Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola easy-to-use SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway unlocks the potential of offering innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. This powerful gateway enables channel bonding of up to eight downstream channels and four upstream channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.323 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(365 Reviews) 314
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
72
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation88%321 out of 365reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
148 Questions | 297 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
72
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good Modem but Walmart sold me a used piece twice.

10/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For twice Walmart sold me a used piece. First time modem was broken. Wifi was working but the Ethernet port was not. Called Arris support and they mentioned that they already received a complaint for the same modem (using Serial number) from another customer which confirmed that Walmart sold me a used piece for regular price. Since Ethernet port was not working I couldn't use my Internet Phone so returned it. But walmart customer service member never asked why I am returning, so I believe they will just sell the modem again to someone. Bought another one from same store and when opened after coming home, I see that seal is already opened but the modem is working fine. I think its not good idea to buy electric items from walmart. Will buy another online and return this as well.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

I finally got it right

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Modem, router combination for the longest time with Time Warner Cable. I have been happy but the system has been haphazard and twerky at times. I am always trying to get the best router to cover my 3000 sq. home. At the furthest point the signal is always weak, so I put in place two extenders. I had 5 bars coming out all over and then the problem began, a power struggle with in the system. Signal no signal, boot reboot. Final I realize I had to much STUFF Linksys router 300, e1200, Motorola surfboard modem. and two Belkin extenders.
I went against my own judgment and purchased the ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. First of all the clutter on my desk was cleared. Second, I have the cleanest and strongest signal I have ever had without the extenders. Third, everything works. My recommendation. If you are going to purchase your own modem for your time warner system ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 is the way to go. Clear, Clear and Concise.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Distances seemed less than they say......

01/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Distance was ok except for when you had it located in a more enclosed space or area. It seems that when you have it sitting wide open, say on top of a counter or on top of a high location, then it seemed perfectly fine, signal wise, for distance and reliability. However, if you had it put in a cabinet, or inside an enclosed area, or even somewhere, say underneath your kitchen sink, then it seemed to lose a ton of signal strength and or reliability as well. Basically, it just didn't seem to take much of an area where it would be closed off for it to lose a lot of signal strength. Other than that it's a great modem and router. I wish the parental controls were a little bit more advanced then just adding websites in setting parental levels and that's it. Other than that everything else so far has performed as expected. I also added a segmented separate wireless router to it. After doing that, the signal strength increased dramatically just a FYI.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

ARRIS Product Technical Support

10/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is very good but technical support will cost you tons of money in case you require their help. I was quite shocked to know the technical person asked me to pay for the help to setup my new ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. The only thing I asked him to help me to change the name of my WiFi and setup new password. He asked me to pay $30.00 before he can help me because it's quite technical to do that otherwise you can loose all your setup. When I asked him the password for admin login do not match as per product documentation then he told me to try "motorola" instead of "password". Still when it didn't work, he told me to reset the modem again by inserting a pin to reset to factory settings. It was quite shocking to me that a new product purchased directly from Walmart didn't work according to their instructions. By the way, after I was logged in it took me a minute to make my all required changes. I have made up my mind that in the future I will not be buying any ARRIS product which didn't provide me technical support.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

MOTOROLA SBG 6580 GREAT SPEED AND GOOD WIRELESS

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGTH THIS MODEM GATEWAY ON 7-29-2014 AND RESULTS HAS BEEN AWESOME IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A WIRELESS MODEM THIS ONE IS THE ONE FOR YOU EASE TO CONNECT HAS VERY GOOD WIRELESS CONNECTION THE SOONEST I HOOK UP TO MY INTERNET PROVIDER WOOOW WAS READY TO GO THEN i CONNECT ALL MY KIDS ANDROID TABLETS AND NO A PROBLEM AT ALL I WILL RECOMMEND THIS GATEWAY SBG 6580 GOOD INVESMENT ALSO IT COMES WITH SECURITY PORTAL LOG IN SO YOU CAN MAKE ANY CHANGES AS WELL IF YOU WANT IT I CAN'T SAID NOTHING ELSE ITS A GREAT WIRELESS DEVICE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ANOTHER GREAT FUTURE TOO I CALLED THEM FOR A COUPLE QUESTION'S AND MOTOROLA STAFF WERE VERY PROMPT TO ANSWER MY CALL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Arris/Motorola SBG6580

