Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Supergate III Gate

North States North States - Supergate III Gate

Keep your child safe and secure with the Supergate Classic by North States. Designed with this in mind, this versatile gate is designed to securely block doorways, stairways, and other spaces. Right out of the box, the Supergate Classic can be used as a quick and easy pressure mount gate, requiring no measuring or tools. Simply expand the gate in the opening and lock the handle. Well-suited to blocking doorways, the gate includes door sockets that provide extra holding power for pressure mounting in openings between 26 and 42 inches wide. This gate can also be used as a swing gate or a gate for the top of a stairway, all of the necessary hardware is included, simply following the instructions. Experience the convenience that you deserve and the superior quality that you've come to expect from North States. Made in the U.S.A.
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
35
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation80%117 out of 146reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
35
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Awful gate

12/25/2012
By ,
Newark, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I bought this gate because my son cracked my wooden one, which by the way was an amazing gate. After having the gate for a month it won't lock onto the walls. Specifically the top portion of the gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Overall great value but with some limitations

05/24/2013
By ,
diamond bar, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is a great value at this price but I had to go through some alterations as to how I installed on the top of the stairway.
I wanted to install this gate as a 'swing gate' with some type of locking system so that my baby cannot open it by herself. I tried installing with the hardware they provided but they are lacking some sturdiness and functionality.
so, I went on my own and designed this gate myself.
First of all I had to use 2x1 wood to secure the wall mount as direct mount was not sturdy enough on the drywall to withstand everyday swings. So I used the wood to place them between the wall and the bracket. On the other side, I also used the wood to work as a gate swing stopper. I screwed the wood on the wall frame and this acts as a stoppage of gate.
this worked out well as the end but if you're not a handy person, this gate may have some limitations of functionality as you would have to open and close the gate with level to lock with pressure everytime which can be a lot of hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Doorway Gate

05/19/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wanted to be able to just slide the gate in and out, but ended up having to use the holders for the caps on the end. Not quite as convenient as I wanted.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Supergate III Gate

works well

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS TO KEEP MY BEAGLE FROM RUNNING OUT THE FRONT DOOR WHEN I HAVE DELIVERYS AND IT IS GREAT I PUT IT BETWEEN THE SCREEN DOOR AND THE REGULAR DOOR.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Worth every penny

02/19/2011
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought this gate 8years ago for my first baby! We have used it with every baby since... I have four children and it suffered no damage. We are buying a new one because dad stepped on it and snapped the plastic. But other than that I have no complaints. Easy to use in multiple areas. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Doggy jail

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't beat this one for the price. The gate itself is very sturdy, and tall enough to keep small to medium sized dogs from roaming the house. We have a dachshund who had broken out of jail every day until we finally got this gate, and now he's safely corraled during the day. It's made of heavy gauge plastic and fits very snugly in doorways. The one issue is the latching mechanism - it takes some fiddling and can be difficult to work with, and unfamiliar users can break the latching arm itself if not careful. We had a friend watch our dog and she broke the latch trying to unlatch the gate. The plastic is stout but not stout enough on the latching arm, evidently. I've ordered a replacement gate already.
Familiarize yourself with the gate and latching mechanism and be careful with it, and $15 goes a long way.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Wonderful

04/30/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate has been used everyday since we got it. I have not had the opportunity to hang it up, but as a free standing gate it works perfectly. It does what it needs to and is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great for my Silky Terrier

07/07/2012
By ,
Bedford, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my dog in the kitchen at night. He weighs 25 - 30 pounds. It works very well for this purpose and he doesn't seem to mind it. My door opening is 41 inches wide which is wider than normal, and it fits fine. It will also fit smaller doorways.
It has a very easy to use locking or unlocking handle on it. You pull the handle out towards you and then pull up to unlock or pull handle down and push inward to lock it into 1 of the 3 locking holes. It couldn't be easier to use. It's made of a sturdy plastic material that should last for years.
You can use it with or without the metal mounting device that comes with it. I did not use the mounting device, but if you will be using it for a child, then I think you should.
Great Product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Supergate III Gate

they are great!!!!!!

