Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Weed Eater Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Trim your lawn effortlessly with the Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower. The 22" steel deck in this lawn trimmer delivers large cut to reduce the number of passes required to cut your entire lawn. That apart, this lawn mower offers versatility and durability. The high rear wheels offer great maneuverability on hilly or rough terrain. The 5 height adjusters let you cut the grass effortlessly that too quickly. This gas powered lawn edger protects you from flying debris with the back guard made from plastic. Once you fill it with oil, attach the wheels and the handles, and this riding lawn mower is ready to use. This lawn mower does not produce a lot of sound and starts instantly, without any hassle.
Average Customer Rating:
2.864 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation40%17 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

poor quality

10/31/2011
By ,
south florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this lawnmower because there was a limited selction to choose from at our store and this lawn mower fit our budget. What a mistake.
This lawnmower has broken down 3 times in the past 6 months. Its tempermental and it gives out large black clouds of smoke.
I wish I would have had the sense to read these reviews before I made my purchase, a lesson well learned!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 22 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
08/28/2011
By ,
Valrico, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this mower 3 years ago. A little difficult to start but always does. I live in Florida and use it year round in a tiny yard. Here is the problem. Unless you are handy, this is a throw-a-way mower. After, in my case, 3 years, the diaphram in the carburator will fail. This causes the engine to surge. Slow down and speed up. This is common in the cheaper Briggs and Stratton motors. The part is cheap. Only $3.50 but labor will run you about $100.00 A lot to pay for a $165.00 lawn mower. If you are handy go to Youtube and you can see how easy it is to repair. Again, if you're handy. If not, part with some bucks and buy a mower with a Honda motor.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Review 23 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Not useful in dry, dusty areas

07/19/2011
By ,
Quinlan, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While this mower is worthless to me, the mower seems to be a good one for well kept yards. This prevents me from giving it a single star. The large back wheels indicate a willingness to tack rough terrain but the air filtration system cannot handle dry, dusty environments. Contrary to it's looks, this is a light duty mower.
This means that the air filter needs to be removed and cleaned perhaps as often as every 1/2 hour of use. You must clean it in hot, soapy water, dry it completely, and then oil it. It is easier to keep several filters on hand and then do the clean up when the mowing is done. Of course, this will add more work to your mowing job.
According to Weedeater, there is no alternative to the the air filter. If possible, water the lawn first.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Review 24 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Fell apart (BROKE) literally

05/10/2012
By ,
Denver, Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought my lawn mower in early 2008, started using it in the spring. I bought it because I Already have a Weedeater Trimmer with little problems. Besides SOME problem starting it, it always did! Then las year while in the middle of cutting it started rattiling real bad & when I checked, I realized it was the blade! Because the engine had literally BROKEN away from the base! Since the engine would still run, I'm putting it on the body of another lawn mower! But I'll never buy another one from Weedeater!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 25 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Horrible mower!!!

04/04/2012
By ,
topeka, ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful product. i got the first one home, started it, mowed perfectly, nothing wrong. the next time i got it out to mow, it started for a second, then cut out. i ended up taking it back to walmart, where they said this is a common problem, and exchanged it for me. the next one did the EXACT same thing! i'm totally fed up! total waste of money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 26 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Broken right out of the box

04/25/2012
By ,
O'fallon, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this 2 years ago and had problems from the start. I have a small yard that takes about 20 minutes to cut. After cutting it 3 times it wouldn't start. Took it in for warranty repair and they said there was nothing wrong, just a fouled out plug and charged me $60 because it wasn't covered as a warranty issue. Cut the yard 3 more times and same thing happened, so now my routine is to pull the plug every time and clean it. After recently talking to a buddy at work he told me there is a common issue with these motors having a bad diaphragm under the carb. So that's my next thing to try. So if you want a mower that you constantly have to maintain, this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 27 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

piece of junk

06/11/2013
By ,
fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the deck on this mower rusted out in 2 years total junk
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 28 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Did not run very long!

