Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Haier Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

The Haier DE65EK-L Dehumidifier is perfect for reducing excess moisture in the air that takes away from home comfort and can damage everything from electronics to books and clothing. This 65 Pint Dehumidifier features electronic controls with a digital display, adjustable humidistat, and Smart Dry auto-adjusting fan. The Smart Dry feature chooses the appropriate setting automatically by comparing the humidity level set on the unit and the relative humidity in the room to adjust the fan accordingly. Controls include 2 fan speeds, 24 hour on/off timer, and a bucket full indicator light with beep alarm. The large size of the front-access collection bucket plus the built-in handle make emptying easier, as well as less frequent emptying. The unit can also be set up for direct draining, and rolling casters provide easy mobility. Keep the moisture in your home to a minimum and help alleviate conditions that can lead to mold with Haiers DE65EK-L Dehumidifier.
Average Customer Rating:
3.216 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation59%22 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Malfunctioned after a few days

09/10/2011
By ,
South-East area of Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this Haier dehumidifier specifically because it had the AUTO RESTART feature. Consumer Reports listed better dehumidifiers but none had this feature. Right away we were surprised at how loud the unit was on the low setting. Our ancient back-up dehumidifier was quieter. For the first night we used the bucket feature and it it filled up over night. Very nice. The next day I hooked up the hose attachment. Then the malfunctions began. The humidistat control has been set at 50 with the fan on low. The machine would start up and then shut down. This repeated until I raised the humidistat to 56 and everything worked ok - I monitored the machine. A few days later the problem repeated. For about 20 minutes the machine would kick on and then immediately turn off. Then it would kick on and then off over and over. You could easily HEAR the machine in the basement from the first floor. Again loud. I adjusted the humidistat and the malfunction persisted. As I did not want a fire I unplugged it. We returned it without any problem! Over the years we have owned several other Haier products (2 freezers and a window A/C unit) and they all worked great. We are looking for different brands with the AUTO RESTART function. However not many are out there so we might have to try Haier again. If I do I will post results.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 2 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Can't use the hose drain

06/11/2012
By ,
Avon, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit does not work with a drain hose. I contacted the customer service people at Haier and the fellow commented that they know of the problem. He said since the unit is made in China the threads on the output are metric and that for it to work I have to go to Home Depot and purchase a special adapter for metric to US threads. I checked on line and called Home Depot and found no such item.
Since I find it unbelievable that a company can sell an item that they know does not work and ask the purchaser to buy an extra part, I decided to bring the unit back to Walmart. I purchased another higher rated unit (by Consumer Reports), Soleus Air model SG-DEH-70-2. It cost $50 less and is working perfectly. I would have purchased that first but it is listed also as DP2-70-03. It is the same item, but they list it two ways (very confusing but confirmed in the product manual).
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 3 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Definitely Not a Consumer Report "Best Buy"

04/18/2012
By ,
Central Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this unit primarily because it was a Consumer Report "Best Buy". Boy were they wrong. Got the unit home and hooked up a length of garden hose so I wouldn't have to empty the bucket daily. Big surprise, the bucket still fills up and there is no way to to set it up so that it only drains from the hose hook up. Big design flaw! Went on vacation for ten days got home basement is very humid and the bucket is full, and the "Clean Filter" light is on. I go to remove the filter and it won't come out, stuck in place and no way to get it out. After nearly an hour, I was finally able to remove the filter but not without destroying part of it. I am quite sure that this has voided any warranty that was on the unit. High side, the thing is running. low side I should have bought something else. If your looking for a good humidifier, Don't buy this one, you'll be disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 4 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Good 1st Experience with a Dehumidifier

