Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Enjoy the full-HD experience with the terrific RCA 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. With 1920 x 1080 pixel resolution, you'll see every detail of your favorite programs and movies in glorious high definition. A high contrast ratio and quick response time give you bold, bright colors and realistic, blur-free motion. Plus, with three HDMI inputs, you can take full advantage of components like Blu-ray disc players and HD-capable video game systems Get the entertainment experience you want with the RCA 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.671 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation66%103 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Best purchase I have ever made.

02/06/2011
By ,
Los Osos, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is awesome. The price was phenomenal. It is exactly what I was looking for. The perfect size for my living room.
Found the stand/chest at Best Buy and I love the whole look of them together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

after returning the first, the second is fine

06/27/2011
By ,
washington state
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tv thinking i was taking a big chance, and i was right. When i got the tv and hooked it up and left it on, two hours into having it on a blue line appeared down the right side of the sceen. I got up close to the tv to see if this was an internal defect or on the outside surface. The blue line had gotten a little lomger and it was internal.
I got on the phone to wal mart and asked for a return exchange, and they sent ups out to pick up the tv two days later. It took another four days and fed ex delivered me a replacement from wal mart. I've been watching it for a couple of nights now, about 20 hours total and everything is going great. I am happy with this tv now, and so far no flaws. Good luck with your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

great product by rca

01/27/2011
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first flat screen purchase of a 42", t.v is beautiful
with great picture and sound very easy hook up
plannning on buying another one for our bedroom.
very recommendable. thank you rca
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 4 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

An excellent television for the money.

02/22/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some reviewers are letting the fact that they got a dud influence their ratings; this has nothing to do with the overall quality of an item, especially a complex electronic device. Sometimes things go wrong, and that's very often during the first few months of a product's life. That's what warranties are for.
That said, this is an excellent TV, especially considering the price. I researched televisions for days, went to stores to look at the picture quality, and had given in to the idea of spending $400 on a smaller Sony when I came across this television for not much more. Having not seen the screen myself I considered it a minor risk to go and buy it, but buy I did, and happily. RCA products have always treated me well, no matter what their current reputation is.
When it arrived my roommate and I set it up. It was quite simple. Everything looked great except for the stand, which is a bit flimsy and not as stable as it could be. Frankly I would rather spend 20 or 30 bucks more and get a better stand, but c'est la vie. The stand does, however, rotate, which I thought was a great feature for a TV in this price range.
The picture, to my surprise, looked good even with old standard definition. But the true test, to me, was playing modern video games at 1080p, and it came through wonderfully. I had been unable to read some words in games on my 15 year old projection TV, and so expected clarity. But I didn't expect it to look this good. This thing brought new life to my old games.
I thought the refresh rate might be an issue, but no, not in the tiniest bit. The fastest moving games were seamless at 60 Hz; I don't know why people would pay for more than that. Some people just like throwing money at products with higher numbers, even if those numbers don't mean any real difference in quality.
Similarly, I think paying for the most popular brand name is silly. This television is at least as good looking as my neighbor's Sony Bravia, but larger, and considerably cheaper.
The sound is surprisingly good. It gets very loud, and is able to create very clearly the ambient noises that make games and movies feel atmospheric and fun.
As much as I don't care, I will say that there's a transparent, red strip of plastic along the bottom that just shouldn't be there. It's about an inch across at its widest point, and serves no purpose. It looks like the kind of thing some designer threw on there at the last minute to try to make the thing look cool or something like that. But it just looks cheap and ruins the elegance the rest of the TV has.
Anyway, the TV was fantastic. I say was as opposed to is because two weeks after I got it the screen died on me while playing Red Dead Redemption. The customer service people responded fast and they're sending a tech out. Yeah, I'm annoyed, but failure rates on electronics tend to follow a bathtub-shaped curve. They die soon after you get them, or 5 or 6 years down the road.
That's okay. For the price and quality of this television, that's just fine.
5 of 5 stars, without question.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/17/2011
Great better then I expected
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

dissappointed

02/06/2011
By ,
NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking foward to receiving this item but it fell short in a few areas. 1st con was the 43.7"x30" in item discription was incorrect. actual size is about 40"x 27". picture quality is not that great. very dark, dynamic feature comes up dark and quality is not clear-and yes this is with an hdmi from my fios box. sound isn't good compared to other tvs on the market. had to raise volume to 30 to hear anything. left corner of screen came with some pixels dead. after about a week and a half the entire left half of the screen went completely black while the other half went very dark. features for picture and sound doesnt help make any quality better. would have been a great buy if the above mentioned wasn't wrong but walmart gladly gave me a refund and easy return.
otherwise easy to assemble and connect but with out good sound, good picture and a properly working tv your stuck with a big shinney paper weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Worked for less than 24 hours!

