Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Supergate III Gate

North States North States - Supergate III Gate

Keep your child safe and secure with the Supergate Classic by North States. Designed with this in mind, this versatile gate is designed to securely block doorways, stairways, and other spaces. Right out of the box, the Supergate Classic can be used as a quick and easy pressure mount gate, requiring no measuring or tools. Simply expand the gate in the opening and lock the handle. Well-suited to blocking doorways, the gate includes door sockets that provide extra holding power for pressure mounting in openings between 26 and 42 inches wide. This gate can also be used as a swing gate or a gate for the top of a stairway, all of the necessary hardware is included, simply following the instructions. Experience the convenience that you deserve and the superior quality that you've come to expect from North States. Made in the U.S.A.
Average Customer Rating:
4.09 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%66 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Supergate III Gate

A+

12/04/2012
By ,
kissimmee FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very secure and very Hard material easy to install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Overall great value but with some limitations

05/24/2013
By ,
diamond bar, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is a great value at this price but I had to go through some alterations as to how I installed on the top of the stairway.
I wanted to install this gate as a 'swing gate' with some type of locking system so that my baby cannot open it by herself. I tried installing with the hardware they provided but they are lacking some sturdiness and functionality.
so, I went on my own and designed this gate myself.
First of all I had to use 2x1 wood to secure the wall mount as direct mount was not sturdy enough on the drywall to withstand everyday swings. So I used the wood to place them between the wall and the bracket. On the other side, I also used the wood to work as a gate swing stopper. I screwed the wood on the wall frame and this acts as a stoppage of gate.
this worked out well as the end but if you're not a handy person, this gate may have some limitations of functionality as you would have to open and close the gate with level to lock with pressure everytime which can be a lot of hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Sturdy

02/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to install and it's sturdy when it's locked. I have it blocking the top of my steps. My son stands near it and pushes it and it doesn't budge. I have also tried to move it when it's locked and it stay in place. The lock is a little strange to get use to because you pull it up and fit it in a slot to lock. It wasn't expensive so I wasn't expecting it to be great to look at but it's really not bad. I've had several people ask me where I got it. It serves it's purpose and keeps my son safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Worse gate ever

04/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this gate, it is a very poor quality gate, it's too hard to open and the suction doesn't even work properly. Add a little more more and get yourself a better gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Supergate III Gate

sufficient for my use.

04/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works but a bit hard to open for us elderly...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Received broken in the box

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received brokem in the box had to return it to store for refund
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Worth every penny

02/19/2011
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought this gate 8years ago for my first baby! We have used it with every baby since... I have four children and it suffered no damage. We are buying a new one because dad stepped on it and snapped the plastic. But other than that I have no complaints. Easy to use in multiple areas. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Good deal

02/23/2014
By ,
Scott AFB, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems to be a sturdy plastic simple gate. I like how it locks into place. Easy to use and figure out. If you are buying this for the stairs or bedroom doorway, I suggest using the wall mounted guard accessories it comes with. This can EASILY be pushed down even at it's tightest setting. But put in the guards and that gate isn't budging. For the price you pay, it's a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Supergate III Gate

they are great!!!!!!

05/17/2011
By ,
KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have used these gates for kids and dogs they are the best i have used them a very long time i bet 15 years or longer. i have never had one break just replaced them being white they tend to get dirty easy but are easy to clean will not stop buying them the last ones i had were well over 10 years old before i replaced then and put1 out by the trash and some took it, it was not broken just dirty. i kept the other 2 for out side use it is really hard to break them. i ordered 2 might get another if i need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Supergate III Gate

great swinging gate

03/24/2014
By ,
IDAHO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love the swinging gate had to get used to the latch to open but after that no problm no having to step over the gate
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Wonderful

04/30/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate has been used everyday since we got it. I have not had the opportunity to hang it up, but as a free standing gate it works perfectly. It does what it needs to and is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Supergate III Gate

I have 2 of these & LOVE them!

10/19/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use them for my Weimaraners... LOVE these GATES! You can install them in different ways. I use them without installing any screws and they keep tight against the door opening... Will buy more too. They are much STURDIER than the wood ones. FYI: Weimaraners are tall dogs & they do not attempt to go over. I have had one for many years and just bought another to replace a 'falling apart' wooden gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't like this gate
Posted 06/21/2012
I have to climb over the gate in order to get into the room or take the gate down and put back up again.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great for my Silky Terrier

07/07/2012
By ,
Bedford, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my dog in the kitchen at night. He weighs 25 - 30 pounds. It works very well for this purpose and he doesn't seem to mind it. My door opening is 41 inches wide which is wider than normal, and it fits fine. It will also fit smaller doorways.
It has a very easy to use locking or unlocking handle on it. You pull the handle out towards you and then pull up to unlock or pull handle down and push inward to lock it into 1 of the 3 locking holes. It couldn't be easier to use. It's made of a sturdy plastic material that should last for years.
You can use it with or without the metal mounting device that comes with it. I did not use the mounting device, but if you will be using it for a child, then I think you should.
Great Product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Supergate III Gate

awesome gate, extremely safe and durable

06/14/2012
By ,
Southern CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first Supergate 21 years ago. It has been the only gate I have used for 18 kids. I have at times had it attached to a door frame, but mostly I have used it as a portable gate. It still works just as well as the day I bought it. Another really great aspect is that you can buy replacement parts from North States for very little money. I have replaced 2 of the rubber bumpers on the sides of the gates over the years, and today I ordered another one for $1.25. I am buying a new gate today as we are expecting a new baby, and I will need more than one gate in our new house. I think you will be very satisfied with this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Supergate III Gate

North States - Supergate III Gate

05/03/2012
By ,
Northumberland, N.H.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
•Baby gate can be used as a swing gate (hardware included for easy hinge mounting)
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Supergate III Gate

more sturdy than the wooden gates

02/11/2014
By ,
warriors mark,pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a little more difficult to use than the wooden gates.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Sucks....

01/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Order arrived and was missin rubber stops that were already supposed to be attached to item, after waiting two weeks to be shipped. Ill never do this again. Then they no longer had same item available for at same price in order to replace.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Good for the price

11/05/2013
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have various gates to keep my dogs inside the house and out of certain rooms. I am having to replace my 20-year-old wooden one because I had to put it outside when my new puppy squeezed through the plastic one that's been there for 13 years. So I purchased this one to replace the now-warped one. It is okay and keeps the dogs from "escaping" from my deck, however the latch doesn't seem very sturdy and I doubt it will outlast the cold weather without just snapping off on me. It also doesn't hold firm at all four corners like all my previous gates have, so I'm afraid the puppy will push it over when she's jumping on it. Hopefully I can find a sturdier gate and move this one inside somewhere where it will hopefully last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Broken gate

12/31/2013
By ,
North Vernon, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered two of these, two different times, both times they came in broken. Will not order again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NE KS
Broken Gate
Posted 01/28/2014
There is nothing that infuriates me more than poor packaging before shipping an item. One would think if the store wants our business, they would check them out, and package them properly to prevent damage. In this case it appears the manufacturer would make sure all parts are in the package. I would bet this was not made in this country.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for North States - Supergate III Gate
10/25/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to return this product because it was a little too high for me climb over so many times a day. I bought it to keep puppy from bedrooms and bathroom (cat littler box). But it is a very sturdy gate. Does what it is supposed to do and great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Jersey
Climb Over?????
Posted 11/14/2012
This gate opens.. and you can reclose it each time it is used (very simply). It also can be mounted to swing. That is the way I wish to use it. I think this will be easier, because there is no need to hold it up, when you open it.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next