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I've had it for a week, so far so good.Easy setup. At first I set it up for WiFi for the wife's iPad and at the same time a cable to the computer. Both worked well. Then I hooked up Adapter and disconnected the cable and Wow everything is just fine "So Far". IF YOU have any problems with this setup, adapters, routers etc etc, go to U Tube, they have videos for all the models, just type in the Model No# etc and there's a video. I am retired Military and I can and do shop the PX, BUT I always end up shopping and most times buying from Walmart. Never, Never had a problem and if I did they would take it back at the local Store. Walmart is my Number one place to shop.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Happy with purchase

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this modem to replace the cable modem rented from TWC. with the rented TWC modem I was getting about 10 to 15 mb/s on a good day some days were only 5 to 10 mb/s. After installing the ARRIS Motorola my base price TWC internet connetion is running from 40 to 50 mb/s. Had to download the Users Guide from Motrola web page to get the correct password to log into the modem to setup the router functions of the modem. The default password for the modem that was documented in the setup paper that came with the modem documented the wrong default password. Other than the wrong password issue everything else worked as advertised. The SBG6580 Users Guide PDF that you can download from Motrola is far more complete for setting up the wireless access point and router functions than the small booklet that comes with the Modem. Have had the modem installed for two weeks and no problems. I am very pleased with the product and the price, not so much with my local Walmart store, they had this item on the self in my local store, but to get the web price they made me order the product on the web for free store pick up then proclaimed they had no stock in the store, I counted two on the shelf in the store before I went home to order on the web, this delayed my store pickup by 5 days.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Saves space

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the top of the line product for Comcast/Xfinity internet service. It gave me the opportunity to remove my wireless N router and my 16 port switch.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Easy to install and activate

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The device was very easy to self install and the activation with Comcast was smooth and quick. Very pleased with the performance and the long term savings of owning this wireless gateway.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

absolutely excellent unit and great price

11/12/2013
By ,
Tacoma, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stanton Ca
Arris Motorola modem
Posted 09/01/2014
This modem have only 2 functions.Wireless signal is not a separate function it work in conjunction with the router.If you buy them separately for two devices.Buy only a modem and a router.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great for a combined cable modem wireless router

09/05/2014
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a single device that serves as a cable modem and wireless router. This did the trick. I just signed up for Comcast internet and with this device, I'm getting 50+mg upload and 6 mg download.
The configuration is easy. The user interface is not always intuative but usable. The parental guidance limits are hard to setup and take sometime compared to NetGear.
Wireless signal strength is good. I've set mine up at 75% and I can reach all parts of my house. I tried 50% and started to lose signal at the far reaches. This modem has the latest wireless security and a guest network if you so chose to activate it.
I think it's a reasonable price for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Nice modem and router combo.

12/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did some research on routers and modems and decided to get this combo setup. Fairly easy to setup and so far everything works great. The only problem was with the setup when i tried to put the password and user id. The instructions said the user id is "admin" and the password is "password". Did not work so I did some research on Google and found out that the password should be "motorola". Entered this and voila, it worked. Other than that little snag, everything has been great so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Very Pleased

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted to quit {renting} my modem from Time Warner Cable so I bought this one. Didn't really want to spend this much but went ahead and bought it.
It's doing more than what I expected. I'm running 10 pc's with this modem using a 4 port switch. 2 of these 10 pc's are wireless.
Very painless to get it up and running. Called TWC and had it hooked up in less than 15 minutes.
I wish I would have bought something like this years ago.
So yes, I am very pleased with this Arris Modem.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Best one I've had

06/17/2012
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Very happy

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally was going to order from amazon. This was the same price and I could pick it up at the store on the same day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range

12/13/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV.
I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

ARRIS/Motorola-SBG6580-SURFboard Cable Modem

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Great. Better than I expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Hook, up call, enjoy The speed

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooked up ethernet, cable coaxial, plugged into wall called cable tec support, seven minutes later up and running. can't believe the difference from the unites you rent from the cable company to this unit. I am blazing fast with standard internet service. as before I installed The Arris, I had the turbo package internet which was $30 more and my speed was like a phone hookup slow. Can't stress enough The value and quality of The Arris gateway
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Surfboard solutions!!

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall very happy with the product. Extremely easy set up! Simply gave the information to my cable provider, and we were off and running. The speed of the unit is excellent!!
Cons:
I am somewhat disappointed in the range of the Wi-Fi. I have a large smart TV about 35 feet from the unit, and the signal is not strong enough to play back HD movies from YouTube app on the TV without show buffering/pause. I was able however, to simply connect the TV to the Internet via the 4 ethernet cable connections on the rear of the unit. Once I stab list the hardwire connection, I had no problems.
Working great for my application...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola-SBG6580-SU

01/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far So Good. Easy setup.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 315 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next