Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola easy-to-use SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway unlocks the potential of offering innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. This powerful gateway enables channel bonding of up to eight downstream channels and four upstream channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(406 Reviews) 354
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
269
4 stars
77
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation87%354 out of 406reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
175 Questions | 316 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
269
4 stars
77
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good Modem but Walmart sold me a used piece twice.

10/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For twice Walmart sold me a used piece. First time modem was broken. Wifi was working but the Ethernet port was not. Called Arris support and they mentioned that they already received a complaint for the same modem (using Serial number) from another customer which confirmed that Walmart sold me a used piece for regular price. Since Ethernet port was not working I couldn't use my Internet Phone so returned it. But walmart customer service member never asked why I am returning, so I believe they will just sell the modem again to someone. Bought another one from same store and when opened after coming home, I see that seal is already opened but the modem is working fine. I think its not good idea to buy electric items from walmart. Will buy another online and return this as well.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

I finally got it right

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Modem, router combination for the longest time with Time Warner Cable. I have been happy but the system has been haphazard and twerky at times. I am always trying to get the best router to cover my 3000 sq. home. At the furthest point the signal is always weak, so I put in place two extenders. I had 5 bars coming out all over and then the problem began, a power struggle with in the system. Signal no signal, boot reboot. Final I realize I had to much STUFF Linksys router 300, e1200, Motorola surfboard modem. and two Belkin extenders.
I went against my own judgment and purchased the ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. First of all the clutter on my desk was cleared. Second, I have the cleanest and strongest signal I have ever had without the extenders. Third, everything works. My recommendation. If you are going to purchase your own modem for your time warner system ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 is the way to go. Clear, Clear and Concise.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

ARRIS Product Technical Support

10/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is very good but technical support will cost you tons of money in case you require their help. I was quite shocked to know the technical person asked me to pay for the help to setup my new ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. The only thing I asked him to help me to change the name of my WiFi and setup new password. He asked me to pay $30.00 before he can help me because it's quite technical to do that otherwise you can loose all your setup. When I asked him the password for admin login do not match as per product documentation then he told me to try "motorola" instead of "password". Still when it didn't work, he told me to reset the modem again by inserting a pin to reset to factory settings. It was quite shocking to me that a new product purchased directly from Walmart didn't work according to their instructions. By the way, after I was logged in it took me a minute to make my all required changes. I have made up my mind that in the future I will not be buying any ARRIS product which didn't provide me technical support.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

YOU KNOW ITS BAD WHEN TWC MODEMS WORK BETTER!!!!!!

02/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first one I purchased went dead after about 2 weeks and I noticed other users have had the same problem. The second one was restricting me to 3mbps when I pay for 50mbps. I also noticed the wifi range is poor compared to TWC modems. All my devices run slow and a few have a hard time connecting. I went back to using TWC modem about 6 months ago due to the problems but now that they are jacking up the rental fees I switched back to this one and instanly noticed the downgrade. If you are looking for something to get you online for web browsing this should do the trick but other then that this modem is not as great as it claims to be. Also keep in mind all these people giving it good reviews have owned it for less then a week. I have been dealing with this modem for over a year and I am somewhat of a computer savy person.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care02/09/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Distances seemed less than they say......

01/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Distance was ok except for when you had it located in a more enclosed space or area. It seems that when you have it sitting wide open, say on top of a counter or on top of a high location, then it seemed perfectly fine, signal wise, for distance and reliability. However, if you had it put in a cabinet, or inside an enclosed area, or even somewhere, say underneath your kitchen sink, then it seemed to lose a ton of signal strength and or reliability as well. Basically, it just didn't seem to take much of an area where it would be closed off for it to lose a lot of signal strength. Other than that it's a great modem and router. I wish the parental controls were a little bit more advanced then just adding websites in setting parental levels and that's it. Other than that everything else so far has performed as expected. I also added a segmented separate wireless router to it. After doing that, the signal strength increased dramatically just a FYI.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great Cable Modem and Router all in one Must Read

