Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Archos ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Archos ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

At home and on the go, the slim and light design of the ARCHOS 70 Internet Tablet PC makes it both portable and generous for sharing your best moments with family and friends. The 7" high-resolution Touchscreen display provides you with the best viewing experience in HD quality. With this Android 2.2 OS tablet PC, you can enjoy fast web surfing and unlimited applications. You can easily access your favorite applications with the "advanced personalization" feature. Your friends and family will seem closer than never before with the built-in webcam and microphone. The built-in HDMI connectivity makes it easy to share your pictures and videos on the Internet. With the help of a built-in leg stand you can watch your favorite movies and TV shows with ease. This multi-touchscreen tablet PC can support wide range of audio, video, and image formats. It also includes earphones, a USB cable, power charger, and a quick start guide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%14 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

A+ Great Product / Value

07/12/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not sure why other users had trouble connecting to the internet as mine worked flawlessly. I am running Wireless N and honestly took me less than a minute to set it up even with my secure network.
This item is basically a giant Android phone that doesn't make calls, complete with kickstand. Everything my HTC Evo 4G does, this thing will do. And it has direct HDMI connection so you won't need a special cable to watch movies stored on this device on your TV/Monitor. Movies, music, Android Apps and ebooks are no problem.
Basically, don't waste your money on a plain e-reader or bust the bank on an iPad. Get yourself one of these or something comparable. You won't regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 2 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

Very Good Product

06/22/2011
By ,
Memphis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use right from the box. Just as promised.
Hardest thing to do is set-up Wireless connection to Router.
Thanks for a great Product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 3 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

EXCEPTIONAL Procduct for the money!

08/26/2011
By ,
Columbia, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read mixed reviews online of this product here and on-line. This was to be my first tablet and I didn't want to have anything too cheap or too fancy. I mean, what's the point in spending $600 on a tablet that will be obsolete a year later? The Archos 7o Media Tablet fills this niche nicely. This is also the first time I've ever worked with Android and was concerned over going with this older OS (Froyo), when Honeycomb just came out. Just to be sure I went to my local Wal-Mart after buying this unit and bought and tried out an Acer a100 7" Honeycomb tablet with a dual core processor. It was more than $100 over the cost of the Archos. It also was much heavier, complicated to use, would not connect with anything Bluetooth except stereo headphones without a mic., had about a 5 hour battery life, and had speakers nowhere near as good as the Archos. The Acer quickly went back to the store!
This thing is amazingly light. It's no problem to hold in one hand. While some view this as "flimsy" it can also mean that you're not going to get tired holding it up if used as an eReader. I did the firmware update and then followed the workaround described in the Q&A section on this site to get the full Android Market. Wow!
The Archos has an astounding amount of battery life, and while Honeycomb seemed to overcomplicate matters, Froyo made everything simple and reliable to do. If you have a 7" Tablet are you really going to be doing that much "multi-tasking" anyway? The speakers are on the side of the screen and deliver clear sound that can be turned up loud enough that you (or others) won't have to strain to hear it. There are easy to use controls on the sides of the unit, and I was able to quickly pair it with my Bluetooth cell phone to set up a 3G hotspot if I have no WI-FI available. The display is great, and I added a 16GB micro SD card to up my memory. The screen is responsive, but does get smudged with fingerprints over time. Those that complain of this need to realize that this is going to happen with EVERY tablet you touch with your hands.
It comes with a 1 year warranty, which is more than enough before I'll probably want something else. Until such time the Archos has more than met my expectations. The only CON to the matter was trying to get assistance over a question from Archos. I went to their website and they listed an incorrect phone number for customer assistance. When I finally was able to find the correct number the customer assistant seemed dismissive and uninterested the entire conversation. But considering what I saved compared with other tablets and readers, I'll give them a pass on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/03/2011
Thanks for the review of this tablet. I'm thinking strongly about buying it. But I was wondering if it has a camera and/or video camera?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

Good product but not for me

10/13/2011
By ,
Upper Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to try to keep up with technology and to have fun with it. Everything worked fine and I had no problelms connecting to the internet where there was wifi. It was just too small for me. I bought this size so I could easily carry it in my purse, but with my aging eyes, it was a small screen to work with and when I used the touch keypad, I kept pressing the wrong key, making it very frustrating to use! I wasn't planning on returning it, but when I found I could, I got my money back, no problem! That was a pleasant surprise.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 5 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

Archos 7o

07/25/2011
By ,
Camarillo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tablet. I researched mutliple tablets and even purchased an off brand. Archos 7o runs exactly as it should. The product support for Archos is wonderful. Most of all the price was great for a capacitive touch, 8gb, Android 2.2, multi-media player with mini-USB, mini-HDMI, & microSD. I still give it a 5 even though it is an older model compared to the newer tablets for $400-$500.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

great gift

01/04/2012
By ,
orangeburg, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this item for my girlfriend as a x-mas present cause i knew she wanted one and she loved it. its light weight and easy to fit in her purse. she never leaves home without it. so far there hasn't been malfunctions so i hope this comtinues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

Not recommended

01/11/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the tablet worked fine for three days, then quit. It just died and would not turn back on again. It has been returned. I will buy another brand.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC
12/29/2011
By ,
MINDEN, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i recieved this for christmas an really love it the size is just rite .The price was excllent .I would recommed this for a first time user.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

Great for ebooks, web surfing, not video chats

10/16/2011
By ,
Dayton, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted this primarily for ebooks, general web surfing, but also for video chats. The Fring which is featured doesn't work. At least I could send msg, but after updated version I could no longer do this. I would recommend not updating the Fring from what is installed from factory version. I have searched alot, but so far nothing compatible. If I would have known that in the beginning, I probably would have got a slightly less expensive model Archos. But I hope sometime in the near future I can use the video chat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC
06/07/2011
By ,
Mechanicsville, Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was not happy with tablet. Would not connect to my wireless internet. Found out afterwards I needed to change how my internet ran. It was not worth the agrevation it put me thru. I have 3 other laptops that had no problem connecting right out the box. I even went and got an internet extender, but still nothing. It was just as hard to return it as it was trying to hook it up. Better luck to you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-18points
Review 11 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

I love this smaller tablet

07/27/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think it is the best tablet dollar for dollar, I liked everything about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC
07/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great system it has android and flash. Plus 3d games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

FINALLY FOUND A TABLET THAT WORKS!

01/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a Dell Streak 7 before I bought this one. I tested the Streak out for a day and after about 8 hrs of on and off use it broke! It didnt turn on, it didnt charge, and it did absolutely nothing when i connected it to a computer. The Archos tablet is GREAT and the battery life is amazing! Although you have to install the Android market yourself (which is not really all that difficult) it is a great tablet! Fully functional force closes every so often as does any electronic with Android 2.2 system..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC
12/06/2011
By ,
pr
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
feel good is a good tablet not great does'nt works with netflix and can't open video players just youtube but I return it for the reason that I want'na see netflix on it but does'nt work wifi is fast and the quality is good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 15 for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC

Have 809G ARCHOS with Gingerbread and it's great!

01/31/2012
By ,
Hillsboro, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this li tablet! Does anythin ipad does and more at 1/2 price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for ARCHOS 70 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5