Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Motorola Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Unleashing the power of the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway gives users easy-to-use access to high bandwidth networking at home or at work. The next generation DOCSIS 3.0 technology not only makes this modem fast but also allows channel bonding of up to four upstream and eight downstream channels. Compatible with Macintosh, Windows and UNIX computers, this wireless cable modem gateway features a Wi-Fi pairing button, which allows for easy setup. Boasting of plug-and-play installation, this wireless gateway excels in convenience. Packed with numerous security features, including advanced DoS protection and Wi-Fi Wizard, the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway is one of the very few that's reliable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.46 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(252 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
177
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation92%231 out of 252reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
88 Questions | 183 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
177
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

it works great, but after a while (few weeks)

07/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it works great, but after a while (few weeks) it will start flapping and from that point on you just get a headache. It's not worth it!
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

this motorola modem is terrible

03/15/2014
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Modem would not keep connectivity, one minute you're on the next it would drop off line. when working (more times not) it worked very well. But it just kept dropping off line.
Called tech support, they tried to help, but there is only so much they can do over the phone.
Trust me. If you are looking for a modem, please do yourself a favor and pass this thing up. you'll be glad you did.
Google it, and you'll see from other people who are having the same problem.
Thanks
HD
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Motorola/Arris warranty is worthless

03/12/2014
By ,
Hacienda Heights Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great product I have two others that I love, but the third one would not keep the wireless signal. After spending many weeks wasting my time dealing with Motorola/Arris, I ended up just writing it off. No more Motorola products for me, there are a lot of other good company's out there that will stand by their warranties
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Lasted a Year

01/06/2014
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lasted a year, then after many calls and visits from comcast and talks with motorola I have given up on it. It worked well while it lasted, but not worth the price if it lasts only a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Didn't work for us :(

05/25/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this modem/router to save money by not having to rent from Comcast each month. We had it for two months and were only able to have a decent speed half the time. I even spoke with the manufacturer and the IT people from my school to help with trouble shooting, with no luck. I had hoped that it would have worked better. Will be returning to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Comcast said Motorola modems are no good.

01/15/2012
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second Motorola modem and it is not working after a few months. Comcast sent a tech out and he said that Motorola modems are of poor quality and do not work well for very hi speed services. They installed their modem and it is working very fast. Comcast said to stay away from Motorola equipment. I will never waste my money on a Motorola modem again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Issue with firmware.

10/10/2012
By ,
Fate, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Make sure your cable system supports this modem. I have SuddenLink and it is not compatable with thier systems. Motorola is working on a firmware update but until then it is worthless to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Don't buy-it's a lemon! Motorola Model SBG6580

06/26/2012
By ,
Aliso Viejo, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Motorola Surfboard Extreme Wireless Cable Modem #SBG6580-If I could give 0 stars I would. I spent about 5 days on the phone for hours each day with their tech support. Kept losing connectivity about every half hour. They suggested it was my cable wiring, so paid for cable company to rewire everything, (Cable Co. tech said everything was great with their connection). Then, Motorola sent me a replacement modem-which did the same exact thing. They checked signals which were "in acceptable range." They made me change the default channel from 1, to trying various channels, which all work WHILE YOUR ON THE PHONE with them, but then eventually all disconnect requiring modem reset-which then defaults to channel one again! Then, you have to call tech support again, explain your problem all over again. I did this trying all avail. wireless channels. Their explanation for all this, "Our signal is so super sensitive, you are picking up a lot more neigborhood connections," or another words some kind of interference...huh???? Cableman says that should not be an issue-but something is! I live in OC, CA. Second problem...could not configure my all-in-one Lexmark wireless printer to work with this thing! Kept entering their wi-fi secuirity key which did not work. They won't help you configure, and say you have to call tech support at your printer..really? Hmm-that cost $149-no thanks! Oh, and did I mention Motorola says "THERE ARE CERTAIN PRINTERS THAT ARE NOT COMPATIBLE WITH THIS MODEM." So, after 10 hrs of trying to configure unsuccessfully, "Is my Lexmark printer incompatible!" "We can't tell you which ones are incompatible, we just know some are not." Really???? They are technicians that log problems, and they can't tell you which models of printers are incompatable when you ask? Hmmm...AGAIN DO NOT BUY THIS MODEM..IT'S A LEMON! tHE IDEA OF A DCOCSIS 3 IS GREAT TO INCREASE Speed-BUT NOT THIS LEMON!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Doesn't last

