Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Weed Eater Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Keep your lawn tidy with the Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer. This trimmer features a 17" cutting path that allows you to conveniently reach over across large hedges. This gas powered lawn trimmer has a 25cc 2-cycle engine and works on gas for efficient results. This 2 cycle gas trimmer features recoil starting system, fixed line head and Primetime-Auto choke carburetor that makes it efficient. The Weed Eater string trimmer has a 52 inch straight shaft that lets this trimmer to transform into a variety of yard tools for your convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
2.884 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation48%44 out of 92reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 45 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Works well but too many costly repairs.

05/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The primer bulb split before the end of the first summer as many of the reviews have reported. Buying a new carburetor is not needed as the part can be ordered from the carburetor manufacture (Zama) for $19. The part number is ZAM~K056704.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

5 years of service so far

04/30/2011
By ,
gilmer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
don't quite understand all these negative comments on such a great value. i bought mine on sale for 59.95, 5 years back and still it's ready to go. only parts replaced were 2.00 gas line and 4.00 fuel primer bulb. plenty power for grass and most big weeds encountered.
boys and girls; the motor is 2 cycle. that means mix 2 cycle oil with fuel @ 40/1 ratio. if u don't it will seize when hot. bye bye. use gas with less than 10 % ethanol,,,,if not bye bye. all else fails,,,ask yo moma. moma knows!! i am very well pleased with my machine,thanks .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Corning,ca
I love weed eater brand !!!
Posted 07/14/2012
I do love weed eater brand but this one misses the mark. Its a simple design flaw in the new head that they switched to from the older more effective spool style. I have had the straight shaft spool style weed eaters in the bast and loved them. the low reviews on this model I believe are purely due to the poorly designed head. We just bought one and are taking it back today for this reason.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ky.
parallel
Posted 05/13/2012
yah that was a great deal[$59.95] .I will make my purchase solely on your comment, and my neighbors grandsons' live demo of the one he purchased 3yrs. ago. One pull start,light, balanced, powerful and it totally blows away the ryobi I have... and that is not to demean ryobi,,they have good tools for the money. thanks man...those 5 stars I'm anticipating.Your comment was worth the time it took to go thru the registration process.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

auto choke mechanism doesn't work

06/05/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For years Weed eaters came with a manual choke which gave the operator more control of engine performance as the motor warms up. This model comes with an auto choke which engages as you push the primer bulb. The engine would idle but when I squeezed the trigger to rev up the engine it would stall and die. It did this even after the engine was warmed up. I returned to the store. WARNING Wal Mart Customers. You have only 30 days to return this item!!!!!! This is hidden in their fine print. This is not posted anywhere near the lawn equipment in the stores either, so you are likely going to find this out only when you try to return the item. Also, you must have a receipt to return any lawn equipment to the stores. No cash or gift cards will be issued without a receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

needs improvement, buy curved shaft instead

03/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have use this brand weed eater for a while. loved the curved shaft and was thinking the straight was the same quality. The engine was the same but the spool was suck! like a lot of others said i have to constantly be changing the line. this was a poor design.... so i bought the bump and go and installed it would have been cheaper to go with the curved one. It comes with the bump and go spool. i would not recommend this one buy the cheaper one save some time. for those who have the trouble getting them started or running probably not following the direction on the machine. it is a picky device. prime well like 10 pushes, i just get the air out of the system like 15 pushes, then full choke till it tries to crank. half choke and start full throttle for 10 to 20 seconds you will hear the sound change. and release the throttle and that releases the choke. done. well this works every time for me....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer
06/22/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product was very disappointing. It was very difficult to start out of the box despite following the instructions to the letter. After finally getting it running I literally spent more time changing the line than actually getting any work done. I went thru two entire packages of replacement line before I even used a tank of fuel. I would not recommend this product to anyone least of all a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

This Was JUNK!!!!!

03/08/2011
By ,
Tallahassee Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This weed eater was hard to start following the instructions. It would not restart hot. It does not have a spool you put in a 19 inch peice of line and you have to stop and put in a new one about every 10 feet. I even tried new line and it just ate it up. You will be sorry if you buy this one. It takes me 30 min to mow my lawn with this it took me 1.5 hours to just weed whack.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St Louis, Missouri
Terrible Product DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 07/20/2012
I bought this weed eater 14 months ago and only used it about 6 times. The choke has just crumbled away. This supposedly has a 2 year manufacturing warranty and I have gone to 2 different service dealers and they both have told me that they have never even seen this kind of choke and they were the dealers recommended on the Poulan Pro website!! One of the dealers no longer deals with Poulan because he said that he cannot get reimbursed and the other dealer said since it is a "gas" problem that even if he could find the part, Poulan Pro will not reimburse for any gas issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Excellent Weedeater

