Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SentrySafe SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

SentrySafe SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Now you can travel with peace of mind when you keep your valuables in the SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock. This is a sturdy and well-designed item for securing vital items such as your wallet, cell phone, cash, jewelry, keys and other compact but valuable belongings. The mechanical combination lock is easy to operate. Program your personal three-digit code into the combination lock, place your valuables inside and turn each of the lock wheels. Your valuables will be secure until you reenter your secret combination and open the lid. For additional security, this programmable safe lock box features steel tethering cables so that you can attach it to a stationary object in a hotel room or at home. The SentrySafe safe has a soft interior lining which is designed to protect fragile and expensive items from damage or scratches.
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation75%43 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

i didnt like it

11/18/2012
By ,
brooklyn, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It didnt come w a combination and i couldnt make up my own. I never even opened it. Very frustrating
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Works but bigger versions would be better

06/30/2013
By ,
Springfield, MO.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Holds Glock 27 (40 S&W) with additional extended Glock 22 mag & med LED light. Probably would hold Glock 23 but forget the Glock 22.
The cable allows quick attachment and keeps items out of the wrong hands as long as those are not determined hands or hands with tools!
If you CCW, times when you should not carry requires for simple safety that the weapon's owner should use minimal safety measures.
Depending on your State laws, this item may permit you to carry weapon in vehicle. *Check the states you are traveling through - like IL or CA or NY or...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

will fit a glock 19 if you adjust it.

08/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I bought this to keep my glock 19 in a locked container, for in the car, or at home or where ever.
There is a plastic sort of fuzzy soft tray on the inside of the metal container, somewhat like what they have at jewelry stores. This is removable. The glock 19 fits inside the metal container, plus two magazines (you have to stand them on their smaller side). However this will not fit into the plastic tray, unless you make small adjustments. I used scissors and cut some flaps on the thickest part of the tray where the lock is, to make room for the glock 19. It's cheap and works well. It would have been better if I didn't have to cut the flaps, but overall still a good value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Thanks for the info
Posted 09/29/2011
I was in the store and stumbled on this little safe. First thing that popped in my head was it looked perfect for my Glock 19. Thanks for the heads up on the fit, I just visited the website for dimensions before I bought. Thanks for the heads up on the fitting. I leave my gun in my car when I go to work. Although I have an alarm on my car, I really would like to have the gun tied down to prevent a smash and dash situation.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Doesn't close tight. Leaves room to be pried open

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased 2 they are not worth the money. They do not close tight they can be pried open.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Very cheap

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This box is very cheap. Had it open in less 30 seconds with a screw driver. Buy bulldog or nano vault., they are a bit more money but a lot stronger. I have both and would recommend them to anyone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Great Dorm Buy

08/29/2011
By ,
Brodhead, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I needed somewhere to keep my social security card and insurance card in my dorm room. I have heard so much about identity theft happening in college so I decided to protect myself. This safe is awesome. It comes with a cord that will wrap around any heavy object therefore fastening itself in place. The inside compartment is HUGE for this small of safe. I fit my Zune mp3 player, ss card, insurance card, checks, and camera all in this box. I love it and I am so glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Came in looking good, but lock was stuck

08/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lock stuck and would not work. You cannot return to store, but are suppose to return to Sentry.
Pass on this one. Combination lock is useless, so if you want a cheap box get the one with a conventional lock. I wish I had kept looking for a better quality. This is a big disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Exactly what I needed.

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed something like this for home and travel. Size is just perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

NO BOX included!!!!!

06/24/2012
By ,
Chippewa Falls, wi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The safe itself is great.....the perfect gift for high school graduate heading off to college! That is why I bought a bunch of them to give as gifts to some of my son's friends. I had bought a couple in the store, but when they couldn't get any more in, I decided to purchase the rest from Walmart.com even though they were more expensive than in the store! To my surprise....I paid MORE, and got LESS!!! Each safe was shipped separately in an ugly brown beat up shipping box. And when I opened the boxes, I found only the safe (with no product box) inside! How can I give this as a gift? The ones from the store (which are the exact same product!) cost less and come in a box! So this is fine if you are ordering for your own use. But if you want to give as a gift, find a store that has them in stock and buy there.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Perfect size

05/31/2011
By ,
Inglewood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son as he is going to College. It's the perfect size and lightweight. Also, love the fact that you can select your own password. Great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Awful!

08/21/2013
By ,
North Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This "safe" is practically worthless. It literately took me less than a minute to pry it open with a butter knife. I didn't expect a bank vault for fifteen bucks, but this is useless. When you lock the safe the lid rocks back and forth and the front corners open at least a half an inch. It is a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

small safe

08/22/2012
By ,
stony brook ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this was for my son who is going to college,good for a wallet and a few small things.HERE IS A TIP""""" by it in the store, the online price is a few dollars more for the same thing..what is walmart thinking??????
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Disappointed

12/27/2013
By ,
Martinsburg, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe did not seal properly and would be easy to break into. I was hoping I could secure a gun in my vehicle with this and there's no way a gun would be safe and secure in this safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Great and safe

06/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must buy for putting away $.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Much bigger than you'd expect.

04/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a much larger box than the image and description lets on. Passports, digital cameras, cell phones -- all sorts can fit into this thing. The combination is easy to program and re-program, and beats having to keep a key.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Cheap safe. I would never buy this again.

02/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe is incredibly cheap. I expected something that would be at least halfway decent. The combination sticks most of the time and it's a nighmare to try to work the dials. When the safe is 'locked,' the top half has quite a bit of play because the hinges are poorly made. It feels like it can be pried open with my own two hands. I don't have much faith in this safe. I bought it for my truck, but I think that it makes a better decoy than it does a safe. I feel more secure hiding my valuables under the floormat or elsewhere rather than sticking them in this safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

very basic safe

01/17/2013
By ,
el dorado ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This safe is very low priced and the quality matches the price. I rate the product as good because it is exceptionally low priced, but the safe itself is not super stout. It will be good enough to keep prying young hands off of valuables, but to a moderately motivated thief it would be easily defeated. It would be good as a portable safe in situations like a hotel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

You get what you pay for

06/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a decent but VERY small safe that would not fit any of my guns. Good if you have an external hard drive, GPS, or compact camera
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Great for College Dorm

11/13/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son to take to college to secure his medicine, ID's, debit card and cash. It has a metal cord that he secures around the desk support making it easy to maneuver under his bed. It is small enough to bring home on weekends, but big enough to hold what he needs secured. If someone is determined to get into it, they can, but it will deter anyone who is just curious (nosy). It sure beats just having the items laying around the room. It does the job adequately. He's happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Keeps valuables safe from older brother

01/07/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this safe to my 9 year old grandson so he could keep his valuables out of his older brother's hands and it is working perfectly. It even has a removable tray over the storage compartment beneath, both of which are covered with a soft felt-like fuzzy material. My grandson loves the fact that he can easily change the combination for the 3 number lock. It comes with a cable that can anchor it to a heavy object like the foot of his bed frame. I can see where this small safe would work well in a number of other situations such as dorm rooms, a place to keep things away from children, etc. It is a really good product for such a small amount of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next