Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Haier Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

The Haier DE45EK-L Dehumidifier is perfect for reducing excess moisture in the air that takes away from home comfort and can damage everything from electronics to books and clothing. This 45 Pint Dehumidifier features electronic controls with a digital display, adjustable humidistat, and Smart Dry auto-adjusting fan. The Smart Dry feature chooses the appropriate setting automatically by comparing the humidity level set on the unit, and the relative humidity in the room to adjust the fan accordingly. Controls include 2 fan speeds, 24 hour on/off timer, and a bucket full indicator light with beep alarm. The large size of the front-access collection bucket plus the built-in handle make emptying easier, as well as less frequent emptying. The unit can also be set up for direct draining, and rolling casters provide easy mobility. Keep the moisture in your home to a minimum and help alleviate conditions that can lead to mold with Haiers DE45EK-L Dehumidifier.
Average Customer Rating:
2.917 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation56%20 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Auto shut off doesn't work!!!

07/14/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit is great at removing moisture from the air, but I would only purchase this unit if you have a life that you can dedicate to emptying the bucket. For the first few days we emptied the bucket about every 8 hours, whether it needed it or not. We noticed that the water level was very close to the top of the bucket but thought that we has gotten to it just before the auto cut off switch activated. WRONG!! We went away for one day and had someone empty the bucket that evening. The next day I cam home to soppy wet carpet, mushy dry wall and a huge mess. We noticed as soon as we purchased the unit that the button that is supposed to activate a audible alarm when the bucket was full did not function. We decided that we mostly would not be using the alarm feature anyway and didn't mind that it didn't work, it wasn't worth the hassle of a return or exchange. However, after this flooding of our home this piece of junk is headed back to Walmart. It might be a good machine if you plan to drain it continuously with a hose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Great macine!

09/30/2011
By ,
Floyd, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine yesterday, brought it home, hooked up the drain hose and turned it on. The unit works perfectly, is much quieter than the LG I had before and I love the upward exhaust as it works better in a confined area. I did hours of research to find a $200 unit that would auto restart, work in cold temperature, and would completely shut off when reached the desired humidity level. This unit has met all my expectations and I hope this review will save you a lot of reasearch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+133points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Owatonna, MN
JUNK!!!!!!
Posted 05/31/2012
I bought 3 of these: first one leaked water all over the floor. 2nd one, the fan would quit working or turn off while the compressor was still going. So I called the company and they didn't know if that was right or not but thought I should get a replacement. So they were going to send me a new as soon as I signed the affidavit they were going to mail me saying I disposed of the old one. How ridiculous is that! I am suppose to pay someone to dispose of it. So I returned it and thought I would try it one more time. 3rd luck is a charm right? Wrong. The 3rd one, only the fan would run, but not the compressor. The reason I new this was the humidity wasn't going down and there was no water in the bucket. DO NOT BUY!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Great machine!
Posted 10/14/2011
I am shopping for a dehumidifier also and wondered if you could answer the following regarding this unit: 1) Does it have a "squirrel cage" fan? It is "very" quiet if it has one. 2) If there is a power interruption will the unit restart on its own or do you have to reset/restart it? and 3) What is the amperage and wattage usage for this unit? Thanks in advance for your reply.
Showboat
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

cheaper is not always better

06/17/2012
By ,
between a rock and a hard place
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fan stuck on either high or medium
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Unreliable

06/07/2012
By ,
China, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit worked fantastically for a few short months. Then the dreaded E1 error code - completely dead! Would take more $$$ to repair than to replace. Not sure of what brand to try next?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 5 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Works well near San Diego beach

06/21/2013
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our former DH unit died. We love its replacement, the DE45EK-L Haier. The Haier is much quieter and more efficient than was its predecessor. The Haeir's hose drain design is much superior to what we had. We have it in a basement laundry room that is about 250 square feet.
We had one question for Haier's customer service. Our call went right through. The agent was courteous and helpful.
Another important consideration is that the Haier is very compact. We tried a competing model, but it was too tall for our opening. The Haier fit perfectly. And, we were extremely pleased with taking the return to the nearest Walmart after getting a home delivery -- what a convenience.
Happy customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Haier Customer Service is TERRIBLE

