Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola easy-to-use SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway unlocks the potential of offering innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. This powerful gateway enables channel bonding of up to eight downstream channels and four upstream channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(423 Reviews) 371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
280
4 stars
80
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation87%369 out of 423reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
186 Questions | 322 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
280
4 stars
80
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Issue with firmware.

10/10/2012
By ,
Fate, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Make sure your cable system supports this modem. I have SuddenLink and it is not compatable with thier systems. Motorola is working on a firmware update but until then it is worthless to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Should have read the reviews

10/27/2012
By ,
Roy, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually read the reviews on things before purchasing, but failed to this time, to my disadvantage.
Pros: detailed online setup - good for people who really know networking. Has help menus too, but can be confusing as well. Pretty easy to setup. Has 5 mhz? for devices using that frequency.
Cons: poor range, very slow wireless, online vids always buffering - even when connected via directly by wire.
2.4 mhz band is where most devices are at & this range is cluttered, making things very slow for this particular device! My Tmobile router was 10x better than this thing!
Returning as soon as a new, different modem/router is delivered!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

it works great, but after a while (few weeks)

07/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it works great, but after a while (few weeks) it will start flapping and from that point on you just get a headache. It's not worth it!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

didn't work

12/18/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after several hours on the phone with Comcast and Motorola's service tecs I have learned that this unit is not compatible with Comcast, as it was advertised. they admitted that they have had this problem before
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola/Arris warranty is worthless

03/12/2014
By ,
Hacienda Heights Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great product I have two others that I love, but the third one would not keep the wireless signal. After spending many weeks wasting my time dealing with Motorola/Arris, I ended up just writing it off. No more Motorola products for me, there are a lot of other good company's out there that will stand by their warranties
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

modem

04/05/2014
By ,
clio mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Returned it

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the $ amount, I expected more. I wanted to swap out my existing modem and wireless router with one device. This didn't help with that. In short, real cheap user interface, wireless piece sucked (this was the reason I returned). Timeouts, low signal strength even at few feet (nothing in between). The only good thing about it was its size, shape, color - if you are into those details.
Ended up returning it and switched back to regular modem (no wireless integrated) and using a separate wireless router.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Single band at a time

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This modem router combo has a good user interface but is only 5ghz or 2.4 ghz at a time not both as a DUAL BAND wireless router should be.
It is marked Dual Band but does not mention that it is one or the other.
I have mixed devices at home. The Blue Ray players are 2.4 GHZ along with the printer. The computers and cell phones are all 5 ghz.
I returned it.
The username and password documentation was incorrect also.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

good modem, terrible router

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gateway could pull in 60 Mbps wired but was unable to get decent downloads on 2.4 ghz with no interference
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good combo unit

12/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't come with a manual. Wi-fi is very slow right out of the box. Needs to be tweaked to reach optimal speeds. Once tweaked works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
From Motorola Customer Care12/09/2014
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Works well as a modem, not so much as a router

01/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Via Ethernet, my connection was fast. It was also fast via wireless after a reboot, but would slow to 5mbs up and 2mbs down. The internet is full of complaints describing the same issues. I returned it and bought the SB6141 modem and am using my old Netgear router for now.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Setup was not hard

01/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setup was not hard, We did have to contact the manufacture whom told us the printed password in the manual was incorrect, and provided us with the correct password to log into the unit, so you can setup the wireless part,
We like that fact that it's all in one unit, the modem and wireless, no need to have two separate items.. took 15-20 min's to setup correctly, well the way we wanted it.
Recommends this product? Yes
From Motorola Customer Care01/19/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Comcast said Motorola modems are no good.

01/15/2012
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second Motorola modem and it is not working after a few months. Comcast sent a tech out and he said that Motorola modems are of poor quality and do not work well for very hi speed services. They installed their modem and it is working very fast. Comcast said to stay away from Motorola equipment. I will never waste my money on a Motorola modem again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Disappointed, Not as expected

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have spent whole weekend to setup and it is not intuitive as expected. Keeps dropping signal on wireless and no way to change the network.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Router

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only have it in operation for about two weeks. Seems to work fine. Do have a minor WiFi location problem. Do not always get reception downstairs in living room with the iPad.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

poor range

11/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The range on this unit was not as good as the separate modem/router setup I had so I ended up buying another WiFi router anyway.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care12/01/2014
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Not impressed

12/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have high speed internet and was told by my provider to maximize my speed, replace my old 7 year modem. I did with this unit. My wireless drops, and my speed is no faster than what I had before.
I would suggest looking at other models before purchasing this one
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care12/09/2014
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

junk

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The firewall is a mess. If you need technical support it will cost you $30.. Port forwarding doesn't work so your only option is to put the firewall on the low setting, which is ridiculous and unsafe.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care01/14/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

horrible! very bad range!

01/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was told by one of the sales people in Walmart that it was the best for what i was looking for and boy where they wrong. My router that I have that is 5 years old is better and faster then this one!
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care01/27/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Modem good but WiFi not so good

04/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Modem worked fine but the the WiFi signal wasn't so good. I would have to restart everyday to get it to work. Returned it and got a regular Cable Modem and a wireless router. Problems solved.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 372 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next