Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shimano Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Shimano Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Make quick, one-handed casts with the Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel. You'll be able to achieve increased distance with less effort. The Propulsion Line Management System reduces line twist, making the Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel a perfect solution to your fishing needs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%18 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Shimano is the best

06/04/2011
By ,
Steubenville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 5th Shimano reel and it won't be the last. It has a wobble free retrieve that's hard to beat. The quickfire casting is sweet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Exceptional Purchase

07/12/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel did not arrive in the blister pack, but in the boxed version. This means that the parts list and full instructions were included--nice! This is absolutely the best reel that I have ever owned, save for the 2000FG model, that is!
I purchased this reel to replace an aging Shakespeare Cirrus reel that had the same QuickFire-like trigger system; however, this reel is superior in that the line does not wrap around the trigger as the Shakespeare model did. This reel is far more balanced and smooth when compared with the Shakespeare.
At this time, it is a little tough to get the bailer to reset on retrieve, but this should soften after use.
The best feature of this reel is definitely the Quickfire II; for a kayak angler, setting the bailer at the right position is one less thing to have to worry about!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Great Reel

04/18/2011
By ,
Ashford, Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great reel, I have three of them 1000FG, 2500GF and 4000FG. Very smooth, and the trigger is super.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Good reel for the price.

09/11/2013
By ,
Huntsville , Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These Syncopate reels are built fairly well for the price. I have always liked the Quickfire System on Shimano's, it's really helpful when you want to cast fast. I prefer the Shimano Spirex RG reel over the Sycopate because of its fighting rear drag.The Spirex model also seems like a much smoother reel when you are retrieving on it. The Spirex is defenitly better reel but it cost twice as much. The Syncopates is good value reel, and it cast really well, and it works good with braided line. I have heard people make comments that the braided line slips on these reel. On almost all spinning reels you have to put on a backing tape or a small amount of monofiliment on the spool so that the line doesn't slip. For the money you can't go wrong with a Syncopate. If I lose one, or tear it up, I will be replacing it with another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Can't go wrong with Shimano

12/05/2011
By ,
Fleming Island Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, 2500 and 4000. I've bought a few before so I've been using the Syncopates for years. Long casts and smooth retrieves. Easy to fight fish. Third cast with the 4000 brought in a 6 3/4 pound bass on the pond in my back yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

A great deal for a medium sized reel

06/10/2013
By ,
San Berardino, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Shimano Syncopate is a quality fishing reel, the 2500 that I purchased is a medium sized fresh water reel and features a "quick fire" casting feature that is hard to find in other reels. I use the reel primarily for lake fishing, shore and trawling (kayak). Overall the reel operates very smoothly and is easy to cast..........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Great reel! Even better than Spirex.

03/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reel is very smooth. Hard finding reels with trigger anymore, which I love. Spirex is more money but is subject to freezing up a bit when it gets wet. I don't seem to have that problem with Syncopate, and is every bit as smooth but more reliable. Can't beat it for $30!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Shimano reel

03/27/2011
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grandson was extremely please with the reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Shimano Syncopate spinning reel

11/15/2013
By ,
Anderson MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the Shimano products for years and find them hard to beat at this level of price.. I use the 1000 series for light weight tackle on crappie and white bass. Does excellent job. Quick Fire action on the reel is a great benefit
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Super nice reel-smooth

07/02/2013
By ,
eastern, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old ultra-light reel I had for many years. This reel preformed wonderfully, with being so smooth. It also added about 20 ft to my casting compared to the older reel. The price is right and it seems to do everything I needed. It's so smooth on the retrieval you feel everything with those 1/4 ounce jigs. Very quite also. Only have had it out once since I got it but I have to brag it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Great reel... can't believe the quality...

07/24/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reel... can't believe the quality for such a low price. I have used Shimano reels
since the mid '80 and love them, this one is no exception. I actually bought it
in 3 sizes... 1000, 2500, and 4000. All 3 are Awesome.
Super smooth action, Great balance, Nothing bad to say... seriously... not a single complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Great fishing reel

04/18/2014
By ,
Success, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We own several fishing reels, we bought this one for our 20 year old granddaughter who loves fishing anything outdoors! Her grandfather let her use my fishing rod and reel with the trigger handle and she loved it. So, with this one she'll really be excited and will go fishing ASAP as we have 2 large ponds on our farm on Easter Sunday "her birthday".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

SHIMANO SYNCOPATE

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I REALLY LIKE THE QUICK DRAW FOR CASTING, REEL CRANKS VERY SMOOTH, THE PRICE WAS JUST GREAT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

GOOD PRODUCT

03/26/2011
By ,
Bluefield,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS REEL TO REPLACE ONE I HAVE HAD SINCE 1980S.THIS REEL WAS LARGER THAN I EXPECTED,AND I WILL HAVE TO USE A LARGER LINE,12LB.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel
06/19/2011
By ,
Chadron, NE
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For the price this is an alright reel. I bought this reel and a Pfluger GX Trion at the same time. The Pfluger is $10 more but it is worth it. I would recommend getting the Pfluger over this reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel

Great one handed casting reel

07/01/2012
By ,
Murfreesboro TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a Great light weight (1000 model) one hand casting spinning reel. it is quiet and smooth and has given me no troubles with line tangles. Shimano is a good name, I have a 20+ year old Shimano rod and reel I still use regularly I just wanted another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel
07/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid reel. Quickfire II is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shimano Syncopate Spinning Reel
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5