw driver and you are good to go. Most come in common sizes. These blinds also are great if you want more privacy at night but don't want anything to overpower nice sheers that are the main window treatment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

They do what they say.

06/28/2014
By ,
Clayton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These blinds are billed as "room-darkening" and they do an excellent job of blocking most of outside light. Great for the bedroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Not really room darkening

07/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought these to keep light out of the bedroom for sleeping. If you're expecting a dark room when they're closed, you will be disappointed. These are more accurately light filtering blinds. Decent quality and sizing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Easy to install and keeps the sun out very well.

06/17/2014
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thesed blinds are easy to install. I love the way they shade out the sun. I would reccomend these blinds to anyone. Great price, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

You get what you pay for

07/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap product. First one went up okay, and I won't mess with it much, so I'm prob ok, but the second one was broken in the box. I have yet to receive the other three that I ordered, and it's been 10 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Returned/Used/Malfunctioning Blinds Received

07/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Two of the five blinds received had clearly been handled by someone. Original, sealed packaging, as found on the other three, was lacking. Not-so-coincidentally, the blade adjustment on the two was not functioning. Ugh!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Room darkening blinds

05/10/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not sure why these are advertised as "room darkening" blinds. They are not.
We purchased 2 of these for the glass doors on our master bedroom.
When anyone walks down the hallway at night the light would shine thru the drapes and wake us up.
The light still shines through-but doesn't wake us as often. They are flimsy and don't close tight enough to be darkening and the light even comes thru the area where the cables to control the blinds are.
They are inexpensive standard mini blinds.
We will never open them, so I expect them to hold up for years. If you put them in a room where you would actually open or close them, I think they would break easily.
They were so inexpensive that they were worth every penny to us for covering the glass in the doors. But, I would not reccommend them as room darkening blinds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Great bang for the buck

07/29/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely satisfied with my blinds and even more with the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Not as good as the ones I had

07/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These were supposed to be room darkening blinds, they don't shut out the light as well as the ones I had before, think you need to have this company rethink how they make blinds that are to be for room darkening. These are not as good as light filtering blinds to shut out the light.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

easy instll does darken room as advertised

06/28/2014
By ,
Sacramento
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
delivered on time easy to install darkens room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Excellant blinds for the price

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The blinds arrived on schedule as promised. They were very easy to install and fit perfectly. We are very pleased with them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Mini blinds

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I could not find off white mini blinds in Walmart so I looked online and they had. I don't know who delivered and we weren't home. One box had a big tear in it and the blind was busted!! I'm sure the delivery man could see it. Would have to be "blind" (no pun intended) to not see it so it should not have been delivered. The rest of the 8 were ok. A couple of other boxes were torn but no damage. However, one blind, I had it up and then opened the blind fully and there are 3 black spots so I will have to return it. I can return to regular Walmart but have to print off paper to return. I wish they had more off white in stores so I did not have to go to all this trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Easy peasey

06/13/2014
By ,
Lubbock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These went up easily, cooled the room down considerably and removed the blinding glare, making the room far more enjoyable! We can still enjoy the early morning and late evening views of the canyons, by simply opening the blinds, but keep the house cool for the rest of the day. Very nice.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Not the greatest quality but good for the price.

06/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to install, they are just a little flimsy so if you're careful with them and they last a few years I guess it is worth what you pay for them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Room Darkening Mini Blinds, Off-White

Not very effective at darkening a room

06/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping that these blinds would filter out the sunlight streaming into my room in the morning, but I was disappointed by them. They filtered out the light somewhat, but not nearly as much as room darkening shades or curtains. The vinyl is just not that thick. If you put your hand behind it, you can see the shadow it makes through the vinyl.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 242 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next