Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Haier Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

This Haier 5,000-BTU window air conditioner has everything you need to keep cool in the summer. It is ultra quiet, with multiple levels of cooling and fan settings that will provide comfort without any annoying background noise. This Haier air conditioner is an ideal choice for green consumers who want a comfortable home, as well as a healthy planet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.065 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation58%18 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Very good for price!

05/29/2011
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these after we installed new windows & our old/bigger A/C didn't fit. They keep our whole home comfortable, one in the livingroom & one in a bedroom. Both cool an area of about 700 sq ft total. Less than a week after we purchased these, they went on sale at another store & Walmart matched the prices & refunded our money for the difference. They work great even in the hot & humid summer months of Nebraska!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 2 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

good small room airconditioner

05/10/2011
By ,
ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this product in spring of 2010, used it all last summer and just fired it up since it is already hot here. does a good job on small to medium rooms. you do have to do some assembly but the directions are clear. good on energy and cools well. i read the reviews last year that said this unit was noisy, mine isnt. you can sometimes hear the condensation dripping on the fan. i paid only $98 for mine and in my store it is the same price this year. so far so good. remember if you experience is different keep the reciept and take it back but i like mine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 3 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L
06/08/2011
By ,
Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this AC 3 or 4 years ago and it is still going strong. Have to make sure it's angled out the window to drain properly but for the price its worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Levittown, PA
Draining
Posted 06/14/2011
How much of an angle is required? My unit is visibly tiltled to the point my neighbor thought it was being held in place by the cord only.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Great product with 2 downfalls

06/29/2011
By ,
cambridge, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Low Price, easy install, keeps my whole room cool, fast shipping.
Cons: No water drain on the back of the unit, the water just sits in it until it floods over the lip... The fan in it will randomly start rubbing the styrofoam inside it, making an annoying somewhat scary noise. But its not a deal breaker, i have had it for a month and it is still running like the day i got it.
Great $100 air conditioner
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

New model very poor design

05/28/2011
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought 1 last yr for daughter's room. Same price & came with a remote control, very nice. Her AC has hard plastic inside to hold fan in place. Very quiet & still very cold after 10 hrs daily use over 3+ months.
Bought new 1 for son's room yesterday, returning it today. Inside is hard styrofoam holding fan in place. Either foam expanded, shifted, or just BAD design. Fan was rubbing against foam all night. Not enough to interfere with operation, just ehough to create a constant noise.
hopefully, it is just 1 bad ac that is defected, but new design is very cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+23points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
mn
Posted 07/04/2012
i baught one last year didnt come with a remote was alot >>> but not my fault i kept it for a bit then returned it and made sure i wanted to buy another one some other time i knew before i turned it on about the water issues it made my room nice and chilly was ok to turn it off after 5 ? minutes hotter in my room then rest but didwhat i needed
0points
Customer Avatar
Abington, MA
Ridiculous!
Posted 05/31/2011
I purchased this model yesterday. Turned it on before going to bed around 11pm at night and at 4am it was STILL not cold at all. The air coming into the room was warm the whole night. My floor fan works better than this AC!
Returning it tomorrow! Don't buy it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
PHILADELPHIA PA
Dont waste your money!!!
Posted 05/31/2011
I brought this air conditioner. I only had It for 4 DAYS and It stop working. It has A reset button on it that didnt help. SO DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ITS NOT WORTH THE BOX IT CAME IN.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Very cool and decent air conditioner.

06/22/2011
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this air conditioner a few weeks ago as a replacement of a very big and old one and I’m pleased. Its not a big air conditioner. Installation was intuitive and easy. I’m really satisfied. It cools my whole living room on low setting and gets even colder at nights when placed on high. Not as noisy as some may think.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 7 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

The best!

06/27/2011
By ,
Simi Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had mine for 5 years. It's gotten me through the hottest days and still going strong. Just make sure you clean it and it will last a long time. I love mine! Thank you Haier, for a job well done ;}
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
How do you get it to drain water?
Posted 07/02/2011
Mine collects water in it which sloshes around in the fan after only a few hours. I've been having to take it out of the window and tilt it forward to drain in a pan out the hole where the cord comes out almost everyday if I use it a lot. There doesn't seem to be anyway for it to drain out the back.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

horrible product

04/20/2011
By ,
horseheads,ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My fiance and i needed to get an air conditioner since it gets so hot here in Ny.I looked around online and found the Haier air conditioner and it didn't have any reviews but we decided to buy it anyways.It was not the price that it is now being offered at,it was much higher at that time.We were in the process of moving so we didn't open it up and try it.Big mistake.We bought it before summer hit and when it did we hooked it up.It blew coolish air but didn't do much.I turned it off at bedtime since it was in the living room and we hadn't bought a bedroom one yet.In the morning i turned it on and nothing.We tried everything but it was dead.We called the company since it was still under the warrentry so we paid to ship it to them.After months of waiting we received a box and they sent us a humidifer.I couldn't believe it we went all summer without an air conditioner,paid to ship it to them and then they send us the wrong thing.So we called them and i told them i wouldn't pay to ship their mistake to them.They paid to pick it up and said our air conditioner was on its way.By the time we got it the summer was back again.We hooked it up and tried it the next day and it didn't even turn on.i was irate and called and they said it was past the warrentry.I told them it was thier mistake cause they sent the wrong product.They refused to do anything and it would cost more than we paid for the whole dang air conditioner to have it repaired.do not waste money on any Haier products since they do not work and the company is shady!Now we are shopping for air conditioners again and i'm nervous as all get out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+44points
Review 9 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L
08/07/2011
By ,
St. Joseph MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I bought two of these air conditioners. One works great and never had a problem, the other not so much. It throws water into the bedroom and makes the absolute worse noise. I tried calling Haier their response was to let it lean a little more out the window. If I let it lean anymore it's going to be vertical and fall out. Spend the extra money and buy something other then this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Depends on weather

