Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Supergate III Gate

North States North States - Supergate III Gate

Keep your child safe and secure with the Supergate Classic by North States. Designed with this in mind, this versatile gate is designed to securely block doorways, stairways, and other spaces. Right out of the box, the Supergate Classic can be used as a quick and easy pressure mount gate, requiring no measuring or tools. Simply expand the gate in the opening and lock the handle. Well-suited to blocking doorways, the gate includes door sockets that provide extra holding power for pressure mounting in openings between 26 and 42 inches wide. This gate can also be used as a swing gate or a gate for the top of a stairway, all of the necessary hardware is included, simply following the instructions. Experience the convenience that you deserve and the superior quality that you've come to expect from North States. Made in the U.S.A.
Average Customer Rating:
3.937 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
34
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation80%113 out of 141reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
34
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Supergate III Gate

A+

12/04/2012
By ,
kissimmee FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very secure and very Hard material easy to install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Overall great value but with some limitations

05/24/2013
By ,
diamond bar, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is a great value at this price but I had to go through some alterations as to how I installed on the top of the stairway.
I wanted to install this gate as a 'swing gate' with some type of locking system so that my baby cannot open it by herself. I tried installing with the hardware they provided but they are lacking some sturdiness and functionality.
so, I went on my own and designed this gate myself.
First of all I had to use 2x1 wood to secure the wall mount as direct mount was not sturdy enough on the drywall to withstand everyday swings. So I used the wood to place them between the wall and the bracket. On the other side, I also used the wood to work as a gate swing stopper. I screwed the wood on the wall frame and this acts as a stoppage of gate.
this worked out well as the end but if you're not a handy person, this gate may have some limitations of functionality as you would have to open and close the gate with level to lock with pressure everytime which can be a lot of hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Doggy jail

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't beat this one for the price. The gate itself is very sturdy, and tall enough to keep small to medium sized dogs from roaming the house. We have a dachshund who had broken out of jail every day until we finally got this gate, and now he's safely corraled during the day. It's made of heavy gauge plastic and fits very snugly in doorways. The one issue is the latching mechanism - it takes some fiddling and can be difficult to work with, and unfamiliar users can break the latching arm itself if not careful. We had a friend watch our dog and she broke the latch trying to unlatch the gate. The plastic is stout but not stout enough on the latching arm, evidently. I've ordered a replacement gate already.
Familiarize yourself with the gate and latching mechanism and be careful with it, and $15 goes a long way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Supergate III Gate

My supergate....

02/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The gate is sturdy with smooth edges, the only problem I have is the mounting directions. I have put together many items , and to tell you the truth the mounting and how to use the gate directions are not clear.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Baby gate

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like that the gate is sturdy and secure.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Worth every penny

02/19/2011
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought this gate 8years ago for my first baby! We have used it with every baby since... I have four children and it suffered no damage. We are buying a new one because dad stepped on it and snapped the plastic. But other than that I have no complaints. Easy to use in multiple areas. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Supergate III Gate

convience

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very light weight and durable
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Supergate III Gate

versatile gate

02/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful product for a GREAT price. Can be used like a regular child gate that expands or mounted as a swinging gate. Great PRODUCT. Well made and rugged.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Get what you pay for

02/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wouldnt trust this to protect a child at all for a doorway. I tried for 15 minutes and still never closed it correctly without feeling like it was going to break.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Supergate III Gate

great for the price

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two gates to help train a small dog. Gates are so easy to use, stay adjusted for the width, and then easy to tighten. Quite satisfied.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Hard To close

01/31/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The overall quality of this gate is not horrible, however we have a constant problem with the handle to lock it closed. and finding the right width before trying to close the handle is next to impossible. we found the "sweet spot" after two days of fiddling and have opted to just leave it in place lol. Over all, you get what you pay for and it does keep the dogs out of the guest room
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Supergate III Gate

HOLDING PUPPIES BACK

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE GATE IS EASILY INSTALLED AND WORKS WELL EVEN FOR A PERSON WITH SEVERE ARTHRTIS. THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHIPPING SO PROMPTLY
CINDY
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Supergate III Gate

came broken

02/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this shipped to my house and it came broken..it doesn't affect how it works but I expect what I ordered in good condition.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Wonderful

04/30/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate has been used everyday since we got it. I have not had the opportunity to hang it up, but as a free standing gate it works perfectly. It does what it needs to and is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Cyrah

02/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for my 9 month old grandson he just started walking. It's holds up well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Difficult to use

01/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had to replace a wooden gate that my 3yo broke by climbing it. We decided to try this type of gate in hopes that it would work better.
It is very difficult to adjust to fit the doorway. We have even tried a little WD-40 to help it slide to no avail.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Great for my Silky Terrier

07/07/2012
By ,
Bedford, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my dog in the kitchen at night. He weighs 25 - 30 pounds. It works very well for this purpose and he doesn't seem to mind it. My door opening is 41 inches wide which is wider than normal, and it fits fine. It will also fit smaller doorways.
It has a very easy to use locking or unlocking handle on it. You pull the handle out towards you and then pull up to unlock or pull handle down and push inward to lock it into 1 of the 3 locking holes. It couldn't be easier to use. It's made of a sturdy plastic material that should last for years.
You can use it with or without the metal mounting device that comes with it. I did not use the mounting device, but if you will be using it for a child, then I think you should.
Great Product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Supergate III Gate

Very Happy

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great&was very easy to set up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Supergate III Gate

it's ok...... but

01/27/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the gate is ok but it's not as I expected......in the past I had purchased 2 of the same gates ....they have been great so decided to buy 2 more for other parts of the house ( for the grandchildren and pets ) these aren't as sturdy as the previous ones and much harder to install
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Supergate III Gate

easy-to-use

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very easy to use and to instal. It has 3 different ways of installing it, and I did the most easy one, no tools needed. It's very sturdy. I love it and strongly recommended. Price is great too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next