Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Supergate III Gate

North States North States - Supergate III Gate

Keep your child safe and secure with the Supergate Classic by North States. Designed with this in mind, this versatile gate is designed to securely block doorways, stairways, and other spaces. Right out of the box, the Supergate Classic can be used as a quick and easy pressure mount gate, requiring no measuring or tools. Simply expand the gate in the opening and lock the handle. Well-suited to blocking doorways, the gate includes door sockets that provide extra holding power for pressure mounting in openings between 26 and 42 inches wide. This gate can also be used as a swing gate or a gate for the top of a stairway, all of the necessary hardware is included, simply following the instructions. Experience the convenience that you deserve and the superior quality that you've come to expect from North States. Made in the U.S.A.
Average Customer Rating:
3.969 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation82%79 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Awful gate

12/25/2012
By ,
Newark, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I bought this gate because my son cracked my wooden one, which by the way was an amazing gate. After having the gate for a month it won't lock onto the walls. Specifically the top portion of the gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Overall great value but with some limitations

05/24/2013
By ,
diamond bar, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is a great value at this price but I had to go through some alterations as to how I installed on the top of the stairway.
I wanted to install this gate as a 'swing gate' with some type of locking system so that my baby cannot open it by herself. I tried installing with the hardware they provided but they are lacking some sturdiness and functionality.
so, I went on my own and designed this gate myself.
First of all I had to use 2x1 wood to secure the wall mount as direct mount was not sturdy enough on the drywall to withstand everyday swings. So I used the wood to place them between the wall and the bracket. On the other side, I also used the wood to work as a gate swing stopper. I screwed the wood on the wall frame and this acts as a stoppage of gate.
this worked out well as the end but if you're not a handy person, this gate may have some limitations of functionality as you would have to open and close the gate with level to lock with pressure everytime which can be a lot of hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great gate for toddlers

07/31/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this gate .It works very well and last a long time. I had one before that I used outside on my porch so as my pets and children did not get out. It lasted me for 5 years. And I'm sure I will get the same from this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Works great !

07/22/2014
By ,
North Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these gates to keep my new yorkie puppy in a certain part of my home. There are well made, and easy to use. They fit tight against the door frame. I'm very happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great Little Gate

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for why purchased ~ to keep small dogs and small child on deck. Easy to set up, looks great, and works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Plastic gates

08/11/2014
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These gates are not easy to open. You need two hands to open these gates. I bought them thinking I would use the swivel hardware included to make them easy to open and close but found out that the locking mechanism sticks and is too hard for my grandmother to unlock. They are however better then some of the cheap wooden gates and good if you want to temporarily block an entrance that you don't mind having to struggle a couple minutes by yourself to close.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Supergate III Gate

It's just okay

08/18/2014
By ,
Battleboro, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We've had this for a couple of months and the door just doesn't close properly anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Terrible, horrible, no good, very bad gate...

06/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've only had this gate a few weeks and it doesn't even stay up anymore. The "pressure mount" is reliant on plastic tabs that wear down over time. Now when I try to put it up it just snaps into the next spot and isn't even secure. I'm going to try and return it tomorrow without a receipt or product tag and hope they give my money back so I can buy something better like the $10 wood gates that we had before this one. I bought this thinking it would be more reliable than the little wood ones but it's not, spend $9.98 for the cheap ones and get a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Worth every penny

02/19/2011
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought this gate 8years ago for my first baby! We have used it with every baby since... I have four children and it suffered no damage. We are buying a new one because dad stepped on it and snapped the plastic. But other than that I have no complaints. Easy to use in multiple areas. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Hard to install

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this and didn't like it.
Reason 1: instructions for installing it so poor & fonts are so tiny one has to use magnifying glass. Moreover instructions are not easily described.
Reason 2: the door hinges r so poorly designed, that the way it showed to use in the instruction actually don't work.
Would not recommend. I have used the metal gates before they more strong and much easier to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Supergate III Gate

sturdy gate

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this to replace flimsy wooden gates to keep my dogs safe.
Easy to use once you get the hang of it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Supergate III Gate

very sturdy

08/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend. Very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Doggie Gate

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid and very easy to move from door to door. Good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Nice baby gate

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great baby gate for the money. Sturdy. Shipping left much to be desired. One of the gates arrived to my daughter in a box that had a gaping hole and scuffs and minor scratches on the gate. Had she not needed the gate so badly she would have refused shipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Supergate III Gate

they are great!!!!!!

05/17/2011
By ,
KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have used these gates for kids and dogs they are the best i have used them a very long time i bet 15 years or longer. i have never had one break just replaced them being white they tend to get dirty easy but are easy to clean will not stop buying them the last ones i had were well over 10 years old before i replaced then and put1 out by the trash and some took it, it was not broken just dirty. i kept the other 2 for out side use it is really hard to break them. i ordered 2 might get another if i need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Supergate III Gate

sufficient for my use.

04/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works but a bit hard to open for us elderly...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Wonderful

04/30/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate has been used everyday since we got it. I have not had the opportunity to hang it up, but as a free standing gate it works perfectly. It does what it needs to and is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Supergate III Gate

so far so good, on top of the stairs

07/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too bad it can't swivel more than 90 degrees, I wish it would go 180 degrees to be out of the way when the grandkids are not around.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Supergate III Gate

I have 2 of these & LOVE them!

10/19/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use them for my Weimaraners... LOVE these GATES! You can install them in different ways. I use them without installing any screws and they keep tight against the door opening... Will buy more too. They are much STURDIER than the wood ones. FYI: Weimaraners are tall dogs & they do not attempt to go over. I have had one for many years and just bought another to replace a 'falling apart' wooden gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't like this gate
Posted 06/21/2012
I have to climb over the gate in order to get into the room or take the gate down and put back up again.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Sturdy

02/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to install and it's sturdy when it's locked. I have it blocking the top of my steps. My son stands near it and pushes it and it doesn't budge. I have also tried to move it when it's locked and it stay in place. The lock is a little strange to get use to because you pull it up and fit it in a slot to lock. It wasn't expensive so I wasn't expecting it to be great to look at but it's really not bad. I've had several people ask me where I got it. It serves it's purpose and keeps my son safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next