Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dorel Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dorel Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

The Dorel Rocking Chair provides an ideal place for rocking, feeding, and soothing your baby. This customized nursery rocking chair comes with sturdy construction that adds to its durability. This customized rocking chair offers smooth rocking motion that gives a great comfort for your baby. The Dorel rocking chair is provided with naturally looking walnut runners which give a contemporary appearance to your nursery. Cover this nursery rocking chair with beautiful slip covers, which are sold separately and available in seven shades. You can choose the fabric and the color to complement your decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.035 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(432 Reviews) 409
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
149
3 stars
49
2 stars
18
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation85%367 out of 432reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
149
3 stars
49
2 stars
18
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Dorel - Rocking Chair

01/28/2010
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this chair!! I didn't want the typical glider so I started searching for modern-style rockers online. Well, all the chairs I liked came with a very large price tag. Then one day I was looking on Wal-Marts’ website and came across this rocker....and I fell in love. The price was right up my alley!! I was nervous about ordering it since it didn't come upholstered, but thought I would give it a shot. When we got it home it was super easy to put together. The slipcover was very form fitting so it took a little maneuvering to put it on...but once it was on it definitely completed the chair. The chair's back has a very firm cushion, which I prefer to give my back support. I love this chair so much I have already order more slipcovers for it....it is very convenient for switching out the style. I have also attached some pictures for everyone to get a feel for the overall size and style of the chair.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

If only it came with slipcover

07/15/2009
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-Very Comfy, but if you're picky like me you may want a pillow for lumbar support
-Fairly easy to assemble
-Good for the price
-Doesn't rock very easy on my carpet
-Very bulky in my tiny nursery (as seen in the photo)
-I have been waiting almost a couple months for a slipcover ("out of stock" right now). If only they came with the chair. So for now, I just use blankets to upholster it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 3 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Excellent Chair for the $$

11/02/2012
By ,
virginia beach, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm impressed with this chair!I've only owned it for a few days, but my husband and I have sat in it a lot to test it. I read many reviews that made me reluctant to buy it, but considering the return policy, I decided to give it a try. It arrived sooner than expected. My husband put it together quickly (about 45 mins) Several reviews commented that the chair was uncomfortable and poorly made. I disagree. The chair is very comfortable and sturdy to me. I have wood floors and the chair rocks great. Also, I didn't order the ottoman, but I can still rock without it. I ordered the green fabric. It's more of a light lime green than the mint green in the online description. The fabric is also pretty soft and durable, but it is a little wrinkled. My only issue is that the chair is larger than I expected. I'm glad that I did not buy the ottoman because I would not have space for it. Also, slipcovers are a must! Overall this chair gives me the look I wanted without breaking the bank! I can't wait to rock my little girl to sleep in this chair when she arrives!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great Rocker for the Money

08/07/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this thinking it would be a bunk purchase and I would have to send it back. It was perfect for our nursery. I loved the rocker. It was easy to put together and comfortable. The chair is a good size and I love the look of it. I got the beige slip cover which looks a little yellow in the pictures because my walls are brown, but it doesn't really look yellow. I also got the ottoman, which is HUGE! I wish the ottoman was a little smaller and took up less room. Baby is not here yet, so I can't comment on how well it works with a little one.
NOTE: I did steam the slip cover once I put it on the chair and ottoman. I have a steamer for clothes and it worked great for the slip cover. I used the steam directly on the cloth, but I did NOT use an iron.
I would definitely make this purchase again. No regrets.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 5 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Wonderful chair for the price

12/24/2009
By ,
Lees Summit, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this chair in October 2009 and have been using it daily in a favorite reading spot. It was very easy to assemble, took about 30-40 minutes. Slipcover (beige) fit perfectly and does not look like a slipcover. I love that it can be taken off and washed or changed to another color. I purchased the matching ottoman and cover as well. The work great together! They are both microfiber which does attract pet hair easily, but can be removed quickly with sticky lint roller. Color is true to description. The set looks great. I sit in the rocker and read on a daily basis and it has held up well in the last 2-3 months. You cannot bet the set for the price. With site to store, there is no shipping charge and can be returned to store if not satisfied, but I bet you won't be.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great item for the price!

11/25/2009
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to have a nice glider/rocker in the baby nursery that would transition through a toddler room and even move into a guest room. We didn't want to spend a fortune on a chair like the ones you can get at Pottery Barn or Restoration Hardware. This chair was easy to assemble and no pieces were damaged when we picked it up at the store. I didn't purchase one of the slipcovers that Walmart offers and instead I am having one custom made to give a little bit superior look. In the end, this is a great purchase and I am glad we made it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Its a nice chair for the price.

