Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Energizer Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Energizer Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

This Brilliant Beam Energizer LED Headlight provides you with a compact and versatile light that can be worn on your head, making it well-suited for camping and a host of other outdoor activities. The Energizer Trailfinder LED Headlight features one powerful Luxeon LED, two white Nichia LEDs and two red Nichia LEDs. With a pivoting head, this Energizer Headlight directs light where it's needed. It's all balanced on a soft, elastic, adjustable headband for your comfort. The bright one-watt LED spot on the Energizer Headlight delivers 45 lumens for up to 11 hours of run time, the two bright Nichia LEDs (flood mode) deliver 28 lumens for up to 50 hours of run time and the two bright red night vision LEDs have a 75 hour run time. This Energizer Trailfinder LED Headlight comes complete with three AAA Energizer Max alkaline batteries.
Average Customer Rating:
4.281 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%30 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight
08/14/2012
By ,
BATON ROUGE, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it fits on my helmet. Great for night riding.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Great headlight for any use

09/21/2013
By ,
colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this light for over two years. I use it almost every night for moving about the house without waking everyone else up by turning on all the lights just to use the bathroom, or get a drink of water. I also use it for walking outside around the yard, and in the very dark alley out back. The red light illuminates the area in front of me to 10 ft., and is great for lighting a path enough for walking. The white light operates in 2 floodlight modes, and one spotlight mode. You can also have the red light on with the white. The floodlight mode works very well and illuminates a good sized area (maybe 30x30 ft) so you can see clearly. The spotlight clearly illuminates objects 100 ft away, and casts light much farther for the purpose of identifying objects and tracking movement. The light can also be positioned for optimal viewing angle, and it holds the position until you decide to adjust it for a different angle.
I really like this light. A great value for the money. It is both rugged and functional. I can definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

great product

03/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this product for a backpacking trip in the jenny wilderness. bear country. gun country. great on the head or around your neck. the red light was easy on the eyes and perfect for around the campsite. the spotlight was very bright at 45 lumens. excellent to see deep into the darkness for those strange noises at night. flood light worked excellent as well and lighted a great area. batteries still work excellent a year after the trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Great Headlamp

04/18/2011
By ,
Cleveland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this light for backpacking/camping, it has went above my expectations. bright, long battery life, comfortable. i've used $70+ princeton tec headlamps and they dont come close to this lamp. great light, great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Love it!

12/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this from Walmart a couple of years ago and love it. I use it on a regular basis to work around the house, on the car, when I'm fishing at night and for working my way into the woods at dark to hunt. No complaints at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Product ok, but not heavy duty

03/12/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this for some night ski outing.
5 stars because it works - met expectations. 3 stars because Energizer could do a lot better - they didn't try to exceed expectations.
Pros:
Worked as advertised.
Brightest of the three (2 Energizer and Coleman) that I tried.
Easy battery replacement
Despite another review - the strap stays on the lamp quite well if its pout in correctly.
The least of the three to cause night blindness -- all leak light below the lamp, so they blind you as you look out "past" the head lamp. If using with a ball cap or a ski helmet as I did eliminated it on this unit -- I can't say whether it will on the other two (they are noticeably BRIGHT into your eyes if they are just on your forehead or a knit cap, say.
Cons:
The hinge is two nibs of plastic - I wouldn't expect them to last too long if in rough use.
The clicker on the hinge to hold lamp at the angle you want is cheap plastic - ditto.
Strap won't stay on a ski helmet - had to use a little duct tape to hold it.
Cheap battery case - might not last of dropped or rough use.
Like the other two, the spot and flood settings need work. The flood is more of just a dull light, not a bright flood. The spot is darn bright. but still has a halo of flood light around it.
In summary,
It worked, and is worth the price. Could they make a better product? yes.
I found the flood wasn't quite enough for night skiing, and the spot was bright enough but, well, a spot not a flood. I think they need to work on the type of LEDS or the focusing to make a primo lamp.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

excellent head light!

01/01/2012
By ,
Wenatchee, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use these headlights for our business. They are very bright and easy to use. WalMart had them in stock, so I could pick them up the same day that I ordered them online.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

awsome!!!! Love it!!!

