Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SentrySafe SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

SentrySafe SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Now you can travel with peace of mind when you keep your valuables in the SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock. This is a sturdy and well-designed item for securing vital items such as your wallet, cell phone, cash, jewelry, keys and other compact but valuable belongings. The mechanical combination lock is easy to operate. Program your personal three-digit code into the combination lock, place your valuables inside and turn each of the lock wheels. Your valuables will be secure until you reenter your secret combination and open the lid. For additional security, this programmable safe lock box features steel tethering cables so that you can attach it to a stationary object in a hotel room or at home. The SentrySafe safe has a soft interior lining which is designed to protect fragile and expensive items from damage or scratches.
Average Customer Rating:
3.91 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation78%52 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 60 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

i didnt like it

11/18/2012
By ,
brooklyn, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It didnt come w a combination and i couldnt make up my own. I never even opened it. Very frustrating
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Works but bigger versions would be better

06/30/2013
By ,
Springfield, MO.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Holds Glock 27 (40 S&W) with additional extended Glock 22 mag & med LED light. Probably would hold Glock 23 but forget the Glock 22.
The cable allows quick attachment and keeps items out of the wrong hands as long as those are not determined hands or hands with tools!
If you CCW, times when you should not carry requires for simple safety that the weapon's owner should use minimal safety measures.
Depending on your State laws, this item may permit you to carry weapon in vehicle. *Check the states you are traveling through - like IL or CA or NY or...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

will fit a glock 19 if you adjust it.

08/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I bought this to keep my glock 19 in a locked container, for in the car, or at home or where ever.
There is a plastic sort of fuzzy soft tray on the inside of the metal container, somewhat like what they have at jewelry stores. This is removable. The glock 19 fits inside the metal container, plus two magazines (you have to stand them on their smaller side). However this will not fit into the plastic tray, unless you make small adjustments. I used scissors and cut some flaps on the thickest part of the tray where the lock is, to make room for the glock 19. It's cheap and works well. It would have been better if I didn't have to cut the flaps, but overall still a good value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Thanks for the info
Posted 09/29/2011
I was in the store and stumbled on this little safe. First thing that popped in my head was it looked perfect for my Glock 19. Thanks for the heads up on the fit, I just visited the website for dimensions before I bought. Thanks for the heads up on the fitting. I leave my gun in my car when I go to work. Although I have an alarm on my car, I really would like to have the gun tied down to prevent a smash and dash situation.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Great Dorm Buy

08/29/2011
By ,
Brodhead, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I needed somewhere to keep my social security card and insurance card in my dorm room. I have heard so much about identity theft happening in college so I decided to protect myself. This safe is awesome. It comes with a cord that will wrap around any heavy object therefore fastening itself in place. The inside compartment is HUGE for this small of safe. I fit my Zune mp3 player, ss card, insurance card, checks, and camera all in this box. I love it and I am so glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Perfect size

05/31/2011
By ,
Inglewood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son as he is going to College. It's the perfect size and lightweight. Also, love the fact that you can select your own password. Great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

NO BOX included!!!!!

06/24/2012
By ,
Chippewa Falls, wi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The safe itself is great.....the perfect gift for high school graduate heading off to college! That is why I bought a bunch of them to give as gifts to some of my son's friends. I had bought a couple in the store, but when they couldn't get any more in, I decided to purchase the rest from Walmart.com even though they were more expensive than in the store! To my surprise....I paid MORE, and got LESS!!! Each safe was shipped separately in an ugly brown beat up shipping box. And when I opened the boxes, I found only the safe (with no product box) inside! How can I give this as a gift? The ones from the store (which are the exact same product!) cost less and come in a box! So this is fine if you are ordering for your own use. But if you want to give as a gift, find a store that has them in stock and buy there.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Awful!

08/21/2013
By ,
North Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This "safe" is practically worthless. It literately took me less than a minute to pry it open with a butter knife. I didn't expect a bank vault for fifteen bucks, but this is useless. When you lock the safe the lid rocks back and forth and the front corners open at least a half an inch. It is a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

OK

06/03/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lock does not work very well. Does not roll like it should. It would be VERY easy to pry open. I would think it would only keep honest people out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Medicine Safe

06/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this for a medicine safe. It comes with a steel cable so you can tether the box to a secure spot if you leave it somewhere insecure.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

small safe

08/22/2012
By ,
stony brook ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this was for my son who is going to college,good for a wallet and a few small things.HERE IS A TIP""""" by it in the store, the online price is a few dollars more for the same thing..what is walmart thinking??????
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Handgun 'safe'

