Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Motorola Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Unleashing the power of the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway gives users easy-to-use access to high bandwidth networking at home or at work. The next generation DOCSIS 3.0 technology not only makes this modem fast but also allows channel bonding of up to four upstream and eight downstream channels. Compatible with Macintosh, Windows and UNIX computers, this wireless cable modem gateway features a Wi-Fi pairing button, which allows for easy setup. Boasting of plug-and-play installation, this wireless gateway excels in convenience. Packed with numerous security features, including advanced DoS protection and Wi-Fi Wizard, the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway is one of the very few that's reliable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(253 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation92%232 out of 253reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
89 Questions | 183 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

GREAT FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS

06/17/2014
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This modem/router worked great for about 6 months, but now it keeps dropping the signal. I have to restart the unit daily and it still drops the signal on a daily basis. The signal is weak, but the speed is great when I have a signal. The customer support is atrocious. They told me all they can do is change channels, not very helpful. I have tried several channels already and all of them seem to have the same issue. And the warranty will not get your money back. Save yourself some heartache and stay away from this product. It is fairly easy to set up. The router user interface is not user friendly, but seems to be robust for those that have experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

absolutely excellent unit and great price

11/12/2013
By ,
Tacoma, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range

12/13/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV.
I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Just what I needed for Xfinity

05/25/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Modem with wireless router is the way to go! Just plug in, call cable with s/n and they activated me. Simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Wi-fi is really poor

04/06/2014
By ,
Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this hoping to improve my internet connection compared to the modem/router combo Mediacom sent me. The speed seems to be better for the devices that are hard wired, but worse for all the wireless devices. Wireless computers that never had problems before are suddenly incapable of even keeping up while playing youtube videos. The computer is literally 15 feet (thru one wall) from the router and only gets 4 bars of service at best. Even the worthless Cisco I had before this gave me a better Wi-fi connection. Very disappointed in it's performance, and I am currently debating on whether or not to return it and try something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Best one I've found out there!

02/14/2014
By ,
Au Gres, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several interent modems and this model is by far the best, with it's integrated router.At least with Charter I know, with the disk provided, it installs itself onto their system, no waiting for their techs to come on and try and tell you that you can't use your own modem, you just have to call the sales dept to get their overpriced cheap quality modem removed from your account and return it to them. NEVER had to reset this one like seemed to be a daily routine with the one from cable co. It "searches" for a signal about every 20 seconds and reestablishes connection on its own. No restarting/rebooting anything.This is my second one, I bought a second home and this is for there. The hard wired and Wi-Fi together in one unit eliminates the hassle of several pieces of equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

OUTSTANDING!

12/25/2011
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS.
This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service.
Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one.
Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv.
I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Great value!

11/05/2013
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this the price was unbeatable. I was a bit skeptical if a combination of modem and router was a good idea. After reading a lot of very good reviews and talking with several people who are very familiar with these products, including one who works for a major cable company, I bought this unit, and very happy I did. I save the cost of the cable company's lease cost for the modem and it has a very good router. I have a lot of things that need a good, fast system, after 2 weeks I am well pleased and impressed with the performance, plus I now have a good spare router I can use to set my daughter up with a wireless system. The installation is not difficult if you take your time and follow very good instructions in the proper order. So far I'm very happy with this unit, I highly recommend the available extended warranty Walmart has available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

solid

04/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good thus far. Running hardline ps4 and xbone and multiple laptops and devices wireless with almost non-existent issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Best one I've had

06/17/2012
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Easy set up!

07/30/2014
By ,
Albany, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing works great! I wish I had gone wireless a long time ago!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Does the job

07/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not sure of its durability yet but I see this as serving the purpose at this moment. I have no complaints so far. I would expect this to be working in a similar way for atleast 3 to 4 years. With the usable nature I could say we can trust walmart for the its aptness.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Works great!

07/26/2014
By ,
Van Buren, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairly easy to set up. Read the user guide first! : )
I have not added my printer yet, but I was able to easily add our TV, 2 lap tops and 2 phones. I like that it is a modem and a router in one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Great wireless modum

07/27/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value...better than renting one from Comcast. Easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Mixed bag

09/25/2013
By ,
Northern Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Connecting - was painless on our three Windows 7 laptops. We couldn't connect the 4th laptop, an HP running Vista. My brother looked around the web and found someone else who had trouble connecting a Compaq running Vista to this modem/router. Updated network drivers fixed it for him. It worked for us as well, but it took a little persistence. Device Manager said our drivers were up-to-date. They weren't, though. We found newer drivers at HP's website.
Using it - I'm happy with the wireless range. The modem/router is downstairs, and we get 5 bars everywhere in the house, including upstairs.
The connection is fast most of the time. Much faster than the modem/router our ISP provided (which stopped working). But it slows to a crawl often -- every other day, or even twice a day. The connection between the computers and the modem seems to be fine when this happens. It looks like the problem is between the modem and the internet. Unplugging the modem, waiting one minute, and plugging it in again usually restores the speed. So far, anyway. Comments from reviewers elsewhere say their connection slows over time when a setting called IP Flood Detection is enabled. Ours isn't enabled, so that's not it. Perhaps it needs a software update from our ISP? Still trying to figure out what's going on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Highly Recommended

02/04/2012
By ,
Muncie, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway a few weeks ago. It replaced a ten year old Motorola Surfboard and a ten year old Microsoft router. I subscribe to Comcast Blast and my download speed went from an average 11Mbps to 35Mbps.
I have seven WiFi devices and all were easy to set up.
The modem/router combo is great. It makes for less clutter on my desk and fewer cables to mess with. It is very easy to set up and you can easily change settings. Only wish I had bought this sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Does it all

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This modem/wireless gateway does it all. It worked with suddenlink with no issue and also provides a wireless router. I did find that my laptop from 2009 was not capable of wireless over 5 Mbps, but the ethernet connection works well at 18 Mbps. If your wireless is slow it may not be the Motorola.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Excellent

07/22/2014
By ,
santa cruz ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Good Modom

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some negative stuff about this product but took a chance and its not bad I have standard internet with Time Warner Cable and it works great I dont have a computer so I use My Friends to set up wifi pasword and user name then call the cable company gave them my modom info and used my smart phone to conect to wifi to accept Terms and conditions from Time Warner Cable and bam my PS3 is conected to the internet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Works Great

07/19/2014
By ,
Thomasville NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets all my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 203 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next