Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Buffalo Technology Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Buffalo Technology Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

The Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB External Hard Drive is a high-performance portable storage solution in a remarkably compact and lightweight contemporary form. Simply plug the USB 2.0 external hard drive into any available USB port on your PC or Mac computer, and instantly add capacity or store files to take on the road. It has a high transfer rate to enhance the performance of your PC. This portable external hard drive features Buffalo's backup utility to protect your important documents and files. It also offers a data restore function. It has a blue LED that indicates the drive's power status. This USB 2.0 external hard drive features ECO Manager to reduce battery consumption and conserve energy. The slim external hard drive's compact design occupies minimal space for ultimate portability. You can use this external hard drive with MAC and PC computers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%32 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Really easy to used

12/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Very Impressive

07/18/2011
By ,
Edwards, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a big improvement from the old external's that you had to have a a/c adapter for. This is small & easy to take with you & is very fast. I was really impressed with the speed of backing up my whole system. And it was very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+58points
Review 3 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

portable backup with bad software

09/02/2011
By ,
rochester, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
a lot of memory space for backup at an affordable price. just don't use the software that comes with. it is like a virus which has slowed down the startup of my laptop and i can't seem to uninstall the program fully. at first i thought i would never be able to use the computer again but after a couple of safe reboots and reverting back to prior setups with system restore i got it going again. still cannot fully delete the program. very upset.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Review 4 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Nice product, but cost per MB a little high

08/10/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice product. Works well, and fast, is easy to setup. Used on a Mac as a bootable backup and then as a Time Machine drive. The cost per MB is not the lowest you can find, but the ease of use is pretty solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 5 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black
08/20/2011
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The portable hard drive that I purchased is doing what I needed it for. It is very easy to access and is working wonderfully for me. Exactly what I needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 6 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Awesome!!

08/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am going off to college and this is a perfect hard drive to bring with me! I love that it is so small but still has plenty of space for my pictures, music, and documents. I definitely recommend this product! Works very well with my mac and my families PC!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 7 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Good product for the price

12/06/2012
By ,
nashua,nh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, so good. Good product for the price. Slow download but gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 8 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black
12/20/2012
By ,
Windsor, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This hard drive is not user friendly. The drive is advertised to be used for Windows 7 & 8 but does not function as illustrated in the instructions. Also, error message says "can't open folder" when performing backup function. Also, "some files could not be saved" message after backup function.
I chose not to use the BUFFALO BACKUP software but used the drive and Windows Backup program instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 9 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

quick and compact

07/04/2012
By ,
elgin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this hard drive for everything but I espesially use it for my xbox
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Perfect for my purposes

06/28/2012
By ,
Mountain View, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a breeze to get up and do the job. Makes it quick and easy to access my substantial business and personal record files. Nice that it only occupies a very small space on my desk. I like the use of USB power instead of a seperate AC supply. Am really impressed with this drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Great external HD

07/03/2013
By ,
Norton, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use & great for when I bought a new computer and needed to transfer all my files to the new computer. So easy to use, just plug into your computer's USB port, then open two "My Computer"s and drag & drop or cut and paste the folders & files you want to save from your computer's hard drive to this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 12 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Great Value, Exceeds Expectations!

07/30/2013
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for my friend, and he loves it! As he states, it is a fast portable external hard drive with fast backup, no power cord, environment friendly (it has an eco mode) and has a sleek, stylish design. Perfect for those on the go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 13 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Works just as good as the expensive brands

07/21/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was really easy to use, just right out of the box, plug in and go. Great price for the amount of storage. Really no flaws or drawbacks at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Works great and easy to use

06/30/2013
By ,
Greenfield, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great feature is it doesn't have to be powered by external connection just the USB.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 15 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

not bad

08/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, the first one quit working after a week. The second one is going strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Purchased for iMAC

09/30/2011
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased for backup on my new iMAC Time Machine - just plugged in and ready to download. Recommend and great value too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black
06/28/2013
By ,
nashville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve had this drive about a month now, and I am impressed. Faster than other drives I’ve owned easy to use and something anyone could setup, its that simple. It seems to be very reliable and I think if you want a faster drive you will have to go to one of the high end HP drives. The price is really good for what you get also, very pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 18 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Very pleased and definately would recommend it.

08/24/2013
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lightweight, easy to carry. Definately will be purchasing more units.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black
12/10/2012
By ,
Minnesota USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far it works great. I haven't had it long enough to give an overall rating. I have only had the HD for 9 days. The cost was reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Buffalo Technology MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive HD-PCT500U2/B, Black

Great hardrive, very easy to connect and use.

09/05/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very fast unit; easy to connect and reliable. Since it is solid state, it is not necessary to defrag the drive. Because of the small size, it is very portable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next