04/03/2011
By ,
Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 1st nightmare with this purchase was that I made the mistake of using Site to Store. It ended up taking 20 days to receive this product.
Once we got it, my husband set it up and all was well. We didnt use it for the first few days, but on the first day we used it after less than 2 hours of it being on the picture completely went out leaving us with only sound.
I now have a scheduled appointment for a technician to come & look at our BRAND NEW TV. I'm sure that the TV is great, but we got a complete dud.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PHILADELPHIA, PA
AGREE
Posted 08/17/2011
I PURCHASED MY TV AND IT TOOK A LITTLE LONGER BUT SAME HERE.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

42" of value

03/10/2011
By ,
West Palm, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For starters, wow. Truly an amazing product. Well worth every penny spent, even the overnight shipping I got. A must have for anyone on a 500+- budget.
Literally, the only problem I have with the tv; when I watch tv at night, the brightness of the image hurts my eyes after a while. However, the tv is marketed to have an incredibly bright screen. So me saying the screen is too bright would be the equivalent of going to Baskin-Robins and saying your ice cream is too sweet.
I don't mean to give the sound quality a rough rating, but when i purchased the tv, I also bought a really nice surround sound Blu-ray player. So my opinion on the audio is partially biased. I'm not saying it's bad, just that my standards are set a little high.
Not to mention it's the perfect tv if the color-scheme of the room it's going to be in is red/black. It's something I didn't think about until i had it set up. A definite unexpected bonus.
All-in-all I give it two thumbs up! A must have if you're balancing value, money, quality and overall satisfaction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

don't do it!

03/28/2011
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this TV was a great deal online. 10 days after getting the TV, the picture went out while watching a movie. Then, taking the TV back to the store was a 2-hour adventure. If you decide to buy this TV, keep the box in case you have to take it back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Crooked stand, Fuzzy picture

01/20/2011
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After triple checking that the stand was installed correctly, this TV still sits crooked on the stand, about one inch higher on the left than on the right. But, all in all, this really hasn't bothered me because I'm too busy dwelling on the terrible picture. The Tv offers 4 picture modes, all of them fuzzy. I'm not talking about motion blur either, everything is blurry. Thought maybe it was our satellite, but DVD and Xbox are not much better. Adjusting the sharpness doesn't help either. Color is also awful. Blacks and dark colors appear green, with no definition what so ever. This is on it's way back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Great quality for a low low price

04/04/2011
By ,
Fridley MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my very expensive nine year old Plazma HD TV with the new RCA 42" LCD HDTV. The quality of the picture is equal to my old TV. The LCD is better than Plazma, because the screen does not reflect light like the Plazma screen. It is much cheaper to operate, uses less electricity. The sound from my RCA is not as good but then I'm comparing the sound against a TV that cost more than 14 times as much money. I added a Panasonic sound bar. For under $620.00 I have a home theater system superior to the system I paid over $6000.00 for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

So Far, So Good...

06/08/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to wait a couple of months before I wrote a review because of the previous reviews about the "have sound, but no picture" problem that would occur within a 3 week time frame. I did "site to store" and the guy that was helping me a the store when i picked it up said that about 30% were being returned with this problem, and the reviews seem to reflect that percentatge.
Glad to say i've yet to have any problems. Picture quality is great, sound is decent (i do use a home theatre system), and I have had no problems as of yet. I did buy an extended warranty just in case.
Pro's: Good picture quality, decent sound, my personal fav is an assigned button for the sleep timer, the price
Con's: The menu screen doesnt have many options for customization, i don't like the "blue square" for the display i.e. time/date, input, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