05/14/2012
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I have been using for over a month and it starts everytime after a couple of pulls of the rip cord. I really enjoy not having to work with a choke. I also like that I do not have a spool of string that unspools inself everytime the weedeater bumps the ground. The straith neck on it keeps me from having to bend over, which in the past has been a nightmare because I have back issues and the pain in my back after using a bent neck weedeater became too much. As a matter of fact, I can cut the average weed growth without even having to apply throttle on the trigger. It turns with enough rpm or whatever to cut the grass just running at idle speed. This actually saves gas/oil and at the price of petroleum products these days can add up to the cost of the weedeater in a couple of seasons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

*weedeater a brand I trust*

04/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!! the reason for making this purchase is because of having to keep reloading trimmer line and the fact that this one use 1 larger dia. line is great. brought this home and it went together in a snap, the first time starting trimmer was a little concerning because i've been used to the old full choke/half choke weedeaters, but once started i had alot more trust in it..but the first time using this unit was a couple of days later, pushed in bulb a few times and started nicely, trimer the yard, it takes me about 30 mins and you know what the line is still intact and is ready for the next time, and the line is very easy to load much easier than the old spool..for the price i am very happy, this is a very good product. I have owned weedeater products for a while and have last vey well..
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

waste of money

04/07/2011
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This weedeater is a waste of money. hard to get shaft assembled. Once together properly, the shaft still seems to have some play in it. After mixing the oil with 1 gallon of nonenothonal gas, had VERY HARD TIME in getting the weed eater running. It then seemed to be idled high as each time i needed to replace the piece of line, I had to cut off the weedeater to stop the head from spinning. After running (when hot) its even hard to start with over 20 pulls each time. Keep in mind this is new right out of the box. Dont waste your money. Weed eater needs to get their act together and get this off the store shelves.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
great line trimmer
Posted 06/20/2011
I've used weed eater brand tools for a long time in my
Landscape business and they've never let me down this is
A great trimmer started rite up and kept going till I shut
It off then started rite back up with no problems only thing
Is it doesn't have a spool but all ya gotta do is swap it out.
I recommended this line trimmer to my landscape friends.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Cheap product

04/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to love the weedeater brand but this model is very cheap in price and quality. After 1.5 years, the thing started leaking oil all over the place and quit working. Am going to check to see if they will cover it under warranty. Would not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Pretty much aweful

05/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product was easy to assemble, but despite the stickers all over it, it is anything but simple to start. Straight from the box this has been a headache. I can almost never get it started, and forget the warm start. On the off chance it does work it can only handle small weeds along walkways, fencelines, etc. It really can not handle heavier weeds without getting overheated and dying. Frequently has difficulty under a load, idles low and dies quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

The line mechanism is the problem

06/12/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unlike others, this started relatively easily, although it takes a very hard pull twice to get it going, kind of rough on the shoulder. They give you about half a dozen 18 3/8" strings and on an average lawn, expect to use them all. You may want to save one as a template and make sure you get an extra spool of .095 trimmer line because you are going to need it. You waste about 1/2 of the line length. If the line is not perfectly the same length each side and if you don't pull on each side very tightly, it will fly off. It does edging very poorly compared to my previous line trimmer on a spool. The line bogs down when trimming around trellises and wire fences. It works best on plain grass. When edging around pavement, it works best if you give it just a little throttle, which also helps keep down the dirt it likes to throw in your face. I will try to avoid line trimmers like this in the future, looking for the type that uses a spool so that I don't have to walk around with a package of pre-cut strings whose replacements require that I keep stopping and starting the trimmer with each replacement. This is obviously suited only for very light work.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Terrible Product

05/29/2011
By ,
Round Rock, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit would not start after over 100 pulls. I called the phone number on the unit and was told that I should take it to a service center because "sometimes they do not work out of the box". The service rep then blames the government for a setting that makes it not work at certain altitudes. I am not at altitude (Austin, Tx.), but it does not work. There is no string feeder, just a short line that you need would need to replace every 10 minutes (just guessing - mine does not start). Do not waste you time with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Read and follow the directions carefully.

02/24/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought unit initially hard to start. Returned it the next day. Got new one a bit hard to start.
Did better later.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer
05/31/2011
By ,
springfield ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i don't like the way it starts its hard to start !!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Light Weight

04/13/2012
By ,
Toney, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works good and item is as described. As a female I needed a light weight weed eater that would be easier for me to handle for a longer period of time. However I found that by holding and pulling the starter cord at the same time doesn't work for me. Rather difficult and hard to pull the strater cord.
The item is very easy to handle once started and over all very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

WORTHLESS

03/08/2011
By ,
San Antonio, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS TRIMMER IS WORTHLESS IT DID NOT WORK AT ALL WASTE OF MONEY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

weed eater gas trimmer

10/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the new design no choke. It is a good weed eater, and a great price. And if your walmart store don't have in store you can order on line and have it ship to store for free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Piece of Junk

05/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One star is to high of a rating. Hard to start, will not stay running. If it starts it will not rev up to cut grass. Will be returning to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weed Eater SST25CE Gas Trimmer

Great for my needs

04/10/2012
By ,
Lexington Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this product is perfect for my needs. great for edging sidewalks and driveways. lightweight and durable yet powerful!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next