Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola easy-to-use SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway unlocks the potential of offering innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. This powerful gateway enables channel bonding of up to eight downstream channels and four upstream channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(444 Reviews) 392
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
296
4 stars
82
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation87%387 out of 444reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
198 Questions | 340 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
296
4 stars
82
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good Modem but Walmart sold me a used piece twice.

10/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For twice Walmart sold me a used piece. First time modem was broken. Wifi was working but the Ethernet port was not. Called Arris support and they mentioned that they already received a complaint for the same modem (using Serial number) from another customer which confirmed that Walmart sold me a used piece for regular price. Since Ethernet port was not working I couldn't use my Internet Phone so returned it. But walmart customer service member never asked why I am returning, so I believe they will just sell the modem again to someone. Bought another one from same store and when opened after coming home, I see that seal is already opened but the modem is working fine. I think its not good idea to buy electric items from walmart. Will buy another online and return this as well.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

I finally got it right

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Modem, router combination for the longest time with Time Warner Cable. I have been happy but the system has been haphazard and twerky at times. I am always trying to get the best router to cover my 3000 sq. home. At the furthest point the signal is always weak, so I put in place two extenders. I had 5 bars coming out all over and then the problem began, a power struggle with in the system. Signal no signal, boot reboot. Final I realize I had to much STUFF Linksys router 300, e1200, Motorola surfboard modem. and two Belkin extenders.
I went against my own judgment and purchased the ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. First of all the clutter on my desk was cleared. Second, I have the cleanest and strongest signal I have ever had without the extenders. Third, everything works. My recommendation. If you are going to purchase your own modem for your time warner system ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 is the way to go. Clear, Clear and Concise.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Low Range, Heats Up

06/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Speed only when close to the router, if you move away, like upstairs or basement of the house, signal and speed drops drastically. Also it heats a lot.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

absolutely excellent unit and great price

11/12/2013
By ,
Tacoma, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stanton Ca
Arris Motorola modem
Posted 09/01/2014
This modem have only 2 functions.Wireless signal is not a separate function it work in conjunction with the router.If you buy them separately for two devices.Buy only a modem and a router.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Powerful & Fast

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great modem, wicked fast on my 25 mbs cable connection. Running two laptops, a desktop, a tablet, and two smartphones on Wi-Fi. No issues.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great Product

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned the Motorola Surfboard SB 6580 for 13 months now with no trouble what so ever. It's really three devices in one. Ultra fast cable modem. Dual Band wireless, and a 4 port Gigabit router. I had to upgrade my Modem when I upgraded my speed with Time Warner. The old Modem couldn't handle the upgrade. This was the best way to go. Lightening fast technology. My ISP provider said I needed a DOCSIS 3.0 to handle the speed .It has a WPS button to pair other wireless devices to the Network. It's compatible with Windows, Macintosh, Linux, and Unix operating systems. Comes with installation guide., Ethernet cable, Power adapter, Quick install sheet and warranty card. Has a 2 year warranty. I haven't had any trouble with this. Installed wireless security cameras with no problems. I recommend this to any one needing a faster modem and router.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Say goodbye to The cable company

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well not goodbye completely, but to monthly charges to 'rent' the company box. This is easy to install and works great. It pays for it's self in just a couple months.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Easy Installation

06/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had it for a few weeks before I actually installed it, I was dreading the phone calls made to my ISP etc. Though I have worked on computers for about 15 years I was still unsure about it. I finally decided to hook it up and it was so easy, I was so amazed. I called my ISP after I had it hooked up and he complimented me on a job well done. So fast so easy! I would definitely suggest this product to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great little machine...

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is something I did not know was out there. It's like getting two for one and they both work great. The "combo" is nice and compact, doesn't take up much room and works just fine. Probably not good for "gamers" but if is A-O.K. for everything else.
I really like it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

A great buy!

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inexpensive, comparatively speaking, and easy to set up. I'm very happy I chose this model.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Easy installation!