07/09/2013
By ,
Quincy, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this dehumidifier on May 29th. Tried to set it up on May 30th only to find a part was missing, rendering it useless. Spoke to 8 customer service representatives and 2 supervisors only to be told the part doesn't exist. (The part is shown in the manual and quick start guide.) I even emailed them pictures of the missing part from their own paperwork. They told me I had to go through their parts distributor. Encompass knew what the part was, but since it didn't have a number associated with it they couldn't order me one. Went back to Haier to complain only to be told there's nothing they can do. The dehumidifier is being returned because it won't work without the part. We wasted over 6 weeks of our time trying to get this part. WHATEVER YOU DO DON'T BUY A HAIER PRODUCT. Thank goodness for warranties, because we're done with it all!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 7 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Worked well for 14 months

09/05/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dehumidifier worked well for 14 months, 2 months outside warrenty. Error code "E" temperature sensor requires servicing which would cost more to repair then replace.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Make sure you purchase the warranty!

07/14/2013
By ,
Owings Mills,MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped working a week shy of 12 months. Worked well before it stopped dehumidifying. It sounded like it was working - but just stopped dehumidifying.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L
06/09/2012
By ,
Western Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is much improved over my old dehumidifer. I like the digital displays. I'll be able to use it all Winter in my basement as it has automatic defrost. I had to retire my old one every Winter when the temperature in my unheated basement got to 60°.
I use the water in my clothes washer and it's really making a lot of water. I can empty the tank twice a day.
My old one lasted for 27 years I hope this one does too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Does Its Job Well

06/19/2012
By ,
Rochester Hills, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far it is working well, having replaced a 30-year-old Kenmore unit that finally died on us. I especially like that it's got a fairly large capacity reservoir so that we don't need to empty it too often to maintain a dry basement. It's quiet, compact, and easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

piece of junk

12/25/2012
By ,
sp nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk bought it brand new brought home left plugged in 24 hours it didnt do anything but run a fan. Then finally google and get response wont work between 40 to 60 degrees. Haier is junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L
08/10/2013
By ,
chicopee, ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great, very quiet, removes a lot of water every day
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L
07/14/2013
By ,
Warrenton, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately, this unit did not work out of the box. Returned to Walmart, but shipping and the ordering experience was easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 14 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Great Dehumidifier for a basement

10/05/2012
By ,
Clarkston, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We went online to Walmart.com to order our Haier DE45EK-L Dehumidifier, everything worked out great from ordering to delivery. We would order again from Walmart.com. Thank You!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Haven't been able to use it yet!

09/23/2013
By ,
Anaheim, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plugged it in first night after picking up at local store. Made noise then noise stopped. Paperwork said do not take back to store. Busy all week then called service center.
Techno ton had just signed on with Haier so they were confused. Waited two weeks and had trouble getting someone to call me. Finally they did and wanted to know why I called. Over another week later I got a call that they would email me a scrap notice. Called Haier again mad over a week ago they said an engineer would call me for next step. Still waiting and suffers through humid summer.
I just want my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 16 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L
05/19/2013
By ,
janesville,wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had it shipped to our home, works great made a big difference in our basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

So far so good

06/10/2012
By ,
Colona IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this Dehumidifier for about 3 weeks. It does a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Basically, I unpacked & plugged in & set settings.

07/29/2013
By ,
Splendora, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After one week, the overall humidity level in this studio apt is staying much lower even when I am gone for half a day or longer. I was surprised. However, at this moment, the dehumidifier reports humidity at 62, but my hydrometer reports it at 69. I have set it at 60. Humidity outside is very high.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

Failed after 8 months.

08/09/2013
By ,
Summerville, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit failed after 8 months. The nearest repair shop for this brand is over 100 miles away, which means I would have to drive over 400 miles to get warranty on it. I'll buy another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Haier 45-Pint Dehumidifier DE45EK-L

DIRECT DRAIN LINE DID NOT WORK

05/17/2013
By ,
ri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WHAT A HASSEL! WE HAD READ THE MANUAL. TRIED TO FIND OUT WHY THE DIRECT DRAIN LINE DID NOT WORK, AFTER MANY CALLS TO WARRENTY COMPANY WE FINAL FOUND A SERVICE REP, HE WOULD NOT COME FOR A HOUSE CALL, WE HAD TO DRAG THIS DEHUMIDIFIER TO HIM. AND WE HAD TO ALSO BRING HIM THE MANUAL ! HOWS THAT TO MAKE YOU FEEL LIKE HE WOULD "FIX IT"!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next