10/19/2013
By ,
Middletown,RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two WeedEater lawn mowers that I have bought from Walmart. They have both had the 500 series 158cc 5.00ft.lbs. Briggs and Stratton engine. Both of these lawn mowers in a very short period of time have started to run really lousy. The RPMs pulsate up and down while you are cutting the grass to the point where you think it is going to stall on the down RPM. This last lawn mower did stop running and would not start. I changed the plug, which was black with soot but the gap OK, and it started OK. The lawn mower had started using more gas for the same lawn. It would run out while I was mowing. When it was just about to run out the RPMs would go up and it would run fine (like it was getting more air and less gas). It seemed to me the lawn mower has been running to rich. A friend mentioned the diaphragm under the carburetor had gone bad. He said it was pulsating because it was getting air and then gas. Another friend mentioned the gas cap. He said it should have vent holes. I took the cap off, which has three vent holes. Inside I fine a cork gasket, round and taking up the whole inside of the cap. It had four vent holes which did not line up with the holes in the cap. It didn’t make any difference if the holes lined up as the cork was loose in the cap and would just spin and misalign anyway. The cork had been sucked outward and it seems like it is sealing off the holes in the cap. I looked at my brother in laws exact lawn mower which he brings to a lawn mower shop to have serviced and there is no cork inside his cap. I don’t know if he took it out or it did not come in the mower or the shop took it out at service time. Has anyone else had this trouble?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbus, OH
Same here
Posted 04/26/2014
We had the EXACT same issues with both of ours.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 29 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

ugh

08/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't even make it half way through my yard and it stopped...When I went to pull the string to start it again the string was stuck. Thought maybe it was something in the blades but nope...just didn't work anymore...used only that one time...RETURNED...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 30 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Piece of Junk. Don't waste your money

08/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is is a piece of junk. Used only 3 times. Followed all of the directions in the manual. Hard to start the first couple of times. Emptied the fuel tank, added fresh gas, checked filter, fresh oil. Thereafter, it won't keep running.
Its getting towards the end of the season, will be saving up for an electric mower
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 31 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

You get what you pay for

06/26/2011
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A piece of junk. Brought the high wheel for an easier cut. The $97 low wheel brought many years ago far exceeded this lawnmower. Spend an extra $100 or so and get a quality lawnmower.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 32 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
07/20/2013
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mower is terrible. It stalls every few minutes and can't handle thick grass. I can't start it, and have to get people stronger than me to help, and even they sometimes have trouble getting it to start. I've hit some rocks with it and the blade guard bends and can't completely be bent back so the blade keeps hitting it making a terrible noise every few times its used.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Review 33 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Not a quality machine

06/26/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine in the early summer of 2011. I took the machine home & assembled it with no problem. The machine performed very well the weekend I bought it. The weather was not very cooperative for the following two weeks, so I was unable to mow the lawn. Once the weather cleared up, I took the machine out of my garage to use it, but it would not start. The mower has plenty of fuel and the oil is at the correct level. Nothing is obstructing the blade from turning. I will definitely return the machine this week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Review 34 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Doesn't work

06/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I made a special trip to a different town to get this exact one. Get it home on Saturday, set it up. Went out to try it today and the pull String was hard to pull out and wont go back in. I'm so mad about this!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+32points
Review 35 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Do NOT buy this mower!!!!!!!

08/04/2013
By ,
Naugatuck Ct
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mower is pure garbage. You would be better off trying to cut your lawn with a pair of scissors. I tried using a more derogatory term to describe it, but they wouldn't let me post it. Good luck in trying to start it when you need it. I have had this mower in the shop to be repaired so many times when I just should have bought a new mower. Do not waste your money. ANY other mower will be a better pick than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Review 36 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Carb Air-Fuel Not Adjustable

02/05/2012
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mower has a non-adjustable carburator. So, the lower (pre-set) running RPM doesn't cut well except on lower grass-cutting levels. Lasted one season and started flooding unexpectedly - running too rich, wants to keep quitting. Cleaned the air filter - usually fixes this problem - and the spark plug for fowling, but to no avail. New carbs are expensive to replace, so I'll just get another brand mower - although Briggs and Stratton are on most. Plastic, molded carburator bodies are cheaper for B&S to make, but not owner friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 37 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Waste of money

09/03/2011
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
During my first mow with this mower, it kept getting overheated.... It wouldn't run more than 30 minutes without needing to take a break.
I've used it a couple times this year, and it is still giving me the same problems... It also went through an entire bottle of oil (in at most 5 mowings of a small yard)
I'm definitely taking this back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 38 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
07/01/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lawn mower does not kick the grass into the bag. It starts to run funny after some use.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 39 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
06/24/2013
By ,
oshawa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mower is a terrible item. It does not work. I used it twice and it stalls all the time and is hard to start. Very bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 40 for Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

If it starts, it works, but it rarely starts.

06/16/2013
By ,
Acworth, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall, I would rank it as a, "Don't Buy."
Frankly, if it starts, it works, but starting it poses the problem inherent in this machine. The hardest portion of mowing the lawn with this contraption is starting it. Only after thirty minutes to an hour of pulling and priming will it start, and even sometimes then, it won't start. By the end of one summer, it ceased to start entirely. After it started, it worked well, never stalling, but expect only a couple uses.
Overall, I would rank it as a, "Don't Buy."
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
21-40 of 42 total reviews