Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola easy-to-use SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway unlocks the potential of offering innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. This powerful gateway enables channel bonding of up to eight downstream channels and four upstream channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(406 Reviews) 354
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
269
4 stars
77
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation87%354 out of 406reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
175 Questions | 316 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
269
4 stars
77
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Doesn't last

12/10/2012
By ,
Flordia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mine became defective at one year and one month. Motorola said to throw it away! While for a year I had no problems at all with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Issue with firmware.

10/10/2012
By ,
Fate, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Make sure your cable system supports this modem. I have SuddenLink and it is not compatable with thier systems. Motorola is working on a firmware update but until then it is worthless to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Should have read the reviews

10/27/2012
By ,
Roy, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually read the reviews on things before purchasing, but failed to this time, to my disadvantage.
Pros: detailed online setup - good for people who really know networking. Has help menus too, but can be confusing as well. Pretty easy to setup. Has 5 mhz? for devices using that frequency.
Cons: poor range, very slow wireless, online vids always buffering - even when connected via directly by wire.
2.4 mhz band is where most devices are at & this range is cluttered, making things very slow for this particular device! My Tmobile router was 10x better than this thing!
Returning as soon as a new, different modem/router is delivered!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Lasted a Year

01/06/2014
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lasted a year, then after many calls and visits from comcast and talks with motorola I have given up on it. It worked well while it lasted, but not worth the price if it lasts only a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

this motorola modem is terrible

03/15/2014
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Modem would not keep connectivity, one minute you're on the next it would drop off line. when working (more times not) it worked very well. But it just kept dropping off line.
Called tech support, they tried to help, but there is only so much they can do over the phone.
Trust me. If you are looking for a modem, please do yourself a favor and pass this thing up. you'll be glad you did.
Google it, and you'll see from other people who are having the same problem.
Thanks
HD
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Wi-fi issues

10/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Signal will drop very often at the speed almost impossible to surf the web.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

good modem, terrible router

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gateway could pull in 60 Mbps wired but was unable to get decent downloads on 2.4 ghz with no interference
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Buyers beware

01/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible product. Not worth saving the few extra bucks to buy a combo. I wouldn't wish this thing on my worst enemy
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care01/09/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

horrible! very bad range!

01/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was told by one of the sales people in Walmart that it was the best for what i was looking for and boy where they wrong. My router that I have that is 5 years old is better and faster then this one!
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care01/27/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

junk

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The firewall is a mess. If you need technical support it will cost you $30.. Port forwarding doesn't work so your only option is to put the firewall on the low setting, which is ridiculous and unsafe.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care01/14/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Very poor product

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, this is a SWITCHABLE (either/or) dual band router, not concurrent. Second The range at 5.0 is miserable and drops out a lot. The thru-put on both bands is very slow. The interference rejection is none existant. The modem part works well with Cox but that is all. I replaced with a seperate Netgear modem and Netgear router and everything is now excellent!
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care01/15/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Setup was not hard

01/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setup was not hard, We did have to contact the manufacture whom told us the printed password in the manual was incorrect, and provided us with the correct password to log into the unit, so you can setup the wireless part,
We like that fact that it's all in one unit, the modem and wireless, no need to have two separate items.. took 15-20 min's to setup correctly, well the way we wanted it.
Recommends this product? Yes
From Motorola Customer Care01/19/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Router

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only have it in operation for about two weeks. Seems to work fine. Do have a minor WiFi location problem. Do not always get reception downstairs in living room with the iPad.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

wifi drops out every 5 minutes

03/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for 5 months then the wifi just starts dropping out every 5 minutes. Ridiculously long waits on hold with Motorola customer service. They insist it is interference, but after changing the wireless channel multiple times, and relocating to a room free of other devices the problem still exists. Installed another brand of wifi router, and no issues! I strongly recommend getting a stand alone modem and a separate router! (online research will confirm this advice)
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care03/09/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Works well as a modem, not so much as a router

01/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Via Ethernet, my connection was fast. It was also fast via wireless after a reboot, but would slow to 5mbs up and 2mbs down. The internet is full of complaints describing the same issues. I returned it and bought the SB6141 modem and am using my old Netgear router for now.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Comcast said Motorola modems are no good.

01/15/2012
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second Motorola modem and it is not working after a few months. Comcast sent a tech out and he said that Motorola modems are of poor quality and do not work well for very hi speed services. They installed their modem and it is working very fast. Comcast said to stay away from Motorola equipment. I will never waste my money on a Motorola modem again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Failed twice

08/03/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the router that came with my new bright house subscription, it was defective and had to be changed for another within 2 weeks. Before it had broken down, my boyfriend had gotten one as well upon my recommendation. His failed to turn on after about 12 days. Two routers, different states and sellers, same model/brand, both failed !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

modem

04/05/2014
By ,
clio mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

didn't work

12/18/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after several hours on the phone with Comcast and Motorola's service tecs I have learned that this unit is not compatible with Comcast, as it was advertised. they admitted that they have had this problem before
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Don't buy-it's a lemon! Motorola Model SBG6580

06/26/2012
By ,
Aliso Viejo, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Motorola Surfboard Extreme Wireless Cable Modem #SBG6580-If I could give 0 stars I would. I spent about 5 days on the phone for hours each day with their tech support. Kept losing connectivity about every half hour. They suggested it was my cable wiring, so paid for cable company to rewire everything, (Cable Co. tech said everything was great with their connection). Then, Motorola sent me a replacement modem-which did the same exact thing. They checked signals which were "in acceptable range." They made me change the default channel from 1, to trying various channels, which all work WHILE YOUR ON THE PHONE with them, but then eventually all disconnect requiring modem reset-which then defaults to channel one again! Then, you have to call tech support again, explain your problem all over again. I did this trying all avail. wireless channels. Their explanation for all this, "Our signal is so super sensitive, you are picking up a lot more neigborhood connections," or another words some kind of interference...huh???? Cableman says that should not be an issue-but something is! I live in OC, CA. Second problem...could not configure my all-in-one Lexmark wireless printer to work with this thing! Kept entering their wi-fi secuirity key which did not work. They won't help you configure, and say you have to call tech support at your printer..really? Hmm-that cost $149-no thanks! Oh, and did I mention Motorola says "THERE ARE CERTAIN PRINTERS THAT ARE NOT COMPATIBLE WITH THIS MODEM." So, after 10 hrs of trying to configure unsuccessfully, "Is my Lexmark printer incompatible!" "We can't tell you which ones are incompatible, we just know some are not." Really???? They are technicians that log problems, and they can't tell you which models of printers are incompatable when you ask? Hmmm...AGAIN DO NOT BUY THIS MODEM..IT'S A LEMON! tHE IDEA OF A DCOCSIS 3 IS GREAT TO INCREASE Speed-BUT NOT THIS LEMON!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 355 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next