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set-up. Pretty much plug it in, connect to cable, and set-up network connection to it on your laptop. I have Time Warner service, so you have to actually call them to register/provision the new modem, but that was pretty easy. And selected this model since it was on their approved model list, to make sure I didn't run into any problems there. The instructions include having to hardwire the modem to a computer, but that's not necessary if your laptop is wireless. One less step to do.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

YOU KNOW ITS BAD WHEN TWC MODEMS WORK BETTER!!!!!!

02/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first one I purchased went dead after about 2 weeks and I noticed other users have had the same problem. The second one was restricting me to 3mbps when I pay for 50mbps. I also noticed the wifi range is poor compared to TWC modems. All my devices run slow and a few have a hard time connecting. I went back to using TWC modem about 6 months ago due to the problems but now that they are jacking up the rental fees I switched back to this one and instanly noticed the downgrade. If you are looking for something to get you online for web browsing this should do the trick but other then that this modem is not as great as it claims to be. Also keep in mind all these people giving it good reviews have owned it for less then a week. I have been dealing with this modem for over a year and I am somewhat of a computer savy person.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care02/09/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Best one I've had

06/17/2012
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

ARRIS Product Technical Support

10/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is very good but technical support will cost you tons of money in case you require their help. I was quite shocked to know the technical person asked me to pay for the help to setup my new ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. The only thing I asked him to help me to change the name of my WiFi and setup new password. He asked me to pay $30.00 before he can help me because it's quite technical to do that otherwise you can loose all your setup. When I asked him the password for admin login do not match as per product documentation then he told me to try "motorola" instead of "password". Still when it didn't work, he told me to reset the modem again by inserting a pin to reset to factory settings. It was quite shocking to me that a new product purchased directly from Walmart didn't work according to their instructions. By the way, after I was logged in it took me a minute to make my all required changes. I have made up my mind that in the future I will not be buying any ARRIS product which didn't provide me technical support.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Perfect

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my Time Warner Service, and I didn't have to pay for their equipment. One time fee for the router and no monthly fees to Time Warner for equipment. Saved me a bundle!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good product, when it runs

06/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product works very well, and I've had no troubles with it, except, occasionally, it stopped working and needed to be reboot.
Now the only way to reboot this device is to shut it off and on again.
And the only way to do that is to unplug it.
Except for that rather minor issue, I'd give it 5 stars. But in this day and age, it is difficult to find something that runs forever and never ever needs to be shut off, so maybe I'm being too hard on it.
I also should add that it was possibly an issue with the AC current. Since I've had it on a UPS that keeps the input AC current clean, I haven't had any troubles at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

MOTOROLA SBG 6580 GREAT SPEED AND GOOD WIRELESS

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGTH THIS MODEM GATEWAY ON 7-29-2014 AND RESULTS HAS BEEN AWESOME IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A WIRELESS MODEM THIS ONE IS THE ONE FOR YOU EASE TO CONNECT HAS VERY GOOD WIRELESS CONNECTION THE SOONEST I HOOK UP TO MY INTERNET PROVIDER WOOOW WAS READY TO GO THEN i CONNECT ALL MY KIDS ANDROID TABLETS AND NO A PROBLEM AT ALL I WILL RECOMMEND THIS GATEWAY SBG 6580 GOOD INVESMENT ALSO IT COMES WITH SECURITY PORTAL LOG IN SO YOU CAN MAKE ANY CHANGES AS WELL IF YOU WANT IT I CAN'T SAID NOTHING ELSE ITS A GREAT WIRELESS DEVICE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ANOTHER GREAT FUTURE TOO I CALLED THEM FOR A COUPLE QUESTION'S AND MOTOROLA STAFF WERE VERY PROMPT TO ANSWER MY CALL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Very good product.

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than cable company modem, fast and very cost effective.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

compatible with comcast

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as it should, doesn't take up a lot of space
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

OUTSTANDING!

12/25/2011
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS.
This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service.
Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one.
Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv.
I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+157points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 393 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next