06/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This can be a great cheap air conditioner, but if you expect it to function either in a humid or slightly cool area, you may be frustrated. It clearly states inside the manual that humidity from cooking (or my case clothes drying) will cause ice to form. ALSO that you should not try to run the device under 65 degrees outside. I live where it is a lot of the time 90 in the day and 60 at night and this thing keeps icing over on the front grill from my leaving it on at night or any time theres moisture in the house, I have never seen an AC unit so finicky and with such poor air circulation and water drainage, so if you want cheap air and live in a small box in arizona its great but if you live in the mountains or something, beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 11 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Design flaw causes unit to flood the windowsill

06/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is NO drainage hole in the condensation pan in the bottom of the unit, which means that even if the back of the unit is tipped down, as the instructions say, if the unit is running for more than a couple of hours, the condensation level in the pan rises to the point that it starts seeping out the only way it can; through the grill in the front. Also, because the condensate pan is full of water, the fans will make loud buzzing, chattering sounds when the water level reaches them, making this a very loud unit; we had a couple of neighbors complain about the noise!
Drilling a hole in the bottom of the pan does not fix the matter either, because since the unit is so compact, there's nowhere you can drill that won't puncture the tubing inside that holds the coolant. We unfortunately learned this the hard way.
We found out later that there was supposed to be a sticker on the back of the unit that instructs you to NOT drill holes in the condensation pan, but ours had been removed at some point (most likely from someone in our apartment complex, I'm not blaming Haier for this). However, the fact that they even need to HAVE such a sticker on the unit in the first place is a big red flag.
Would NOT recommend, and will also NEVER buy anything else from Haier if all of their products are as poorly designed as this one was.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Just Awesome!

06/15/2011
By ,
Gonzales, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased for a bedroom to help with the ac unit in house, works great, quiet running, cools fast, and for the price you can't go wrong, fits well in window case, only sticks outside 6" so its not ugly from outside.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Worked for about 2 weeks then blew hot air

06/23/2011
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought 2 of these units for my apartment, one to cool the living room and one for the bedroom. They both blew very cold air for about 2 weeks. The bedroom air conditioner suddenly stated making a very loud noise one night while sleeping then stopped blowing out cold air. About 3 days later, the living room model also started making the same noise (like the fan was stuck on something) but continued to blow cool air. We returned both for a different model and are more impressed with the new model so far. We only ran the living room air conditioner for about 6 hours per day and the bedroom air conditioner for about 8 hours per night. Both were relatively noisy and neither fit our windows very securely. If you need to cool a small room and don't mind a little bit of noise, this unit might be good for you. I would not personally buy them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

does not cool if its hot

07/19/2011
By ,
bronx,NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
it does not cool at all when its hot out this friday were going to 100 and i had to buy a new ac because i know i will die with this one in my window but good for the price im sure when its new its great i had mine for a few years maybe thats why
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

ZERO STARS

05/31/2011
By ,
Chambersburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Drove 30 miles to get this product got home and got installed to find out when I turned it on the fan DID NOT WORK. Taking it back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 16 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Not worth the price.

08/02/2011
By ,
Dekalb, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just bought the unit and it already died. Less than 2 hours of use on it. I do not recommend this unit. When it was working (the first 1.5 hours or so) air was coming out a little colder than room temp. But not by much. May be just a bad unit but am not impressed with the quality on the first one so i wont bother exchanging it. just returning it for full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 17 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

AWESOME!!!!

06/09/2012
By ,
detroit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my air conditioner over a year and it cooled off my 800 sq. ft living and dining room! I'm on my way to buy another one! I bought my first one over a year ago and ran it 24hrs. a day from june to sept.!!! for 98$ you can't beat it. They sell used ones on craigslist for more than that! Love mines!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

Fantastic! BBBRRRRR! Work Great!

07/30/2012
By ,
La Plata, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3, of this model air conditioner, and I love them. They can get really cold, and I sometimes have to turn them down! This is the second summer using my Haier Air Conditioners, and BOY do they ever cool this big house! Not one of them has given me any trouble at all. Even when it was over 100 degrees. I'm very pleased with them all.
I keep the filter cleaned, it does make a difference, and It's really simple, just wash the filter, and your done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

didn't work

06/21/2011
By ,
Nashua, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The fan operated but the unit did not condition the air.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 20 for Haier 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner HWF05XCK-L

good product for price

07/23/2012
By ,
baltimore, Md.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received product in good condition and sooner than expected. Installation was quick and easy. Great air flow and cools a 12 x 15 ft. room quickly. Use in my bedroom. It worked great in the 90 degree and above temps. Did not like the fact that the product was left on my porch because noone wasn home at time of delivery. This is the only complaint I have. Great shipping rate to home of ninetyseven cents.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next