I WOULD THINK TWICE

01/27/2011
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this 42" RCA on walmart.com then waited 10 days on it and i picked it up yesterday and today i am looking at a black screen with sound. I have had several RCA TVs over the years and all worked great so i ignored 2 different friends suggestions to buy a vizio and bought this one. I am going to walmart to take it back today and spend the extra and get a vizio.
Regardless of what brand i suggest getting the 3yr warrenty, these TVs are not like the old square box sets that worked forever, these don't seem to stand the test of time yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

AWESOME TV

05/28/2011
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV over a year ago and still loving it. Great picture and sound quality.
Just bought my husband a 37 inch RCA for his "man cave" for his birthday and he absolutely loves it. He couldn't wait to get it out of the box and mount it. No more battling over what each wants to watch......happily married!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

LOVE IT!

09/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great buy. My husband is a technical guru and he even loved this TV. We got it in our bedroom right now. Its a great size for a larger room honestly. We are moving and plan to put it in our den. Its shows great pictures. No complaints!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 15 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Not A Good Tv!!!

02/11/2011
By ,
Murphy, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AFTER WEEKS OF REASEARCH AND WITH A BUDGET OF 500.. I THOUGHT THIS TV WOULD BE A DECENT BUY CONSIDERING RCA HAS BEEN OUT A WHILE... BUT WITHIN HOURS I RETURNED IT...!!! HAS GREAT SOUND AND I LOVE THE LOOK OF IT BUT THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS JUST THE WORST... COULDNT READ THE LETTERS ON SOME CHANNELS... SHOWED UP DOUBLE.. AND FORBID IT BE SMALL PRINT... ON THE CHANNEL YOU COULDNT READ IT AT ALL... EVEN TRIED TO HOOK MY BROTHERS PS3 UP TO SEE IT MAYBE IT COULD HAVE POTENTIAL TO HAVE GOOD PICTURE AND EVEN HIS GAME SHOWED UP A MESS... WAS NOT HAPPY AT ALL PLAYED WITH ALL THE SETTINGS TO SEE IT WOULD HELP AND JUST COULDNT FIND ONE THAT LOOK EVEN TOLERABLE... TOOK IT BACK AND GOT THE 42IN SANYO LCD HDTV.. AND I LOVE IT... AND ITS ENERGY STAR APPROVED AND HAS MANY NEAT FEATURES!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 16 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

SO DISAPPOINTED

02/05/2011
By ,
Cibolo, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
from earlier experience had RCA for 12 years; received this one today and 2 hours into watching it screen went black - no picture just sound.
do not suggest buying this (or any RCA - upon further research found the multiple RCA tv's do this)
called RCA customer service; received another phone number for Sears (?) - they told me to call in the morning. Think I will call WalMart and return it. Just SCARED to get a new tv now :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 17 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Well I thought wrong...

11/11/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this TV 3/11 had read reviews and saw that most of the problems were about the screen going black after a few weeks. I owned a huge 52 in Home Theater projection and it didnt owe me anything after 17 yrs RCA stood by it so I purchased this model without hesitation. This TV made it till 11/11. Up untill then I could not of asked for a better TV. Called service number in book got Sears repair. They told me they could fix it for a fee but it was still covered Warranty and gave me correct RCA service number. When a company prints a service number in their user manual it should be there number. Making me think RCA doesnt even stand behind there product. Will let you know how things work out but thinking I should of bought a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Great buy for the price

09/08/2011
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV three weeks ago online and had it shipped site-to-store. It came in four days and was easy to setup. Picture is awesome and I have had no problems so far. The sound isn't the greatest but it works fine. For the price I don't think you can find a better deal. I am thoroughly pleased with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

I would recommend this item. Great TV!

07/12/2011
By ,
Bergen, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this TV now about 6 months or so. Love it. had no problems. great picture. sound is a little quiter but we use our surround sound with it when needed. (all flat screens have not so great sound) has enough connection also for our surround sound, dvd player, VRC, etc. Two thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LA45RQ

Awesome value. Love it

12/21/2011
By ,
Newton, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is underpriced. I don't know much about tvs other than how great the picture looks. The only strange thing is at the bottom of the tv is a thin red plastic strip. Doesn't bother me at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next