Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola easy-to-use SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway unlocks the potential of offering innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. This powerful gateway enables channel bonding of up to eight downstream channels and four upstream channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(325 Reviews) 274
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
218
4 stars
61
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation88%287 out of 325reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
121 Questions | 278 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
218
4 stars
61
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Comcast said Motorola modems are no good.

01/15/2012
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second Motorola modem and it is not working after a few months. Comcast sent a tech out and he said that Motorola modems are of poor quality and do not work well for very hi speed services. They installed their modem and it is working very fast. Comcast said to stay away from Motorola equipment. I will never waste my money on a Motorola modem again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Lasted a Year

01/06/2014
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lasted a year, then after many calls and visits from comcast and talks with motorola I have given up on it. It worked well while it lasted, but not worth the price if it lasts only a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

didn't work

12/18/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after several hours on the phone with Comcast and Motorola's service tecs I have learned that this unit is not compatible with Comcast, as it was advertised. they admitted that they have had this problem before
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

this motorola modem is terrible

03/15/2014
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Modem would not keep connectivity, one minute you're on the next it would drop off line. when working (more times not) it worked very well. But it just kept dropping off line.
Called tech support, they tried to help, but there is only so much they can do over the phone.
Trust me. If you are looking for a modem, please do yourself a favor and pass this thing up. you'll be glad you did.
Google it, and you'll see from other people who are having the same problem.
Thanks
HD
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

it works great, but after a while (few weeks)

07/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it works great, but after a while (few weeks) it will start flapping and from that point on you just get a headache. It's not worth it!
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Should have read the reviews

10/27/2012
By ,
Roy, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually read the reviews on things before purchasing, but failed to this time, to my disadvantage.
Pros: detailed online setup - good for people who really know networking. Has help menus too, but can be confusing as well. Pretty easy to setup. Has 5 mhz? for devices using that frequency.
Cons: poor range, very slow wireless, online vids always buffering - even when connected via directly by wire.
2.4 mhz band is where most devices are at & this range is cluttered, making things very slow for this particular device! My Tmobile router was 10x better than this thing!
Returning as soon as a new, different modem/router is delivered!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola/Arris warranty is worthless

03/12/2014
By ,
Hacienda Heights Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great product I have two others that I love, but the third one would not keep the wireless signal. After spending many weeks wasting my time dealing with Motorola/Arris, I ended up just writing it off. No more Motorola products for me, there are a lot of other good company's out there that will stand by their warranties
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Returned it

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the $ amount, I expected more. I wanted to swap out my existing modem and wireless router with one device. This didn't help with that. In short, real cheap user interface, wireless piece sucked (this was the reason I returned). Timeouts, low signal strength even at few feet (nothing in between). The only good thing about it was its size, shape, color - if you are into those details.
Ended up returning it and switched back to regular modem (no wireless integrated) and using a separate wireless router.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Disappointed, Not as expected

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have spent whole weekend to setup and it is not intuitive as expected. Keeps dropping signal on wireless and no way to change the network.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Wi-fi issues

10/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Signal will drop very often at the speed almost impossible to surf the web.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Issue with firmware.

10/10/2012
By ,
Fate, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Make sure your cable system supports this modem. I have SuddenLink and it is not compatable with thier systems. Motorola is working on a firmware update but until then it is worthless to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Wi-Fi Coverage is terrible

01/14/2014
By ,
Philadelphia,PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do NOT spend your money
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

modem

04/05/2014
By ,
clio mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Didn't work for us :(

05/25/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this modem/router to save money by not having to rent from Comcast each month. We had it for two months and were only able to have a decent speed half the time. I even spoke with the manufacturer and the IT people from my school to help with trouble shooting, with no luck. I had hoped that it would have worked better. Will be returning to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

good modem, terrible router

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gateway could pull in 60 Mbps wired but was unable to get decent downloads on 2.4 ghz with no interference
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Router

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only have it in operation for about two weeks. Seems to work fine. Do have a minor WiFi location problem. Do not always get reception downstairs in living room with the iPad.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

poor range

11/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The range on this unit was not as good as the separate modem/router setup I had so I ended up buying another WiFi router anyway.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care12/01/2014
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Single band at a time

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This modem router combo has a good user interface but is only 5ghz or 2.4 ghz at a time not both as a DUAL BAND wireless router should be.
It is marked Dual Band but does not mention that it is one or the other.
I have mixed devices at home. The Blue Ray players are 2.4 GHZ along with the printer. The computers and cell phones are all 5 ghz.
I returned it.
The username and password documentation was incorrect also.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good combo unit

12/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't come with a manual. Wi-fi is very slow right out of the box. Needs to be tweaked to reach optimal speeds. Once tweaked works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
From Motorola Customer Care12/09/2014
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

bad signal.!!

11/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad signal talk to tech support couldn't figure out why the router kept losing a signal.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care12/09/2014
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 275 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next