02/05/2014
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I enjoy my energizer headlight. I used it every night when I walk my dogs. it makes it easy for cars to see me and easy for me to see what my dogs see. Great value and meets all of my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Great headlamp but it comes off the strap easily

12/20/2013
By ,
Idaho Falls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the headlamp. It works great. However, over time I found myself frustrated because it does not stay attached to the strap as well as I would like. While camping it gets mixed up with hats and other things. This causes it to come off the strap and flop around. After a while I just started using other headlamps simply because they were more functional. Also, it is a little bulky compared to other lights (not a big deal).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Looks like it is a good product

12/06/2013
By ,
Port Lavaca, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This light is not for me but for a nephew. The only problem is the box is all torn up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Not quite what I expected...decent for the price

01/19/2013
By ,
Rural Wyoming
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a reasonably bright headlamp, with two power settings on spot mode (one white LED), one in flood mode (two white medium output LEDs) and one in night-vision mode (two red low output LEDs) making it a 4-function light. It has a gasket on the battery cover for water resistance...don't expect it to be water-proof...there's a difference...and rubber covers over the push-button switches. I haven't used it in the rain yet, as winter is upon us, but feel it will handle a few drips without damage or malfunction.
Switches: left hand is for night-vision; right hand switch is for high spot, low spot and flood, cycling in that order. The spot-mode on high power will illuminate adequately for me to perform quick inspections at approx 80-100 feet, low at 40-50 feet, while the flood mode works well for walking slowly in semi-confined areas or where trip hazards may be present, as well as a short-range area light.
The head-band is not real stretchy, but more durable than most elasticized bands, and at full-size is just large enough to fit over a ball cap on me...comfort is not great, as the headlamp assembly is on your forehead and the strap hardware is on the rear, neither having padding, so I suggest wearing some sort of cap or hat when using this headlamp, and, do not wear for extended periods of more than an hour or so at a time.
Beam angle adjustment is adequate to illuminate directly in front of you while wearing a ball cap while looking downward a bit, or tilted upwards more for walking at a good pace with the beam out in front of you 20-30 feet. This light is not suitable for use over/on a hard-hat.
One minor issue thus far: the High/Low/Flood switch got a little bit quirky on me a few nights ago and didn't function correctly...I was able to push the button from a different angle/side of the switch and it seemed to work fine doing that, so there may be a dirty/worn contact area in the switch which needed to be scuffed by applying finger pressure differently to clean it up again. Other than that, as a whole, it has functioned very well. This lamp gets heavy daily usage from me (1-3 hrs/day) and many cycles of the switch, so after 6 weeks in and finding this problem, and also very quickly finding a solution...well, it doesn't surprise me...I have been known to be hard on smaller gear, especially portable lighting.
Do protect the lens when stored, as it will scratch easily if a hard/rough object abrades the lens, such as during vehicle transport in off-road service (a few wraps in a soft cloth should suffice). Scratches will distort the light beam somewhat, as I have found. It has no built-in lens protector as the photos show. Stored with some due caution, used with a bit of care, it should serve you well for many, many months of normal use. The housing is plastic, so I wouldn't expect it to survive much of a drop onto hard surfaces, so be aware.
For the price and functionality, I'd buy another if it's still available after I get done destroying the one I now have :0...it may take me a while, though :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Excellent product

03/23/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this about one month ago to do some night kayaking. Wished I would have bought one years ago. Great for freeing up your hands to do projects where some extra light is needed. Had to install some bathroom fans and go in the attic; no other light needed. Also did some work under the sink. Batteries last a long time. Three white light settings and one red light setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

good for the money

03/26/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its a little lower quality than I expected. Cheap plastic. and lights not as bright as I'd hoped. But still good for the money. The strap is nice that it's removable, and can be washed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Nice headlight.

03/08/2013
By ,
Marietta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this for my 10 year old son. It would be perfect for an adult, but the headlamp itself is large for a youth. Other than that, nice light.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Strap falls off WAY to easy!

02/26/2013
By ,
dover, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont buy this is junk because the strap dosn't stay on the light. nuff said
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Strap is fine
Posted 03/12/2013
If you put the strap on the way that, at first, it appears to be logical, the lamp easily comes off. If however, you put the strap on the correct way you cannot pull the lamp off of the strap.
0points
Customer Avatar
Freeport ME
re : Strap falls off WAY to easy!
Posted 03/05/2013
Thank you for your review! I apologize about the experience you have had with this product as we certainly don't expect this to happen. I will be passing these comments along so we may look further into this.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Great tool for variety of users

09/03/2012
By ,
Clovis, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very handy head light. The various light options allow you to pinpoint the white or red light just where and how you need it. I use it around the house as well as for night time astronomy use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight

Good hands free flashlight.

12/16/2012
By ,
Cleveland, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed it to work to level up flooring under house. Allowed me hands free operations to see and jack up the foundations and put in shimms.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Energizer Trailfinder Brilliant Beam LED Headlight
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5