05/17/2011
By ,
KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have used these gates for kids and dogs they are the best i have used them a very long time i bet 15 years or longer. i have never had one break just replaced them being white they tend to get dirty easy but are easy to clean will not stop buying them the last ones i had were well over 10 years old before i replaced then and put1 out by the trash and some took it, it was not broken just dirty. i kept the other 2 for out side use it is really hard to break them. i ordered 2 might get another if i need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Supergate III Gate

North States - Supergate III Gate

05/03/2012
By ,
Northumberland, N.H.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
•Baby gate can be used as a swing gate (hardware included for easy hinge mounting)
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Supergate III Gate

I have 2 of these & LOVE them!

10/19/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use them for my Weimaraners... LOVE these GATES! You can install them in different ways. I use them without installing any screws and they keep tight against the door opening... Will buy more too. They are much STURDIER than the wood ones. FYI: Weimaraners are tall dogs & they do not attempt to go over. I have had one for many years and just bought another to replace a 'falling apart' wooden gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't like this gate
Posted 06/21/2012
I have to climb over the gate in order to get into the room or take the gate down and put back up again.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for North States - Supergate III Gate

awesome gate, extremely safe and durable

06/14/2012
By ,
Southern CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first Supergate 21 years ago. It has been the only gate I have used for 18 kids. I have at times had it attached to a door frame, but mostly I have used it as a portable gate. It still works just as well as the day I bought it. Another really great aspect is that you can buy replacement parts from North States for very little money. I have replaced 2 of the rubber bumpers on the sides of the gates over the years, and today I ordered another one for $1.25. I am buying a new gate today as we are expecting a new baby, and I will need more than one gate in our new house. I think you will be very satisfied with this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Waste of money

03/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought 2 of these gates. The hinges are cheap and the plastic thing on the back of the nob to lock it broke off the first time we used it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great gate for the money

09/06/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is exactly what I need to use on a staircase to stop the dog from getting into the bedrooms. The locking device holds the gate securely in place and it is easy to open. The gate does require the walls to be even to work at its best. My wall has a large baseboard which doesn't allow the gate to sit flush against one wall, but the gate does still sit securely in the spot I need it to be in order to stop the dog from going upstairs. The gate arrived right on time. I was notified by WalMart via text and email when the gate was available to pick up from the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Puppy Gate is GREAT

03/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Need to add a magnetic catch to the gate and one to mount on the door that would help if you were just taking stuff in and out so you don't have to lock each time . But we love the gate helps out so much with 3 lil dogs .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Supergate III Gate

AWSOMECATSAWSOMEDOGS

03/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT PRICE AND VERY GOOD PRODUCT. HELPS ARE MAMA TO KEEP US OUT OF THE KITCHEN.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Sturdy

02/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to install and it's sturdy when it's locked. I have it blocking the top of my steps. My son stands near it and pushes it and it doesn't budge. I have also tried to move it when it's locked and it stay in place. The lock is a little strange to get use to because you pull it up and fit it in a slot to lock. It wasn't expensive so I wasn't expecting it to be great to look at but it's really not bad. I've had several people ask me where I got it. It serves it's purpose and keeps my son safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Supergate III Gate

My supergate....

02/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The gate is sturdy with smooth edges, the only problem I have is the mounting directions. I have put together many items , and to tell you the truth the mounting and how to use the gate directions are not clear.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Baby gate

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like that the gate is sturdy and secure.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Supergate III Gate

This Gate Will Stop You from Buying Any Other! Ha!

12/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these gates to keep a newly adopted cat in a room without having to shut the door. I put one on top of the other as if I only had one, the cat would've been able to jump over it.
The gates fit in the doorway fine and when the arm is "engaged" the gate, securely grabs hold. After grabbing it and trying to move it out of place, it was clear it wasn't going anywhere.
Will certainly keep the cat where she needs to be (for now) and I get the impression it would be secure enough to protect a child.
You certainly cannot go wrong with this gate.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next