02/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The thing I like about this one is it has ports on the back and I connect it to my old Dlink router and use the wifi on it and turn the wireless off the Cable Modem I know a lot of people say why but I tell them the instructions in the cable modem when you go to 192.168.0.1 to tap inside the cable modem setup it's to confusing at least for me and my router I have is sooo easily self explanatory in it's setup with the same ip address as the modem 192.168.0.1. The best part of it all is that you can bridge the Cable modem into the router and use the router as a cable modem and router all in one. Now the cable modem is just a modem not wifi or wireless. I decided to go with this setup instead. If your wondering how to do it go to ectasyrealty.com/Motorola-sbg685.html that will explain how to setup the bridge mode. I bought my SBG6580 off of craigslist.org for $30.00 used.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

MOTOROLA SBG 6580 GREAT SPEED AND GOOD WIRELESS

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGTH THIS MODEM GATEWAY ON 7-29-2014 AND RESULTS HAS BEEN AWESOME IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A WIRELESS MODEM THIS ONE IS THE ONE FOR YOU EASE TO CONNECT HAS VERY GOOD WIRELESS CONNECTION THE SOONEST I HOOK UP TO MY INTERNET PROVIDER WOOOW WAS READY TO GO THEN i CONNECT ALL MY KIDS ANDROID TABLETS AND NO A PROBLEM AT ALL I WILL RECOMMEND THIS GATEWAY SBG 6580 GOOD INVESMENT ALSO IT COMES WITH SECURITY PORTAL LOG IN SO YOU CAN MAKE ANY CHANGES AS WELL IF YOU WANT IT I CAN'T SAID NOTHING ELSE ITS A GREAT WIRELESS DEVICE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ANOTHER GREAT FUTURE TOO I CALLED THEM FOR A COUPLE QUESTION'S AND MOTOROLA STAFF WERE VERY PROMPT TO ANSWER MY CALL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

absolutely excellent unit and great price

11/12/2013
By ,
Tacoma, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stanton Ca
Arris Motorola modem
Posted 09/01/2014
This modem have only 2 functions.Wireless signal is not a separate function it work in conjunction with the router.If you buy them separately for two devices.Buy only a modem and a router.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Best one I've had

06/17/2012
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Slow - T3 Errors - Returned for Net Gear

02/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Time Warner recently raised modem rental fee. I purchased the all in one SBG6580 to replace my ISP provided modem (motorola) and separate wireless router (Cisco/Linksys E3000).
The SBG6580 is an all in one unit and take up little space. Installation was simple and only required a quick call to TWC with MAC address so they could activate the modem. The wireless was also easy to setup. I was up and running within 30 minutes.
I was extremely disappointed in the performance of this product.
My computer was directly plugged into the unit via ethernet and web browsing was extremely slow (waiting on connections at times could watch pictures paint on monitor). After reviewing various support forums the modem appears to be sensitive to cable strength. Reviewed the router activity log and found I was getting frequent T3 timeouts. Most of the solutions recommended having TWC come to house and check lines etc. Not saying that couldn't be root cause, however, I never had problems with original motorola modem that was being replaced. I never made it to testing the wireless for my other components in the house (3 laptops, and 2 tv's using netflix/hulu plus). I figured the easiest solution was trying another product.
When I returned the product it was suggested that many of all in one units (modem/wireless router) do not have great coverage. (I have 2800 sq foot house).
I purchased a NetGear CM400 and my problems went away. The NetGear CM400 is a modem only. I connected it back up with my existing Cisco/Linksys E3000 Wireless Router.
Majority of the reviews for SBG5680 were very positive. It is very compact and combining modem/routers was very appealing. It just didn't work for my installation.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care02/23/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Arris/Motorola SBG6580

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I've had it for a week, so far so good.Easy setup. At first I set it up for WiFi for the wife's iPad and at the same time a cable to the computer. Both worked well. Then I hooked up Adapter and disconnected the cable and Wow everything is just fine "So Far". IF YOU have any problems with this setup, adapters, routers etc etc, go to U Tube, they have videos for all the models, just type in the Model No# etc and there's a video. I am retired Military and I can and do shop the PX, BUT I always end up shopping and most times buying from Walmart. Never, Never had a problem and if I did they would take it back at the local Store. Walmart is my Number one place to shop.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range

12/13/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV.
I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Cut the cable modem fees

02/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance is better than the cable rental one. Better Wifi range and easy to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

OUTSTANDING!

