Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

The Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set is an ideal solution for space management problems in kitchens and pantries. Simply remove the ingredients that you require for everyday cooking from their boxes and packets and transfer them into the different-sized canisters. This allows you to streamline counter and cabinet contents, while maximizing your existing space. The Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set includes four canisters with matching lids. The lids close tightly keeping the items fresh and clean. This food canister set is designed in a way to allow for easy gripping and handling purposes, ideal for people with those types of issues.
Average Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%145 out of 149reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Maximizes the space in your pantry!

12/25/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced all of my canisters with these, and it freed up so much space in my pantry. We recently went gluten free, which means instead of 1 flour canister, we have 8 various flours in varying quantities. These all stack perfectly in my pantry. The variety of sizes mean I have one for the large quantities, like sorghum flour, medium quantities, like sugar, and small quantities, like almond flour. I bought 3 sets online, plus my local store sells them individually so I bought more of the smallest ones for my rare ingredients like arrowroot and almond flour.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Really helped me organize my cupboards

04/25/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having a "mouse issue" we needed to do some major rethinking on food storage. These canisters fit the bill quite well. I purchased them individually at a local store--not the set--and filled one cupboard with them. I like that they are sturdy, with tight-fitting lids. It seems to me that they are most air-tight if you don't overfill them. Doing do can mis-shape the cannister, and while the lid will still snap on, it doesn't fit as perfectly. I label the canisters with removable labels, so if I want to change to different contents, it's easy to do so. The real advantage is that these containers are very close to the same depth as my cupboard, so they make the most use of the space. No need to hide things behind or shove in front to use all the shelf room. The picture shows them in place, pretty much pushed to the back of the cupboard.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Can't be beat

08/02/2011
By ,
Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubbermaid just keeps getting better and better. Have to say, for anyone that makes homemade ice cream the 5 cup is the perfect storage for it, and if you make double batches as I do, the 10 cup is also perfect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Instructions for removing labels in this review

08/29/2014
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this product and do wish they would make individual large canister size. Customers want large containers that will accommodate 5 and even 10 pounds of flour, sugar, etc. Altho I like this set, I don't use the small sizes much at all. I am forever keeping an eye out for larger food storage containers by Rubbermaid. Also, how about making some other colors such as standard black? I don't know why companies feel the need to stick labels on everything these days but if you are having a problem getting a label off, this is what I do:
1. Peel as much of the label off as you can
2. Soak with dish detergent to remove additional label
3. Pour rubbing alcohol on a paper towel, cotton ball, or old towel and rub off the gooey residue
4. No rubbing alcohol? Still won't all come off? Try vegetable oil as it should remove any additional residue.
5. Finally, be sure and wash the container again after using the rubbing alcohol and/or veg oil
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Meets my expectations

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The containers arrived earlier than expected which was great. The only downside was that Walmart shipped the boxes only in the boxes the containers come in when on the shelf in the store. One of the boxes was crushed in the corner. I thought the containers were damaged. Luckily after careful inspection all of the pieces were intact. The containers are just as I expected. Very sturdy for their purpose. The sizes are great. I will be purchasing more of these containers in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Yes! Finally Something Practical!!

08/31/2014
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed some extra space that my round canisters were taking up, and I ran across these Rubbermaid 8 pc Modular Canister Set. I purchased 2 sets, as I knew 1 wouldn't be enough, They're FANTASTIC! In fact, I went to the store to purchase more, and when I got home I noticed something that others complained about, that I didn't have when I ordered them online. The labels on the containers. It's near impossible to get them off! However, I found something that works very well, called Goo Gone. It takes a bit of elbow grease, but they do come off and the container isn't damaged! Blessings!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Not air tight.....or are they?

12/24/2013
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not really sure where to go with this. We read reviews and saw most people saying they are air tight and keep counter type foods fresh for weeks. Yet saw a few "sprinkled" here and there saying they're NOT air tight. We just figured maybe they got some bad ones. We picked up a few from the store and then ordered the sets online. We put water in the ones we had and turned them upside down with water POURING out of them (yes, they were tight. no way to get them tighter unless you melt the plastic together). Dried them out completely and then later on that night put a trial size of chips into them and the next day they were already stale.
Looked in the question/answer section and even rubbermaid says they are NOT air tight. Yet I see other people who did the "water test" and not a drop came out? So my guess would be bad quality control? We ended up taking back the 4 sets we bought without having to fight with all of it.
Basically get them and try them out for yourself if you want. You might get lucky. For us it just wasn't worth the hassle. We're going to get ones that are KNOWN to be airtight and not just a "maybe".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great storage

09/19/2014
By ,
Deer Park Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for camping
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great for the Organizing the Pantry

03/22/2011
By ,
Alden, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these...they are nice and slim, the sizes are perfect for lots of different things, they seal air tight...not only are they extremely useful, they look wonderful in my pantry as well...very organized. I bought two sets and the assortment of sizes was perfect. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone. I did my homework and for under $16.00 for this set, Walmart has the best price by far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great organizing items

03/30/2011
By ,
Cleveland, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super space saver. Large enough to hold sugar, flour, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Love These

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love these. They stack so well & save space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Not really canisters

11/15/2013
By ,
Sarasota. FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
They are just large sized storage plastics. No airtight for flours and sugar and not fitted enough to keep the tiny ants out.
The picture Walmart choose to use is not the set you get. 4 containers of various sizes.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Versatility!

08/22/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These canisters are so useful I can't believe I waited so long to buy them. They are easy to open and store so many different items it is just amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Very modular

05/09/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how all the lids work on all the containers because over time there is a chance you might loose one. All the containers stack well in different configurations to accommodate different shelf heights and other items on the shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great Way to Save Space and Money

07/28/2014
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these sets when they were finally in stock again and love love love them! They are durable and neat, fit perfectly on top of each other. Never throw out stale cookies or marshmallows again! These fit in my cabinet perfectly, they are easy to clean and protect my food from the ants that show up now and again. The best part is they were so affordable. I have seen them separately for between $7 and $11! I have just ordered another set because they are so great. These replaced a tupperware modular set that I had for many years. These are much easier to clean and look much better too. I love opening my cupboard and seeing it so organized!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

PERFECT SIZE!

11/02/2012
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just love these containers, use them for all my baking needs, great size for flour, sugar, raisens and brown sugars. Should of bought them years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great for pantry storage

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are great at protecting the pantry from the annual ant invasion. They stack well and are quite stable for the height. Had purchase single containers of several brands to figure out what we liked, the other brands are now hardware containers in the shop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Rubbermaid = Great quality

08/06/2014
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for airtightness. Larger than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set

Great canister set!

03/21/2013
By ,
Chico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These attractive, strong, durable canisters are great for storing dry goods and other items. They are leak proof ( I checked) but best for storing cereals, grains, and other pantry products. I love that they are made in the USA and that they are BPA free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 8pc Modular Canister Set
02/21/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not buy these as a set but individual at the store.I love them. I have about 15 of them in different sizes. A 5 lb bag of flour fits perfectly in the 5lt one ( think thats the size). I use them for pasta..rice..flour..brown sugar..powdered sugar..oatmeal..baking chocolate chips, really anything that comes in a bag and dosent store easily....love love love them!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next