Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Motorola Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Unleashing the power of DOCSIS 3.0, the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Wireless Cable Modem Gateway gives users easy-to-use access to high bandwidth networking at home or at work. The next generation DOCSIS 3.0 technology not only makes this modem fast but also allows channel bonding of up to four upstream and eight downstream channels. Compatible with Macintosh, Windows, and UNIX computers, this wireless cable modem gateway features a Wi-Fi pairing button, which allows for easy setup. Packed with numerous security features, including advanced DoS protection and Wi-Fi Wizard, the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Wireless Cable Modem Gateway is one of the very few reliable cable modem gateways. Boasting of plug-and-play installation, this wireless gateway excels in convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(225 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
160
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation92%207 out of 225reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
160
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

absolutely excellent unit and great price

11/12/2013
By ,
Tacoma, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range

12/13/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV.
I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Wi-fi is really poor

04/06/2014
By ,
Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this hoping to improve my internet connection compared to the modem/router combo Mediacom sent me. The speed seems to be better for the devices that are hard wired, but worse for all the wireless devices. Wireless computers that never had problems before are suddenly incapable of even keeping up while playing youtube videos. The computer is literally 15 feet (thru one wall) from the router and only gets 4 bars of service at best. Even the worthless Cisco I had before this gave me a better Wi-fi connection. Very disappointed in it's performance, and I am currently debating on whether or not to return it and try something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Great value!

11/05/2013
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this the price was unbeatable. I was a bit skeptical if a combination of modem and router was a good idea. After reading a lot of very good reviews and talking with several people who are very familiar with these products, including one who works for a major cable company, I bought this unit, and very happy I did. I save the cost of the cable company's lease cost for the modem and it has a very good router. I have a lot of things that need a good, fast system, after 2 weeks I am well pleased and impressed with the performance, plus I now have a good spare router I can use to set my daughter up with a wireless system. The installation is not difficult if you take your time and follow very good instructions in the proper order. So far I'm very happy with this unit, I highly recommend the available extended warranty Walmart has available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Motorola SBG6580

02/01/2014
By ,
New York City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Motorola SBG6580 works great with Time Warner in New York City. I got it, connected it, called Time Warner with the MAC address and was connected in 5 minutes. Log in and change the default user name and password and you're done. Click connect and enter the security key from the modem. It has great connection speeds and picks up 5 unsecured connections in my neighborhood that the Time Warner modem never saw so I'll always have a connection. Great valve and super easy set-up. Highly recommended for Time Warner in NYC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Best one I've had

06/17/2012
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

OUTSTANDING!

12/25/2011
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS.
This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service.
Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one.
Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv.
I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Best one I've found out there!

02/14/2014
By ,
Au Gres, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several interent modems and this model is by far the best, with it's integrated router.At least with Charter I know, with the disk provided, it installs itself onto their system, no waiting for their techs to come on and try and tell you that you can't use your own modem, you just have to call the sales dept to get their overpriced cheap quality modem removed from your account and return it to them. NEVER had to reset this one like seemed to be a daily routine with the one from cable co. It "searches" for a signal about every 20 seconds and reestablishes connection on its own. No restarting/rebooting anything.This is my second one, I bought a second home and this is for there. The hard wired and Wi-Fi together in one unit eliminates the hassle of several pieces of equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Mixed bag

09/25/2013
By ,
Northern Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Connecting - was painless on our three Windows 7 laptops. We couldn't connect the 4th laptop, an HP running Vista. My brother looked around the web and found someone else who had trouble connecting a Compaq running Vista to this modem/router. Updated network drivers fixed it for him. It worked for us as well, but it took a little persistence. Device Manager said our drivers were up-to-date. They weren't, though. We found newer drivers at HP's website.
Using it - I'm happy with the wireless range. The modem/router is downstairs, and we get 5 bars everywhere in the house, including upstairs.
The connection is fast most of the time. Much faster than the modem/router our ISP provided (which stopped working). But it slows to a crawl often -- every other day, or even twice a day. The connection between the computers and the modem seems to be fine when this happens. It looks like the problem is between the modem and the internet. Unplugging the modem, waiting one minute, and plugging it in again usually restores the speed. So far, anyway. Comments from reviewers elsewhere say their connection slows over time when a setting called IP Flood Detection is enabled. Ours isn't enabled, so that's not it. Perhaps it needs a software update from our ISP? Still trying to figure out what's going on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Great combination router/modem

