Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Motorola easy-to-use SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway unlocks the potential of offering innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. This powerful gateway enables channel bonding of up to eight downstream channels and four upstream channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(325 Reviews) 274
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
218
4 stars
61
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation88%287 out of 325reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
121 Questions | 278 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
218
4 stars
61
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good Modem but Walmart sold me a used piece twice.

10/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For twice Walmart sold me a used piece. First time modem was broken. Wifi was working but the Ethernet port was not. Called Arris support and they mentioned that they already received a complaint for the same modem (using Serial number) from another customer which confirmed that Walmart sold me a used piece for regular price. Since Ethernet port was not working I couldn't use my Internet Phone so returned it. But walmart customer service member never asked why I am returning, so I believe they will just sell the modem again to someone. Bought another one from same store and when opened after coming home, I see that seal is already opened but the modem is working fine. I think its not good idea to buy electric items from walmart. Will buy another online and return this as well.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

I finally got it right

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Modem, router combination for the longest time with Time Warner Cable. I have been happy but the system has been haphazard and twerky at times. I am always trying to get the best router to cover my 3000 sq. home. At the furthest point the signal is always weak, so I put in place two extenders. I had 5 bars coming out all over and then the problem began, a power struggle with in the system. Signal no signal, boot reboot. Final I realize I had to much STUFF Linksys router 300, e1200, Motorola surfboard modem. and two Belkin extenders.
I went against my own judgment and purchased the ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. First of all the clutter on my desk was cleared. Second, I have the cleanest and strongest signal I have ever had without the extenders. Third, everything works. My recommendation. If you are going to purchase your own modem for your time warner system ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 is the way to go. Clear, Clear and Concise.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

ARRIS Product Technical Support

10/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is very good but technical support will cost you tons of money in case you require their help. I was quite shocked to know the technical person asked me to pay for the help to setup my new ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. The only thing I asked him to help me to change the name of my WiFi and setup new password. He asked me to pay $30.00 before he can help me because it's quite technical to do that otherwise you can loose all your setup. When I asked him the password for admin login do not match as per product documentation then he told me to try "motorola" instead of "password". Still when it didn't work, he told me to reset the modem again by inserting a pin to reset to factory settings. It was quite shocking to me that a new product purchased directly from Walmart didn't work according to their instructions. By the way, after I was logged in it took me a minute to make my all required changes. I have made up my mind that in the future I will not be buying any ARRIS product which didn't provide me technical support.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Arris/Motorola SBG6580

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I've had it for a week, so far so good.Easy setup. At first I set it up for WiFi for the wife's iPad and at the same time a cable to the computer. Both worked well. Then I hooked up Adapter and disconnected the cable and Wow everything is just fine "So Far". IF YOU have any problems with this setup, adapters, routers etc etc, go to U Tube, they have videos for all the models, just type in the Model No# etc and there's a video. I am retired Military and I can and do shop the PX, BUT I always end up shopping and most times buying from Walmart. Never, Never had a problem and if I did they would take it back at the local Store. Walmart is my Number one place to shop.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

MOTOROLA SBG 6580 GREAT SPEED AND GOOD WIRELESS

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGTH THIS MODEM GATEWAY ON 7-29-2014 AND RESULTS HAS BEEN AWESOME IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A WIRELESS MODEM THIS ONE IS THE ONE FOR YOU EASE TO CONNECT HAS VERY GOOD WIRELESS CONNECTION THE SOONEST I HOOK UP TO MY INTERNET PROVIDER WOOOW WAS READY TO GO THEN i CONNECT ALL MY KIDS ANDROID TABLETS AND NO A PROBLEM AT ALL I WILL RECOMMEND THIS GATEWAY SBG 6580 GOOD INVESMENT ALSO IT COMES WITH SECURITY PORTAL LOG IN SO YOU CAN MAKE ANY CHANGES AS WELL IF YOU WANT IT I CAN'T SAID NOTHING ELSE ITS A GREAT WIRELESS DEVICE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ANOTHER GREAT FUTURE TOO I CALLED THEM FOR A COUPLE QUESTION'S AND MOTOROLA STAFF WERE VERY PROMPT TO ANSWER MY CALL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

absolutely excellent unit and great price

11/12/2013
By ,
Tacoma, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stanton Ca
Arris Motorola modem
Posted 09/01/2014
This modem have only 2 functions.Wireless signal is not a separate function it work in conjunction with the router.If you buy them separately for two devices.Buy only a modem and a router.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Happy with purchase