12/07/2012
By ,
Waldorf, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I agree, I like this chair but I do not love it. I ordered this for my new arrival's nursery. It is fairly easy to put together and I like the fact that the directions were clear and the screws were packaged very well! It seems pretty comfortable and definitely needs to have a cover ordered for it. The backing was missing a velcro snap flap, but it wasn't that big of a deal since it will have the cover on it.
Looking for a nice, durable, affordable rocking chair I would purchase it, just beware that in order to have a complete set, it will start to get a bit pricey.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 8 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Awesome Chair for the price!!!

10/06/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay so a couple of things:
1) It was super easy to put together (did it myself at 7 months pregnant)
2) Hardest part is putting the slip cover on (it was very fitted)
3) For the people who say that it is cheap, etc...what do you expect for the price? Don't get me wrong this chair is not the most comfortable thing in the world...but I wouldn't say it is uncomfortable. It rocks well for me and I enjoy sitting on it...I do almost every day.
4) IT IS VERY OBVIOUS that the slip cover is sold separately...and yes you have to have the slipcover unless you can make a custom one. I waited until the slipcovers were available again BEFORE I ordered the chair. They are slowly trickling in under the name Dorel Slip Cover (not through the link provided on Product info)
5) I ordered the green slip cover. It is NOT minty green, it is a VERY light green almost taupe colored
6) I LOVE THIS CHAIR and would defiantly recommend it...unless you just are dying to pay $1,200 for a Pottery Barn chair.
So wait till the slipcover color you want is available and order the chair and slip cover at the same time...I was not disappointed!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

....

08/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very hesitant to purchase this rocker based on reviews... The biggest complaint was the slipcover. When I received the rocker it was just as as described- frame ONLY. It was unfinished and I didn't take my chances ordering a slipcover as most said they were always out of stock. In the end I had it upholstered and it looks FANTASTIC. All together I spent roughly $550... And luckily I'm a small framed gal (5' flat) because I don't think this would be very comfortable for someone tall. My husband is 6'0'' claims it's not the most comfortable thing he's sat in...not to mention he looks a bit awkward in it. When rocking I didn't find that I was "propelled" out of it as some had mentioned... I didn't get the ottoman as I didn't know how much room this would take up, but I don't think it would hurt to have. It also rocked okay on my carpet- so no issue there either. Overall, I'm not going to complain. Good deal for price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great chair, great price! Perfect

06/04/2009
By ,
Inland Empire, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wanted a nice chair to put in my son's nursery, but didn't want to spend the $400-500 to buy one. So, I found this on walmart.com and decided that I'd give it a try, the price was right and it looked nice...and it was! It was easy to put together, the slip cover was nice and it's even comfy to sit in. My only complaint is that walmart didn't have all the slipcovers in stock, as I wanted to order another color to have either as a backup or to be able to move the chair into another room later on when I don't need it in my son's nursery anymore. Otherwise I'm very happy with this chair!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+11points
Review 11 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great Value & Nice

02/07/2009
By ,
Orange County, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you looked at the prices of rockers today? I wanted one to go with the "look" of our house, and when I saw this one I fell in love. There are similar ones at higher price kids stores, but they are all in the $400 range. I read the reviews, and took a chance and bought this one. I'm glad I did. I'm 8 months pregnant, and put this rocker together by myself (6 pieces). Piece of cake. It's very light too. Now the back test. I sat in it for a long time admiring our babies room, and my back never hurt sitting in it. Granted I can't tell you how it is sitting with the baby, but so far I am in love with this rocker, and glad that I bought it.
You have to buy the slip cover separate, and it has velcro in certain areas to make sure it stays in place. It's all hidden, so only you will know this. I kind of like this. We bought it in the light green, and it goes perfectly with the rest of the room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 12 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great Value and Product

04/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking around for rockers and was disappointed with the prices being so high... When I saw this one, I liked at first. I read the reviews, and took a chance and bought this one. I'm so glad I did. Very easy to assemble (husband did in about 15 min). I found it pretty confortable. I sat in it for a long time, and my back never hurt (though having a small pillow in my lower back make it even more confortable). I can't tell you how it is sitting with the baby, but so far I am in love with this rocker, and very happy that I bought it.
You do have to buy the slip cover separate, and the finished product looks very pretty in the baby's room. I'm sure people won't be able to tell we bought it Wal mart. I'm very satisfeid with this rocker!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 13 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Lured by price - can't get over functional problem

02/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read all the reviews for this chair and opted to ignore the issues with the ease of rocking and the confort level because it was a good looking chair at the right price. In my opinion, I didn't want to spend tons of money on a nicer chair and this was stylish and functional enough for the amount of time I felt I would use it. Well, I am returning the chair. It is designed in such a way that the second you sit in it you are propelled forward and have to tense up your back and push off something in order to get enough momentum to rock it. I tried on hardwood and carpet...it is not the floor, the pieces on the bottom are designed to sit too far back on the chair for it to work properly. Unfortunately, in this case, I can't just live with it. Everything else about the chair is great. Too bad.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 14 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great for the Price!

