Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Fiskars Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Fiskars Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

The Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower features an 18" cut width and allows you to cut grass without the steel-on-steel contact that dulls standard reel mowers. This mower delivers long lasting performance without the cost and inconvenience of annual blade sharpening. The advanced technologies of the Fiskars Momentum mower combine to reduce push force by 40 percent compared to traditional reel mowers. The Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower edges three times closer than other reel mowers and never leaves uncut strips under the wheels. The advanced technologies of the Fiskars Momentum combine to cut all common residential grasses, including tough southern varieties.
Average Customer Rating:
3.294 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation53%9 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Amazing

05/01/2011
By ,
League City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around to find a reel mower and came accross this model. It seemed the design was well thought out. This is like no mower I have used. It is as easy to push as a lawn feeder and leaves the best cut I have seen. My neighbors at first kidded me about it, didn't have a motor, hard to push, etc. Well, after they tried it, four additional purchases were made. It is easier than my old self propelled mower, faster to get around the yard and the lawn is actually "cut" like a scissors and looks great. Get this, you will be happy, if not you are doing something wrong. Read the instructions and follow them. Simple. I am not what you would call a hard core "green" person but it does not use fuel and is good exercise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Great mower! Great exercise!

05/26/2011
By ,
Missoula, Mt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned my Fiskars Momentum reel mower for about a month now and each time I mow my lawn I'm amazed at the engineering involved and the great design of this mower. I live in Montana and my lawn is not what you would call manicured. I have quack grass and other kinds of weeds in it, but this mower works amazingly well. Follow the directions in the well written booklet included, don't let the grass get too long, but if it does just make two passes. It seriously is not much harder to push than my old push gas powered mower. And by the time you take into account the gassing up, the starting up ect., it actually takes less time to use. It cuts the grass very finely for mulching and now has a grass catcher available that also works great!! A seriously innovative piece of equipment that is a joy to use, And it's a great workout!!
!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

So far, so good

06/13/2011
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our gas mower died, after already spending nearly $100 in repairs for it this year. So, I did some internet searching on manual reel mowers and decided to purchase the Fiskars Momentum. I was worried it would be too heavy for me and that it would not cut well. It arrived at WalMart sooner than predicted, just in time to cut the grass before it got too long. We had to wait a day due to rain. I wanted to watch my husband make the first pass, but he snuck out and I caught him as he noiselessly went past the kitchen window. It is more of a workout than the gas mower, so he mows the front yard and I mow the back. Good exercise. We don't know how well it would mow if we had a thicker stand of grass. Our grass is fine-bladed and not as dense as we'd like, so it mows through it quite well. I want to mention that we live in central Indiana, as most of the reviews I read online were from those with thicker, southern grass.
Pros: My husband and I put it together with no problems and made the adjustments per the manual in less than an hour.
It's a dream to get the job done without air or noise pollution. My husband can listen to his walkman as he mows - couldn't do that before.
Grass clippings are very fine, don't accumulate on your shoes or pants, and don't end up as "clumps" throughout the yard as they did with the gas mower.
Cons: I read other reviews that the wheels push the grass down, and that is one drawback of the mower. I find I have to overlap more than I'd expected. I'm not complaining a lot. The only energy wasted is my own, and I do need that workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Does What You Expect

06/24/2011
By ,
Philadelphia Suburbs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read about this lawnmower in two different places before I purchased it. Both sources rated it highly. I was a little concerned about the cost, because it is twice as expensive as a typical reel mower, but I figured I'd be more upset if I bought a cheaper model which didn't perform as well.
After my first month using it, I can say that the Momentum manages to chew through pretty thick grass without much of a problem. Of course, you ARE providing the power, which can be considerable in thick grass. The height adjustment is a snap to use, so that it is easy to mow long grass by going over it at a higher blade height setting, then mowing the same area again at a lower height setting.
I understand that the only maintenance that a reel mower needs is for the blades to be sharpened. However, Fiskars claims that the Momentum may never need sharpening if the mower is calibrated before its first use. Whether that is true or not remains to be seen.
The only complaint I have about the Momentum is that four wheels are harder to turn than two. When I get to the end of a pass, it is a bit of a struggle to do the U-turn for the next pass. That is enough for me to drop my overall rating from five to four stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Worth the money

05/03/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cutting the grass used to be a real torture for me, with all the wire extensions, mess created by the flying around grass and big noise. Now it is like a walk in the park. The machine cuts everything without an effort, just don't forget to adjust the blades as described in the manual and you will see the difference. It is VERY important to have the edges perfectly aligned for the proper operation of the mower, since they might have come out of place during shipping or assembling. Actually I cannot wait until the next time the grass grows, so I can use this amazing device again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

superior product!

07/07/2011
By ,
new england
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
incredible mower! best investment we've made. easy online purchase. quick delivery. mower assembly and blade adjustments extremely straightforward. had mower unpacked and in use within 15 minutes. mower cuts grass and weeds so effortlessly. don't even break a sweat pushing this mower ... easier than any gasoline powered mower. best of all no engine noise, no gasoline, no oil, no fumes and a great looking backyard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Fantastc!!!!!!!