10/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had originally purchased the 45 Pint unit, and was happy with that. After several weeks I decided to take that unit back to the wal-mart store (where it was $200) and purchase the 65 Pint (which removes more gallons per day) from wal-mart.com (where it was also $200).
Overall, only having the unit for 3 weeks and not owning one before, I've been happy with it. Here are my observations.
- Great Price!
- The 45 Pint unit was definately more quiet than this 65 Pint.
- This unit has no option to remove the casters and on my cement basement floor the unit was vibrating pretty loudly. I got a piece of styrofoam and mounted it on that and that removed alot of the vibration and noise. But there are probably quieter units. (would have given 5 stars if quieter#
- The gravity fed hose hookup, continuous drian feature mounted on the back is awesome and works great so far. #No water drains into the bucket#
- The Auto shut-off feature is awesome! You set it where you want it and forget it. BEWARE some units "claim" to be auto shut off but ONLY shutoff the condesor and the fan runs continuously, this unit shuts off completely! :)
- Nice easy to remove and clean filter. the plastic screen filter is still like new.
- Water bucket easy to remove and the water level is easy to see through the view screen #If needed)
- The rest is TBD! Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 5 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Unhappy

11/07/2011
By ,
Moorhead, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased a home in September...very damp basement. Bought this dehumidifer to dry out the basebment...first couple of weeks it worked great! About week 3 or 4, it started vibrating very loudly. Thought maybe it was unlevel so tried to adjust it...but nothing fixed it. It's located in the basement and the loud noise could be easily heard on the 1st floor and even the 2nd. It's now been 2 months...and a few nights ago it was so loud I had to unplug it as I couldnt sleep on the 1st floor...and I am hard of hearing. Just tonight I was in the basement and I saw plastic pieces on the floor...when I looked at the dehumidifer the spinning wheel inside broke apart and the fan blew the pieces thru the vent. I does suck up water...but the noise it creates and the fact that after 2 months it has to be pitched...piece o junk! Do no buy! Stay away from Haier products when it comes to dehumidifiers.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

works great but loud

10/03/2011
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have this unit in my family room which is downstairs in a BiLevel house. It seems to work very well. If we are downstairs it is Very Loud when it is running. I think it is better suited for a room you are not in all the time or in the basement. Other than that it is a good machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

junk don't buy it

10/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it's so loud - it's in my basement and I can hear it on the 2nd floor! FYI I bought a Haier air conditioner almost two years ago, it didn't last thru the 2nd year. I'm beginning to believe this company sells junk. Staying away from their products from now on.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 8 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Haier Running but not draining

07/22/2012
By ,
detroit, mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I set the Haier Dehumidifier up in the basement to dehumidify approx 1600 sq ft. I did not want to mess around so I got the largest capacity I could find , the 65 pint. Also I wanted to set it and forget it so I attached a drain hose to the connection on the back to automatically drain the water to a floor drain.
Initially the bucket kept filling, and water was not running thru the hose to the floor drain. I called customer service and spoke to a lady who sounded intelligent, but all she could offer me was what was in the owners manual, which was not much at all. She told me to check for a blockage in the drain hose. There was none.
After getting off the phone with Haier with no resolution or suggestion on what to do, I noticed that the unit was sitting on a grade (my basement floor concrete is graded towards the floor drain). I got some styrofoam to level the unit, and even tilt the unit so that the corner with the drain hose connection was lowest. This action allowed the dehumidifier to drain thru the hose properly and not require emptying of the bucket.
The unit operated well and drained automatically after this, showing the preset humidity, and the humidity in the room. Eventually the unit brought the room humidity down to the preset humidity
My previous dehumidifiers (sears and frigidaire) sat in the same spot and on the same grade and did not have this problem.
Haier needs to have a way of getting problems such as this to its engineering and technical staff to solve them, whether via customer support, or direct email from customer to engineering department, as customer support, although intelligent and polite, was useless. (I had a problem arise with a haier portable ac unit, and again customer service was useless).
Finally, many brands of these dehumidifiers do not last long, so I opted for a 3 year extended service plan after original warranty, so I can get the unit fixed, or most likely replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

good but less than expected

07/05/2012
By ,
swarthmore,pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
after reading consumer reports and online reviews I had high expectations
This unit works well but was disappointing in two areas. Its noisy and the directions for the control panel are very poor. The noise was help by placing the unit on the styrofoam packing that came in the box- thus insulation it from the floor. As for effectively keeping a large basement dry its doing its job nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Doesn't work