11/25/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After looking at many different rockers for our nursery my husband found this one online at Walmart. There is a similiar one that Pottery Barn sells for about $1,200. The rocker itself is pretty comfortable. I think the ottoman is definitely a must when buying this rocker! The rocker doesnt rock so much unless you use the ottoman to push off of. The slipcovers are great and were easy to put on. When we purchased the chair it seemed like a lot of the covers were out of stock but we went with the ButterTwill color and its cute for the nursery. For the price I would definitely recommend this chair. Its obviously not a Pottery Barn chair or that quality but for our nursery its pefect and I like that you can change the slipcover. I actually bought an additional slipcover incase we get stains or anything on the chair. Great buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 15 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Works, but not as designed

09/21/2008
By ,
Washington, DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mixed feelings about this chair. The price is right, it assembles fairly easily, and the cushions are relatively comfortable--assuming you don't plan to sit in it for extended periods of time (my wife uses it to nurse our baby, so is in it several times per day for about 30 mins each time). Main problem is with the chair design. The position of the wooden rocker rails means that when you sit in the chair you end up tilted slightly forward rather than backwards. My solution was to mount the wooden rails the other way around (see attached image). You'll need to figure out your own method for mounting as the self-seating screw holes won't line up when you turn the rails around. This wasn't too difficult to do. Once the rockers were reversed, the chair sits far more comfortably.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great chair

07/08/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very skeptical of this chair after reading some of the reviews. I will say it doesn't rock the best on carpet, but it's pretty comfy and looks great with the room. I ordered the "butter" with full knowledge it wasn't yellow and I really love the khaki color. Shipping was super cheap and I ordered it on Monday and got it on Wednesday. It was easy for my husband to put together and I had to steam the fabric before I put it on and that helped a lot. It's a great chair and I recommend it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Cute, Affordable, Quality

01/20/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair is GREAT! It's for our second child's nursery, and we considered chairs from high end childrens' stores. I just couldn't stand to pay nearly $1,000 for something that gets used and abused like a baby chair does. We decided to give this chair a try and I'm SO happy that we did! It's cute, my husband had no trouble assembling, and with the fitted slip cover on, it looks just as nice as the more expensive chairs. Everyone who has seen it loves it and can't believe the low cost.
I will say it's not AS cozy and padded as some we tried out, but it's certainly comfortable enough for snuggling your baby, night feedings, story reading, etc. I'll probably just add a few throw pillows to give the back rest more padding.
Highly recommended by this picky mommy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great buy and looks great!

06/15/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this rocker since August 2007 when we bought it for my now 20-month-old baby boy. The dark blue denim is SUPER durable! I didn't have any problem with the cover not fitting it well. I was able to put it all together myself and I was 7 months pregnant at the time. Super comfortable to sit on while I read to him and also great for rocking (though I don't have to do that anymore). I think it rocks better too if it has the ottoman. Don't expect it to be like a SUPER rocker though! It's enough to gently rock a baby. I highly recommend it. Now that we're planning for #2 all I have to do is change the slip cover when we find out what we're having and when we figure out what bedding we'll get and DONE - brand new chair ;)!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Loveee it !

04/07/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some complain that it pushes you forward when you sit. Well, it's made so you can nurse your baby and rock her/him in it. I don't know about anyone else but I have to sit up to nurse my daughter. This is a plus because it makes me sit correctly, back straight and all. :) Better posture people!!!!
The first time you sit in it, the back will be hard but give yourself some time to get used to it. If you're looking for a chair with more cushion then I'd advise you to spend the money on something better.
If you wash the slipcovers, watch your dryer settings for the rocker slipcover because mine shrunk and I dried it on medium! The ottoman slipcover held up well and did not shrink one bit! I did see reviews where other people let it vent for 2-3 days. I had to buy another and I'm returning this one today as soon as I get my other one.
This chair takes up quite a bit of space so if you have a small nursery then you might wanna consider getting something else or just put it in your living room. That's what I did! We're currently looking for a new place so I figured what the heck? I'm only here for two more months!
Overall, this is an awesome chair! To me there's really no cons at all. Just watch your dryer settings if you wash this! You can buy other slipcovers so you can change up the color anytime. I got the rocker for 60 bucks on sale. I should've bought another because now it's 170! Sheeeeesh, what a difference. I suggest waiting til it goes back down. But you can always buy the ottoman and cover for now. It's actually pretty comfy to sit on!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Dorel - Rocking Chair (Slipcover Sold Separately)

Great chair at a fantastic price

06/24/2009
By ,
Mountain View, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this chair to go in our nursery. I did a lot of shopping around and of course fell in love with the chairs at Pottery Barn, but could not justify spending $1,200.00 on a chair. I found this chair and after reading the other reviews decided to purchase. I have to say I'm really impressed. The slipcover fits like a glove and although I have not nursed in it yet, I have sat there while reading and it's very comfortable (with a pillow in the lower back). It's the perfect size and looks great in the room. It's well constructed and easy to put together. For the money, this is probably the best chair out there.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 410 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next