02/17/2014
By ,
Harrisburg, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was recommended by my cable company as one of several for replacement of a cable company supplied modem that was at end-of-life and wouldn't be supported anymore. I also had a wireless router I bought as part of the connection. The Motorola SBG6580 was bought to replace both of these items. Instructions were clear and setup was aided by my internet supplier having a website that came up automatically and did the connection and wireless setup for me. I didn't have to use the installation CD that came with the product, so I don't know how that would work out. I'm quite happy with the Surfboard and my page loads have increased speed due to the Docis 3.0. Now have some more room on my desk since removing a modem and router.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Very poor signal strength

11/10/2013
By ,
Ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have an average size house. Did not get good signal strength in all rooms of my house. iPhone would bounce back a forth from 3G to wireless. Returned and got two separate devices. The salesman I spoke to said he did not recommend the combined modem and routers.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Wireless wifi modem

04/21/2014
By ,
Aspinwall,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

I heard so much bad reviews...!

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just decided to make this review cause so many people complaint about the quality of this modem but to tell you the truth it is a real good one but if you don't believe me try for your self and your going to see that I'm not lying..!! plus you are going to save money in a the long run"
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Good product but not great

04/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is good but not great. It is easy to install and is completely compatible with the Time Warner service. In fact, it is stronger than the modem provided by the cable company and it has WIFI which the cable company modem does not. When we run two computers, an iPad and a phone, it is slow and reloads two or three times while we are watching streaming videos. Other than that, it does a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Highly Recommended

02/04/2012
By ,
Muncie, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway a few weeks ago. It replaced a ten year old Motorola Surfboard and a ten year old Microsoft router. I subscribe to Comcast Blast and my download speed went from an average 11Mbps to 35Mbps.
I have seven WiFi devices and all were easy to set up.
The modem/router combo is great. It makes for less clutter on my desk and fewer cables to mess with. It is very easy to set up and you can easily change settings. Only wish I had bought this sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

excellent product

04/14/2014
By ,
New York City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very glad I invested in the Motorola wireless gateway modem/route. I no longer have to pay my cable company a monthly modem rental fee. It works excellent with my laptop, cell phone and
tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

cable modem, router, with wi fi and hard wire.

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, does the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Good product, but could not use

02/01/2014
By ,
Evansville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not think to ask about telephone service, and since I am "bundled" with Time Warner and that bundle includes home telephone, the customer cannot purchase a modem other than from Time Warner. When I received it, it was obvious I could not use this. I returned it to WalMart and received full credit for it. I am so sorry that I could not use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Troy, NY
TWC Modems with Home Phone
Posted 03/21/2014
I also subscribe to the TWC Triple Play Plan and when I called about this modem working with the phone, I was told that TWC will re-program the modem to remove the internet service from the TWC modem and the modem will only be used for the phone. The modem lease fee will then be removed from my bill and I can use the new (SBG6580) modem/router for my internet service. All I need to do is purchase a splitter and coaxial cable for the install.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

too easy to be real

01/02/2014
By ,
Newport News
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product. Setup was so easy I thought I was doing something wrong. I've had other units that gave me fits to setup and use but this was too easy. the darn thing is fast to. I was updating from a older modem and was very a little concern how wireless modem/router would work. I am pleasantly surprised and happy with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway

Rock star

04/09/2014
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cable modem and wireless router in one. Worth the extra money I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next