04/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried the Scotts at home Depot. This beat them all. Get It!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Was not good on an uneven yard.

04/24/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I researched the Fiskars Reel mower and was excited about the product and using it. My yard is about a 5 year old yard and has many uneven contours to it that made mowing with this product difficult. I do, however, think it would be much easier to use on a flat yard that doesn't require going up and down hill as much.
I rated the value as fair, because I believe that it should have included a grass catcher with it instead of that being separately and unable to be purchased through Wal-Mart either online or in the store.
It was very easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Very nice

04/09/2012
By ,
Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do like the way this mower works and it has cut down every thing and most of the dandelion shoots. It was easy to assemble and to push around the yard, but I bought mine at Lowe’s for $199 and had it mowing the lawn that afternoon not 10 days later.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

WARNING: Don't Purchase

06/11/2012
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never write reviews for anything, but I feel others need to know about this "mower" before they make the same mistake I did.
To be completely honesty in this review, I purchased this mower from Lowes; but that should have no bearing on the products performance.
Shortly after buying the mower, I assembled (which took some time) and began cutting my grass. For the first few minutes I was in love. The mower breezed through the grass with little effort, and left me gas-smell and grass-clipping free. However, upon further inspection of the yard after cutting, I noticed that the mower won't cut a certain type of grass (not a grass expert so I can't tell you the type, but it has longer thicker stalks). So I basically had a short lawn with sporadic single high blades sprinkled throughout. I also noticed that it has a hard time cutting taller dandelion stalks. It will essentially just press them down onto the ground, but won't cut.
Now if you're still reading this review I'll let you know that before cutting, I followed every instruction to the letter (adjusting the blade height, doing the paper test, etc.). This review will continue, and if it keeps you engaged then I'll lie and say there are dinosaurs and explosions later on in the story.
To solve the issue with the tall strands it didn't cut, I had to hand pick every one of these out of the ground. Huge pain. I then moved into my backyard, which is located on a hill. This mower is great if you're going downhill permanently, but any attempt to go uphill is a ridiculous endeavor. If you haven't cut your grass within a week, you will need a full running head of steam to go uphill. Another issue with cutting on hills is that the mower can't handle bumps. If you have a lawn that has little recessed bumps here and there, the mower will go right overtop, leaving that area within the bump uncut.
So after 2 months now of cutting, hand picking blades it didn't cut, running uphill, and using my WW to take care of the lower bumps; I then encounter the issue of the chain falling off. In case you didn't know, underneath the black plastic piece you see on the right side of the mower is a chain similar to a bicycle. If your chain pops off, you will need a socket set to unscrew the plastic piece and then use all your Hulk strength to get the chain back on. This issue happened four times, and with each resetting of the chain, it slowly started to damage a link in the chain which made it loose.
Yesterday I was halfway through cutting my grass and the chain completely broke in half. The lawn mower is now completely dead without a functioning chain.
I now have to go purchase another mower. This time it will be gas. If you buy this mower and your yard isn't completely flat, and made of only one type of grass; you're literally taking $200 and pulling a magic trick. Your money will disappear; while problems, headaches, anger, and regret will appear in its place.
DON'T BUY!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Easier than a push power motor!

07/04/2012
By ,
Clovis, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only one (as noted by another customer). One handle adjustment clip pin was missing. 19 cents at your local hardware store. Positive, my 12 year old son loves it!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Didn't work for me...

03/21/2012
By ,
Shreveport
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this mower trying to be a little more environmentally aware...and also to not have to buy gasoline to cut the yard (especially since the price of fuel has gone up). When it arrived at the store for me to pick up I was anxious to try it out. I bought it home and put it together and tried to put it to use. It didn't cut any grass so I lowered the blade. Then it kept getting stuck. I took it back to the store the very next day and got my money back. I grew up using the old one's and they worked well...they were just heavy...guess that's one reason why I'm no weakling. Anyhoo to each his own. Didn't work for me at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower
05/27/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This lawn mower cuts grass great but does not cut any weeds or dandelions.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Don't Buy this mower

06/28/2012
By ,
Idaho Falls, Id
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We watched the video..it looked great, made it look like it would really cut the grass.
If you have a lawn that is perfectly smooth and cut daily..it might work.
As you push the mower, it is easy to push, however it BENDS the grass you are trying to cut, over and does not cut it. My husband and I both tried it and I know I went over one section about five times to get it to cut. I don't have time to do that.
I thought with it being the brand it is and the price it is, it would work..I was very wrong. We are sending the mower back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower

Disappointment

08/08/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this mower with high hopes, but it failed in every aspect of a mower. Factory right out of the box it failed to even accomplish the basic requirements of a "mower." I found myself having to run over a patch multiple times due to the mower simply not cutting blades of grass. Returned it and purchased a Brute from Wal-Mart for $20 more. It worked splendidly right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Fiskars StaySharp Max 18" Reel Mower
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1.5 out of 5
1.5 out of 5