Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

The Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set is an ideal solution for space management problems in kitchens and pantries. Simply remove the ingredients that you require for everyday cooking from their boxes and packets and transfer them into the different-sized canisters. This allows you to streamline counter and cabinet contents, while maximizing your existing space. The Rubbermaid modular set includes four canisters with matching lids. The lids close tightly keeping the items fresh and clean. This food canister set is designed in a way to allow for easy gripping and handling purposes, ideal for people with those types of issues. The storage set containers have clear bases that allow for easy confirmation of contents. The slim and rectangular design allows the containers to be stacked alongside each, creating more space on your shelves. The containers and the lids are BPA FREE, so they are safe for food storage. They also come with graduation marks for easy measuring.
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation98%125 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Maximizes the space in your pantry!

12/25/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced all of my canisters with these, and it freed up so much space in my pantry. We recently went gluten free, which means instead of 1 flour canister, we have 8 various flours in varying quantities. These all stack perfectly in my pantry. The variety of sizes mean I have one for the large quantities, like sorghum flour, medium quantities, like sugar, and small quantities, like almond flour. I bought 3 sets online, plus my local store sells them individually so I bought more of the smallest ones for my rare ingredients like arrowroot and almond flour.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Really helped me organize my cupboards

04/25/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having a "mouse issue" we needed to do some major rethinking on food storage. These canisters fit the bill quite well. I purchased them individually at a local store--not the set--and filled one cupboard with them. I like that they are sturdy, with tight-fitting lids. It seems to me that they are most air-tight if you don't overfill them. Doing do can mis-shape the cannister, and while the lid will still snap on, it doesn't fit as perfectly. I label the canisters with removable labels, so if I want to change to different contents, it's easy to do so. The real advantage is that these containers are very close to the same depth as my cupboard, so they make the most use of the space. No need to hide things behind or shove in front to use all the shelf room. The picture shows them in place, pretty much pushed to the back of the cupboard.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Can't be beat

08/02/2011
By ,
Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubbermaid just keeps getting better and better. Have to say, for anyone that makes homemade ice cream the 5 cup is the perfect storage for it, and if you make double batches as I do, the 10 cup is also perfect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Not air tight.....or are they?

12/24/2013
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not really sure where to go with this. We read reviews and saw most people saying they are air tight and keep counter type foods fresh for weeks. Yet saw a few "sprinkled" here and there saying they're NOT air tight. We just figured maybe they got some bad ones. We picked up a few from the store and then ordered the sets online. We put water in the ones we had and turned them upside down with water POURING out of them (yes, they were tight. no way to get them tighter unless you melt the plastic together). Dried them out completely and then later on that night put a trial size of chips into them and the next day they were already stale.
Looked in the question/answer section and even rubbermaid says they are NOT air tight. Yet I see other people who did the "water test" and not a drop came out? So my guess would be bad quality control? We ended up taking back the 4 sets we bought without having to fight with all of it.
Basically get them and try them out for yourself if you want. You might get lucky. For us it just wasn't worth the hassle. We're going to get ones that are KNOWN to be airtight and not just a "maybe".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Not really canisters

11/15/2013
By ,
Sarasota. FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
They are just large sized storage plastics. No airtight for flours and sugar and not fitted enough to keep the tiny ants out.
The picture Walmart choose to use is not the set you get. 4 containers of various sizes.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Good value - great for organization of cupboards

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using these to hold staples in the cupboard. The amounts the canisters hold doesn't really match up totally to the standard amounts of 2 lbs brown sugar, 2 lbs powdered sugar, etc, but they fit well on the shelf with their rectangular shape and they are less expensive than Tupperware.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Excellent for pantry or counter top use

04/11/2014
By ,
La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubbermaid quality. Space saving design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great for the Organizing the Pantry

03/22/2011
By ,
Alden, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these...they are nice and slim, the sizes are perfect for lots of different things, they seal air tight...not only are they extremely useful, they look wonderful in my pantry as well...very organized. I bought two sets and the assortment of sizes was perfect. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone. I did my homework and for under $16.00 for this set, Walmart has the best price by far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great organizing items

03/30/2011
By ,
Cleveland, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super space saver. Large enough to hold sugar, flour, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Finally organized my pantry

03/23/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I buy a lot of foods from bulk bins, and have lots of plastic bags of beans, grains, pasta, etc. This set was so good at helping me to get the foods visible and neat - I ordered 3 sets!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Goodbye, Tupperware!

03/19/2014
By ,
Ashville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've ALWAYS been a Tupperware user, but, now that I have found these Rubbermaid storage containers...I LOVE THEM!!! They are perfect for our home as well as our camper. They seal VERY well and look great in my cabinet. I purchased this entire set for much, much less than one single Tupperware container would have cost me!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Very modular

05/09/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how all the lids work on all the containers because over time there is a chance you might loose one. All the containers stack well in different configurations to accommodate different shelf heights and other items on the shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

PERFECT SIZE!

11/02/2012
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just love these containers, use them for all my baking needs, great size for flour, sugar, raisens and brown sugars. Should of bought them years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Liked this product

03/10/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great canister set!

03/21/2013
By ,
Chico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These attractive, strong, durable canisters are great for storing dry goods and other items. They are leak proof ( I checked) but best for storing cereals, grains, and other pantry products. I love that they are made in the USA and that they are BPA free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set
02/21/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not buy these as a set but individual at the store.I love them. I have about 15 of them in different sizes. A 5 lb bag of flour fits perfectly in the 5lt one ( think thats the size). I use them for pasta..rice..flour..brown sugar..powdered sugar..oatmeal..baking chocolate chips, really anything that comes in a bag and dosent store easily....love love love them!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Good space saving canisters

02/09/2014
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't have space on my counter for traditional "pretty" canisters so these fit the bill taking up compact space in the cupboard. The lids fit tight so I am sure they will keep my flour and sugars well, but maybe not the best for something you'd use everyday. Note the product picture (even on the product box) shows five canisters, there are only four that come in the set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Perfect for my pantry

02/14/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My pantry looks much better. I got rid of a few opened bags with clips.will probably order few more sets
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great fit

01/27/2014
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how these are rectangular in shape instead of most food storage is round. Since my cupboards are square, I can fit way more in them with these containers. They seal nicely and any size you get will stack with the others. I am probably going to order more so that all my food can stay fresh longer! Also the price on these is great! Way cheaper than ordering them individually.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Happy with this purchase

04/20/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this modular canister set because it fits perfectly on my shelves without having to take too much space. I think it was a good deal buying the set rather than buying the pieces separately. Also, I like the lids are the same size so I don't have to spend too much time looking for the matching lids. This set seems to be of durable plastic and the lids are tightly sealed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next