Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Supergate III Gate

North States North States - Supergate III Gate

Keep your child safe and secure with the Supergate Classic by North States. Designed with this in mind, this versatile gate is designed to securely block doorways, stairways, and other spaces. Right out of the box, the Supergate Classic can be used as a quick and easy pressure mount gate, requiring no measuring or tools. Simply expand the gate in the opening and lock the handle. Well-suited to blocking doorways, the gate includes door sockets that provide extra holding power for pressure mounting in openings between 26 and 42 inches wide. This gate can also be used as a swing gate or a gate for the top of a stairway, all of the necessary hardware is included, simply following the instructions. Experience the convenience that you deserve and the superior quality that you've come to expect from North States. Made in the U.S.A.
Average Customer Rating:
3.976 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
31
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation82%102 out of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
31
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Awful gate

12/25/2012
By ,
Newark, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I bought this gate because my son cracked my wooden one, which by the way was an amazing gate. After having the gate for a month it won't lock onto the walls. Specifically the top portion of the gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Overall great value but with some limitations

05/24/2013
By ,
diamond bar, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is a great value at this price but I had to go through some alterations as to how I installed on the top of the stairway.
I wanted to install this gate as a 'swing gate' with some type of locking system so that my baby cannot open it by herself. I tried installing with the hardware they provided but they are lacking some sturdiness and functionality.
so, I went on my own and designed this gate myself.
First of all I had to use 2x1 wood to secure the wall mount as direct mount was not sturdy enough on the drywall to withstand everyday swings. So I used the wood to place them between the wall and the bracket. On the other side, I also used the wood to work as a gate swing stopper. I screwed the wood on the wall frame and this acts as a stoppage of gate.
this worked out well as the end but if you're not a handy person, this gate may have some limitations of functionality as you would have to open and close the gate with level to lock with pressure everytime which can be a lot of hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great defense

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog likes to get on my bed and dig in. I used to pull a large chair in front of the doorway! NOW, with this wonderful gate, I can set it up in less than a minute ... and my bedspread stays smooth and beautiful!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Supergate III Gate

WARAY1

01/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is fantastic. It is easy to install and very good for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great for the $

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to install and well made. It does the job I wanted it to do . . . It keeps the puppy in the room!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Nice gate for my Rottie's

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a stronger gate for my Rottweiler's that did not tip the budget.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Worth every penny

02/19/2011
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought this gate 8years ago for my first baby! We have used it with every baby since... I have four children and it suffered no damage. We are buying a new one because dad stepped on it and snapped the plastic. But other than that I have no complaints. Easy to use in multiple areas. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Supergate III Gate

dont buy it

01/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Big piece of junk! I returned it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Supergate III Gate

may need tools

01/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
working good now, at first I had to remove the locking bar and put it in the correct position to work properly. Someone without a screwdriver would be very mad!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Supergate III Gate

sturdy

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and sturdy for money
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Ok, I guess...

01/08/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does the job but awkward and difficult to "operate". Sliding it open was a feat of strength and locking it is just plain terrible exercise. Wish it were easier and smoother because as it is, I leave it in place and climb over it so I don't have to struggle with the mechanism to unlock/lock and slide to open. Would not recommend it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great Gate

01/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy easy to install or use portable. Great price compared to pet supply stores.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Twin Puppies

01/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent buy for the price. Would recommend to others.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Supergate III Gate

This Gate Will Stop You from Buying Any Other! Ha!

12/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these gates to keep a newly adopted cat in a room without having to shut the door. I put one on top of the other as if I only had one, the cat would've been able to jump over it.
The gates fit in the doorway fine and when the arm is "engaged" the gate, securely grabs hold. After grabbing it and trying to move it out of place, it was clear it wasn't going anywhere.
Will certainly keep the cat where she needs to be (for now) and I get the impression it would be secure enough to protect a child.
You certainly cannot go wrong with this gate.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Wonderful

04/30/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate has been used everyday since we got it. I have not had the opportunity to hang it up, but as a free standing gate it works perfectly. It does what it needs to and is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great for my Silky Terrier

07/07/2012
By ,
Bedford, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my dog in the kitchen at night. He weighs 25 - 30 pounds. It works very well for this purpose and he doesn't seem to mind it. My door opening is 41 inches wide which is wider than normal, and it fits fine. It will also fit smaller doorways.
It has a very easy to use locking or unlocking handle on it. You pull the handle out towards you and then pull up to unlock or pull handle down and push inward to lock it into 1 of the 3 locking holes. It couldn't be easier to use. It's made of a sturdy plastic material that should last for years.
You can use it with or without the metal mounting device that comes with it. I did not use the mounting device, but if you will be using it for a child, then I think you should.
Great Product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Real nice gate for puppies!

12/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect gate for my Yorkie pups! Keeps them safe and in there own area. Very sAfe and secure. Thank you and Happy New Year!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Supergate III Gate

I have 2 of these & LOVE them!

10/19/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use them for my Weimaraners... LOVE these GATES! You can install them in different ways. I use them without installing any screws and they keep tight against the door opening... Will buy more too. They are much STURDIER than the wood ones. FYI: Weimaraners are tall dogs & they do not attempt to go over. I have had one for many years and just bought another to replace a 'falling apart' wooden gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't like this gate
Posted 06/21/2012
I have to climb over the gate in order to get into the room or take the gate down and put back up again.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Nice

12/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice and a good price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great gate for the money

09/06/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is exactly what I need to use on a staircase to stop the dog from getting into the bedrooms. The locking device holds the gate securely in place and it is easy to open. The gate does require the walls to be even to work at its best. My wall has a large baseboard which doesn't allow the gate to sit flush against one wall, but the gate does still sit securely in the spot I need it to be in order to stop the dog from going upstairs. The gate arrived right on time. I was notified by WalMart via text and email when the gate was available to pick up from the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next