12/25/2011
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS.
This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service.
Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one.
Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv.
I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

No-brainer modem/router.

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this modem/router to be easy to install, smaller than my last so it takes up less space; it is good looking too and hasn't been a problem since I bought it. I would definitely recommend this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Happy with purchase

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this modem to replace the cable modem rented from TWC. with the rented TWC modem I was getting about 10 to 15 mb/s on a good day some days were only 5 to 10 mb/s. After installing the ARRIS Motorola my base price TWC internet connetion is running from 40 to 50 mb/s. Had to download the Users Guide from Motrola web page to get the correct password to log into the modem to setup the router functions of the modem. The default password for the modem that was documented in the setup paper that came with the modem documented the wrong default password. Other than the wrong password issue everything else worked as advertised. The SBG6580 Users Guide PDF that you can download from Motrola is far more complete for setting up the wireless access point and router functions than the small booklet that comes with the Modem. Have had the modem installed for two weeks and no problems. I am very pleased with the product and the price, not so much with my local Walmart store, they had this item on the self in my local store, but to get the web price they made me order the product on the web for free store pick up then proclaimed they had no stock in the store, I counted two on the shelf in the store before I went home to order on the web, this delayed my store pickup by 5 days.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Best one I've found out there!

02/14/2014
By ,
Au Gres, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several interent modems and this model is by far the best, with it's integrated router.At least with Charter I know, with the disk provided, it installs itself onto their system, no waiting for their techs to come on and try and tell you that you can't use your own modem, you just have to call the sales dept to get their overpriced cheap quality modem removed from your account and return it to them. NEVER had to reset this one like seemed to be a daily routine with the one from cable co. It "searches" for a signal about every 20 seconds and reestablishes connection on its own. No restarting/rebooting anything.This is my second one, I bought a second home and this is for there. The hard wired and Wi-Fi together in one unit eliminates the hassle of several pieces of equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

wifi drops out every 5 minutes

03/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for 5 months then the wifi just starts dropping out every 5 minutes. Ridiculously long waits on hold with Motorola customer service. They insist it is interference, but after changing the wireless channel multiple times, and relocating to a room free of other devices the problem still exists. Installed another brand of wifi router, and no issues! I strongly recommend getting a stand alone modem and a separate router! (online research will confirm this advice)
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care03/09/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Mixed bag

09/25/2013
By ,
Northern Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Connecting - was painless on our three Windows 7 laptops. We couldn't connect the 4th laptop, an HP running Vista. My brother looked around the web and found someone else who had trouble connecting a Compaq running Vista to this modem/router. Updated network drivers fixed it for him. It worked for us as well, but it took a little persistence. Device Manager said our drivers were up-to-date. They weren't, though. We found newer drivers at HP's website.
Using it - I'm happy with the wireless range. The modem/router is downstairs, and we get 5 bars everywhere in the house, including upstairs.
The connection is fast most of the time. Much faster than the modem/router our ISP provided (which stopped working). But it slows to a crawl often -- every other day, or even twice a day. The connection between the computers and the modem seems to be fine when this happens. It looks like the problem is between the modem and the internet. Unplugging the modem, waiting one minute, and plugging it in again usually restores the speed. So far, anyway. Comments from reviewers elsewhere say their connection slows over time when a setting called IP Flood Detection is enabled. Ours isn't enabled, so that's not it. Perhaps it needs a software update from our ISP? Still trying to figure out what's going on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Just what I needed for Xfinity

05/25/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Modem with wireless router is the way to go! Just plug in, call cable with s/n and they activated me. Simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 355 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next