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This case works well for compact guns, like an M&P 9c or similar size. Secures well and fits under the passenger. Glad I got it. Thank you!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

very basic safe

01/17/2013
By ,
el dorado ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This safe is very low priced and the quality matches the price. I rate the product as good because it is exceptionally low priced, but the safe itself is not super stout. It will be good enough to keep prying young hands off of valuables, but to a moderately motivated thief it would be easily defeated. It would be good as a portable safe in situations like a hotel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Keeps valuables safe from older brother

01/07/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this safe to my 9 year old grandson so he could keep his valuables out of his older brother's hands and it is working perfectly. It even has a removable tray over the storage compartment beneath, both of which are covered with a soft felt-like fuzzy material. My grandson loves the fact that he can easily change the combination for the 3 number lock. It comes with a cable that can anchor it to a heavy object like the foot of his bed frame. I can see where this small safe would work well in a number of other situations such as dorm rooms, a place to keep things away from children, etc. It is a really good product for such a small amount of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Much bigger than you'd expect.

04/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a much larger box than the image and description lets on. Passports, digital cameras, cell phones -- all sorts can fit into this thing. The combination is easy to program and re-program, and beats having to keep a key.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Nice for the money. Don't use for firearms UNLESS:

03/17/2013
By ,
Philadephia Suburbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good deal for the money. I know one of the reviews below stated that they store their gun in it, but I don't know that I'd actually advise that. (In fact, if you remove the plastic tray from the bottom, the sticker inside clearly indicates not to store a firearm in it). It's pretty thin (but not too bad) metal and you could easily pry open the rear hinge or simply pry it open.
That being said, when I saw that review, I was intending to do just that. I cross state lines a few times a week between PA and NJ and I can not conceal carry in NJ. It "technically" would meet the requirement for a lockable place to store a firearm "not in the passenger compartment" but it could EASILY be opened with a screwdriver OR.... someone could give a good yank on the safe and pull it right off the included cable, then take it with them and open it later.
HOWEVER, what I did was: Mounted it to the trunk, after I installed/tack welded a "3/4" thick pin" from the bottom of the safe, right through and out the top, (right behind the combination lock). (I'll update the review with a pic if I can). The pin has a hole in it (Like a hitch pin with a larger hole) and I place an additional lock on it.
This makes it very secure AND since it's mounted securely in the trunk, it would take a little bit of work to pry it open by someone, that would have to be bent over / half hanging out of the trunk - ... very awkward but not impossible. I also put in some 2" thick Egg Crate foam and installed it in both the bottom and the top portion of the safe. I can fit both my Ruger LC9 9mm AND my NAA .22 Magnum Mini Revolver (with holster grip folded) in the same safe which is awesome if I happen to have both with me).
If I'm going to be away from the car for some time, I put the other lock on it (In addition to the combo lock on the safe). If I'm just driving place to place, I just use one lock or the other so I can get into it quickly if needed.
For other applications, this modification would be overkill but if you intend to use it for firearm storage, you may need to "beef it up" or look for something heavier duty like a bulldog type of automotive safe - which I have in my other truck - they are great. I bought 3 of these for our 3 other cars and did the mod to each one and am very happy with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Will keep honest people from your stuff.

10/24/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This safe (box) is a real value for tor those who need to keep prying eyes or fingers, away from
Things that are valued or private. Is it a fire safe with maximum security? N0! But that's not what it is supposed to be. good size for the money for sure. and easy for the owner to change the combination, at any time it is opened. It's not too heavy or cumbersome to transport from place to place. It can be secured easily. Keeping in mind that no save is unbeatable. this one will perform
well for the money.
I plan buy a couple more next month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

ok - nothing great

06/14/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Brought this for my son for college. He felt that it wasn't very secure and could easily be popped open with a pocket knife or screw driver. Guess for the price it is what one could expect.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Not exactly what i expected

07/06/2013
By ,
independence Mo.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very flimsey event after it is locked you can rock the lid left to right could easily be pried open .
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Great for College Dorm

11/13/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son to take to college to secure his medicine, ID's, debit card and cash. It has a metal cord that he secures around the desk support making it easy to maneuver under his bed. It is small enough to bring home on weekends, but big enough to hold what he needs secured. If someone is determined to get into it, they can, but it will deter anyone who is just curious (nosy). It sure beats just having the items laying around the room. It does the job adequately. He's happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SentrySafe Compact Safe with Combination Lock

Great Little Storage Lock Box

04/01/2013
By ,
Alma, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to keep my medications in when we travel. Made well enought for that purpose and I love the 3 digit combination. Wouldn't be that hard to break it open, it will burn up in a fire, get wet in the rain (poor seal) but it keeps the honest people out, and keep my meds all in one place. Ended up buying a second one (at the local store for my husbands meds. He likes it as well for that purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next