Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Supergate III Gate

North States North States - Supergate III Gate

Keep your child safe and secure with the Supergate Classic by North States. Designed with this in mind, this versatile gate is designed to securely block doorways, stairways, and other spaces. Right out of the box, the Supergate Classic can be used as a quick and easy pressure mount gate, requiring no measuring or tools. Simply expand the gate in the opening and lock the handle. Well-suited to blocking doorways, the gate includes door sockets that provide extra holding power for pressure mounting in openings between 26 and 42 inches wide. This gate can also be used as a swing gate or a gate for the top of a stairway, all of the necessary hardware is included, simply following the instructions. Experience the convenience that you deserve and the superior quality that you've come to expect from North States. Made in the U.S.A.
Average Customer Rating:
3.991 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
26
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation82%87 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
26
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Awful gate

12/25/2012
By ,
Newark, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I bought this gate because my son cracked my wooden one, which by the way was an amazing gate. After having the gate for a month it won't lock onto the walls. Specifically the top portion of the gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Overall great value but with some limitations

05/24/2013
By ,
diamond bar, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is a great value at this price but I had to go through some alterations as to how I installed on the top of the stairway.
I wanted to install this gate as a 'swing gate' with some type of locking system so that my baby cannot open it by herself. I tried installing with the hardware they provided but they are lacking some sturdiness and functionality.
so, I went on my own and designed this gate myself.
First of all I had to use 2x1 wood to secure the wall mount as direct mount was not sturdy enough on the drywall to withstand everyday swings. So I used the wood to place them between the wall and the bracket. On the other side, I also used the wood to work as a gate swing stopper. I screwed the wood on the wall frame and this acts as a stoppage of gate.
this worked out well as the end but if you're not a handy person, this gate may have some limitations of functionality as you would have to open and close the gate with level to lock with pressure everytime which can be a lot of hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Supergate III Gate

A little difficult to use

11/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First off, getting the packaging off is a real pain. The instructions are inside the panels! I had to go on the website and see the video to know how to get the paperwork out! On the positive side, there is nothing to assemble as long as you don't use it as a swinging gate. On the negative side, I found it difficult to line up the sides and pull the lever down at just the right pressure. I bought it thinking that it would be easy to put up and take down whenever I wanted. But because it is so difficult, I use alternate methods to get around the doorways where the gates are placed. They are also too high to step over easily.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great gate

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good gate for the money, same gate on other sites was double the price. I love that it mounts on the wall and swings open fitting flat against the wall when not in use. I would recommend it to anyone needing a gate.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great gate for the money

09/06/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is exactly what I need to use on a staircase to stop the dog from getting into the bedrooms. The locking device holds the gate securely in place and it is easy to open. The gate does require the walls to be even to work at its best. My wall has a large baseboard which doesn't allow the gate to sit flush against one wall, but the gate does still sit securely in the spot I need it to be in order to stop the dog from going upstairs. The gate arrived right on time. I was notified by WalMart via text and email when the gate was available to pick up from the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Worth every penny

02/19/2011
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought this gate 8years ago for my first baby! We have used it with every baby since... I have four children and it suffered no damage. We are buying a new one because dad stepped on it and snapped the plastic. But other than that I have no complaints. Easy to use in multiple areas. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Pet Keeper

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well made good hardware, easy setup. will be again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Wonderful

04/30/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate has been used everyday since we got it. I have not had the opportunity to hang it up, but as a free standing gate it works perfectly. It does what it needs to and is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Supergate III Gate

they are great!!!!!!

05/17/2011
By ,
KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have used these gates for kids and dogs they are the best i have used them a very long time i bet 15 years or longer. i have never had one break just replaced them being white they tend to get dirty easy but are easy to clean will not stop buying them the last ones i had were well over 10 years old before i replaced then and put1 out by the trash and some took it, it was not broken just dirty. i kept the other 2 for out side use it is really hard to break them. i ordered 2 might get another if i need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Supergate III Gate

I have 2 of these & LOVE them!

10/19/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use them for my Weimaraners... LOVE these GATES! You can install them in different ways. I use them without installing any screws and they keep tight against the door opening... Will buy more too. They are much STURDIER than the wood ones. FYI: Weimaraners are tall dogs & they do not attempt to go over. I have had one for many years and just bought another to replace a 'falling apart' wooden gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't like this gate
Posted 06/21/2012
I have to climb over the gate in order to get into the room or take the gate down and put back up again.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great for my Silky Terrier

07/07/2012
By ,
Bedford, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my dog in the kitchen at night. He weighs 25 - 30 pounds. It works very well for this purpose and he doesn't seem to mind it. My door opening is 41 inches wide which is wider than normal, and it fits fine. It will also fit smaller doorways.
It has a very easy to use locking or unlocking handle on it. You pull the handle out towards you and then pull up to unlock or pull handle down and push inward to lock it into 1 of the 3 locking holes. It couldn't be easier to use. It's made of a sturdy plastic material that should last for years.
You can use it with or without the metal mounting device that comes with it. I did not use the mounting device, but if you will be using it for a child, then I think you should.
Great Product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great Little Gate

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for why purchased ~ to keep small dogs and small child on deck. Easy to set up, looks great, and works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Supergate III Gate

awesome gate, extremely safe and durable

06/14/2012
By ,
Southern CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first Supergate 21 years ago. It has been the only gate I have used for 18 kids. I have at times had it attached to a door frame, but mostly I have used it as a portable gate. It still works just as well as the day I bought it. Another really great aspect is that you can buy replacement parts from North States for very little money. I have replaced 2 of the rubber bumpers on the sides of the gates over the years, and today I ordered another one for $1.25. I am buying a new gate today as we are expecting a new baby, and I will need more than one gate in our new house. I think you will be very satisfied with this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great gate for toddlers

07/31/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this gate .It works very well and last a long time. I had one before that I used outside on my porch so as my pets and children did not get out. It lasted me for 5 years. And I'm sure I will get the same from this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Supergate III Gate

sufficient for my use.

04/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works but a bit hard to open for us elderly...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Sturdy

02/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to install and it's sturdy when it's locked. I have it blocking the top of my steps. My son stands near it and pushes it and it doesn't budge. I have also tried to move it when it's locked and it stay in place. The lock is a little strange to get use to because you pull it up and fit it in a slot to lock. It wasn't expensive so I wasn't expecting it to be great to look at but it's really not bad. I've had several people ask me where I got it. It serves it's purpose and keeps my son safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Supergate III Gate

North States - Supergate III Gate

05/03/2012
By ,
Northumberland, N.H.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
•Baby gate can be used as a swing gate (hardware included for easy hinge mounting)
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Terrible, horrible, no good, very bad gate...

06/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've only had this gate a few weeks and it doesn't even stay up anymore. The "pressure mount" is reliant on plastic tabs that wear down over time. Now when I try to put it up it just snaps into the next spot and isn't even secure. I'm going to try and return it tomorrow without a receipt or product tag and hope they give my money back so I can buy something better like the $10 wood gates that we had before this one. I bought this thinking it would be more reliable than the little wood ones but it's not, spend $9.98 for the cheap ones and get a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Works great !

07/22/2014
By ,
North Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these gates to keep my new yorkie puppy in a certain part of my home. There are well made, and easy to use. They fit tight against the door frame. I'm very happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Wish I would have spent more

09/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Used this gate as a mounted one at the top of some stairs. It does not slide easily and is not a quick release. It can be fairly difficult to use if your hands are full. I wish I would have spent a little bit more and gotten some that are a little more user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next