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this modem to replace the cable modem rented from TWC. with the rented TWC modem I was getting about 10 to 15 mb/s on a good day some days were only 5 to 10 mb/s. After installing the ARRIS Motorola my base price TWC internet connetion is running from 40 to 50 mb/s. Had to download the Users Guide from Motrola web page to get the correct password to log into the modem to setup the router functions of the modem. The default password for the modem that was documented in the setup paper that came with the modem documented the wrong default password. Other than the wrong password issue everything else worked as advertised. The SBG6580 Users Guide PDF that you can download from Motrola is far more complete for setting up the wireless access point and router functions than the small booklet that comes with the Modem. Have had the modem installed for two weeks and no problems. I am very pleased with the product and the price, not so much with my local Walmart store, they had this item on the self in my local store, but to get the web price they made me order the product on the web for free store pick up then proclaimed they had no stock in the store, I counted two on the shelf in the store before I went home to order on the web, this delayed my store pickup by 5 days.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

A great buy

12/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A must have for anyone who is tired of paying the internet companies the monthly fee for their modem! It is very easy to set up and change out modems.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great for a combined cable modem wireless router

09/05/2014
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a single device that serves as a cable modem and wireless router. This did the trick. I just signed up for Comcast internet and with this device, I'm getting 50+mg upload and 6 mg download.
The configuration is easy. The user interface is not always intuative but usable. The parental guidance limits are hard to setup and take sometime compared to NetGear.
Wireless signal strength is good. I've set mine up at 75% and I can reach all parts of my house. I tried 50% and started to lose signal at the far reaches. This modem has the latest wireless security and a guest network if you so chose to activate it.
I think it's a reasonable price for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Solved my wi-fi problems!

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using a wi-fi modem provided by my local cable/internet company. We were constantly losing wi-fi connection on our wireless devices (phones, iPads, laptops, etc). And when we had our desktop computer on, which was connected with an ethernet cable to the wi-fi modem, we couldn't even establish wireless connections at all. This ARRIS/Motorola modem works beautifully! We have not had any connection issues since installation. Our wired desktop and all wireless devices can now run simultaneously and receive excellent reception. Very fast speeds and very easy set-up, also. The only slightly annoying aspect was from my cable company in which we had to notify them we were using our own modem so that they could activate it on our account. I definitely recommend giving this modem a try!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Up a notch or two....

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical before buying, not knowing if I could configure my "Arris router/modem" on my own, but was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to install. The instructions were pretty straight-forward, not overly explanatory, nor too technical. A simple phone to my service provider, [Comcast] a few clicks here and there to setup my wireless connection, and, boom, I'm up and running full speed. The boost in speed is noticeable from the very beginning. Web pages load much faster, and videos run without the usual buffering pauses. My only drawback; had I waited a week I could have gotten it for $10.00 less, but, who-knew. Anyway, cost-factor aside, I'm satisfied with my router/modem, it's working as advertised.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range

12/13/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV.
I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Best one I've had

06/17/2012
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

OUTSTANDING!

12/25/2011
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS.
This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service.
Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one.
Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv.
I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Easy to set up Main Network

09/20/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had trouble getting Guest Network to set up and connect. Finally got it to connect to a Guest's device, but it will drop out and try to connect to other networks in area. Have not had a connection problem with the Main Connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Good product. unlucky customer

12/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall would say its a great product and reliable. I however wound up receiving one that had a functional modem and defective router. I am sure this problem is a extremely rare occurrence but it does happen. Companies cannot be perfect. Mine was returned and went with a rental. No need to worry about functionality anymore.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Modem ok, WIFI Very Bad

12/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this modem last week as I needed a better WiFi. Setup was alright, Wired internet works fine. WiFi, as you move away it gets bad and it doesn't support well on all devices. I was very slow on my mobile, worked well on smart TV and Laptop but not quite well on Samsung and Nokia mobile. Not suitable for big house, just works well in a room I may say.
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care12/19/2014
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumersMotorolaMobility
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Works great so far..

11/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought as replacement for an older Linksys gateway that was no longer supported by Comcast. Comcast has been calling to replace with a rental. Chose to purchase instead of rent. Setup was fairly easy, just read and follow instructions provided. Was able to initialize modem/router online without Comcast customer assistance. So far no issues with the modem/router. Hope this last as long as my old Linksys which provided over 10 years of service.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

ARRIS Cable Modem/Router SBG6580

12/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to connect, no problems with cable install. Wireless fairly strong. Would recommend for the price. Better than buying a separate modem & router for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router

Very Simple

12/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device is so simple to install, and it works very well, the connection was not as fast a the one that I had already but that wasn't a problem I just plugged my wifi modem right into this one and it offered me even more options.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 275 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next