Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola easy-to-use SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway unlocks the potential of offering innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. This powerful gateway enables channel bonding of up to eight downstream channels and four upstream channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(300 Reviews) 249
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
204
4 stars
57
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation89%267 out of 300reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
113 Questions | 236 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
204
4 stars
57
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good Modem but Walmart sold me a used piece twice.

10/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For twice Walmart sold me a used piece. First time modem was broken. Wifi was working but the Ethernet port was not. Called Arris support and they mentioned that they already received a complaint for the same modem (using Serial number) from another customer which confirmed that Walmart sold me a used piece for regular price. Since Ethernet port was not working I couldn't use my Internet Phone so returned it. But walmart customer service member never asked why I am returning, so I believe they will just sell the modem again to someone. Bought another one from same store and when opened after coming home, I see that seal is already opened but the modem is working fine. I think its not good idea to buy electric items from walmart. Will buy another online and return this as well.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

ARRIS Product Technical Support

10/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is very good but technical support will cost you tons of money in case you require their help. I was quite shocked to know the technical person asked me to pay for the help to setup my new ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. The only thing I asked him to help me to change the name of my WiFi and setup new password. He asked me to pay $30.00 before he can help me because it's quite technical to do that otherwise you can loose all your setup. When I asked him the password for admin login do not match as per product documentation then he told me to try "motorola" instead of "password". Still when it didn't work, he told me to reset the modem again by inserting a pin to reset to factory settings. It was quite shocking to me that a new product purchased directly from Walmart didn't work according to their instructions. By the way, after I was logged in it took me a minute to make my all required changes. I have made up my mind that in the future I will not be buying any ARRIS product which didn't provide me technical support.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Arris/Motorola SBG6580

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I've had it for a week, so far so good.Easy setup. At first I set it up for WiFi for the wife's iPad and at the same time a cable to the computer. Both worked well. Then I hooked up Adapter and disconnected the cable and Wow everything is just fine "So Far". IF YOU have any problems with this setup, adapters, routers etc etc, go to U Tube, they have videos for all the models, just type in the Model No# etc and there's a video. I am retired Military and I can and do shop the PX, BUT I always end up shopping and most times buying from Walmart. Never, Never had a problem and if I did they would take it back at the local Store. Walmart is my Number one place to shop.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

MOTOROLA SBG 6580 GREAT SPEED AND GOOD WIRELESS

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGTH THIS MODEM GATEWAY ON 7-29-2014 AND RESULTS HAS BEEN AWESOME IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A WIRELESS MODEM THIS ONE IS THE ONE FOR YOU EASE TO CONNECT HAS VERY GOOD WIRELESS CONNECTION THE SOONEST I HOOK UP TO MY INTERNET PROVIDER WOOOW WAS READY TO GO THEN i CONNECT ALL MY KIDS ANDROID TABLETS AND NO A PROBLEM AT ALL I WILL RECOMMEND THIS GATEWAY SBG 6580 GOOD INVESMENT ALSO IT COMES WITH SECURITY PORTAL LOG IN SO YOU CAN MAKE ANY CHANGES AS WELL IF YOU WANT IT I CAN'T SAID NOTHING ELSE ITS A GREAT WIRELESS DEVICE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ANOTHER GREAT FUTURE TOO I CALLED THEM FOR A COUPLE QUESTION'S AND MOTOROLA STAFF WERE VERY PROMPT TO ANSWER MY CALL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

absolutely excellent unit and great price

11/12/2013
By ,
Tacoma, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stanton Ca
Arris Motorola modem
Posted 09/01/2014
This modem have only 2 functions.Wireless signal is not a separate function it work in conjunction with the router.If you buy them separately for two devices.Buy only a modem and a router.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great for a combined cable modem wireless router

09/05/2014
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a single device that serves as a cable modem and wireless router. This did the trick. I just signed up for Comcast internet and with this device, I'm getting 50+mg upload and 6 mg download.
The configuration is easy. The user interface is not always intuative but usable. The parental guidance limits are hard to setup and take sometime compared to NetGear.
Wireless signal strength is good. I've set mine up at 75% and I can reach all parts of my house. I tried 50% and started to lose signal at the far reaches. This modem has the latest wireless security and a guest network if you so chose to activate it.
I think it's a reasonable price for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Works great so far..

11/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought as replacement for an older Linksys gateway that was no longer supported by Comcast. Comcast has been calling to replace with a rental. Chose to purchase instead of rent. Setup was fairly easy, just read and follow instructions provided. Was able to initialize modem/router online without Comcast customer assistance. So far no issues with the modem/router. Hope this last as long as my old Linksys which provided over 10 years of service.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range

12/13/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV.
I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

OUTSTANDING!

12/25/2011
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS.
This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service.
Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one.
Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv.
I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

good product, but don't look for help from comcast

10/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took a little time to iron out passwords and keys to get some of my products to work. Comcast would not give me product help because I didn't buy their modem. Arris was very helpful and after specking to a tech rep easily was able to get my tablets and phone wi-fi enabled. I recommend this modem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

All in one and done

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was having to constantly reset the modem I was renting from the cable company so I decided to buy my own. I save money because the unit pays for itself after one year of service. However this modem allowed me to combine with wifi reducing the amount of energy, wires and space needed. I have not had to reset my wifi and the range is better than my old router which was suppose to have a greater range. Easy to set up and install. A great product!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Wi-fi issues

10/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Signal will drop very often at the speed almost impossible to surf the web.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Just what I needed for Xfinity

05/25/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Modem with wireless router is the way to go! Just plug in, call cable with s/n and they activated me. Simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Best one I've had

06/17/2012
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Well-priced gateway device

08/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item performs well and is a god value for the money.
It does have a range issue which might be inherent in Wireless N routers. Substantial loss of bandwidth one floor up and through a few walls. My Wireless G router had better coverage but wireless G is not an option for anything above 54 Mbps.
I tried a range extender and had excellent signal strength on the next floor but still poor data throughput topping out between 9 and 13 Mbps at night, 3 to 6 Mbps during the day.
I recommend upgrading one's bandwidth on a trial basis. In the same room or same level, the Motorola delivers as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great value!

11/05/2013
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this the price was unbeatable. I was a bit skeptical if a combination of modem and router was a good idea. After reading a lot of very good reviews and talking with several people who are very familiar with these products, including one who works for a major cable company, I bought this unit, and very happy I did. I save the cost of the cable company's lease cost for the modem and it has a very good router. I have a lot of things that need a good, fast system, after 2 weeks I am well pleased and impressed with the performance, plus I now have a good spare router I can use to set my daughter up with a wireless system. The installation is not difficult if you take your time and follow very good instructions in the proper order. So far I'm very happy with this unit, I highly recommend the available extended warranty Walmart has available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Easy to set up Main Network

09/20/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had trouble getting Guest Network to set up and connect. Finally got it to connect to a Guest's device, but it will drop out and try to connect to other networks in area. Have not had a connection problem with the Main Connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola is it

11/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works very good its a good product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Highly Recommended

02/04/2012
By ,
Muncie, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway a few weeks ago. It replaced a ten year old Motorola Surfboard and a ten year old Microsoft router. I subscribe to Comcast Blast and my download speed went from an average 11Mbps to 35Mbps.
I have seven WiFi devices and all were easy to set up.
The modem/router combo is great. It makes for less clutter on my desk and fewer cables to mess with. It is very easy to set up and you can easily change settings. Only wish I had bought this sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Not impessed!

11/20/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's just so! so!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next