08/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought online since it was $59 cheaper than in store, when it came, plugged it in and it wouldn't turn on. Swapped it with one in the store (all the boxes the dehumidifiers were in looked like they were thrown off of a moving truck), turned on, ran for less than 24-hours and was already burned up. Not trying for a 3rd one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 11 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Garbage

04/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this dehumidifier back in June 2010 and it stopped working after 10 months. So they sent me a new one and it stopped working after 9 months. This time they wouldn't send me a new dehumidifier since the one year warranty was up. Don't waste your money. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING BY HAIER.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 12 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

No Complicated Directions

05/31/2012
By ,
Oak Creek, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier was recommended by Consumer Reports and I must say it lives up to the rating. Easy to operate and easy to empty. For the reasonable price, I would definetly recommend this to anyone that asks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Great dehumidifier

05/14/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Florida and moisture and mold is always a problem. I decided to invest in a dehumidifier and did a lot of research both on line and in store. I decided on this model from Walmart because I had seen this same model in other stores for a lot more money. I ordered it online and got an even better price and picked it up next day. The difference in the air quality in my house was immediate. This model is well built, quiet and doesn't give off too much heat. I have been using it for about 5 months I am so pleased with my purchase. I would absolutly recommend this product to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 14 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Do not buy!!

08/19/2012
By ,
Escanaba, Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this product unless you are never going to leave it unattended, because even with the hose connected it still continues to fill the bucket. When the bucket fills the machine shuts off. I contacted customer service and their solution to the problem was to raise the front of the unit 1/2 inch to cause the back to be lower than the front and force the water to go through the hose. This did not solve the problem, and when I called them back they said that is the only solution to the problem they have. I then told them another solution to the problem is returning it to the store. The consumer magazine that tested this product must have not hooked up a drain hose and just tested it based on the bucket fill.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Does Exactly What I needed - IT DEHUMIDIFIES

04/11/2012
By ,
SW Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's like having a big fan going so do not expect to not hear it but IT DOES DEHUMIDIFY. I bought a new house and the basement gets up 1" of water in places. The upstairs windows will nearly be covered with condensation. With the dehumidifier in the hallway in front of 3 bedrooms, I can noticeably see the condensation lower on the windows. I should hook up the hose drain option now that it is in the basement which has a sump pump catch to drain to but I haven't. It auto shuts off and beeps periodically to let you know it is full.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

Does it job.

09/22/2012
By ,
Niantic,Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it in my garage and it has been keeping the humidity down to what ever i set it at. It is fairly loud. But that doe'nt bother me sence it's in the garage. I do need to hook up the hose and run it outside. Because on humid days the bucket fills quite fast. I also like the fact that the fan does'nt run all the time. So when it gets to the level you set for the max humidity you want the fan shuts off. When the filter is dirty a light comes on telling you the filter needs cleaned. Once you clean the filter just touch the reset button and it will start up again. I like it because mold was growing and my tools were rusting. I think for the money it is a great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L
12/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Noise reduction is outstanding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L
08/20/2012
By ,
Powell, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product arrived and would not start. Returned to store and did not purchase another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L

So far, so good.

06/06/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only had it for 10 days. So far it's working well.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Haier 65-Pint Dehumidifier DE65EK-L
08/30/2012
By ,
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would reccomend the Haier DE65EK-l IF THAT WHAT IT WAS THAT I HAD RECEIVED!! Read the Consumer Reports dehumidifer ratings and the Haier was a Best Buy. Found it on Walmart and ordered. What did I receive but a GE 65 pint unit with a similar model number, but it was not what I had ordered. I returned it and eventually found a Haier DE65EK online, works fine. Just yesterday I ordered a 2nd Haier DE65EK.
Have dealt with Walmart and the .com store, love them both. But when I buy, I expect to get what I ordered. It might be that the GE was made by Haier, but that's not what I ordered.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next