12/10/2012
By ,
Flordia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mine became defective at one year and one month. Motorola said to throw it away! While for a year I had no problems at all with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Failed twice

08/03/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the router that came with my new bright house subscription, it was defective and had to be changed for another within 2 weeks. Before it had broken down, my boyfriend had gotten one as well upon my recommendation. His failed to turn on after about 12 days. Two routers, different states and sellers, same model/brand, both failed !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Should have read the reviews

10/27/2012
By ,
Roy, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually read the reviews on things before purchasing, but failed to this time, to my disadvantage.
Pros: detailed online setup - good for people who really know networking. Has help menus too, but can be confusing as well. Pretty easy to setup. Has 5 mhz? for devices using that frequency.
Cons: poor range, very slow wireless, online vids always buffering - even when connected via directly by wire.
2.4 mhz band is where most devices are at & this range is cluttered, making things very slow for this particular device! My Tmobile router was 10x better than this thing!
Returning as soon as a new, different modem/router is delivered!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

didn't work

12/18/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after several hours on the phone with Comcast and Motorola's service tecs I have learned that this unit is not compatible with Comcast, as it was advertised. they admitted that they have had this problem before
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Wi-Fi Coverage is terrible

01/14/2014
By ,
Philadelphia,PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do NOT spend your money
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

modem

04/05/2014
By ,
clio mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

GREAT FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS

06/17/2014
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This modem/router worked great for about 6 months, but now it keeps dropping the signal. I have to restart the unit daily and it still drops the signal on a daily basis. The signal is weak, but the speed is great when I have a signal. The customer support is atrocious. They told me all they can do is change channels, not very helpful. I have tried several channels already and all of them seem to have the same issue. And the warranty will not get your money back. Save yourself some heartache and stay away from this product. It is fairly easy to set up. The router user interface is not user friendly, but seems to be robust for those that have experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

nnot so great

05/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No signal unless in same room, not very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Very poor signal strength

11/10/2013
By ,
Ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have an average size house. Did not get good signal strength in all rooms of my house. iPhone would bounce back a forth from 3G to wireless. Returned and got two separate devices. The salesman I spoke to said he did not recommend the combined modem and routers.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Reconsider before you buy Motorola!!!!

03/05/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this all in one modem router from my local walmart to set up my Time Warner Cable internet. Modem worked fine but wi-fi did not the signal was not strong enough and no external antennae after several attempts my cable company recommended I buy a seperate modem and router.Zoom Modem- Netgear Router also bought at my local walmart worked right the first time right out of the boxes no problems.Motorola is not really Motorola anymore the name is owned by another company that makes the modem-router and puts the Motorola name on the product.Motorola is not the same quality as it was several years ago so please reconsider before buying anything with Motorola name on it.Ken
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

not the best just ok

02/10/2013
By ,
MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I own this modem built in with router. If use wire is perfect, but if you using wireless terrible it keep droped connection wireless ,I woulnt recommend use with wifi, . I through combine will be convention save space, don't buy this if you plan use wife, waste money,
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Wi-fi is really poor

04/06/2014
By ,
Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this hoping to improve my internet connection compared to the modem/router combo Mediacom sent me. The speed seems to be better for the devices that are hard wired, but worse for all the wireless devices. Wireless computers that never had problems before are suddenly incapable of even keeping up while playing youtube videos. The computer is literally 15 feet (thru one wall) from the router and only gets 4 bars of service at best. Even the worthless Cisco I had before this gave me a better Wi-fi connection. Very disappointed in it's performance, and I am currently debating on whether or not to return it and try something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 202 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next